• USD ($)
  • English

Berlin ATTRACTIONS See all

Potsdam’s Gardens

Potsdam is the capital city of the German federal state of Brandenburg, situated on the River Havel, 24 kilometers southwest of Berlin’s city center. It is a great day trip outside of the city and not to be confused with Potsdamer Platz, which is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We took the Potsdam bike tour the day before we left Berlin ...our only regret was that we didn't take some of the other Fat Tire bike tours earlier in our week-long visit. Derek, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable and informative. He had a great sense of humor, was charismatic and took the time to ask the members of the group their names (and not as a "sign-in" activity). Given the number of tours my husband and I have taken over the year, we noted that this was the first time any of the tour guides bothered to ask names during lengthy conversations - a small gesture which impressed us greatly. As Dale Carnegie's Principle #6 pointed out: "Remember that a person's name is to that person the sweetest and most important sound in any language". Potsdam was very lovely and the overall trip was loads of fun. Please note, however, that you will need cash for the beer garten lunch as they do not take credit cards. Also, they did not have any vegetarian options for those of you who don't eat meat. The garden in on the water and offers a beautiful view.

Doing what: Potsdam Day Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This trip was one of my favorite days in Europe! It was a full day of activity seeing gardens and palaces in Potsdam. We covered so much more by bike than what one could do by foot. The stop for lunch was at a beautiful brewery right on the water. The guide was knowledgeable and funny. Awesome tour!

Doing what: Potsdam Day Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This is the "Must Do" tour. It was exactly what we needed and well worth the money. Potsdam showcases the best of Prussian royalty through it's palaces and gardens. In addition, you get an opportunity to see beautifully restored traditional German homes. You will not believe your eyes!

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

Francine
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

A really interesting tour and a great way to see Potsdam. Our guide was really good. We stopped at a lovely beer garden by the lake for lunch. Tam, our guide, helped everyone order their lunch. That was really appreciated since the menu was in German and I certainly needed help. The audio tour through the location for the Potsdam Conference was really interesting.

Doing what: Potsdam Day Bike Tour

Geoff W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

What a beautiful city and sansoucci gardens and palace wer sensational.

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

There is some confusion in how this tour is conducted. The bus took of from Berlin to Potsdam. There is not a guide tour. There is only a recording that gives brief details on specific places or buildings that we were driving on. Once you get to Postdam there are three stop to choose from to get off. The best one is the one at Neuse Palais. Beautifull garden grounds! There are many six palaces on the same grounds. The Chinese Tea house is beautifully! Something so see! It was worth the price if you only want to see the palace grounds. There is not enough time to see more.

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Once we located our guide all went well. There was a race that day so things got changed a bit and we seem to have difficulty with Europeans under estimating distances. The ride was good even though we had a headset. I expectes a guide. Our driver was the guide and he spoke a few words in English.
We drove all over Potsdam and then had plenty of time to see San Souci Palace and some of the gardens and shop in the store.

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Beautiful gardens. Well worth seeing.Very informative bus tour of Potsdam and its environs. Good restaurant near bus-stop. Disappointed not to have time to see interior of palace.
Confusing instructions as to pick-up points in Berlin. Had great difficulty finding the coach at Alexanderplatz

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

A lovely day out, riding around lush gardens and shady trees. Guide very informative. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Potsdam Day Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

We had problems in finding the departing place. It was not in the address written in the voucher. Another tour guide helped me finding the right place which was about a mile ahead. We became afraid of missing it. It has to be fixed in the future. In my oppinion this tour deserves more time to visit the garden and the town with its Palaces. We had little time to walk around the garden and visit the many intersting places that are there. And there is lot of intersting places to be visited in town.

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

The meeting point and the pick-up point were different and not clearly defined by the person present at the meeting point. The tour though the village was informative but would have been much better if there were some stops to at least take some photos. Only one guide was available. The palace and the garden are worth a visit and so is the village. If the trip could be made about 60 minutes longer it could be much improved to be a 'Highly Recommended' trip

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

Good trip; however, it would have been better if we had spent more time at Sanssouci and less time on the bus. To explore the gardens at Sanssouci would have been nice. Our guide spoke in German first and then repeated in English, which meant half of our time was spent listening to a language which we didn't understand, and it was time consuming.

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

This tour needs updating. The audio guide on the bus needs adjusting as it refers to features that are not visible at the time. The tour needs to be a bit longer as we were only able to look at Sans Souci palace and we would have like to look at the Nieues palace as well. We didn't really have much time for the gardens either. There is only really one place to get lunch so maybe it should be suggested that customers bring a packed lunch in the winter if they don't want to pay expensive restaurant prices.

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

I did this tour on a Sunday, when Germany's pretty much closed. Thus the tour didn't really coincide with the blurb online, which stated that visitors could choose between 3 different activities including shopping in the Dutch Quarter (it was definitely closed). The coach driver didn't speak English, so it wasn't until we got there that we realised there was only ONE activity available for the entire 3 hours we were in Potsdam - and that was a stroll around at the Sanssouci palace. However, it was a pleasant trip, even on a cold winter's day. There was a good cafe at Sanssouci, which provided some food and shelter - plus a visitor's centre. It was nice to look around the palace and gardens, but there was still a lot of time to kill. The driver was great, but communication was a little difficult in terms of the trip schedule not being as planned. He did drive around Potsdam and take us to all the other places on the schedule - but we were not able to get out and do anything, as everywhere else was closed. Still, it was something to do on a Sunday, and it was interesting to see Potsdam, which was an mixture of baroque splendor and Communist era apartment blocks. The recorded voiceover (provided in different languages) on the bus trip was quite explanatory about the history of the area, and was useful for an overview. All in all, it was worth doing, but maybe another day apart from Sunday would have been better. Having said that, the trip was half price when I booked - so that was a bonus.

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

We wanted to visit the castle but unfortunately we were not told that that it gets booked up very quickly. We made the mistake of having a hot chocolate first and then found the only tickets left meant that we would have about 15 mins inside the castle before we had to be back for the coach! We walked around the gardens which were lovely and luckily the weather was sunny. If it had been raining I do not know what we would have done.

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message