• USD ($)
  • English
Potsdam is the capital of Brandenburg state, located on the Havel River only 24 km (15 mi) southwest of Berlin city. In the 17th century, Elector Friedrich Wilhelm of Brandenburg made it his second residence, and Friedrich II (Frederick the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 99 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Too bad that it rained. However, this trip to Potsdam was excellent. The bus gives you 2-1/2 hours to either wonder SanSoucci Park or the city itself on your own. We chose the Park and visited the Palace. It was amazing. This trip was a great way to be introduced to Potsdam. We both decided that on our next visit to Berlin, we will be going back to Potsdam and spending the whole day there between the Park and the city.

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

We really didn't see much of this tour. The audio tape wasn't informative enough and there was a lot of music breaks. When we got to Potsdam, there was not enough time to tour the castle. This trip should have been an all day tour.

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Waited outside the Park Inn hotel as directed on our victor voucher. Arrived 20 minutes prior to the departure time. While waiting we had a look around but couldn't see a viator sign anywhere, or any sign to direct us to our bus leaving for Potsdam. As our 9am departure time drew nearer we started to get a bit nervous and walked over to look at the front of some buses (hoping there would be some indication of which bus was ours) there were around 7 or 8 buses in our vicinity. We found another confused person who was also looking for our tour. At this point I went into the reception at the hotel, and the friendly lady told me it was the yellow bus. The yellow bus was marked on all sides as a sightseeing bus, and was empty. As I approached the bus the driver began speaking to me (unfortunately I don't speak German) and tapping at his watch. By this time we were 3 minutes late. However, as he was smoking outside an empty bus and knew he had three people to pick up you would think he may have had a quick look around. There was indeed a tiny sign in the front of the window that said "Potsdam". The drive there was fine and the recorded audio was also fine. Little information was given about how long it would take to do the tour of the palace, but it was repeated OVER AND OVER that if we weren't back at the departure point on time the bus would leave without us and we would have to find our own way back to Berlin. Paranoid, we didn't bother with the tour. Despite this repeated message about leaving us behind if we were late, the bus was over 10 minutes late picking us up. This tour was incredibly cheap yet I still don't feel I got my money's worth. Potsdam is beautiful- see it with another company.

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was verry noce it took us to an amaZing city so in one day i experienced 2 different areas potsdam and berlin which are close from each other but different in styles

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

We liked Potsdam a lot, It's worth to spend half a day in there if you travel to Berlin. We found it very comfortable, having two places in Berlin where the bus picks you up, and three different meeting points in Potsdam when the bus finishes the tour. I'd recommend to extend the spare time after the tour, it's just two hours, and we'd have appreciated an hour longer. The audio guide may seem a bit boring, interesting, but it definitively can improve.

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

I did this tour on a Sunday, when Germany's pretty much closed. Thus the tour didn't really coincide with the blurb online, which stated that visitors could choose between 3 different activities including shopping in the Dutch Quarter (it was definitely closed). The coach driver didn't speak English, so it wasn't until we got there that we realised there was only ONE activity available for the entire 3 hours we were in Potsdam - and that was a stroll around at the Sanssouci palace. However, it was a pleasant trip, even on a cold winter's day. There was a good cafe at Sanssouci, which provided some food and shelter - plus a visitor's centre. It was nice to look around the palace and gardens, but there was still a lot of time to kill. The driver was great, but communication was a little difficult in terms of the trip schedule not being as planned. He did drive around Potsdam and take us to all the other places on the schedule - but we were not able to get out and do anything, as everywhere else was closed. Still, it was something to do on a Sunday, and it was interesting to see Potsdam, which was an mixture of baroque splendor and Communist era apartment blocks. The recorded voiceover (provided in different languages) on the bus trip was quite explanatory about the history of the area, and was useful for an overview. All in all, it was worth doing, but maybe another day apart from Sunday would have been better. Having said that, the trip was half price when I booked - so that was a bonus.

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

The tour could have been interesting but the bus driver was just a joke. He had no knowledge when asked in Potsdam how to spend the free time and which castle would be more interesting. Tip for you: go first to Sans Soussi and try to get there the guided tour (no chance to walk thru without a guide) and thereafter walk to Neues Palais to join the tour bus back.

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

Vasily L
Russian Federation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Definitely value for money. A good way to see Potsdam in one day.

Doing what: Potsdam Day Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

City bike tour was good but a little crowded. The Potsdam tour was fantastic, our guide was entertaining and very knowledgable . The only downside was the place where we stopped for lunch, the food was bad and nothing to cater for vegetarians.

Doing what: Berlin Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Potsdam Day Trip by Train with Bike Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

We tried to get on the bus with our Viator voucher/ticket but were curtly told we need a TICKET!! Go to the Hop on Hop off bus to get a ticket and come back. A rude woman there yelled at us that we were late the bus is leaving. We had been in front of the Park Inn waiting for an hour to see a bus with the "Potsdam" sign on it. It should clearly be stipulated on the voucher to the effect: THIS IS NOT A TICKET, FIND THE TICKET PLACE AND TURN IN YOUR VOUCHER. Then, when we arrived in Potsdam we all were dropped off at the Sanssoucci Park and Palaces and on a sheet of paper in many languages were told the bus would be back in 2 1/2 hours. We didn't know that we could taxi or walk to the Cecilienhof Palace and be picked up there as an option so we walked around the park afraid we would miss the bus. The last hour we tried to have something to drink in the restaurant there, but it closed at 3 p.m. All in all a waste of time where it would have been much more enjoyable to walk around the village for a time. We suggest better written information be provided as we realize the driver of the bus is not a tour guide. The audio English dialogue enroute to Potsdam was very informative.

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

VW
USA

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

I was throughly disappointed with this tour. The bus driver was rude and did not inform us of all the stops we could have gotten off at near the palaces so we all had to get off at the last stop. This was not a half day trip, but a full day trip. I signed up for the earlier pickup location thinking that I would have more time in Potsdam, but we spent almost an hour on the bus going to second pickup location. Although Potsdam was beautiful, this tour and the way it was arranged was disappointing, especially taking public transportation is a option for getting to Potsdam.

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

It was unfortunate that the statues were all boxed up for winter. Also would have enjoyed a longer time to see the other royal Palaces nearby, as well as the WW2 Allied HQ. Tour of Potsdam beforehand not very interesting

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

first of all: i am rating one star because i cannot rate 0 star
this was the first time that i am really deceived with a tour of viator
i arrive at the place of meeting, and there was no bus. i needed to enter into the hotel where i found a person who said me to wait.
map was not given by anyone
the driver was rude
the coach was a disaster
you see potsdam through the coach, and then ou reach the palaces. there, you will be kicked out the coach, and ou have two hourse for seeing what you want (it means, that you can choose between one of the two castles to be visited, or, as i did, you can walk from one castle to the pother to see only their exterior part)
you do not have even the time for lunch

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Where do I start ???? Had to have girl at info desk in the Ramada Park Inn direct us to the bus.. Bus there, but driver would not open the door until the last minute so no opportunity to ask any questions or get voucher/ticket organized... Presented the voucher to bus driver which was not accepted and told to get a ticket... Then had to find a City Tour bus to be given a ticket this came with NO map of Potsdam, but just the general map of the city tour of Berlin which we already had... Driver spoke no English and just pointed to whatever he wanted us to know such as times to return to the bus etc... Many of the ear phones and plugs in the bus did not work and had to move around to find one that did... Upon the return trip one of ours did not work at all... Bus only toured town and stopped at a stop where no one knew exactly where we were or for how long we would stay... Most got off and driver could only point at time to be picked up. Lucky we did have a map of our own of Potsdam and therefore decided this was not the palace we were hoping to see so stayed on until the next stop with only a handful of people.. Upon return the bus was late in coming to the spot in the car park leaving many of us worried... One couple had been left behind at the first stop as the driver did not take any notice of original numbers of seats occupied... We had no opportunity to walk around any other parts of Potsdam except one palace or the other which was a shame as there was much to see. All in all it was the trip from hell and would not consider again . Your vouchers saying that that that is all we need for a tour was certainly not true and at the last minute to round up a ticket was most frustrating and stressful to begin with.. Certainly no bus clearly defining Viator was at the pick up point.... Wonder why you would promote a tour without a well informed driver and one who could not converse with most of the customers on the tour....????

Doing what: Potsdam Half-Day Trip from Berlin

John W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

This tour is great for getting a feel for Potsdam itself and the palace area. The tour does not provide entry into any of the palaces - if you want to do that, you have to stay on and make your own way back to Berlin by train. We did that and thought it worthwhile. Matti our guide was great.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message