Potsdam is the capital of Brandenburg state, located on the Havel River only 24 km (15 mi) southwest of Berlin city. In the 17th century, Elector Friedrich Wilhelm of Brandenburg made it his second residence, and Friedrich II (Frederick the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 54 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Craig, our guide, was enthusiastic, informative, inclusive and it was an all-round fantastic day. We saw a lot of Potsdam, giving us a taster of what is worth returning to. Lunch in a Bavarian pub in the Danish Quarter gave us good food and a suitable rest before continuing. I would highly recommend this trip and we're thinking of returning with our children. Thanks!

Doing what: Best Potsdam Day Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great day with Alex as our guide. He was very knowledgable on the subject matter and was able to answer all the questions that came from our fellow visitors. The tour itself was very good and we got to see and learn about the Potsdam history. We thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone considering a Potsdam visit.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful experience with helpful and informative guide and driver. Delivered a higher than expected quality of service. Potsdam was only one of multiple interesting destinations.

Doing what: Private Tour: Potsdam Day Trip from Berlin

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Nice walking tour thru Potsdam. The guide was ideal, and knew about fan facts about some of the places we saw on the way.
It would have been nice to be able to enter into the different buildings we walked pass by, but overall is was a great tour.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very interesting tour and definitely the way to get the most out of a first trip to Potsdam. Guide was knowlegeable and interesting though a bit keen to spend time with another guest who was also a guide such he left people behind on occasions particularly at road crossings. Potsdam is a very diverse place well worth a visit with guide to fully appreciate the history and character of the area.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The history of beautiful Potsdam came alive through the historical expertise and engaging story-telling of our amazing guide Dennis! Thanks to him, everyone in our group of seven gave this tour a two thumbs up!

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Both of these tours were entertaining, illuminating, manageable by bike, and very satisfying. And good value for the money. The guides were filled with knowledge and no small amount of charm. Bikes are comfortable and easy to use. Both cities really are quite flat, so fatigue isn't a major issue. Our group for each trip was less than 25 people. Lunch was perfectly timed. And the guides were just superb. Potsdam, by its very nature, includes a bit more biking, a bit less stopping, and somewhat more historical recitation, but the guide made all of this come alive, and of course seeing the room where the Potsdam Conference took place . . . well, this made the tour very special indeed. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Best Berlin Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Potsdam Day Trip by Train with Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour of Potsdam... Make sure you get to the departure spot early. We got there and 9.40am as noted on the ticket and the tour had left managed to meet them at the first stop. Our guide on the day was AMAZING Hightly recommend Dennis

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Extremely well-versed guide who was very communicative. Very flexible in what we saw in Potsdam, and also going and returning.

Doing what: Private Tour: Potsdam Day Trip from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved this tour. Potsdam is a beautiful place to visit. Wear good walking shoes as there is a lot of walking. Dennis was our tour guide and he was very knowledgable

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We have completed 2 tours with the Bike company and both were extremely professional with great guides Kyla and Alex. As both the city and Potsdam areas are far reaching and biking particularly as it is flat terrain is the way to go. The luncheon stops were excellent and the timing perfect. As these cities are bike friendly there is no concern for safety.

Doing what: Best Berlin Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Potsdam Day Trip by Train with Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A very compact city bike tour with visits to all major places of interest. A more relax trip around Potsdam.

Doing what: Best Berlin Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Potsdam Day Trip by Train with Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What a fabulous experience , Craig provided a wealth of information which helped us to understand the history of Potsdam. Would thoroughly recommend this tour. Cycling was easy and a lot of the tour was in palace grounds too.

Doing what: Best Potsdam Day Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Knowledgable guide, interesting tour covered variety of interesting sites,, eg. bridge of spy hangovers, old Dutch buildings in Potsdam, parklands, gardens - a lot in one tour.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It rained all day but I still loved this tour. It was so nice to learn something different about Berlin, besides the wall and the world wars. The history of Potsdam is older and very interesting. The Palace is beautiful and the gardens are lovely. Reminded me of Peterhof Palace in St, Petersburg Russia.Our guide was very informative and easy to talk too. A must to do tour.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was very nice to meet Dennis, he's an awesome guide, super intelligent and a very nice person. The great thing about our guided visit to Potsdam was the historical panoramic view that was provided in the site that History happened. I strongly recommend the visitors of Potsdam to take this guided tour which made our trip complete and full of insights that wouldn't happen if we were without a guide. Our vision about German history was upgraded a lot with this tour. Thank you very much, Viator team.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Lovely tour. We had Craig leading a group of about 15 of us around Potsdam. He was super sweet, and got to know everyone on the train ride there, which helped all of us to get to know each other. Potsdam was gorgeous and weird and Craig had some great informative nuggets for us. We had perfect weather for biking that day. Do it!

Doing what: Best Potsdam Day Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a beautiful sunny day to take the train out to Potsdam with a mixed group of adults and children with our bike guide, Craig. This is an amazing way to see this historical and highly unusual architectural city. Our guide was very knowledgeable of the history of Potsdam from the Prussia leaders to the WWII take over by the communist. If you have just a few days in Berlin, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best Potsdam Day Bike Tour

Suzanne R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Really enjoyed this tour. The palaces and grounds of Potsdam are fantastic. The guide was knowledgable and informative but did talk just that little bit too much, so sometimes we drifted off a bit

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Carlos was an excellent guide, providing a good understanding of the history of Potsdam. Extensive walking, about 12 km in total, not clearly outlined in advertisement. Tour stopped short of providing access to San Souci and timing and long queues prevented access. Ticket to San Souci as part of tour would make it a complete event.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Julian our guide was great! We were a big group,with kids who would occasionally lag behind,but he was patient and would go back every so often to check on them.Well organized and thorough .Knowledgeable guide with plenty of information.A highly enjoyable and relaxing way to see Potsdam.Highly recommended!

Doing what: Best Potsdam Day Bike Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This tour is incredibly informative- great for history lovers! Our guide, Jim, was great and made the whole experience really interesting, using pictures to help us to keep up with who was who. The only disappointment was that most of the palaces at the start are only seen from a distance. The views along the walk are very beautiful, as you pass through wooded areas, but if you find it difficult to stand for long amounts of time, I don't think that this tour would be for you, there was a lot of walking. At the end you are dropped at Sanssouci Palace, which is one of the highlights of the trip, however we didn't have time to look around properly so I recommend that you leave enough time. If you are thinking of doing the trip yourself and independently of a tour guide, I felt that the most interesting places we visited were Cecilienhof, the old Dutch quarters of Potsdam, Potsdam town in general (looked like there were some lovely shops) and Sanssouci Palace. I really wish that we had spent more time in these places, and sometimes I felt like there was a bit too much information, however, our guide was superb and he did make the trip enjoyable. So... would I recommend it? If you really love history and don't mind lovely picturesque walks seeing many things from a distance, then yes, you would love this tour. However, if I'm honest, although I enjoyed the tour, I felt that a lot of time was spent stood listening and enjoying the view from afar, when I was looking forward to seeing a palace up close and immersing myself in their lavish gardens. If you are like me then I would recommend going independently, as public transport is so good, and just visit the four places I recommended above. If these aren't enough for you, or you don't want to venture too far from Berlin, I'd really recommend visiting the gardens of Charlottenberg Palace. We did this another day and it was beautiful.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful day thanks to our terrific tour guide, Matti.
Matti made the experience so educational and fun too! We had no idea that Potsdam would be so impressive. Better than the tour books!! Thanks very much!

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide Dennis made this a worthwhile tour even though it was pouring with rain, cold and miserable.
His knowledge of Potsdam and its history gave us a good insight into this historical town and its surrounds.
We walked over the 'spy bridge' and saw where the divide was between East and West Germany. Visited the lovely Cecilienhof Palace where the Potsdam Conference was held. Dennis walked us through the town telling us the history and then to the SanSouci Palace where he kept us enthralled with his 'episodes' on the life of the royal palace.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message