• USD ($)
  • English
Despite the traditional charms of historic Ypres (or Ieper, in Dutch), the Flemish town remains inextricably linked to its harrowing past, as the site of some of WWI’s most notorious battlefields. Some 300,000 Allied Soldiers lost their lives here ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 78 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We are from New Zealand and we found the tour was everything we could have wanted. Our guide Sean was very good and full of knowledge. He also adapted the tour to meet the nationalities that were on the bus. We found it difficult to find the tour office in the morning at the start of the trip, so give yourself plenty of time to get to the office. It is a long day so be prepared. But it is worth it.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Joseph W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Although it is a long day,the trip is really worth doing.The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the events and the timeline of the war.To see Flanders and the front line trenches on a glorious sunny day(as it was when we visited)with the green fields and trees,it is very hard to imagine the horrendous conditions the soldiers had to bear.The German cemetery and the allied cemetery at Tyne cot were very poignant.The only thing that marred the day, was the lunch at the old Paschendale cheese factory.When we arrived the lunch of cheese and ham was already set out on tables with no covering over it and flies were swarming all over the food.Needless to say we refused to eat it.That apart,it was a really enjoyable and thought provoking day.At the end of the day we attended the last post ceremony at the Menin gate again very moving.All in all,a highly recommended tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful trip and excellent guide.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic trip with a very knowledgeable guide, lucky enough to have just one other couple from Australia with us

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip from Paris: Tour of the Ypres Salient WWI Battlefield in Belgian Flanders

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent guide. Very well organised trip encompassing the contextual history of the war as well as the events themselves. Brilliant value for money.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Ghent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour, witch covers so much, guide very knowledgeable, and went out of his way to help us at Tyne Cot locating a name on one of the back memorials, also told us all on the tour where to stand for last post at Ypres, impressive. Well worth the long day to see so much.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed the coach travel through Belgium countryside and had an excellent tour guide in Jean. He shared his comprehensive knowledge of the areas we visited and the history relating to those areas. Visiting the war memorials was a moving experience but we were impressed with the respect and care being shown to the resting places of the soldiers who lost their lives fighting in ww1.
Being present for the Last Post at Passehendaele was an awesome experience.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour and knowledgable guide. Great value for the money.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A long day but worth it. John was our guide and besides being very knowledgeable he filled our time visiting as many cemeteries and sites as he could fit in. Well organized.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Jean, our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and did an excellent job of explaining the significance of what we were seeing. The last post ceremony was the highlight of the day and a very moving and memorable experience. I recommend this trip to anyone interested in the history of World War I. The only change I would recommend is that participants be given the option to skip Hill 60 and spend the time in the Flanders Field Museum. All in all, a great trip.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very interesting and informative

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Ghent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A wonderful day which will stay with me forever. The guide was very informative and there was lots to see. Only criticism would be that there should be clear instructions on when to meet up with rest of party before leaving the coach. That would save misunderstandings and embarrassment.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The guide ,Jean, was so knowledgeable and interesting.He ,with the driver, made sure we had a full day.His commentary was thoughtful and thought provoking.He made a point of talking to individuals as we wandered round the graveyards and monuments.Excellent

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and fine tuned the cemetery/memorial stops to match the nationalities and particular interests of the tour participants. The Belgian countryside was lovely to see and lunch was good. There was plenty of opportunities to get out of the bus to visit the WW1 sites.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was fantastic. Despite being 13 hours, it did not feel that long. The guide was very interesting and knowledgeable. For us the highlights were the Last Post at the Menin Gate and the In Flanders museum. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message