Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp was one of the most notorious death camps of the Nazi regime, located just north of Berlin. It was built in the summer of 1936 by prisoners from the Emsland camps and was used to train SS Officers who went on to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 505 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a very moving tour and informative. Many things that I did not know of concentration camps. A great glimpse into a different time and human nature. Finn our tour guide was very knowledgeable and handled the often difficult material with sensitivity and professionalism. This is not to be missed. (bring your walking shoes - a lot of walking)

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing tour! Our guide was knowledgable and very informative. A must if in Berlin!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Incredible - horrifying but important. Had a fantastic tour guide too (Maria)

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Brilliant, very informative tour. Cezar is very knowledgeable and enthusiastic.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Tima Joan
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Dennis, our tour guide for the day was amazing! Extremely knowledgeable and happy to answer any of our questions. He made what he was talking about meaningful and heartfelt!
Thank you Dennis for sharing your knowledge with us, we greatly appreciate your time.

From Tima, Fiona, Dave and Giulia

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour, very moving about how prisoners where treated during and even before the war

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was very good, and interesting. Our guide Finn, was excellent. His knowledge regarding the events leading up to the opening of the camp, and its running were extremely informative.
We would recommend that you do not miss this trip whilst visiting Berlin.
Rob and Jackie, UK

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing! Guide very friendly, yet professional and very knowledgeable. So glad I booked this tour, it was emotional and seeped in history, well worth it while in Berlin.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide, Roy obviously loves history, as he described the politics behind events and encouraged questions and participant insights. However, his toughest job was to keep counting the people in our group as we all got sidetracked. Roy made sure we all experienced some of most of the camp, which ended up a tight schedule. I arranged this with my mother, aunt and sister as we all agreed that we needed to see and understand what happened. I appreciated the guidance, but next time, I will go on my own and spend the entire day with the experience.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Obviously this tour covers a pretty unpleasant subject, but none the less is one that should be taken. Our tour guide Jonny was very engaging and knowledgeable and took us around the camp which is a 30 to 40 minute U-Bahn and train ride out of Berlin. The camp itself (as you would expect) is a very chilling place to be, hearing about all the appalling ways the prisoners were treated was unbelievable and when stood in the very place it all happened was very sobering. The watch towers, walls and some of the buildings are still there, the ones that aren't are marked out on the ground by raised gravel beds. There are a couple of buildings reconstructed using the original plans and building methods along with the original laundry and kitchen blocks which house museums and exhibitions of camp artefacts. The foundation walls of the buildings used to execute and dispose of the prisoners is also still there along with the medical ‘research’ buildings and basement morgue area. Jonny covered all these subjects with the respect and sensitivity you would expect, I hesitate to use the word enjoy, but I’m so glad I took this tour and would recommend it without hesitation to others.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was the mighty Finn (Finnegan) from Belfast. This was an excellent tour. We took the train and travelled the same ground, and walked through the same streets to the concentration camp that those did who were sent to Sachsenhausen. During the walk, Finn pointed out the current political posters for those running for election and gave us an idea of current politics. He is incredibly well read and well spoken on his subject matter. This is a must tour for people to do although it is tough subject material to cover.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Jared was exceptional.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Really good Tour, handled with respect and compassion by our Guide, Finn.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I have never taken an organized tour to a concentration camp before. I usually go on my own so I can go at my own pace and reflect, but I am glad I took this one. The camp was huge and hard to cover in one day, so having a guide to explain things and ask questions of was very helpful. Our guide, Taylor, was exceptionally good and knowledgeable about the camp and World War II. He pointed out or explained things that you wouldn't necessarily find in a guidebook or on the audio tour. I think if I had gone on my own I would have missed some things or might not have been able to cover as much ground. Those on the tour should be aware that once we arrived at the station, we walked the distance to the camp, just at the internees would have upon their arrival (reflective time). It is probably about 1.5 miles. Some people were able to take the bus back to the station (since we were on our feet almost the full day--they tell us to pack our own lunch), but since it runs only about once an hour, it was very crowded. I think that is why they don't rely on the bus to take you to the camp. (The camp was well attended on a weekday, so I wonder why the schedule is so infrequent.) All in all, a very well organized tour, very informative and very efficiently run. (Taylor was very good in making sure that each person knew where to leave the train on their return to Berlin, which I thought was very considerate.)

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message