• USD ($)
  • English
Potsdam is the capital of Brandenburg state, located on the Havel River only 24 km (15 mi) southwest of Berlin city. In the 17th century, Elector Friedrich Wilhelm of Brandenburg made it his second residence, and Friedrich II (Frederick the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This tour is incredibly informative- great for history lovers! Our guide, Jim, was great and made the whole experience really interesting, using pictures to help us to keep up with who was who. The only disappointment was that most of the palaces at the start are only seen from a distance. The views along the walk are very beautiful, as you pass through wooded areas, but if you find it difficult to stand for long amounts of time, I don't think that this tour would be for you, there was a lot of walking. At the end you are dropped at Sanssouci Palace, which is one of the highlights of the trip, however we didn't have time to look around properly so I recommend that you leave enough time. If you are thinking of doing the trip yourself and independently of a tour guide, I felt that the most interesting places we visited were Cecilienhof, the old Dutch quarters of Potsdam, Potsdam town in general (looked like there were some lovely shops) and Sanssouci Palace. I really wish that we had spent more time in these places, and sometimes I felt like there was a bit too much information, however, our guide was superb and he did make the trip enjoyable. So... would I recommend it? If you really love history and don't mind lovely picturesque walks seeing many things from a distance, then yes, you would love this tour. However, if I'm honest, although I enjoyed the tour, I felt that a lot of time was spent stood listening and enjoying the view from afar, when I was looking forward to seeing a palace up close and immersing myself in their lavish gardens. If you are like me then I would recommend going independently, as public transport is so good, and just visit the four places I recommended above. If these aren't enough for you, or you don't want to venture too far from Berlin, I'd really recommend visiting the gardens of Charlottenberg Palace. We did this another day and it was beautiful.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful day thanks to our terrific tour guide, Matti.
Matti made the experience so educational and fun too! We had no idea that Potsdam would be so impressive. Better than the tour books!! Thanks very much!

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide Dennis made this a worthwhile tour even though it was pouring with rain, cold and miserable.
His knowledge of Potsdam and its history gave us a good insight into this historical town and its surrounds.
We walked over the 'spy bridge' and saw where the divide was between East and West Germany. Visited the lovely Cecilienhof Palace where the Potsdam Conference was held. Dennis walked us through the town telling us the history and then to the SanSouci Palace where he kept us enthralled with his 'episodes' on the life of the royal palace.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

our guide Matti has been wonderful throughout the tour giving invaluable insights regarding the history of Potsdam, Wannsee, and Berlin and how all three places relate to each other. travel by train, bus, and tram provides a great feel of the place. the walk along the Wannsee and Potsdam gardens was terrific.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Had a great walking tour with Finn through Potsdam. The meeting point was very easy to find and Finn was very clear about the train and when to get off etc. He is a fount of knowledge about the history of the area Berlin/Potsdam and it was a great trip. It was a little longer than advertised which was not an issue for us but if there are tight schedules for people they should know this. Highly recommend all their tours as all of the guides really know their history but Finn was exceptional.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It was nice to have this excursion out of Berlin itself. Our guide shepherded us along at a good pace but there was still time for good explanations and photo opportunities. This tour is a vey long one with a great deal of walking and so is not for the faint hearted. Our Berlin hot weather had continued although by now we were getting used to the heat. Also it was not as hot as our two previous tours that we had booked and done the previous days. Potsdam is a good pace to,spend time just wandering around with its very interesting and lovely gardens, palaces and has a pleasant town to visit. Must admit that by the time we reached the palace towards the end of the tour we were too tired to spend any extra time there and were happy to be guided back to the station and our return to Berlin.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great deal to see highlights of Berlin and Potsdam! The bike tour company provide a fun way to see the city, and injects humor in telling the story behind the sites. Potsdam is beautiful and provides a nice contrast to the urban landscape in Berlin. A great value and highly recommended!

Doing what: Berlin Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Potsdam Day Trip by Train with Bike Tour

Vasily L
Russian Federation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Definitely value for money. A good way to see Potsdam in one day.

Doing what: Potsdam Day Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

City bike tour was good but a little crowded. The Potsdam tour was fantastic, our guide was entertaining and very knowledgable . The only downside was the place where we stopped for lunch, the food was bad and nothing to cater for vegetarians.

Doing what: Berlin Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Potsdam Day Trip by Train with Bike Tour

John W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

This tour is great for getting a feel for Potsdam itself and the palace area. The tour does not provide entry into any of the palaces - if you want to do that, you have to stay on and make your own way back to Berlin by train. We did that and thought it worthwhile. Matti our guide was great.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great tour, even though my daughter became sick to her stomach midway through. My wife decided to bail with her and bring her back to Berlin midway through, and rather than take his break, our guide, Blakely, accompanied my daughter and wife all the way back to the Potsdam Bahnhoff so they didn't get lost. Then he joined us as we finished touring the spot where England, Russia and the US divided the spoils of war. Our guide went well and above what was expected, and made the trip very special for us. What a great guy. Rob, I hope you're reading this!

Doing what: Potsdam Day Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent day out! We thoroughly enjoyed our fat tire tour to Potsdam. Our guide was interesting and knowledge and provide not an experience which appealed to all learning styles- visual, kinestic and auditory.

Doing what: Potsdam Day Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We took the Potsdam bike tour the day before we left Berlin ...our only regret was that we didn't take some of the other Fat Tire bike tours earlier in our week-long visit. Derek, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable and informative. He had a great sense of humor, was charismatic and took the time to ask the members of the group their names (and not as a "sign-in" activity). Given the number of tours my husband and I have taken over the year, we noted that this was the first time any of the tour guides bothered to ask names during lengthy conversations - a small gesture which impressed us greatly. As Dale Carnegie's Principle #6 pointed out: "Remember that a person's name is to that person the sweetest and most important sound in any language". Potsdam was very lovely and the overall trip was loads of fun. Please note, however, that you will need cash for the beer garten lunch as they do not take credit cards. Also, they did not have any vegetarian options for those of you who don't eat meat. The garden in on the water and offers a beautiful view.

Doing what: Potsdam Day Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This trip was one of my favorite days in Europe! It was a full day of activity seeing gardens and palaces in Potsdam. We covered so much more by bike than what one could do by foot. The stop for lunch was at a beautiful brewery right on the water. The guide was knowledgeable and funny. Awesome tour!

Doing what: Potsdam Day Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Craig was wicked, he was super informative and very knowledgeable about Potsdam. He brought his own personality and style into the tour and made everyone feel welcome and open to sharing questions and opinions. It was a beautiful little city, and the bike tour was a great way to see the main sites. Really nice to see if your into architecture because of all the different styles of buildings and the changes throughout the history.

Doing what: Potsdam Day Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message