• USD ($)
  • English

Berlin ATTRACTIONS See all

Checkpoint Charlie

"You are leaving the American sector." Memorialized in film and print, Checkpoint Charlie is the most famous symbol of Cold War era Berlin. Marking the border crossing between the American Sector (Kreuzberg) and East Berlin (Mitte), ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was fantastic. Every tour I did on this vacation through Viator was great. Berlin has so much history and to be able to stand in the middle of it all was priceless. I loved seeing the Berlin Wall, Checkpoint Charlie and everything else. The guide was fantastic and extremely knowledgeable. I was a tad disappointed with the site of Hitler's Bunker as I was expecting to see an actual bunker. Otherwise it was a fantastic tour.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Very good value. Sound system worked on every bus we boarded. English was very understandable. Tour hit the high points we were looking to see. Two days (48 hours) makes a lot of sense. We rode the 2 1/2 hours the first day all the way through. Then the next day we got on and off to take a better look at certain sites, e.g. Brandenburg Gate, Checkpoint Charlie. We were disappointed that the river cruise was not offered -- then we saw the boats on the river anyway -- why?

Doing what: Berlin City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A very enlightening tour mostly due to the tour guide Mr. Alex LaRocca - hope I did spell his name correctly -. He happened to be grad student majoring in History/Political History majoring in the German history of the 19 and 20th centuries. So he was very knowledgable and shared what could shared with a typical tour crowd. The Berliner Dome, Unter den Lİnden, Humboldt Universitat, Book Burning, Polish Church as a sign of tolerance, the Book Burning Incident of May 1933, Jewish Memorial, Hitler's Bunker, The Wall, Checkpoint Charlie and the underlying rumours, and the finish at the Gendarmen Markt. All seems to be vivid still. I definitely recommend this tour and strongly advise to ask for Mr. Alex LaRocca as the tour guide. I take this oppurtunity to thank him once more for his friendly attitude towards the group and also for his patience.
Mr. Turgut Dagdelen

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Would definitely recommend the Berlin Pass. Bus trip was good but commentary was live so a little difficult to follow. Boat trip excellent. We got more than our money's worth of museum entry, although a couple of places no longer offer free entry (Checkpoint Charlie museum, museum of musical instruments) and the big plus was you didn't need to join the long queues outside the museums on museum island as you don't need a ticket - just show your pass! The public transport system can be complicated so having a day pass (don't forget to validate it the first time you use it) took the stress out of buying tickets. Will definitely get a pass (if available) for the next city we visit.

Doing what: Berlin Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great tour. The guide was well prepared and had lots of little bits of information that bought the town of Berlin and its history to life. This is a walking tour so be prepared to walk! The only place for the toilet stop was half way at the Brandenburg Gate - we went into the Starbucks and paid to use their bathrooms. The Berlin Wall stop was a bit disapointing - I would perhaps end the tour there instead of Checkpoint Charlie so people can have a look at the wall and the information there instead of just standing above it looking down and getting info from the guide. The meeting place is easy to find but as usual we left late. I would recommend this tour its a good way to see the main sights and hear the history of the place

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Except for a bit of trouble finding the pick-up point, as the location was very vague, in every other way this tour was very good. It went round all the major sites, and there was time to get off, see what you wanted in more detail, and not have long to wait for another bus to arrive. I was on the upper deck, and as a photographer I did wish the windows were set lower, or not there at all, as they are on the buses for some of the other similar tours. We were required to use seat belts and stay seated, which meant trying to take photographs through rain-spotted glass that also reflected the bus interior. Also, you really need to plan for more than one day on this type of tour. By the time I had got off at all the places I wanted to see and went through the Jewish Museum and the Checkpoint Charlie Museum, I missed the last bus and had to get a taxi back to my hotel. There was plenty of daylight left by then, so perhaps they should consider running the tours until sunset.

Doing what: Berlin Supersaver: Hop-on Hop-off City Tour and Skip the Line Entry to TV Tower

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

I found the trip quite good. I had recently been to Milan and thought theirs was much better. On the bus it kept repeating an announcement about not standing up upstairs which was irritating. They didn't explain much about Checkpoint Charlie. All in all - just OK

Doing what: Berlin City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Good orientation tour. Be sure to get off at Checkpoint Charlie, the Museum there was very, very good. We were able to see all the key spots in Berlin on this tour, so well worth it.

Doing what: Berlin City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2011

Really the best way to see Berlin, however, there are no signs showing exactly where to get on and off. One driver left us off at one spot and we had to run to find the bus at another at Checkpoint Charilie. Also not enough info in the brochure as to when the final bus stops so that we can reach our point of origin. Again a little confusing, the actual time during one day's tour is six hours, not eight.This does not leave enough time to see many of the stops, you have to pick and choose. The tour operator did not want to honour our 24 hour ticket at first until we insisted. Again, the website was not accurate.

Doing what: Berlin City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Jodi R
Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The ride gives an incredible insight into this city, densely layered with such rich and intense history on every corner and beneath every cobblestone, from Gendarmenmarkt Cathedrals in the Huguenot French quarter to Checkpoint Charlie and one of the last remaining sections of the wall. The highlight for me is our ride through Tiergarten, past the Berlin Zoo and a lunch break at the gorgeous Schluesen Kreug, along the canal next to one of the locks. We pass the angel of victory, and head back into the city via the Reichstag, where our group poses for a commemorative wave... A great way to experience Berlin, especially for those with limited time!

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour

Note from Viator: Editor's Note: This review was written by Jodi Rose who wrote a complete Berlin Bike Tour overview (with video!) on our Things to Do in Berlin Blog.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message