Despite the traditional charms of historic Ypres (or Ieper, in Dutch), the Flemish town remains inextricably linked to its harrowing past, as the site of some of WWI’s most notorious battlefields. Some 300,000 Allied Soldiers lost their lives here ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 276 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tonie M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, a very long day if you take it from Brussels. We were very hungry by the time lunch arrived. Guide is very informative. Some hiccups with the return journey, resulting in 2 women being left at Brussels central station without knowing how to get back to their hotelthankfully another person on the tour helped them out. We didn't have too far to walk but a bit annoying.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Nadine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Carol Ann R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a fantastic tour. The guide had a wealth of knowledge. We would recommend this tour to anyone with interested in the battlefields.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

gael n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

excellent tour, especially if you are an aussie or canadian and there is a frequent refererence to the young men who died a long way from home

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

LYN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and showed a great flexibility. I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Shann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a fantastic day, driver and guide were very professional. We visited all the areas that we wanted to see with the highlight being the Menin Gate service. Top tour

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Trevor E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A fantastic full day. Very well organised where the tour guide went above and beyond to make our trip memorable. The coach driver and mini bus pick up lady were supurb too. Well recomended.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic day, promptly collected from our Hotel by Jean and driven for the day in luxury vehicle
Watched excellent video on the way, full day, very educational and informative, comprehensive
We were a group of 4 New Zealanders so got to see the ANZAC and NZ heroes resting places.
Worth doing some reading before you go about the various battlegrounds but our host was brilliant.
Flanders Museum excellent too. Menin Gate Last Post very moving despite it being a cold October evening.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Kaye M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fabulous day out - more like a pilgrimage though. The knowledgeable guide took us through what life was like for a WW1 solidier - and made it all real. The Menin gate ceremony was everything I had heard about. Fabulous day

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

pjmcrob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour. Our guide Dietrich was quite knowledgable and an excellent presenter. He provided great context and information as we travelled between stops and at each visit. The Flanders Field Museum was excellent. The Last Post ceremony was quite moving. I learned quite a bit about WWI would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Marilyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very thorough and inspiring tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and excited about his subject. The highlight was the evening ceremony at the Mennin Gate.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Brad Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Loved every minute of it well worth the long day out. Very emotional

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

MS KAREN E V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a brilliant trip and did not seem like a long day at all. The reasons for this were two-fold. Firstly, the exceptional guide Jean and secondly, the number of places visited. The latter meant that one never had more than an hour on the coach, apart from the journey back to Brussels, without getting out to look at something.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Karen L T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fabulous tour of Flanders region with knowledgeable guide. Visited many meaningful sites with back up of guides excellent commentary. The Menin Gates Ladt Post ceremony was a fitting conclusion to an emotional, but fact filled day

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Wayne D L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

iT WAS AN EXCELLENT TOUR. SYLVAN SPELLING? WAS SUPERB! hIS VERY IN DEPTH KNOWLEDGE AND EXCELLENT eNGLISH MADE FOR A VETY INFORMATIVE AND ENJOYABLE DAY.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip from Paris: Tour of the Ypres Salient WWI Battlefield in Belgian Flanders

Richard P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was as poignant as expected. And heart breaking. And magnificent. It meant so much that we could give this experience to our 11 and 12 year old children. One can't understand the meaning of sacrifice until one stands in Tyne Cot among the graves.

Hints......The Last Post has hundreds of people in attendance so do not have any expectation of seeing any part of the ceremony. Supper was rushed so that we could get a good spot to see the ceremony but to no avail. If you want to see the ceremony just skip supper. Although the cold plate lunch is included, you still have to pay for drinks. Essex Field Hospital is eye opening reminder of the medical care so many received in limited conditions, but involves a treacherous walk on uneven ground on an unmarked trail and is not suitable for the elderly or those with mobility issues if we had not held onto my elderly mother she would have gone down and injured herself.

The only disappointment was having to listen to our tour guide's extremist political views for the duration of the tour. I prefer objective commentary. Although he provided helpful information on the history of WW1 and details about the sites we were seeing, as promised, his conspiracy theories on historical and current political affairs was disconcerting. Despite this particular tour guide's eccentricity, this is a five star tour.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Ruth Louise M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was the best trip due to my guide Stefaem Debrabomolea hope I have my spelling somewhat close...the history we learned in the classroom became reality and seeing where all of it happened made it a great day.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Laurie C Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was wonderful. The only drawback is the long bus ride to get to the battlefields area. I found many of the sites that we visited very emotive - particularly the monument to Canadian soldiers who were victims of the first gas attacks. Also Tyne Cot cemetery and the ceremony at Menen Gate were very profound.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Wendy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very good guide, very knowledgeable. Various stops, enjoyable lunch in Ypres. The Menin gate service and Last Post very moving. A busy day but plenty to do.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Rosemary N. S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Stephen was fantastic full of passion and knowledge regarding WWI. Would highly recommend touring with him.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Lynn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide was very good. This tour gave a good one-day overview of the WWI war experience. The museum in Ypres was extremely good and the final trumpet tribute was moving.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Brussels

Mark B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great trip to the battlefields. Great guide with Dave. No complaints to report. Mark

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Elizabeth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Tour was excellent. Little late to start but not a big issue. Tour guide was extremely knowledgable and willing to answer all questions. Delivered on all aspects of tour as described. Only issue with tour operator was lack of specific information on pick up location. A small map would be very helpful.

Doing what: World War I Battlefields Tour of Flanders from Bruges

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message