Despite the traditional charms of historic Ypres (or Ieper, in Dutch), the Flemish town remains inextricably linked to its harrowing past, as the site of some of WWI’s most notorious battlefields. Some 300,000 Allied Soldiers lost their lives here ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 205 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was excellent. Very well organised and a very good tour guide. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Belguim. We left Bruges at 10.45am and returned at 9.20pm.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was very informative, he had a vast knowledge of the subject and made it interesting for us.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I learned so much about WWI history and saw many memorial sites. Our guide Cedric was wonderful.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour alrhough a long day- enjoyed it immensly! Would have like a bit more time in places and less time for breaks but that was only my personnal thought- great guide - definitely value for money!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable about all aspects of this tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Informative guide very interesting and emotional. A long day but great value would recommend

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my 3 Day Battlefield Tour with Back Road Tours. The guide, Tony Wade, was excellent. His knowledge of the battles and general French/Belgian history was incomparable. The accommodation at the Kastelhoof was excellent and the locations and routes travelled - spot on.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent. Very informative and the guide was great

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

terrific tour with an outstanding guide who made the tour educational,informative and interesting.only negative was that the bus pick in Bruges was late.i had to phone the main office twice . i was not aware that the bus had to come from brussles.the actual tour was first class,

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing! The guide had so much knowledge!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Jan M
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was everything we expected and more. Our tour guide, Frank, was very knowledgeable and made the tour an incredible experience. Highly recommended for anyone interested in WWI history.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A very well thought out and informative tour of WW1 sites in and around Ypers.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is a long day, but well worth it. Our guide was very informative and took us to see many historic sights in Flanders. The monuments were very impressive and quite moving. The guide had to switch the order of our planned visits due to the Tour of Flanders bicycle race, but did a great job of ensuring that we saw everything. The In Flanders Fields Museum is very comprehensive and a must to see if you are interested in WWI history. It was really special that we were able to watch the Last Post Ceremony at the Menin Gate in Ypres. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My husband and father went on this trip 13/4/15. They had a really moving but lovely day. Their guide on the bus sorry they cant recall his name began with a D apparently!! well he was exceptional in his knowledge of ww1 in this area! They could not fault him at all he made it a really great day. The trip was 13hrs long as they got on at Brussels but so worth it. Lunch was in a lovely restaurant and very enjoyable. In their words there was nothing on the trip they didn't find interesting, all the places visited were explained and lots of information offered by the tour guide. Asked what the highlights were and the answer was EVERYTHING although they both felt very honoured to be at the Menin Gate to hear the last post a truly emotional and moving experience. They would highly recommend this tour to any WW1 enthusiasts and even to those who just want to go and see the beautifully kept cemetery's and other interesting stops along the way. Many thanks again to our guide and to Viator a great day was had by both of us Book this trip you will not be disappointed.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Brilliant Trip- reccomended

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an amazing excursion; although very somber. Our mom was especially happy to have been able to see Flanders Fields as she heard so much about the war as a child. We learned so much.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our trip to the World War 1 Battlefields and Menin Gate was everything I had hoped for. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and made our day very special. We visited many unusual sites including a German Cemetery. Being at Menin Gate on Remembrance Day was something I will always remember. I would highly recommend this trip. Our online booking with Viator was easy and trouble free. A five star experience from start to finish!

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour
guide was extremely knowledgable and ensured everyone was happy

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour-great guide who knew his subject well. He gave us a passionate description of the Great War and the effect it had on the country.as well as the fullest information on each stopping point (and we could hear every word!) I walk with a crutch and I found the guide extremely helpful to me. Little bit rushed at the end for me.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Things got off to a late start as there were some logistical issues with collecting people from their hotels but the tour itself was brilliant once we finally set off. The guide was very informed of the historical context to WWI and over the day talked us through the period from Waterloo to Hitler. I was delighted with the wide range of places we visited from the German cemetery at Vladzo through to the Last Post ceremony at the Menin Gate in the evening. We spent enough time at all of them. My 11 year old son was not bored for a moment and loved the whole day. Access into the sites was quick and well organised by the guide. Lunch was perfectly nice

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent arrangements and knowledgable guide ....thoroughly recommended

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was one of the best tours we have ever taken. Tony Ward was an excellent guide and we would love to take another tour under his leadership - perhaps WWII battle sites next time. His depth of knowledge and experience leading this tour was exemplary - we had a diverse group and made an effort to be inclusive and relevant to all aboard. The accommodation in Ypers was superb - excellent food and very comfortable rooms. Situated on a battlefield site was amazing and added to the overall experience. We highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting an in-depth and informative accounting of WWI.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a very rewarding experience for both my husband and me, far more than we expected. The sites we visited were well chosen and we were given an appropriate amount of time at each site. But the most important reason for the success of the tour was the knowledge and humanity of our wonderful guide, Jean, a true Flams and a marvelous raconteur who knew a lot and shared his knowledge well. I would do it again if I had the chance and Jean was the guide,

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent day. We gained such insight into the area and the history. Our guide was (Diedricht?) was most knowledgeable and interesting. It was a long day, but the last post ceremony at the Menin Gate was a highlight.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message