Of strategic importance since it first straddled the Spree River in the 13th century, Berlin went on to hog center stage in the turbulent 20th century. Today the city has been restored as the nation's capital, is the focus of a mammoth project ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2846 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anthony G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Best city walking tour i've ever done! Jamie was an excellent tour guide, and despite the snow and cold conditions it was an excellent day!

Doing what: Berlin Highlights and Hidden Sites Historical Walking Tour

Gijs K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Jared was a nice bloke who did just the right things as a tour guide. He told us about himself just enough to get a sense of friend feelings an about the staggering history of Berlin while guiding us trough various parts of Berlin. All together we now have a much better knowledge about the history of Berlin also pre WW2 now thanks to his guidance. His stories are amusing and informative and helped us with picking out places we wanted to see on a more detailled level. Keep up the good work Jared, you are one of the best tour guides we've had.

Doing what: Berlin Highlights and Hidden Sites Historical Walking Tour

SONIA C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Highly recommend this trip. Our guide was JJ AKA John O'Leary who was excellent at pacing the 6 hour tour on an extremely freezing day. He was highly informative and clearly passionate about sharing his knowledge regarding the good and the shameful periods of Berlin's history. Any questions he answered confidently to the best of his knowledge. I particularly liked how he honoured individuals who died at the camp by naming them or giving examples of incidents/events that too place. Although only a few names out of thousands, it brought home the reality of what had taken place at the camp.

Enjoyed JJ as a guide so booked the Berlin Walk with him.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Sandy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Jared was awesome! A walking encyclopedia of Berlin's history. I met up with a friend the next day, a Berlin native, and told him stories Jared had told us during the walk that he had never know - that's how good it was!

Doing what: Berlin Highlights and Hidden Sites Historical Walking Tour

Joan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was a great introduction to the sights of Berlin and helped us to plan the rest of our stay. Brian was a great guide, very knowledgeable and entertaining too! Would definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Berlin Highlights and Hidden Sites Historical Walking Tour

Yvette C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide John or IN was great. Full of great stories about prisoners from the camp. Only thing he walks SO FAST. Out group was 5 people and he easily could've lost us bc he was moving fast. He was great just please slow down for people that can't practically run to and through the camp. This is ABOUT 5 HOUR WALKING TOUR. But worth the achy feet at the end.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Petronia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Really a must of a Berlin visit. Lot of unknown history facts.
Wonderful guide. Great Phil.

Doing what: Berlin Highlights and Hidden Sites Historical Walking Tour

Phil T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Yvette C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Vouter was great and full of information. He really knew his history and was able to answer any questions. A great tour for WW UK buffs

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

Sylvia J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was amazing! Our tour guide Taylor was extremely knowledgable and explained everything so well. He showed us places we wouldn't have known about or thought to visit. Taylor gave us a history recap at the start of the tour, which was very helpful, as it helped put things into perspective and made the whole tour flow really nicely. I think this tour is an absolute must for anyone visiting Berlin. Berlin is a big city, and without a guide, it's really hard to know what you are looking at. A lot is covered in the 4 hours and it is extremely good value for money. I can't recommend it enough!

Doing what: Berlin Highlights and Hidden Sites Historical Walking Tour

Zachary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A completely fantastic day trip. Utterly informative and intense at the same time. Our guide was tremendous, sensitive and knowledgable. I would thoroughly recommend visiting this site as part of any trip to Berlin.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Keisha United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Good way to see the city in a short period of times. Takes you to all the tourist hot spots.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Berlin Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Edan D C

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This was a great tour. My only recommendation would be to allot a bit more time to walk around.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Miroslav B Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great tour, guide was very knowledgeable, unfortunately he was giving too much of his political and personal view. Should have stayed with facts.

Doing what: Berlin Highlights and Hidden Sites Historical Walking Tour

Kristen A

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great tour of a trendy area.

Doing what: Kreuzberg District Tour: Food, Culture and Street Art

Philip B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Going up early is recommended, and it was also good to skip the main queue. Instructions for collecting the tickets could have been clearer, however.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Berlin TV Tower Early Bird or Nighttime Access

Keisha United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The lunch wasn't all so good but decent. The views, of the city, was nice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Lunch atop the Berlin TV Tower

Donna M O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour. Guide was very informative ...well done

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

johnnycocheroo454

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Superb insight into the Cold War from Barnaby. Everything from the main mechanics that led to the fall of the Berlin Wall through to the more quirky things that the Cold War caused including a complete lack of bananas in November 1989.

Highly recommended.

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

Carl P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour!! Even though the weather didn't cooperate, she was amazing and the family really gained an excellent appreciation of Berlin.

Doing what: Berlin Highlights and Hidden Sites Historical Walking Tour

Dan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

JJ was a really great guide, provided a huge amount of historical insight into what went on at Sachsenhausen. The group was split into two, so wasn't too big, and catching the train was a breeze. The only downsides were you didn't get to explore the entire camp, there were a few buildings and sections we didn't get to see infirmary barracks and the Soviet section. If you want to see it all, I would go their on your own and pay for the audio guide. However, having the tour guide was invaluable and you got a lot more information and stories. Also remember to pickup some lunch, there isn't really anywhere to eat there.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Christine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a terrific day trip to Dresden and our guide certainly knew her stuff. The walking tour around Dresden was very informative and we learnt lots that we never knew before. I have to admit I had never heard of Viator before this trip and was a bit dubious as to whether they were going to be any good but the reviews from fellow travellers made me book, and we certainly were not disappointed. Thank you.

Doing what: Dresden Day Trip from Berlin

Ana-Maria S Romania

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I liked how they organised things.We were quite many so they arranged two buses. I liked the guide Nadaf, he was very informative and funny. On the way he told us about Berlin, places we passed through and Dresden, combining history, geography and economy, so we could have a pretty good picture. We started in Dresden with a well paced walk, he took us through the old town, and then we had time on our own, which I spent visiting the Palace.

Doing what: Dresden Day Trip from Berlin

Margaret L E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What an amazing overview of Berlin! Jamie was a wonderful tour guide, pointing out historical tidbits down every street, and around every corner. Berlin's history is so dense--at times harrowing, at others captivating--and he did a great job making us hungry for more info as we walked around. If you're going to Berlin, this tour is a must!

Doing what: Berlin Highlights and Hidden Sites Historical Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message