Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp was one of the most notorious death camps of the Nazi regime, located just north of Berlin. It was built in the summer of 1936 by prisoners from the Emsland camps and was used to train SS Officers who went on to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 491 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I have never taken an organized tour to a concentration camp before. I usually go on my own so I can go at my own pace and reflect, but I am glad I took this one. The camp was huge and hard to cover in one day, so having a guide to explain things and ask questions of was very helpful. Our guide, Taylor, was exceptionally good and knowledgeable about the camp and World War II. He pointed out or explained things that you wouldn't necessarily find in a guidebook or on the audio tour. I think if I had gone on my own I would have missed some things or might not have been able to cover as much ground. Those on the tour should be aware that once we arrived at the station, we walked the distance to the camp, just at the internees would have upon their arrival (reflective time). It is probably about 1.5 miles. Some people were able to take the bus back to the station (since we were on our feet almost the full day--they tell us to pack our own lunch), but since it runs only about once an hour, it was very crowded. I think that is why they don't rely on the bus to take you to the camp. (The camp was well attended on a weekday, so I wonder why the schedule is so infrequent.) All in all, a very well organized tour, very informative and very efficiently run. (Taylor was very good in making sure that each person knew where to leave the train on their return to Berlin, which I thought was very considerate.)

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Thanks to Darren for the informative, interesting and educational tour. We could have self toured but it really wouldn't have been the same. A real experience that no visit to Berlin should go without.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was excellent, the guide was amazing, I felt like a student with a teacher, a vocational teacher named Kevin. He took the time to show us everything in detail. I learned a lot. What an experience!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Guide (Richard) was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable and thorough with his explanation of events and facts.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Thank you Jonny - great guide! We thoroughly enjoyed the tour. We booked this tour and another ne after we got to Berlin so the immediate confirmation from online booking and the use of e voucher is very reliable and convenient.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Mike, was great his subject knowledge was amazing.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guided tour to Sachsenhausen was definitely worth booking. We had a person from Original Berlin Walks meeting us at the Metro station and directed us to our tour guide - using metro transport. Our tour guide should definitely be highly praised for he was very knowledgeable and was able to explain the somber history in a very plain and user friendly way, in such a way that even my 11 and 14 years old girls were able to follow.VERY WELL DONE. Moreover he was able to communicate in very good English (unlike the heavily accented English of some other guides we experienced on other tours). Another plus is the fact that the guide showed personal interest in all members of the group to the point that he looked for all of us on the metro (which was rather packed) to ensure that we all knew how to reach our destination.

The Sachsenhausen Memorial was itself the peek highlight of our holiday. We highly recommend dedicating a day to reflect on such brutal experiences human nature is able to conduct, in between the fun and excitement the city of Berlin can offer.
Just remember to take a packed lunch with you and wear adequate walking shoes. Since not much shelter is to be found on site one needs to go equipped with rain jacket/ umbrella or sun block, as the case may be.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour guide was excellent and very knowledgable.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide Ryan was the best tour guide I came across over my entire European holiday. He was knowledgeable, passionate and experienced.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Smooth and comfortable experience for travel to and from Sachsenhausen. Great guide. Definitely worth doing guided tour.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Five stars for our guide, Jonny. Obviously not five stars for a place that brought terror to tens of thousands. The tour was informative and I learned so much. Jonny was kind to all of us and quite knowledgable. Make sure you bring a lunch on this tour as a concentration camp doesn't have shops. Visiting a camp is a must while in Germany as we should never forget the crimes against humanity that took place there. If you're big hearted, bring some tissues. There should be larger signs at the concrete slabs where the remains of prisoners are buried as people were sitting on them like they were benches and I thought it was quit disrespectful.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Despite difficulties experienced on the journey from the meeting point to the camp due to overcrowding on the regional train and extremely high temperatures during the day my wife and I found the trip completely fulfilling. This was, to no small measure, due to the way our guide (Kevin) escorted the tour and provided enlightening information as to the history and function of the camp. He provided an excellent oversight of the political and economic environment that existed over the period and enabled us to understand how the events that occurred were engineered and also how the camp had been used by opposing sides in similar ways. The value of this in providing a full understanding of how such an abomination came to exist and how it then developed was far reaching and the importance of the lessons that must be learnt cannot be overstated.
We would highly recommend the tour for the reasons given and hope that others might gain a greater understanding of the way that state and political manipulation can produce such horrific results.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable and respectful of such a sensitive topic. He stuck to the facts and didn't try to embellish history, which was very refreshing. I would definitely do a tour like this again.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable and provided good insight throughout the tour. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message