Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp was one of the most notorious death camps of the Nazi regime, located just north of Berlin. It was built in the summer of 1936 by prisoners from the Emsland camps and was used to train SS Officers who went on to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 597 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was sad but the very educational. The tour guide was amazing.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour Was great. Your guide Jared was superb. Great explanations personal care for questions We will never forget the tour as we should never forget what transpired there
I guess our time was a littlerestricted because of the music festival and the late train departure well managed

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a fantastic English tour guide by the name of Roy. He was very knowledgeable about the history, indeepth commentary of what was happening through out Europe at that stage. Made the whole experience very worthwhile and still very humble.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was very informative and interesting. Our tour guide JJ really knew his stuff. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Phillipa was a fantastic guide. Very knowlegeable and experienced in conducting Sachsenhausen Tours. A few classmates and I took a day trip out to Oranienberg. I enjoyed the scenic train ride and the time flew by as Phillipa captivated us with decades of important history!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was absolutely awesome, especially because of the tour guide J J O'Leary!!! Top bloke and full of fun facts. Really made it worthwhile.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

So lucky with our tour guide, he was very knowledgeable and ready to answer any questions!! Thanks

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What an amazing experience, even with rain all day!
It gave you an insight to the living conditions of the prisoners.

Everybody should do it!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was very very good. JJ who was our tour guide was exceptionally knowledgable about the camp and German history. He made the tour informative and really interesting without making it seem either gratuitous or over emotional. I came away feeling a deep sense of sadness but also a sense of the huge historical importance of visiting such sites.....'lest we forget' I would recommend this trip to others....the travelling to and from the camp was made stress free by the guide as well.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was unforgettable! Our guide Mike was the best guide I have ever met. Highly recommended!

Marko Someroja

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour with guide Caroline! She was extraordinary, very helpful and with great knowledge of history. We had such a great experience even with the train drivers' strike. Definitely recommended!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A must-do if you are in Berlin. A tragic place that must always remain in the collective memory so that it. Ever happens again.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A visit to Germany would not be complete without a visit to a concentration camp - it's history we can never forget and part of the heritage. Sachsenhausen is just a short subway ride from Berlin 40-minutes, and another 10-15 minute walk from the station. It was very useful to get a primer about the area, site and history before entering. Upon entering the camp, your heart seems to drop, and you can almost feel the devastation and lost souls. There are a few buildings remaining, and most of the grounds are sacred and bare. You will never forget visiting the remains.

The tour is not pleasant nor should it be one where you take photos, etc. It should be reflective.

Our guide, Rick, was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable about the site and history his MA major, so he was able to provide deep insights and answer all questions. He was also very sociable with everyone in the group, chatting about backgrounds, interests, etc. I would have loved to have gone on another tour with him.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide, Ceasar, was excellent. Personable, easy to understand, extremely knowledgeable.
Interesting, too, to visit with others drawn to the same tour, the same investigation of history.

I highly recommend this tour.

Linda, Chicago, IL, USA

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very moving experience. Highly recommend to everyone!! Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and created the most memorable experience for us.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour! Our guide Taylor, was a true historian. He was very knowledgeable of all the events leading up to the concentration camps. The tour was done with the dignity and respect it deserved. Taylor made sure that he answered all questions. Once the tour was over he even made sure that everyone in the group knew how to get back to their hotels. 5 stars

Art and Mary
Boston

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Jamie was an excellent guide with just the right amount of information so we didn't go into overload. He gave us time to look around on our own as well as directing us to the places we should see. He was cool, calm and collected despite there being a rail strike which affected our journey and the tram driver announcing he was going a different way to the one he should have been going!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Dennis the guide was exceptional. He gave us lots of valuable information and was quiet theatrical as well. You couldn't get anyone more helpful.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide César was great, full of knowledge. I definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is a must do tour particularly if you are otherwise unable to visit any other concentration camps. The tour guide was excellent in his approach. This is a disturbing part of history, but a must, so we do not forget about the misery that humans can impose on other humans and keep it from happening again.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Sachsenhausen Tour was amazing. Very informative and well worth the time. Our guide was great with managing the large group and ensuring we had time to see things on our own.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I believe that everyone should attend a tour like this to see, and to learn from, the interesting and sad past of the horrors conducted around the time of WW2. This is the core message that was so amazingly delivered by our wonderful tour guide, Jared. Jared is so knowledgable and delivers outstanding information that will make this tour one of the most interesting you will attend. With his education in psychology, and vast knowledge of history, we were able to have an even better experience as he tied so much of what we were seeing and feeling deeper into the context of history and how it relates to Germany today. Absolutely wonderful job done by Jared, who even helped us once we got back on the train back to Berlin by trying to get us where we needed to go and answering any last minute questions that we may have had. I recommend anyone attending this tour to first visit the Topography of Terror in Berlin to get a solid background learning to even further help make this tour meaningful.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message