Berlin ATTRACTIONS See all

Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp

Located just north of Berlin, Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp was one of the most notorious death camps of the Nazi regime. The site was built in the summer of 1936 by prisoners from the Emsland camps and was used to train SS Officers who went on ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 743 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Molly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour. Very informative.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Excursions

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Jared our guide was outstanding, full of knowledge. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Peggy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very interesting and very good guide!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Selva G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very interesting visit, and our guide in Spanish, Celia was very knowledgeable, she provide us with a lot of information. Excellent option.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Phillip W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very interesting. Great insights by our guide Edward. Highly recommended. Beware - you are on your feet a long time and bring drinks and snacks with you as there aren't many places along the way to buy things.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Angela W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Ryan is the best tour guide I've ever encountered. Smart, caring, open-minded, and broad-minded. As opposed to other tour guides who perform a scripted spiel, he engages in conversation, shares his knowledge, and fields every question people ask with respect, thoughtfulness, and deep knowledge. I highly, highly recommend any tour he gives. I learned so much from this tour that will stay with me for a long time. I felt very lucky to find this tour company and guide. Thank you so much!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

jose n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very good, highly recommended

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Paul G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent trip. This was a trip you could make on your own, but you gain a much better understanding having a guide. The guide meets you at the station, is with you on the train and then walks with you to the Camp. Our guide John from Dublin was excellent, he was so animated that you really got a feeling for what the prisoners went through. It is a long day, with a lot of walking and was cold when we went, so wrap up warm. It is also advisable to take some food. Make sure that you purchase the right train ticket - you need all three zones. You could wait until you meet your guide and then he/she will advise you.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Travis P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Incredible. Heartfelt. Informative. Chilling. Mike was a brilliant guide!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Juliana A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an intense tour, you cannot help but be moved by the surroundings and historical facts about this camp. The guide we had was great and didn't make light of it in a touristy way. He also had a lot of knowledge about the Russian use of this camp, which I knew nothing about and is just as harrowing. It's important to see places like this, so we don't ever forget what happened.

We met up with the tour at the Zoo, which is the west meeting point, it was really easy to get to and locate the tour contact person. Take food and drink with you as there is nothing there, and you will get hungry / thirsty. Although there might be time when waiting for the train at Hbf to get something but don't bank on it.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

C E H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brian was a great tour guide. Would definitely recommend this trip. Fantastic value for money.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Edward D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant, highly recommended, our guide JohnJJ was brilliant, he was funny, very polite, made sure we all stayed together!! Johns knowledge was fantastic he made sure we could all hear him, he showed us what we needed to see, he was great. This is the way to do Berlin if you don't have a lot of time, definitely give it a go.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Lottie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guide JJ was very good.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Simon G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What an excellent tour this was! Caesar our tour guide was full of knowledge being able to recount the history in an empathetic way.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

johnrussopt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very well done and informative. You need a tour guide for this place, you aren't able to grasp the whole scope of the camp without the tour guides. Would recommend to anyone whose in Berlin and wants to learn about Sachsenhausen and the Holocaust/Concentration Camps/WW2.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

kathleen.cordiner United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

First class tour with an excellent guide, Taylor. His knowledge was amazing and was very good at explaining everything. Also he had a friendly and approachable attitude. My only concern that there was no mention of the amount of walking involved in this tour - this was not a problem for any of the group we were with but I could foresee difficulties if people had any walking disabilities. I would most certainly recommend the tour to others.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Maria A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Punctual, easy, interesting and entertaining. I recommend.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

ROB USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Incredible!! MIKE was fantastic!! Very knowledgeable and experienced. Powerful and sad experience.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Benjamin L E T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A sobering place to visit given its history. Our tour leaders were very informative and helpful. Certainly a place to visit whilst you are in Berlin

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent guides. Awesome experience despite the somber nature of this Camp and the History. The day was cold and miserable which led to the atmosphere and was a glimpse of what the prisoners might have had to deal with weather related. Lots of outside walking and overall so glad we spent the day doing this. Well organized and easy to navigate.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Me

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is a very real tour of what a Concentration Camp was like to both live and die in. As such it is wrong to use the word enjoyable in describing such a sombre experience but it was interesting and very well presented by tour guide JJ who led our tour. I could not fault this tour in any way from organisation to customer care throughout as well as the expert knowledge that was shared with the group.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Rachael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very informative tour done in a very respectful way. Your guide Jared was very knowledgeable. Would definitely recommend

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Washington C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Celia was very well informed had a great pace and was entertaining. We would highly recommend this tour. Dress warm and be ready to walk.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

s.norman789

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is a tour everyone should try and do when on a Berlin city break. It was very emotional and made one feel very humble when we were shown the terrible conditions people had gone through to try and stay alive, or not as in some cases. Our guide Barry was phenomenal and very passionate about the whole tour. He was so knowledgeable and tried to involve everyone during the day with giving their opinions and putting forward their views. I would definitely recommend this tour and if you get Barry as your guide, then it's a double whammy.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message