Of strategic importance since it first straddled the Spree River in the 13th century, Berlin went on to hog center stage in the turbulent 20th century. Today the city has been restored as the nation's capital, is the focus of a mammoth project ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1658 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Guide: Mort. He was very knowledgeable, funny, and accessible. (As an American his English was great, which was very helpful.) The history was extremely interesting and the pace of the tour was good.

Quick note about local staff: we had some trouble with the U/S-bahn due to construction and missed the departure time. We called the local office and they told us where to meet the rest of the tour at the nearest stop to us, talking to our taxi driver and giving us directions. They were very helpful and we only missed the introduction. Thanks so much!

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide Mort was amazing. So incredibly knowledgable and very friendly. He was so inspiring... The perfect way to spend an afternoon. Thank you.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Jared was exceptional.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was an awesome experience going up in the elevator and then having a window seat. My sister and I not only enjoyed the fantastic view of Berlin, but also enjoyed a great meal. That was one of several highlights of our trip we shall never forgoet.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Dinner atop the Berlin TV Tower

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely marvellous.Full of necessary information , well explained and when needed humour. Great Would say a must for those who can.

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide Andrew made the trip so fun. Lots of sights and information. He was so knowledgeable and interesting! Loved the trip. He also recommended biking in Potsdam which was also beautiful and fun!

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Kevin the tour guide was very knowledgeable and always friendly in his descriptions and explanations of the historical design and atrocities of the Nazi world. We travelled through relevant areas and finished the tour at the remnant site of the SS which is now a museum with open displays of certain details. The history of Warsaw was the topic on the day of the tour. There is also a small and enclosed film studio showing how ravaged the city was during WWII. These exhibits were free and highly recommended.
Overall, I highly recommend anyone with any historical interest to take this tour.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour!

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Extremely disappointed that we paid $38.00 U.S. for cab fare to what they consider an office to pick up
our tickets only to find out that we could have picked them up at a stop very close to our hotel. However, the instructions on our confirmation indicated we had to go to a particular place to submit our voucher. That was not the case and a huge waste of money. Passes, however, were very convenient.

Doing what: Berlin City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

There were 6 of my family on this tour. Our guide was Ryan, a Scotsman from Glasgow. He was fantastic. Very knowledgeable. For example, we had seen the Jewish Memorial a couple of days before and really could not make heads or tails of it rather than it being different sized graves. He gave us various themes on what it all meant and it was very thought provoking.
Given the somber nature of this time in history, Ryan clearly painted a picture on how the Third Reich came to be, how it stayed in power, and then how it lost its way.
It was interesting to me how architecture played a role in demonstrating the power of the Third Reich. He also was not just Third Reich centric. He talked of the architecture that has been built, and is continuing to be built in Berlin today, and the themes in it.
A fascinating tour of the history. Ryan made it come to life.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

Pam
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Really loved this tour. Our guide was passionate, engaged, and so informed, and we learned so much from this tour, I thought about it for days. A real must do.

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The 2 day hop on hop off with the the 1 hour cruise was great! Berlin has many great spots and the hop on hop off bus every 10 minutes doesn't make you have to wait very long.

Doing what: Berlin City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Ian L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Brilliant tour by Nigel. Very entertaining and knowledgeable guide with first hand experience of Berlin during the Cold War. The group size was a little bit too large.

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Good tour. We had the boat tour also. It was worth the money. Finding the boat was difficult though.

Doing what: Berlin City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message