Berlin ATTRACTIONS See all

Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp

Located just north of Berlin, Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp was one of the most notorious death camps of the Nazi regime. The site was built in the summer of 1936 by prisoners from the Emsland camps and was used to train SS Officers who went on ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 703 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Zachary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A completely fantastic day trip. Utterly informative and intense at the same time. Our guide was tremendous, sensitive and knowledgable. I would thoroughly recommend visiting this site as part of any trip to Berlin.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Yvette C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide John or IN was great. Full of great stories about prisoners from the camp. Only thing he walks SO FAST. Out group was 5 people and he easily could've lost us bc he was moving fast. He was great just please slow down for people that can't practically run to and through the camp. This is ABOUT 5 HOUR WALKING TOUR. But worth the achy feet at the end.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

SONIA C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Highly recommend this trip. Our guide was JJ AKA John O'Leary who was excellent at pacing the 6 hour tour on an extremely freezing day. He was highly informative and clearly passionate about sharing his knowledge regarding the good and the shameful periods of Berlin's history. Any questions he answered confidently to the best of his knowledge. I particularly liked how he honoured individuals who died at the camp by naming them or giving examples of incidents/events that too place. Although only a few names out of thousands, it brought home the reality of what had taken place at the camp.

Enjoyed JJ as a guide so booked the Berlin Walk with him.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

andy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Mind-blowing experience to relive a heinous period in history. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and intelligent. The whole tour was highly thought-provoking and, at times, brought tears to my eyes. Yes, the historical events behind the site were sad, depressing, and violent but every human being should know them, lest we forget. If your are touring in winter, make sure you have plenty of layers on, together with a scarf, a pair of gloves, and, ideally, a trapper hat because of the wind-chill factor.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Dan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

JJ was a really great guide, provided a huge amount of historical insight into what went on at Sachsenhausen. The group was split into two, so wasn't too big, and catching the train was a breeze. The only downsides were you didn't get to explore the entire camp, there were a few buildings and sections we didn't get to see infirmary barracks and the Soviet section. If you want to see it all, I would go their on your own and pay for the audio guide. However, having the tour guide was invaluable and you got a lot more information and stories. Also remember to pickup some lunch, there isn't really anywhere to eat there.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Donna M O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour. Guide was very informative ...well done

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Lucie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic tour of an extraordinary time in our history. Tour guide Torben completed the experience. Incredibly knowledgeable and friendly, and even stayed behind at the end to put people on different trains to where they wanted to go.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Jac

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour is a must for anyone who has never been to a concentration camp. Even if you have been to other camps, it is still very interesting. Our guide Maria was very informative and the tour was well paced. If you wish to stay on after the tour finishes, your guide will be able to tell you how to get back to your hotel.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Catherine O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was excellent mainly due to our guide Michael. Michael was not just giving a guided tour, it was obvious that he has a passion for the history of Sachsenhausen, his knowledge of the camp and other information regarding the war was amazing. A really worth while trip.
Des and Catherine O'Brien, Dublin

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Alexandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgeable about many topics pertaining to Nazi Germany, Sachsenhausen itself and German culture regarding the Second World War. The tour's additional information made the visit very moving - I don't think I would have appreciated the whole picture if I had not attended with a knowledgeable tour guide. I thus recommend this tour as a must if you are thinking of visiting Sachsenhausen.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

adam b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We didn't go because the forecast was so bad

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Vivien B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Despite the cold, grey day, our guide Lorna made this tour very worthwhile. She is very knowledgeable and compassionate about the subject, as well as being very helpful and approachable. I highly recommend both Lorna and the tour.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Emily W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an amazing trip! It was easy to meet up with the group and our guide Cesar was so knowledgable about every aspect of WWII and answered every question flawlessly. Please go with this tour it is very worth your time and money.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Lauren S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I enjoy taking time to get to know the history of a city when I visit a new one, and Sachsenhausen is a huge part of the history of not only Berlin, but Germany as a whole. Our tour guide, Maria, was wonderful. She knows the camp and its history so well and her delivery was very personal. She also welcomed my questions when I approached her as we walked back to the station on the way back into the city.

Thank you very much this was most certainly the highlight of my trip.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

POLAM R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour to take. Even though it was cold and raining all day, overcome by an outstanding, knowledgeable English speaking guide 'CESAR'. He is a History major and he shared his knowledge. Highly recommend this tour and guide. 5 star

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Yannick U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

it was great! we had a great guide Lorna, who told us more then we even could imagine. Very interesting thank you!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Francesca F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very interesting and worthwhile tour. The weather for us wasnt great on the day, but only added to the atmostphre. Our tour guide Phillipa was great and kept us in good spirits despite the weather!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Ann H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Pip was well informed, intelligent and obviously emotionally involved with the topic. She was extremely well organized with the element of time getting to the trains, keeping track of time with the tour.

My young cousin and I learned a lot. In addition, I learned how easy it is to book a tour on VIATOR, which I absolutely will book tours from now on.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Mrs S V A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My son and his wife did this tour and they loved it. It was fascinating and the guide was brilliant. Would certainly use this tour guide again.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Mike H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a very interesting tour. The guide was very respectful of all that the people of the Holocaust had gone through, and helped us understand a lot more of what was going on in the concentration camps. He talked to us about all the different people groups under both Hitler and the Communist that were housed at this camp. The stories, although sad, were also inspiring and heroic. Our guide was a native German, but he spoke excellent English and was very easy to understand. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide Lorna was extremely knowledgeable. Her voice projection was excellent and no matter where I stood I could hear her. The tour was long but because it was made up of different stages broken up by exhibitions it really didn't seem that long. A highly recommended tour!!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Tony W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a moving experience. Caroline gave a very informed opinion that coming from a German gave an insight into how camps such as this could come about. Lots of information throughout the day all at an understandable level that added to the visit. Could not have been better in anyway, wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Wendi Lyn J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a cold and rainy day, which was quite fitting for where we were. But our guide was incredible. He was very helpful with the trains and then was very knowledgeable on the tour. I learned a great deal from our guide. He did a great job.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

paigewilliams77

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Maria was amazing! She had the correct balance between being informative and sensitive on the subject. This tour was chilling and eye opening. A must see!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message