• USD ($)
  • English
An infamous and universally loathed symbol of political division, the Berlin Wall separated West and East Berlin from 1961 to 1989. Guards patrolling the Wall’s watchtowers and mined ‘death strip’ were ordered to shoot East Berliners attempting ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Best Tour I went on while holidaying in Europe. Our tour guide was Henric a German native who spoke fluent and easy to understand English. The walking tour showed all the best highlights of Berlin with an interesting insight into it's troubled history, architecture and art including sights like the Berlin Wall, Jewish Memorial and the death place of Hitler which had remained secret until recently and serves as reminder as to how history remembers the perpetrators of war, which you really need the whole tour experience to comprehend its impact.

I would highly recommend this tour for people of all ages my only advice is to wear sensible shoes and bring some water as it is a fair hike around the city, but well worth it.
Five Stars.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A very enlightening tour mostly due to the tour guide Mr. Alex LaRocca - hope I did spell his name correctly -. He happened to be grad student majoring in History/Political History majoring in the German history of the 19 and 20th centuries. So he was very knowledgable and shared what could shared with a typical tour crowd. The Berliner Dome, Unter den Lİnden, Humboldt Universitat, Book Burning, Polish Church as a sign of tolerance, the Book Burning Incident of May 1933, Jewish Memorial, Hitler's Bunker, The Wall, Checkpoint Charlie and the underlying rumours, and the finish at the Gendarmen Markt. All seems to be vivid still. I definitely recommend this tour and strongly advise to ask for Mr. Alex LaRocca as the tour guide. I take this oppurtunity to thank him once more for his friendly attitude towards the group and also for his patience.
Mr. Turgut Dagdelen

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great tour of Berlin. Seeing the old and the new, the East and the West. All the high points were covered in about 3 hours. You begin to get your compass set as to how to move around Berlin, so do this tour early in your stay. It is hard to believe that the wall stood rather recently and many remember those days. Thankfully, the area seems to be growing and inviting a very diverse culture.

Doing what: Berlin Segway Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great tour. The guide was well prepared and had lots of little bits of information that bought the town of Berlin and its history to life. This is a walking tour so be prepared to walk! The only place for the toilet stop was half way at the Brandenburg Gate - we went into the Starbucks and paid to use their bathrooms. The Berlin Wall stop was a bit disapointing - I would perhaps end the tour there instead of Checkpoint Charlie so people can have a look at the wall and the information there instead of just standing above it looking down and getting info from the guide. The meeting place is easy to find but as usual we left late. I would recommend this tour its a good way to see the main sights and hear the history of the place

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a fantastic tour, and Kevin did a wonderful job leading us around. My wife and I did not know so much about the Cold War period here in Berlin, but it really came to life to us through the tour, and we recommend the biking tour to anyone who's considering Berlin and who would like to more about the history of "the Wall."

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour: Berlin Wall and Cold War

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our four hour Segway tour of Berlin was awesome. We really enjoyed the great mix of fun and interesting sights and history. Our tour guide was Marriette and she was really first class - looked after us 'Segway newbies' really well (after only 5 or 10 minutes practice everyone of our group was relaxed and confident using Segways). My wife and I would highly recommend this particular tour of Berlin. Marriette, Wallid and the crew were extremely welcoming and knowledgeable about Berlin. Go for it!!

Doing what: Berlin Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Fabulous tour of the city of Berlin. Liked the interesting facts the guide told us about the Berlin wall.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Really enjoyed our walking tour with Ryan. He was very knowledgeable and enertaining. I sould have given this tour 5 stars if we had been able to stop at each place and have a look and take some photos rather than listen to the information and move right on. Disappointing that when we got to Wall, we stood at the top heard some info and then moved on without the opportunity to walk alonfpg it, take photos etc. this was ur only day in Berlin and were not able to come back to these places for a better look.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Really excellent tour. Started on time and took in most of the popular tourist sights and gave directions to others not visited. The guide (Matti) was very good, spoke perfect English and gave us some very interesting snippets of information about the sights we were seeing and life in East Germany before the wall came down.

We booked to take this tour on our first afternoon in Berlin so that we could identify the places we wanted to go back to see in more detail. The tour was perfect for this and each time we saw something for the second time we recalled something that Matti had told us about the location.

The tour was excellent value for money so we gave a good tip to the guide.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Jodi R
Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The ride gives an incredible insight into this city, densely layered with such rich and intense history on every corner and beneath every cobblestone, from Gendarmenmarkt Cathedrals in the Huguenot French quarter to Checkpoint Charlie and one of the last remaining sections of the wall. The highlight for me is our ride through Tiergarten, past the Berlin Zoo and a lunch break at the gorgeous Schluesen Kreug, along the canal next to one of the locks. We pass the angel of victory, and head back into the city via the Reichstag, where our group poses for a commemorative wave... A great way to experience Berlin, especially for those with limited time!

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour

Note from Viator: Editor's Note: This review was written by Jodi Rose who wrote a complete Berlin Bike Tour overview (with video!) on our Things to Do in Berlin Blog.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Unfortunately didn't actually end up doing this tour as we couldn't find the place! I think the directions need to be more precise as Alexanderplatz is absolutely huge! If it had something in the directions like near the TV-Tower it would've been much easier to find!! Only happened to stumble upon it by chance as it is very well hidden! Ended up swapping this tour for the All Berlin Bike Tour which my sister and I thoroughly enjoyed!!Our tour guide Lauren was fantastic! She was very knowledgeable about German history as she had a degree in the field!! Take as many photos as possible!!!Brandenburg Gate is amazing! Also I would suggest being at the back of the group during the tour as you get a free piece of the Berlin Wall and a beer after!!Just some friendly advice!! Well worth it!

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour: Berlin Wall and Cold War

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

An absolutely first class tour, our tour guide put her heart and soul into it and shared her experience of being a young girl of 10 in East Berlin when the Berlin wall came down. Her History degrees gave her an ability to put Germany's history into a world context. She had a remarkably unbiased and fair view of Germany before, during and after the Second World War. My only complaint is that the Viator web site did not make it clear that the trip started in East Berlin and not West Berlin.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Very good tour and you will get lots of information out of it. However, you better wear you're running shoes! You will walk fast, very fast at times. The guide didn't even give us much of a chance to take photos and when we did he looked like he didn't like it much! I do have to say it was cold and snowing at the time maybe that is why but it was a fast based tour. If you have young children under 8 or if you have difficulties walking fast don't take that tour. You will be given a short break half way into the walking tour. If you don't mind fast walking and rushing the photo moments this was one of the best walking tours and full of great info about Berlin and the wall.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Renee S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Tour was great. You see a lot of good sights, and it's a fun day. It doesn't spend too much time at the wall, but gives you a feel of the city and what they went through. Excellent.

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message