Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp was one of the most notorious death camps of the Nazi regime, located just north of Berlin. It was built in the summer of 1936 by prisoners from the Emsland camps and was used to train SS Officers who went on to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 497 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide, Roy obviously loves history, as he described the politics behind events and encouraged questions and participant insights. However, his toughest job was to keep counting the people in our group as we all got sidetracked. Roy made sure we all experienced some of most of the camp, which ended up a tight schedule. I arranged this with my mother, aunt and sister as we all agreed that we needed to see and understand what happened. I appreciated the guidance, but next time, I will go on my own and spend the entire day with the experience.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Obviously this tour covers a pretty unpleasant subject, but none the less is one that should be taken. Our tour guide Jonny was very engaging and knowledgeable and took us around the camp which is a 30 to 40 minute U-Bahn and train ride out of Berlin. The camp itself (as you would expect) is a very chilling place to be, hearing about all the appalling ways the prisoners were treated was unbelievable and when stood in the very place it all happened was very sobering. The watch towers, walls and some of the buildings are still there, the ones that aren't are marked out on the ground by raised gravel beds. There are a couple of buildings reconstructed using the original plans and building methods along with the original laundry and kitchen blocks which house museums and exhibitions of camp artefacts. The foundation walls of the buildings used to execute and dispose of the prisoners is also still there along with the medical ‘research’ buildings and basement morgue area. Jonny covered all these subjects with the respect and sensitivity you would expect, I hesitate to use the word enjoy, but I’m so glad I took this tour and would recommend it without hesitation to others.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was the mighty Finn (Finnegan) from Belfast. This was an excellent tour. We took the train and travelled the same ground, and walked through the same streets to the concentration camp that those did who were sent to Sachsenhausen. During the walk, Finn pointed out the current political posters for those running for election and gave us an idea of current politics. He is incredibly well read and well spoken on his subject matter. This is a must tour for people to do although it is tough subject material to cover.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Jared was exceptional.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Really good Tour, handled with respect and compassion by our Guide, Finn.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I have never taken an organized tour to a concentration camp before. I usually go on my own so I can go at my own pace and reflect, but I am glad I took this one. The camp was huge and hard to cover in one day, so having a guide to explain things and ask questions of was very helpful. Our guide, Taylor, was exceptionally good and knowledgeable about the camp and World War II. He pointed out or explained things that you wouldn't necessarily find in a guidebook or on the audio tour. I think if I had gone on my own I would have missed some things or might not have been able to cover as much ground. Those on the tour should be aware that once we arrived at the station, we walked the distance to the camp, just at the internees would have upon their arrival (reflective time). It is probably about 1.5 miles. Some people were able to take the bus back to the station (since we were on our feet almost the full day--they tell us to pack our own lunch), but since it runs only about once an hour, it was very crowded. I think that is why they don't rely on the bus to take you to the camp. (The camp was well attended on a weekday, so I wonder why the schedule is so infrequent.) All in all, a very well organized tour, very informative and very efficiently run. (Taylor was very good in making sure that each person knew where to leave the train on their return to Berlin, which I thought was very considerate.)

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Thanks to Darren for the informative, interesting and educational tour. We could have self toured but it really wouldn't have been the same. A real experience that no visit to Berlin should go without.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was excellent, the guide was amazing, I felt like a student with a teacher, a vocational teacher named Kevin. He took the time to show us everything in detail. I learned a lot. What an experience!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Guide (Richard) was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable and thorough with his explanation of events and facts.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Thank you Jonny - great guide! We thoroughly enjoyed the tour. We booked this tour and another ne after we got to Berlin so the immediate confirmation from online booking and the use of e voucher is very reliable and convenient.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Mike, was great his subject knowledge was amazing.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guided tour to Sachsenhausen was definitely worth booking. We had a person from Original Berlin Walks meeting us at the Metro station and directed us to our tour guide - using metro transport. Our tour guide should definitely be highly praised for he was very knowledgeable and was able to explain the somber history in a very plain and user friendly way, in such a way that even my 11 and 14 years old girls were able to follow.VERY WELL DONE. Moreover he was able to communicate in very good English (unlike the heavily accented English of some other guides we experienced on other tours). Another plus is the fact that the guide showed personal interest in all members of the group to the point that he looked for all of us on the metro (which was rather packed) to ensure that we all knew how to reach our destination.

The Sachsenhausen Memorial was itself the peek highlight of our holiday. We highly recommend dedicating a day to reflect on such brutal experiences human nature is able to conduct, in between the fun and excitement the city of Berlin can offer.
Just remember to take a packed lunch with you and wear adequate walking shoes. Since not much shelter is to be found on site one needs to go equipped with rain jacket/ umbrella or sun block, as the case may be.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour guide was excellent and very knowledgable.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide Ryan was the best tour guide I came across over my entire European holiday. He was knowledgeable, passionate and experienced.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message