The notorious wall that divided Berlin for nearly 30 years was erected by East Germany at the height of the Cold War in 1961. The barrier isolated West Berlin within a heavily armed barrier of double concrete walls and gun turrets and was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The sites chosen by the guide were very atmospheric and really captured the sentiment and emotions of the divided city and what was happening in East Berlin. The wall itself, the gathering places for opposition against the communist regime, the events of 1989 were all covered. A very thoughtful tour.

Doing what: East Berlin and Cold War Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour we did was booked by accident, I thought I had booked the Berlin wall tour.
However saying that, Rachel our guide made it by far the best tour we did all week. Lots of interesting little points of information and many funny stories. Was a big group but she made everyone welcome. Well done

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great way to see various parts of Berlin in four to six hours. Very educational as well. DJ Alex from Canada was our tour guide and we was great! He really looked out for the group as well - for example, staging us for quick lights so we could all make it across the street in one group. I really enjoyed the Berlin Wall, Soviet War Memorial, the old rail bridge and of course lunch! A must do when in Berlin!

Doing what: Best Berlin Bike Tour: Berlin Wall and Cold War

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A great tour about the time of the Berlin Wall. Craig very informative. Recommend to anyone. Great riding for 4.5 hours around the streets of Berlin.......Harold and Carol.

Doing what: Best Berlin Bike Tour: Berlin Wall and Cold War

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A Segway tour of Berlin is a must. Let's face it Berlin is just too big to see by foot and you get the added experience of riding around on a Segway - very cool. We took the tour hoping for an overview of Berlin, we got so much more. Our guide Toby was great. Not only was he very knowledgable about Berlin but it was his delivery of the info that made the tour so good. He shared his own experiences of Berlin from the cool places to have a drink to the experience of growing up with 'the wall'. I can't recommend this tour enough. You won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Berlin Segway Tour

Kacey C
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We were fortunate enough to be in Berlin for the 25th anniversary celebration of the fall of the Wall. Our tour guide, Dennis, was fantastic. He's a lover of history and when the tour was over, we felt that we really understood the history of Berlin. We would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone who wants to get a good overview of story of Berlin.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Learned a lot on this tour. It was a busy day in Berlin for other tours at the same time and while at The Wall, Checkpoint Charlie and Brandenburg Gate it was very crowded. Wear comfortable shoes for this one as there's all pavement and cobbles and by the third hour your feet are killing you. Tour guide Jess had a good sense of humor, but had a bit of an stand off'ish attitude. Whatever, I wasn't there for him. By the time we made it to Checkpoint Charlie we 'defected' from the tour and went off on our own. One note: Make notes of places that you found interesting so you can go back later as there's no time to really stop and take photographs or read posted information.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a very interesting trip and our guide filled us in with many amazing real life stories about attemps to escape over the wall. The cycling was easy as the ground is very flat in Berlin. The choice of lunch stop could have been better - it was a Morroccan takeaway which was good value for money but not something everyone likes! I would rather have had a German cafe! Nevertheless a very worthwhile experience!

Doing what: Best Berlin Bike Tour: Berlin Wall and Cold War

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

I found the tour company at the West meeting point easily enough (but there is another tour company which start their tours from the other side of the bus stops, so make sure you find the right one). We then took the train to the east meeting point, but due to work on the train lines we were a bit later than we should have been.

Our guide Jonathan was very knowledgeable and made sure to find us places in the shade and places we could sit as often as possible, as the weather was very warm and sunny. He made sure to start the tour with a general history while we were sitting in the shade and then touched upon the relevant points when seeing the different sights.

There's quite a bit of a walk on this tour, about 6 kilometres. We saw Museum Island, Berlin Cathedral, Bebelplatz, the Holocaust Memorial, a bit of the Berlin wall and ended up outside the concert house. We rather quickly passed by Brandenburger Tor and Checkpoint Charlie. We had a short break at the Holocaust Memorial, where we could buy drinks and use the toilet, this was after about 3 hours of touring.

I'm wavering between 3 and 4 stars for this one, as I've certainly done better walking tours with better guides, but it was a nice introduction to Berlin. I personally feel that 4 hours is a bit too much time for one tour. Also, be aware that the first half hour of the tour is only transportation to the east meeting point if you choose to meet at the west one.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was fantastic. Every tour I did on this vacation through Viator was great. Berlin has so much history and to be able to stand in the middle of it all was priceless. I loved seeing the Berlin Wall, Checkpoint Charlie and everything else. The guide was fantastic and extremely knowledgeable. I was a tad disappointed with the site of Hitler's Bunker as I was expecting to see an actual bunker. Otherwise it was a fantastic tour.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Best Tour I went on while holidaying in Europe. Our tour guide was Henric a German native who spoke fluent and easy to understand English. The walking tour showed all the best highlights of Berlin with an interesting insight into it's troubled history, architecture and art including sights like the Berlin Wall, Jewish Memorial and the death place of Hitler which had remained secret until recently and serves as reminder as to how history remembers the perpetrators of war, which you really need the whole tour experience to comprehend its impact.

I would highly recommend this tour for people of all ages my only advice is to wear sensible shoes and bring some water as it is a fair hike around the city, but well worth it.
Five Stars.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A very enlightening tour mostly due to the tour guide Mr. Alex LaRocca - hope I did spell his name correctly -. He happened to be grad student majoring in History/Political History majoring in the German history of the 19 and 20th centuries. So he was very knowledgable and shared what could shared with a typical tour crowd. The Berliner Dome, Unter den Lİnden, Humboldt Universitat, Book Burning, Polish Church as a sign of tolerance, the Book Burning Incident of May 1933, Jewish Memorial, Hitler's Bunker, The Wall, Checkpoint Charlie and the underlying rumours, and the finish at the Gendarmen Markt. All seems to be vivid still. I definitely recommend this tour and strongly advise to ask for Mr. Alex LaRocca as the tour guide. I take this oppurtunity to thank him once more for his friendly attitude towards the group and also for his patience.
Mr. Turgut Dagdelen

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great tour of Berlin. Seeing the old and the new, the East and the West. All the high points were covered in about 3 hours. You begin to get your compass set as to how to move around Berlin, so do this tour early in your stay. It is hard to believe that the wall stood rather recently and many remember those days. Thankfully, the area seems to be growing and inviting a very diverse culture.

Doing what: Berlin Segway Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great tour. The guide was well prepared and had lots of little bits of information that bought the town of Berlin and its history to life. This is a walking tour so be prepared to walk! The only place for the toilet stop was half way at the Brandenburg Gate - we went into the Starbucks and paid to use their bathrooms. The Berlin Wall stop was a bit disapointing - I would perhaps end the tour there instead of Checkpoint Charlie so people can have a look at the wall and the information there instead of just standing above it looking down and getting info from the guide. The meeting place is easy to find but as usual we left late. I would recommend this tour its a good way to see the main sights and hear the history of the place

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a fantastic tour, and Kevin did a wonderful job leading us around. My wife and I did not know so much about the Cold War period here in Berlin, but it really came to life to us through the tour, and we recommend the biking tour to anyone who's considering Berlin and who would like to more about the history of "the Wall."

Doing what: Best Berlin Bike Tour: Berlin Wall and Cold War

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our four hour Segway tour of Berlin was awesome. We really enjoyed the great mix of fun and interesting sights and history. Our tour guide was Marriette and she was really first class - looked after us 'Segway newbies' really well (after only 5 or 10 minutes practice everyone of our group was relaxed and confident using Segways). My wife and I would highly recommend this particular tour of Berlin. Marriette, Wallid and the crew were extremely welcoming and knowledgeable about Berlin. Go for it!!

Doing what: Berlin Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Fabulous tour of the city of Berlin. Liked the interesting facts the guide told us about the Berlin wall.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Really enjoyed our walking tour with Ryan. He was very knowledgeable and enertaining. I sould have given this tour 5 stars if we had been able to stop at each place and have a look and take some photos rather than listen to the information and move right on. Disappointing that when we got to Wall, we stood at the top heard some info and then moved on without the opportunity to walk alonfpg it, take photos etc. this was ur only day in Berlin and were not able to come back to these places for a better look.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Really excellent tour. Started on time and took in most of the popular tourist sights and gave directions to others not visited. The guide (Matti) was very good, spoke perfect English and gave us some very interesting snippets of information about the sights we were seeing and life in East Germany before the wall came down.

We booked to take this tour on our first afternoon in Berlin so that we could identify the places we wanted to go back to see in more detail. The tour was perfect for this and each time we saw something for the second time we recalled something that Matti had told us about the location.

The tour was excellent value for money so we gave a good tip to the guide.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Unfortunately didn't actually end up doing this tour as we couldn't find the place! I think the directions need to be more precise as Alexanderplatz is absolutely huge! If it had something in the directions like near the TV-Tower it would've been much easier to find!! Only happened to stumble upon it by chance as it is very well hidden! Ended up swapping this tour for the All Berlin Bike Tour which my sister and I thoroughly enjoyed!!Our tour guide Lauren was fantastic! She was very knowledgeable about German history as she had a degree in the field!! Take as many photos as possible!!!Brandenburg Gate is amazing! Also I would suggest being at the back of the group during the tour as you get a free piece of the Berlin Wall and a beer after!!Just some friendly advice!! Well worth it!

Doing what: Best Berlin Bike Tour: Berlin Wall and Cold War

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

An absolutely first class tour, our tour guide put her heart and soul into it and shared her experience of being a young girl of 10 in East Berlin when the Berlin wall came down. Her History degrees gave her an ability to put Germany's history into a world context. She had a remarkably unbiased and fair view of Germany before, during and after the Second World War. My only complaint is that the Viator web site did not make it clear that the trip started in East Berlin and not West Berlin.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Very good tour and you will get lots of information out of it. However, you better wear you're running shoes! You will walk fast, very fast at times. The guide didn't even give us much of a chance to take photos and when we did he looked like he didn't like it much! I do have to say it was cold and snowing at the time maybe that is why but it was a fast based tour. If you have young children under 8 or if you have difficulties walking fast don't take that tour. You will be given a short break half way into the walking tour. If you don't mind fast walking and rushing the photo moments this was one of the best walking tours and full of great info about Berlin and the wall.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message