Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp was one of the most notorious death camps of the Nazi regime, located just north of Berlin. It was built in the summer of 1936 by prisoners from the Emsland camps and was used to train SS Officers who went on to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 474 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Five stars for our guide, Jonny. Obviously not five stars for a place that brought terror to tens of thousands. The tour was informative and I learned so much. Jonny was kind to all of us and quite knowledgable. Make sure you bring a lunch on this tour as a concentration camp doesn't have shops. Visiting a camp is a must while in Germany as we should never forget the crimes against humanity that took place there. If you're big hearted, bring some tissues. There should be larger signs at the concrete slabs where the remains of prisoners are buried as people were sitting on them like they were benches and I thought it was quit disrespectful.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Despite difficulties experienced on the journey from the meeting point to the camp due to overcrowding on the regional train and extremely high temperatures during the day my wife and I found the trip completely fulfilling. This was, to no small measure, due to the way our guide (Kevin) escorted the tour and provided enlightening information as to the history and function of the camp. He provided an excellent oversight of the political and economic environment that existed over the period and enabled us to understand how the events that occurred were engineered and also how the camp had been used by opposing sides in similar ways. The value of this in providing a full understanding of how such an abomination came to exist and how it then developed was far reaching and the importance of the lessons that must be learnt cannot be overstated.
We would highly recommend the tour for the reasons given and hope that others might gain a greater understanding of the way that state and political manipulation can produce such horrific results.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable and respectful of such a sensitive topic. He stuck to the facts and didn't try to embellish history, which was very refreshing. I would definitely do a tour like this again.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable and provided good insight throughout the tour. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We have taken many guided tours while traveling all over the world. Our guide was with out question the best guide we have ever had. He did not miss a beat . His knowledge of the camp was amazing. He answered everything that was asked of him. That is the guide i would reccomend to everyone. I beleive his name was Kevin.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I gave this a 5 mainly because of our guide Rick. Got us to think outside the square on how as humans we are capable of such attrocities. Wasnt a pleasant day but had to be done

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable. We had plenty of time to see many of the sites. Although we started late (previous guide did not show up, supposedly "slept in"), it was easy to get there (even though we had to switch several trains due to construction on many platforms).

I would have liked to see a couple of other places that he chose not to see, possibly have time to see things on our own that others on the tour were not interested in. Perhaps on subsequent tours there will be that allotted time to "roam" and then meet up later.

Interesting story of one survivor that he spoke sbout gave this camp a sad but personal feel for what all these men went through.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour and guide. Would recommend this to anyone visiting Berlin.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Suzanne R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Humbling and harrowing are 2 words that come to mind. Our guide met us at Berlin and took us by train to Sachsenhausen. Darren was really respectful in sharing his vast knowledge of this camp. the tour was a good length and we were given the choice to stay at the end if we wanted to or travel back with the guide. This was an experience that I would not have missed.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very knowledgable tour guide. A memorable experience.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Both Finn,our guide, and this tour were both amazing! Finn is very discreet and respectful to all.
Although the content of this tour is confronting it is also fascinating.
We were impressed with every aspect. Highly recommend it.
Neos family from Australia.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A must-see for all. Necessary to understand the past and the present.
Be certain to get a three zone rail ticket and to take food and drink on tour.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and had a deep appreciation for the emotions behind a very difficult topic. We highly recommend Nickolay.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour very moving. Our guide Kevin was excellent and very knowledgeable. A must if you are wanting to understand Berlins past.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message