Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp was one of the most notorious death camps of the Nazi regime, located just north of Berlin. It was built in the summer of 1936 by prisoners from the Emsland camps and was used to train SS Officers who went on to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 612 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Sad day but what an experience. We learnt so much of this crazy history. JJ was an excellent guide. There were nearly 40 people in our group but he always managed to keep everyone close together so no one missed any of his knowledge which I have to say was outstanding.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide was very knowledgeable and made the visit very interesting.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a must see! David, was our guide and he made the tour! He was very educated on the events that happened and he presented it with the right amount of respect and reverence needed. I almost didn't sign up for this tour due to the return trip, on you own, on the train. David made sure all the people on the tour had their tickets and made their connections.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An incredibly humbling and sombre experience which I would recommend to anyone to do. You cannot truly comprehend the atrocities committed here, but we must never forget the pain and suffering inflicted on innocent people here, and coming here, seeing the camp, ensures that you never will. Our guide was well organised, friendly, knowledgeable and informative. Definitely recommended.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A harrowing but extremely interesting tour. Our guide, Roy, was very knowledgeable and informative. He explained very clearly and in a way that I could understand and remember. Excellent.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a sobering and interesting tour. Rick, our tour guide, did a great job and provided a very informative commentary.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Brenda S
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was great. The guide was nice and friendly. She was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a must-see for anybody interested in the history of the world. This tour was professionally conducted by our guide Rick. An insight into the the two world wars of last century revealed how quickly any nation can descend into a downward spiral of self-destruction. Very educational and thought provoking.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour, very educational, with a passionate guide ashley who was genuine and solemn with her approach to guiding the group

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was sad but the very educational. The tour guide was amazing.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour Was great. Your guide Jared was superb. Great explanations personal care for questions We will never forget the tour as we should never forget what transpired there
I guess our time was a littlerestricted because of the music festival and the late train departure well managed

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a fantastic English tour guide by the name of Roy. He was very knowledgeable about the history, indeepth commentary of what was happening through out Europe at that stage. Made the whole experience very worthwhile and still very humble.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was very informative and interesting. Our tour guide JJ really knew his stuff. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Phillipa was a fantastic guide. Very knowlegeable and experienced in conducting Sachsenhausen Tours. A few classmates and I took a day trip out to Oranienberg. I enjoyed the scenic train ride and the time flew by as Phillipa captivated us with decades of important history!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was absolutely awesome, especially because of the tour guide J J O'Leary!!! Top bloke and full of fun facts. Really made it worthwhile.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

So lucky with our tour guide, he was very knowledgeable and ready to answer any questions!! Thanks

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What an amazing experience, even with rain all day!
It gave you an insight to the living conditions of the prisoners.

Everybody should do it!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was very very good. JJ who was our tour guide was exceptionally knowledgable about the camp and German history. He made the tour informative and really interesting without making it seem either gratuitous or over emotional. I came away feeling a deep sense of sadness but also a sense of the huge historical importance of visiting such sites.....'lest we forget' I would recommend this trip to others....the travelling to and from the camp was made stress free by the guide as well.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was unforgettable! Our guide Mike was the best guide I have ever met. Highly recommended!

Marko Someroja

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour with guide Caroline! She was extraordinary, very helpful and with great knowledge of history. We had such a great experience even with the train drivers' strike. Definitely recommended!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A must-do if you are in Berlin. A tragic place that must always remain in the collective memory so that it. Ever happens again.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A visit to Germany would not be complete without a visit to a concentration camp - it's history we can never forget and part of the heritage. Sachsenhausen is just a short subway ride from Berlin 40-minutes, and another 10-15 minute walk from the station. It was very useful to get a primer about the area, site and history before entering. Upon entering the camp, your heart seems to drop, and you can almost feel the devastation and lost souls. There are a few buildings remaining, and most of the grounds are sacred and bare. You will never forget visiting the remains.

The tour is not pleasant nor should it be one where you take photos, etc. It should be reflective.

Our guide, Rick, was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable about the site and history his MA major, so he was able to provide deep insights and answer all questions. He was also very sociable with everyone in the group, chatting about backgrounds, interests, etc. I would have loved to have gone on another tour with him.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide, Ceasar, was excellent. Personable, easy to understand, extremely knowledgeable.
Interesting, too, to visit with others drawn to the same tour, the same investigation of history.

I highly recommend this tour.

Linda, Chicago, IL, USA

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message