• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Belize City

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Meaning "submerged crocodile" in Yucatan Mayan, Lamanai is perhaps the most fascinating of all of Mayan sites in Belize if only because it is not yet completely uncovered. See history in the making as you visiting the excavation site, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An excellent tour! Had a great guide, learned a lot, and got to climb two of the ruins. Even heard a howler monkey in the trees at lamanai. During the river safari portion on the way to the site, saw a crocodile and many birds, and got to feed a spider monkey. One of my best days in Belize for sure!

Doing what: Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We absolutely loved our Lamanai tour. Our guide, Vel, was enthusiastic, pleasant and proud to show us what his country had to offer. He took time to show us wildlife along the boat ride and educated us about the locals that lived in the area. The trail to the ruins was easy and accommodating to ALL types of individuals. The howler monkeys made it a little more entertaining along the way. Once at the ruins, you are free to roam around and climb them if you choose. The view at the top were absolutely breathtaking.
We would have preferred to have more time to explore the ruin and, at times, we felt rushed. Other than that, everything was great!

Doing what: Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour, interesting country! Thank you!!!

Doing what: Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very nice tour on the river and amazing Maya "town" in the jungle. Very friendly guide "Lev" but maybe somewhat overambitious trying to convince us how great the Mayans were. Trying to explain math to some in the group with higher education in math. But they gave up and let him go on, especially on "infinity". Some medicine facts were also false like that we get C vitamins from the sun... Other than that it was a fantastic tour.

Doing what: Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great trip up the river (especially liked the northern jacanas nesting on the water hyacinths) and a very interesting archaeological site. Guide was very nice. Lunch was good (and they accommodated us vegetarians).

Doing what: Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent trip, good combination of nature and culture, nice, good english speaking guide

Doing what: Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Fabulous tour and well worth money! Guide was friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Belize New River Cruise and Lamanai Mayan Ruins Day Trip by Air from Ambergris Caye

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Tour was very well done. The van ride was pleasant, the river cruise was fun and full of surprises, and the ruins were magnificent (including the howler monkeys in the trees above us). Lunch was very good and overall we were pleased with the service.

Doing what: Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

It was great. Our guide Vel was funny, knowledgable and has a great eye for spotting crocodiles on the river banks. The riverboat ride and the ruins were beautiful- I highly recommend this.

Doing what: Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Van plus boat ride. Three major pyramids. A great guide! Not to be missed.

Doing what: Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

The tour was worthwhile. The infrastructure of the tour group was poor at best. The boat's motor, we were in, died enroute, and we had to wait on the New River for one-half hour or more for another boat to pick us up and take us on to Lamanai. On our return to the dock our guides van had a flat tire. He was unprepared with the proper tools and consequently we had to wait for several hours until a plan was devised to get it fixed. Not really the guides fault but poor planning by the Tour Company not to have checked these systems on a routine basis.

Doing what: Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

Reta I
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Our wonderful guide Vel took us on a great journey, giving us a history lesson as well as super boat ride to th Mayan ruins. We fed a spider monkey and saw the howlers!

Doing what: Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Everything was great, especially the spider monkey, exotic bird and American crocodile sightings. Be sure and bring a pancho in the event that it rains. Seems like I was the only person prepared when it started raining pretty hard. Soon as it stopped everybody was soon blown dry by the speed of the boat and the heat of the outside temperature.

Doing what: Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

A GREAT tour guide, and a wonderful trip. It was the 2nd time that I had been on that exact same trip. It was very well done.

Doing what: Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Had great time climbed the mayan ruins and scenic view on the boat safari

Doing what: Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message