If you're curious to know the stories below the surface of Berlin's fascinating architecture, there's nothing like walking the very same streets to bring alive everything you've ever wondered about WWII and the Third Reich. Berlin is a city that ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Barnaby lead a terrific tour. It was hot and he did his best to always stop in the shade. He provided excellent commentary on the tour, with a great sense of humor.

I also took the Third Reich Tour and Cesar also did an excellent job in bringing this history alive.

Doing what: Berlin Highlights and Hidden Sites Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour of the Third Reich in Berlin was on 6 December2014. Our guide was very knowledgeable and made the trip very enjoyable and informative. The weather was very cold and Berlin was overflowing with tourists at that time which made walking around quite difficult - however the guide was very professional and made the tour very special.

Doing what: Berlin Third Reich Small-Group Walking Tour Including Topography of Terror

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

There were 6 of my family on this tour. Our guide was Ryan, a Scotsman from Glasgow. He was fantastic. Very knowledgeable. For example, we had seen the Jewish Memorial a couple of days before and really could not make heads or tails of it rather than it being different sized graves. He gave us various themes on what it all meant and it was very thought provoking.
Given the somber nature of this time in history, Ryan clearly painted a picture on how the Third Reich came to be, how it stayed in power, and then how it lost its way.
It was interesting to me how architecture played a role in demonstrating the power of the Third Reich. He also was not just Third Reich centric. He talked of the architecture that has been built, and is continuing to be built in Berlin today, and the themes in it.
A fascinating tour of the history. Ryan made it come to life.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My son and I did the Third Reich Walking Tour last Tuesday, 9th September, 2014.
The tour guide was John, maybe Johnny, an English youngster who looked more like a surfer than a guide from Berlin. He 's such a charming person, his knowledge on this subject is outstanding, and he is a credit to your company.
10 out of 10. He is superb youngster.
Kind regards,
Suzanne Grylls

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very interesting and enjoyable. Our guide demonstrated a depth of knowledge of the history of the City, the Third Reich and subsequent division. I would certainly recommend it.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our first time using viator - highly recommend it. The Berlin Original Walking Tours use guides who are very knowledgeable (thank you Caroline who did our third reich tour). Will highly recommend this tour and the Sachenhausen Concentration Camp tour.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was a little over two hours long. Ryan, our tour guide, was very pleasant and knowledgeable. We saw many sites related to the Third Reich such as the former site of Hitler's Bunker and Reich Chancellery, the Air Ministry, the site of the Propaganda Ministry, a Soviet Memorial, the Reich Stag and Topography of Terror Museum, site of the Gestapo Headquarters.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I Booked The Third Reich Tour Which was one of the highlights of my Trip. Excellent Tour Guide "Barnaby", Who has a great knowledge of Berlin and its history. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wishes to improve their knowledge or has a vast knowledge on WW2.

Thanks

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The dark days of Germany's history are well known to most of us but we can always learn more, and this was certainly true on this sensational tour of Germany's capital.
US tour guide Rick was a font of knowledge during the three-and-a-half hour walk taking in the key sites of Nazi Germany, some of which are still standing.
It was a flawless, enlightening and unbiased view of the events leading up to, during and after The Third Reich's grip not only of Germany but surrounding countries.
Our small group learnt about the politics and fall-out of this dictatorship which led to one of the bloddiest conflicts this world has ever seen.
No words can sum up Rick's passion and detail that he imparted to us, and we were the greater for knowing it and for being in his company.
If you do nothing else in Berlin, and that would be hard givenm this vibrant city, then I cann't reccommend this walk highly enough.
Money and time well spent.
Andrew, Woking

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I had been to Berlin on 5 previous occasions; I was there before the wall came down and visited the eastern sector, all very intimidating. I was there when the wall came down and last visited in 1991. I served with the British Army for 41 years and visited the city then. On my previous visits most of the Reich locations were either in the east or around the wall and were inaccessible, also during my previous visits all planning had to be done before you left home, there being no Google so you could not plan on the march as people do now. I saw this tour advertised and went for it. The guide was young but very well informed on his subject. He guided us through the Reich sites with detailed explanations of how the Nazis came to Berlin from Munich and supported many of the locations we visited with pre-wartime photos so we could see how the sites looked then. We also visited some of the newer memorial to Nazi victims. Some of the sites the guide was able to take us to I would never have known about, an example is Mohrenstraße on the Berlin U-Bahn. This station is across the Road from Hiller's Chancellery and is furnished with a red marble which by coincidence (or maybe not) is furnished with the same type and colour of marble that furnished Hitler's abode. The German government say it is from elsewhere, at war’s end with rebuilding needed and a ready supply of good marble in the ruins across the road I am inclined to believe the guide's version. The tour ended in Niederkirchnerstraße which during the Nazi era was called Prinz-Albrecht-Straße and located HQ Gestapo and SS. There is an exposed area of the underground chambers of the Gestapo HQ where it is left to the imagination what happened there. It is the site of the Topography of Terror which covers the whole Nazi era. There is a section of the original wall there as well. The tour was excellent, the guide was superb and well informed and I would strongly recommend this to anyone. Phil

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A wonderful day really brought to life by an outstanding guide. Please pass on our personal thanks.
The highlight for me was actually to stand on the site of the Fuhrerbunker and to witness the remaining architecture from the the Third Reich.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We thought the tour was excellent we had a experience that we will be recommending. The guide was so informative he gave us a real insight of the Third Reich although most of the buildings have changed or have been redeveloped the photo information that was supplied was in good detail and using the information he gave you could get a real feel of how life was. We will be returning again to Berlin and going on your other tours.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My friends and I had an amazing time learning about the history of the Third Reich and visiting all the sites. Our tour guide was phenomenal, very knowledgeable, animated, engaging, don't have enough good things to say. Even though it was a bit cold on our walk, the three hours were some of the best I spent in Berlin.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

Jtoast
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Recommended for history buff! The tour was highly interesting and from our guide Finn, we get to understand more of the Third Reich history in Berlin and also discover places that the public are unaware of.

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our guide, Carlos, was extremely knowledgable about the Third Reich and its devastating impact on Berlin and Germany as a whole. The tour is three hours long and absolutely jam-packed with information and historical tidbits that will intrigue people of all background-knowledge levels. Each stop is explained in great detail and put into context of the rest of the twentieth century (especially the directly obvious, the Berlin Wall). Sights such as the Reichstag, memorials to the persecuted groups of WWII, Hitler's bunker and the Luftwaffe building are covered in the tour. Highly, highly recommended.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour, best way to see any city for the first time. Did 2 tours: the general Berlin tour and the third reich tour. Was a bit of overlap but great nonetheless.

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was great! Our guide, Mort, was the best guide we have ever had on a tour of any kind.
He was well-prepared, interesting and brought the Third Reich to life with his pictures and stories.
The walk passed too quickly for us! Viator is fortunate to have such a outstanding guide. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

Victoria M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This was a very interesting tour. It was long, however; it lasted nearly 4 hours. In that respect it was good value for money but was perhaps a bit too long. Our guide was very knowledgeable and was able to keep our interest in the subject. We thought it might have been better to end the tour at the museum of the Berlin Wall. As the visit to this was in the middle of the tour, we only had time to have some refreshments and take a quick walk around the museum. If we had finished the tour here, we could have spent a lot more time at this remarkable place. If your are interested in the story of the rise and fall of the Third Reich then this tour will be for you.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This walking tour was very, very fascinating. Our tour guide, Nickolai, was incredibly knowledgable and gave us a brilliant, in-depth historical overview of World War II and the rise and fall of Hitler and the Third Reich. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Berlin, especially history buffs!

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

William R
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

While many of the sites no longer exist our guide was informative and gave many useful insights into the period of the Third Reich. I felt the time went quickly and I was pleased with the choice of this tour.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a very good tour. The guide was very knowledgeable being a long time resident of Berlin. This would be good tour for those who know little about the Third Reich as well as those who know it well. I would recomend this tour.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

My husband and our fifteen year old son have just returned from Berlin. and this is what they said:
"The highlight of our trip to Berlin was undoubtedly the 3rd Reich tour on wed 2nd July with fat tire bike tours.
Neil from Manchester was our tour guide and he was brilliant-he really brought history to life with his knowledge of his subject when we stopped at the different sites in Berlin.
Berlin was a pleasure to cycle around-the bike is really king here!
Berlin was a clean, safe and friendly city and I would love to go back there again"

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour: Third Reich and Nazi Germany

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We had an excellent time on this tour. Our tour guide, Finn, was well researched and very knowledgeable about both Sachsenhausen and the period of the Third Reich in general. I especially appreciated his background knowledge on other groups that were persecuted during the Holocaust and some out-of-the-way memorials that we would otherwise have missed. We were able to cover quite a bit of ground.

My only suggestion is that this tour be extended an hour to allow some free time to explore Station Z. Otherwise this tour was well organized and complete. Finn even recommended several good books and films for those of us wanting additional history on the Holocaust.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent and informative tour with a very knowledgeable guide, Jared. We saw many interesting sights that came alive with his descriptions of what happened at each location. If you are interested in the Third Reich and the final days of WWII, don't miss this tour.

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Rick was really informative, not only about the Third Reich but events before and after that period, which really gave us a better understanding of the period and events leading up to and after the fall of the Third Reich.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message