English-speaking Belize is a small jewel on Central America’s Caribbean coast. It combines historic attractions with natural beauty spots to make a magnificent holiday destination. Day 1: Ancient and modern Belize City is no longer the country’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide,Vel, was fun, knowlegeable, and interesting. He informed us about wildlife as well as Mayan culture and history. The river cruise was very pleasant, and the bus transportation and boat were both comfortable. We would do it again!

Doing what: Best Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

it took alot of time to travel there for nothing, dont waste your time

Doing what: Blue Hole and Turneffe Islands Helicopter Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

I was not informed when I scheduled the tour that the reservation was only a TENTATIVE reservation dependent on whether enough other people signed up for the tour. When I called after arriving in Belize to schedule a pick-up point I was informed that the tour would not occur because no one else had signed up. I had to scramble to find someone who would schedule a CONFIRMED reservation since I had left a day empty on my schedule for for this tour. It is a total lack of courtesy on your part accept payment and fail to inform the person making the reservation that the reservation is tentative, not confirmed . I am not happy with Viator in any way.

Doing what: Best Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was absolutely amazing!! It was by far one of the most memorable experiences of my life. Every bit of it was incredible, from the boat trip over, the animals we saw (a monkey took a banana from me!), the tour itself, and those amazing buildings. Andy and I will always remember that view from the top of the temple for the rest of our lives. Our guide, Val, knew so much about the Maya and he was so entertaining and kind. We have recommended this experience to everyone who is talking about visiting Belize. WELL WORTH it!!

Doing what: Best Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

I booked this trip from Toronto and we received everything we expected. Before I tried to find Lamanai Tour on different websites, but Viator was the best and the most reliable. Thank you!

Doing what: Best Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We were the only ones at the site on a friday morning. It was a beautiful boat ride and fascinating ruins.

Doing what: Best Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour! Lot's to see and learn!

Doing what: Best Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An excellent tour! Had a great guide, learned a lot, and got to climb two of the ruins. Even heard a howler monkey in the trees at lamanai. During the river safari portion on the way to the site, saw a crocodile and many birds, and got to feed a spider monkey. One of my best days in Belize for sure!

Doing what: Best Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We absolutely loved our Lamanai tour. Our guide, Vel, was enthusiastic, pleasant and proud to show us what his country had to offer. He took time to show us wildlife along the boat ride and educated us about the locals that lived in the area. The trail to the ruins was easy and accommodating to ALL types of individuals. The howler monkeys made it a little more entertaining along the way. Once at the ruins, you are free to roam around and climb them if you choose. The view at the top were absolutely breathtaking.
We would have preferred to have more time to explore the ruin and, at times, we felt rushed. Other than that, everything was great!

Doing what: Best Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour, interesting country! Thank you!!!

Doing what: Best Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very nice tour on the river and amazing Maya "town" in the jungle. Very friendly guide "Lev" but maybe somewhat overambitious trying to convince us how great the Mayans were. Trying to explain math to some in the group with higher education in math. But they gave up and let him go on, especially on "infinity". Some medicine facts were also false like that we get C vitamins from the sun... Other than that it was a fantastic tour.

Doing what: Best Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great trip up the river (especially liked the northern jacanas nesting on the water hyacinths) and a very interesting archaeological site. Guide was very nice. Lunch was good (and they accommodated us vegetarians).

Doing what: Best Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent trip, good combination of nature and culture, nice, good english speaking guide

Doing what: Best Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Tour was very well done. The van ride was pleasant, the river cruise was fun and full of surprises, and the ruins were magnificent (including the howler monkeys in the trees above us). Lunch was very good and overall we were pleased with the service.

Doing what: Best Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

It was great. Our guide Vel was funny, knowledgable and has a great eye for spotting crocodiles on the river banks. The riverboat ride and the ruins were beautiful- I highly recommend this.

Doing what: Best Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Van plus boat ride. Three major pyramids. A great guide! Not to be missed.

Doing what: Best Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

The tour was worthwhile. The infrastructure of the tour group was poor at best. The boat's motor, we were in, died enroute, and we had to wait on the New River for one-half hour or more for another boat to pick us up and take us on to Lamanai. On our return to the dock our guides van had a flat tire. He was unprepared with the proper tools and consequently we had to wait for several hours until a plan was devised to get it fixed. Not really the guides fault but poor planning by the Tour Company not to have checked these systems on a routine basis.

Doing what: Best Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

Reta I
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Our wonderful guide Vel took us on a great journey, giving us a history lesson as well as super boat ride to th Mayan ruins. We fed a spider monkey and saw the howlers!

Doing what: Best Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Everything was great, especially the spider monkey, exotic bird and American crocodile sightings. Be sure and bring a pancho in the event that it rains. Seems like I was the only person prepared when it started raining pretty hard. Soon as it stopped everybody was soon blown dry by the speed of the boat and the heat of the outside temperature.

Doing what: Best Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

A GREAT tour guide, and a wonderful trip. It was the 2nd time that I had been on that exact same trip. It was very well done.

Doing what: Best Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Had great time climbed the mayan ruins and scenic view on the boat safari

Doing what: Best Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

This trip is well organized by Discovery Expeditions. The river cruise is amazing. You see spider monkeys and lots of birds. The Mayan site is worth visiting, and the guide is knowledgeable.

Doing what: Best Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

The trip was educational and delightful. The tour leader told me much about the country as well as the city, and zoo history. The only reason I didn't check the fifth star is that hurricane damage still exists at the zoo. The paths are all clear and the zoo is well maintained.

Doing what: Belize City Tour and Belize Zoo

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

The Belize Zoo is both small and a rehab center; it is not a conventional zoo in the North American sense. The City Tour is essentially a drive through of the historical buildings and sites in the City.
I would definitely recommend the tour, although doing other activities in Belize provides greater depth and is really essential to learning more about the country and its history.

Doing what: Belize City Tour and Belize Zoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Outstanding trip! Pickup and tour were timed as promised. More importantly, the others in the tour were interesting and engaged. Climbed many Mayan structures; saw crocodiles in the river; (voluntarily) agreed to hold a tarantula! All against a backdrop of Howler Monkeys and extraordinary wildlife, scenery and archeological sites.

Doing what: Best Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message