Berlin ATTRACTIONS See all

Sanssouci Palace

Step back to the 17th century with a visit to the lavish rococo palace of Frederick the Great, Sanssouci. A reminder of the days when Potsdam was the royal seat of the Brandenburg-Prussian rulers, this famous palace is known for its voluptuous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This tour is incredibly informative- great for history lovers! Our guide, Jim, was great and made the whole experience really interesting, using pictures to help us to keep up with who was who. The only disappointment was that most of the palaces at the start are only seen from a distance. The views along the walk are very beautiful, as you pass through wooded areas, but if you find it difficult to stand for long amounts of time, I don't think that this tour would be for you, there was a lot of walking. At the end you are dropped at Sanssouci Palace, which is one of the highlights of the trip, however we didn't have time to look around properly so I recommend that you leave enough time. If you are thinking of doing the trip yourself and independently of a tour guide, I felt that the most interesting places we visited were Cecilienhof, the old Dutch quarters of Potsdam, Potsdam town in general (looked like there were some lovely shops) and Sanssouci Palace. I really wish that we had spent more time in these places, and sometimes I felt like there was a bit too much information, however, our guide was superb and he did make the trip enjoyable. So... would I recommend it? If you really love history and don't mind lovely picturesque walks seeing many things from a distance, then yes, you would love this tour. However, if I'm honest, although I enjoyed the tour, I felt that a lot of time was spent stood listening and enjoying the view from afar, when I was looking forward to seeing a palace up close and immersing myself in their lavish gardens. If you are like me then I would recommend going independently, as public transport is so good, and just visit the four places I recommended above. If these aren't enough for you, or you don't want to venture too far from Berlin, I'd really recommend visiting the gardens of Charlottenberg Palace. We did this another day and it was beautiful.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Potsdam half day tour to Potsdam was not really as advertised. The trip was a tour of the Sanssouci Palace. In Potsdam we drove (rather quickly) by many great sites. Drove by so quickly we missed them! Don't get me wrong, the palace was worth the trip. Great grounds, great castle, great guide. There was so much to see in Potsdam, I strongly suggest that others take a train to Potsdam. Do the Hop on Hop off tour and have the opportunity to see other sights in the city along with the Sanssouci Palace. It's a full day's trip, but this tour left me feeling like we missed out on ALOT!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This trip was excellent. We enjoyed the live commentary by the well-informed guide affording a fabulous insight into Potsdam and sights on the way there from the Kurfürstendamm. We would have enjoyed a guided tour in the Schloß Sanssouci by the same guide which some did take, but we had not been informed of this possibility and had, therefore, not booked. However, the audio guide tour booked on arrival at the Schloß was excellent. I would just advise going straight into the booking office on arrival at the Schloß as tour entries are timed and need to fit in with the coach's departure.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This is a wonderful trip. Our only regret is that we were unable to purchase tickets to view the palace once we got to Sanssouci. They needed to be purchased separately before the bus tour. This was not conveyed in your write up. You only state the price of the tickets for the castles.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Only 4 people on the tour so plenty of room on the double decker coach! Driver spoke no English at all so just as well our German travelling companions could interprate for us when discussing times etc. Time spent at Sanssouci and the Dutch Quarter very pleasant but would be much better in the summer months when the park statues are uncovered and the shrubs are in bloom. Also Sunday not the best day for the trip as most of the town was shut.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

I did this tour on a Sunday, when Germany's pretty much closed. Thus the tour didn't really coincide with the blurb online, which stated that visitors could choose between 3 different activities including shopping in the Dutch Quarter (it was definitely closed). The coach driver didn't speak English, so it wasn't until we got there that we realised there was only ONE activity available for the entire 3 hours we were in Potsdam - and that was a stroll around at the Sanssouci palace. However, it was a pleasant trip, even on a cold winter's day. There was a good cafe at Sanssouci, which provided some food and shelter - plus a visitor's centre. It was nice to look around the palace and gardens, but there was still a lot of time to kill. The driver was great, but communication was a little difficult in terms of the trip schedule not being as planned. He did drive around Potsdam and take us to all the other places on the schedule - but we were not able to get out and do anything, as everywhere else was closed. Still, it was something to do on a Sunday, and it was interesting to see Potsdam, which was an mixture of baroque splendor and Communist era apartment blocks. The recorded voiceover (provided in different languages) on the bus trip was quite explanatory about the history of the area, and was useful for an overview. All in all, it was worth doing, but maybe another day apart from Sunday would have been better. Having said that, the trip was half price when I booked - so that was a bonus.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Ordering tickets on line was very efficient. The narration was interesting, however, it wasn't always synchronized with our geographical location. There were buildings described but not seen. Our biggest disappointment was not being able to do a tour inside Sanssouci. There re only a limited number of tickets sold per hour. By the time we could gain entry our bus was due to leave. This occurred at mid-low tourist season. In the literature there was no indication that the tour would likely be only of the grounds. Having palace tickets to sell in advance would be an improvement.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

Too much time spent on the bus. Too little time to go into the Sanssouci palace (first free admittance was 1415, but the coach left at 1500). Audio did not always match where we were and told us nothing about the Sanssouci Palace. The music between audio clips was awful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Thanks to Jim, our guide, we discovered all Potsdam in one day. Walking and very wisely taking the city bus, we did all we had to do in half a day. The tour is finisching in front of the Sanssouci Palace, and this gives you the opportunity to visit the Palace yourself, if you want to. We did it and for sure it's a must in Potsdam. The day was rainy but the beauty of Potsdam makes you forget about the rain.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

There were only 3 on the tour. The bus provided earphones for pre-recorded commentary which was disappointing. We were able to explore grounds of Sanssouci for about 1.5 hours but with no guide it was difficult to make sense of much we were seeing. Glad we got to see Potsdam however.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

There were only 3 on the tour. The bus provided earphones for pre-recorded commentary which was disappointing. We were able to explore grounds of Sanssouci for about 1.5 hours but with no guide it was difficult to make sense of much we were seeing. Glad we got to see Potsdam however.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

Although Potsdam was a lovely place to visit, I have just a few disappointing comments to make overall. No luxury, air-con coach picked me up at the designated pickup point, it was a hop-on-hop-off double-decker bus (with no air-con and no toilet). Travel at start of journey on bus was particularly slow and when we eventually arrived in Potsdam for the tour on the bus, by the time it dropped the passengers off at the garden (12noon) we were given insufficient time to walk through the garden (at a reasonable pace) which took approx 30 mins; only to arrive at the Sanssouci Palace to join the end of a very long queue to purchase entrance tickets to the palace. There were only two people on the ticket desk; we ran out of time and it resulted in us having to run to the museum shop to purchase a photographic book on the Sanssouci Palace as we had to get back to the (hop-on hop-off bus) where we had been dropped off initially (another 30 mins walk away). The palace and tiered gardens looked very beautiful as it was a lovely day, but I cannot possibly comment on the interior of the palace, as I never got to see it first hand. A good day out, but disappointed with the coach and not being able to view the palace after travelling all that way :-(

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2011

Quite good for what it is. The bus takes you to Potsdam and there is onboard commentary via headphones. You get to spend a couple of hours at Sanssouci. Inexpensive.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

This should have been a much more enjoyable tour than it turned out to be. I was pleased that I got to see the three palaces and the grounds, but there was no indication in the ads for the tour that so much walking would be involved (perhaps four miles). Had I known that, I would have scheduled another company's tour. By the time we reached Sanssouci, the highlight of the tour, I was too tired to care. I am 70 but fit, and the lengthy walking could have been avoided had the route been shortened. The tour guide, Jim, was very knowledgeable, but he of necessity hurried us through each stop so that taking pictures was rushed. We were also given only 30 minutes for lunch and no time for stops in Potsdam itself. This tour needs to be re-thought.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2010

The guide in Potsdam/Sanssouci was good but the remainder of the trip was terrible. First, a number of us were told our tickets were for a 1pm departure from Alexanderplatz. The bus driver drove us to Ku'damm where we waited for 1 hour for another group! What a waste. Why not have said there was only one departure point? There was nothing on the website/ticket that indicated this. On the return, the bus driver decided he would only stop at Ku'damm, leaving the Alexanderplatz passengers to find their way home. Not very good.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message