Despite the traditional charms of historic Ypres (or Ieper, in Dutch), the Flemish town remains inextricably linked to its harrowing past, as the site of some of WWI’s most notorious battlefields. Some 300,000 Allied Soldiers lost their lives here ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 100 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

EXCELLENT TOUR WITH WONDERFUL TOUR GUIDE

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was a great mix of information and sight seeing. Fantastic value, wonderful sites, and a knowledgeable tour guide. I'm recommending this to anyone interested in WWI and anyone who wants to see the sties for themselves.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was easily the best tour we were ever on. The tour guide brought history alive and held our interest for 12 hours. The battle sites and cemeteries were very thought provoking and brought home the pain of loss of a whole generation and the futility of war.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My husband and I chose this tour especially because we family who fought in this area during WW1. Our tour guide took us to the places that were important to our interests. We found that he had an in depth knowledge of the campaigns which he was able to bring to life for us using vivid descriptions of what took place at each location we visited. He had excellent communication and driving skills and was passionate about conducting the tour. He also added a new understanding on what our people and the French people went through.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip from Paris: Tour of the Ypres Salient WWI Battlefield in Belgian Flanders

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Jean, our tour guide, was a walking font of knowledge and very much a gentleman, cannot say enough good about him, the tour itself was excellent and very moving - would do again but with more time

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was one of the best tours we did. Guide fantastic, lunch nice, and a very emotional tour

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Jean was the best! I am a history teacher from NYC. I learned so much from him. He is passionate and so knowledgeable. He is kind and goes out of his way...above and beyond...for each and every one of his tourists! Love him and so moved by the reverence and respect he shows for those men the world lost in the Great War.

Theresa LaSalle

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely fabulous!!
I would recommend this tour to anyone interested in WWII and its impact. Excellent, informative guide - clearly and expert in the field.
Five star experience - thank you.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting especially being in the centenary year.Very moving even though ypres was closed for the day whilst cameron and his buddies were there.But we did get a special menin gate last post special.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We are from New Zealand and we found the tour was everything we could have wanted. Our guide Sean was very good and full of knowledge. He also adapted the tour to meet the nationalities that were on the bus. We found it difficult to find the tour office in the morning at the start of the trip, so give yourself plenty of time to get to the office. It is a long day so be prepared. But it is worth it.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Joseph W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Although it is a long day,the trip is really worth doing.The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the events and the timeline of the war.To see Flanders and the front line trenches on a glorious sunny day(as it was when we visited)with the green fields and trees,it is very hard to imagine the horrendous conditions the soldiers had to bear.The German cemetery and the allied cemetery at Tyne cot were very poignant.The only thing that marred the day, was the lunch at the old Paschendale cheese factory.When we arrived the lunch of cheese and ham was already set out on tables with no covering over it and flies were swarming all over the food.Needless to say we refused to eat it.That apart,it was a really enjoyable and thought provoking day.At the end of the day we attended the last post ceremony at the Menin gate again very moving.All in all,a highly recommended tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful trip and excellent guide.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic trip with a very knowledgeable guide, lucky enough to have just one other couple from Australia with us

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip from Paris: Tour of the Ypres Salient WWI Battlefield in Belgian Flanders

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent guide. Very well organised trip encompassing the contextual history of the war as well as the events themselves. Brilliant value for money.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Ghent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour, witch covers so much, guide very knowledgeable, and went out of his way to help us at Tyne Cot locating a name on one of the back memorials, also told us all on the tour where to stand for last post at Ypres, impressive. Well worth the long day to see so much.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message