Insider's Guide to Beirut

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Set 36 miles (58 km) outside the capital city of Beirut, the ancient city of Anjar is literally a Lebanon attraction unlike any other. While many of the ruins in Lebanon existed under a multitude of rulers, the fortified city of Anjar was occupied ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed the tour. It was really great to stand where people stood thousands of years ago!
Our guide was Madeline. She was very knowledgeable about everything.
I had a couple of complaints about the trip, not really anything to do with Nakhal, but with the tour guide and the driver. The driver was an excellent driver however...it was a very warm day, in the nineties. Everyone was pretty hot. The driver was too cool so he kept turning the air down. When you have a van with every seat taken except one, on a ninety poise degree day, the air needs to be kept on HIGH! Our tour guide Madeline would aim the vent UP to the ceiling instead of back towards everyone.
As we were walking into the entrance of Baalbek, Madeline pulled out her whistle and used it much throughout Baalbek. We are all adults and don't need to be treated as grade school students. I realize that we were on a timetable however, if you explain to people at the beginning that due to being on a time table that when you need to tell us some facts we need to be by to listen, it would probably work better.
All in all, it STILL was an excellent day trip and we would take it again. Would prefer to have georgette as our guide.llwe enjoyed her on our other day trip!

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My tour was great! We spent just enough time in each place and the lunch we had was amazing! My only comment would be that the drivers who picked me up and then dropped me off had no clue where I was and I had to give them directions and finally walk the last bit because they were so lost.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is most amazing tour I ever had in my life with very good food. I never though I fall in love with just bunch of rocks! If you are Lebanon, this tour is a MUST!

A message to the manager of Nakhal tour, I have experienced two tours, this one and Geitta. I think the reason I really love this tour was because of very professional guide by Natasia. Very professional and friendly. I hope you do whatever it takes to keep her happy, because she is the reason of your success for these tours.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This day trip is worth it! The sites are unbelievable. It was excellent having transport to the sites and a tour guide explain the history. I was a solo traveller and was able to meet other travelers.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Fantastic tour to see the impressive sights of Baalbek and Anjar. Don't let the government warnings put you off, go and see this remarkable history!! Excellent tour guide and driver made the day feel informative, safe and very enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We had an excellent guide and driver. Very knowledgable .

Doing what: Private Tour: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide made us feel very safe and the place was empty!! Not one other tourist.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great guide, great trip! Fully recommended!

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was a great tour, knowledgeable guide and good driver. The meze lunch that was included was spectacular, the best we had during our whole stay in Beirut!
The winery tour part was maybe a bit short but we were tired anyway after a long day. The wines were very good though! :)

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Baalbek is a place you must see when you visit Lebanon.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The guide was very knowledgeable and polite.
Anjar was great and Baalbek was just amazing...
The lunch was delightful at a very nice restaurant.
Ksara winery visit was interesting.
Even when Lebanon seems to be in a conflict zone; there was no problem at all.
I recommend this experience very much.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent knowledgable and friendly guide. Very good sites. Timing was good at each site. Delicious lunch. Comfortable van with a good safe driver

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Best daily tour for Lebanon , highly recommend to everybody

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour. Madelaine, our guide was very knowledgable and very friendly. The traditional lunch was a definite highlight. This gives you a good grounding in the history of the country in the beautiful countryside outside of the city of Beirut - with spectacular views as you climb above the city and over teh mountain passes into the valley beyond

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An amazing experience! We were picked up promptly at our hotel and taken to the offices of the local agent to join a party of five (excluding the very knowledgeable guide and excellent driver - travelling in Lebanon and Beirut in particular is, in itself, an experience to live through!) The journey to Anjar was very interesting and the difficult circumstances under which Syrian refugees live was quite patent. The brief on and visit to Anjar was interesting and well worth it. The little shop at the entrance has well priced and attractive locally made jewellery and other wares - my wife's only regret is that she didn't buy more gifts - we didn't come across similar products on our other visits. Baalbeck and its Roman ruins was the highlight of our week long visit to the country and definitely worth travelling to Lebanon to see. We were treated to a delicious lunch in a family restaurant in the quaint town of Zahle and then went wine tasting at Caves de Kasara before returning to Beirut and our hotel. Was the security situation a concern before departure? Of course, but at no stage did we feel unsafe or intimidated and have no regrets about the decision to join the tour.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was amazing and our guide Madeleine was fantastic!

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a great tour given by Natasha. I thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish! It was packed full of great insights and information, and every question we had was answered. Everything went absolutely smoothly from an operational perspective and the food was delicious. Baalbek was very impressive and it was great to get the tour from someone with such a strong knowledge of archaeology in both Baalbek and Anjar. The wine tasting at Ksara capped off a very enjoyable and interesting day. I'd highly recommend this tour and tour-guide.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Muy buena organizacion, puntuales y la guia , magdalena, muy amable, preocupada e interesada en transmitirnos la historia de los lugares q visitamos.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

One of the TO DO things if you're staying in Beirut a couple of days

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We absolutely adored our tour. All thanks to Mushka, our amazing tour guide. I am going to use this company again!

Doing what: Private Tour: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

been to 30 countries,best tour and a5 star lunch/ dinner

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Thoroughly enjoyable and sites were programmed well in the day. Very informative and excellent guide.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Very beautiful landscape, great culture and fine food and wine!

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This was a great tour and the guide was friendly and informative. You will see plenty of ruins, taste some wine and have a typical Lebanese dinner in a picturesque resort town.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message