Insider's Guide to Beirut

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Set 53 miles (85 kms) outside of Beirut in the fertile Beqaa Valley, the ancient city of Baalbek is inarguably Lebanon’s greatest Roman treasure. An architectural pinnacle of empire known to the Romans as Heliopolis, this UNESCO World Heritage site ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great guide, great trip! Fully recommended!

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was a great tour, knowledgeable guide and good driver. The meze lunch that was included was spectacular, the best we had during our whole stay in Beirut!
The winery tour part was maybe a bit short but we were tired anyway after a long day. The wines were very good though! :)

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Baalbek is a place you must see when you visit Lebanon.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The guide was very knowledgeable and polite.
Anjar was great and Baalbek was just amazing...
The lunch was delightful at a very nice restaurant.
Ksara winery visit was interesting.
Even when Lebanon seems to be in a conflict zone; there was no problem at all.
I recommend this experience very much.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent knowledgable and friendly guide. Very good sites. Timing was good at each site. Delicious lunch. Comfortable van with a good safe driver

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Best daily tour for Lebanon , highly recommend to everybody

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour. Madelaine, our guide was very knowledgable and very friendly. The traditional lunch was a definite highlight. This gives you a good grounding in the history of the country in the beautiful countryside outside of the city of Beirut - with spectacular views as you climb above the city and over teh mountain passes into the valley beyond

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An amazing experience! We were picked up promptly at our hotel and taken to the offices of the local agent to join a party of five (excluding the very knowledgeable guide and excellent driver - travelling in Lebanon and Beirut in particular is, in itself, an experience to live through!) The journey to Anjar was very interesting and the difficult circumstances under which Syrian refugees live was quite patent. The brief on and visit to Anjar was interesting and well worth it. The little shop at the entrance has well priced and attractive locally made jewellery and other wares - my wife's only regret is that she didn't buy more gifts - we didn't come across similar products on our other visits. Baalbeck and its Roman ruins was the highlight of our week long visit to the country and definitely worth travelling to Lebanon to see. We were treated to a delicious lunch in a family restaurant in the quaint town of Zahle and then went wine tasting at Caves de Kasara before returning to Beirut and our hotel. Was the security situation a concern before departure? Of course, but at no stage did we feel unsafe or intimidated and have no regrets about the decision to join the tour.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was amazing and our guide Madeleine was fantastic!

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was amazing and our guide Madeleine was fantastic!

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a great tour given by Natasha. I thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish! It was packed full of great insights and information, and every question we had was answered. Everything went absolutely smoothly from an operational perspective and the food was delicious. Baalbek was very impressive and it was great to get the tour from someone with such a strong knowledge of archaeology in both Baalbek and Anjar. The wine tasting at Ksara capped off a very enjoyable and interesting day. I'd highly recommend this tour and tour-guide.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Muy buena organizacion, puntuales y la guia , magdalena, muy amable, preocupada e interesada en transmitirnos la historia de los lugares q visitamos.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

One of the TO DO things if you're staying in Beirut a couple of days

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We absolutely adored our tour. All thanks to Mushka, our amazing tour guide. I am going to use this company again!

Doing what: Private Tour: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message