The name of the Yuyuan Garden means 'Garden of Peace and Comfort', a slightly ironic moniker these days. Owing to its position in the center of the Old Town and its reputation as one of China's finest and best-preserved gardens, Yuyuan is crowded ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 39 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It rained all day but I still loved this tour. It was so nice to learn something different about Berlin, besides the wall and the world wars. The history of Potsdam is older and very interesting. The Palace is beautiful and the gardens are lovely. Reminded me of Peterhof Palace in St, Petersburg Russia.Our guide was very informative and easy to talk too. A must to do tour.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was very nice to meet Dennis, he's an awesome guide, super intelligent and a very nice person. The great thing about our guided visit to Potsdam was the historical panoramic view that was provided in the site that History happened. I strongly recommend the visitors of Potsdam to take this guided tour which made our trip complete and full of insights that wouldn't happen if we were without a guide. Our vision about German history was upgraded a lot with this tour. Thank you very much, Viator team.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Lovely tour. We had Craig leading a group of about 15 of us around Potsdam. He was super sweet, and got to know everyone on the train ride there, which helped all of us to get to know each other. Potsdam was gorgeous and weird and Craig had some great informative nuggets for us. We had perfect weather for biking that day. Do it!

Doing what: Potsdam Day Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a beautiful sunny day to take the train out to Potsdam with a mixed group of adults and children with our bike guide, Craig. This is an amazing way to see this historical and highly unusual architectural city. Our guide was very knowledgeable of the history of Potsdam from the Prussia leaders to the WWII take over by the communist. If you have just a few days in Berlin, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Potsdam Day Bike Tour

Suzanne R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Really enjoyed this tour. The palaces and grounds of Potsdam are fantastic. The guide was knowledgable and informative but did talk just that little bit too much, so sometimes we drifted off a bit

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Carlos was an excellent guide, providing a good understanding of the history of Potsdam. Extensive walking, about 12 km in total, not clearly outlined in advertisement. Tour stopped short of providing access to San Souci and timing and long queues prevented access. Ticket to San Souci as part of tour would make it a complete event.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Julian our guide was great! We were a big group,with kids who would occasionally lag behind,but he was patient and would go back every so often to check on them.Well organized and thorough .Knowledgeable guide with plenty of information.A highly enjoyable and relaxing way to see Potsdam.Highly recommended!

Doing what: Potsdam Day Bike Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This tour is incredibly informative- great for history lovers! Our guide, Jim, was great and made the whole experience really interesting, using pictures to help us to keep up with who was who. The only disappointment was that most of the palaces at the start are only seen from a distance. The views along the walk are very beautiful, as you pass through wooded areas, but if you find it difficult to stand for long amounts of time, I don't think that this tour would be for you, there was a lot of walking. At the end you are dropped at Sanssouci Palace, which is one of the highlights of the trip, however we didn't have time to look around properly so I recommend that you leave enough time. If you are thinking of doing the trip yourself and independently of a tour guide, I felt that the most interesting places we visited were Cecilienhof, the old Dutch quarters of Potsdam, Potsdam town in general (looked like there were some lovely shops) and Sanssouci Palace. I really wish that we had spent more time in these places, and sometimes I felt like there was a bit too much information, however, our guide was superb and he did make the trip enjoyable. So... would I recommend it? If you really love history and don't mind lovely picturesque walks seeing many things from a distance, then yes, you would love this tour. However, if I'm honest, although I enjoyed the tour, I felt that a lot of time was spent stood listening and enjoying the view from afar, when I was looking forward to seeing a palace up close and immersing myself in their lavish gardens. If you are like me then I would recommend going independently, as public transport is so good, and just visit the four places I recommended above. If these aren't enough for you, or you don't want to venture too far from Berlin, I'd really recommend visiting the gardens of Charlottenberg Palace. We did this another day and it was beautiful.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful day thanks to our terrific tour guide, Matti.
Matti made the experience so educational and fun too! We had no idea that Potsdam would be so impressive. Better than the tour books!! Thanks very much!

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide Dennis made this a worthwhile tour even though it was pouring with rain, cold and miserable.
His knowledge of Potsdam and its history gave us a good insight into this historical town and its surrounds.
We walked over the 'spy bridge' and saw where the divide was between East and West Germany. Visited the lovely Cecilienhof Palace where the Potsdam Conference was held. Dennis walked us through the town telling us the history and then to the SanSouci Palace where he kept us enthralled with his 'episodes' on the life of the royal palace.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

our guide Matti has been wonderful throughout the tour giving invaluable insights regarding the history of Potsdam, Wannsee, and Berlin and how all three places relate to each other. travel by train, bus, and tram provides a great feel of the place. the walk along the Wannsee and Potsdam gardens was terrific.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Had a great walking tour with Finn through Potsdam. The meeting point was very easy to find and Finn was very clear about the train and when to get off etc. He is a fount of knowledge about the history of the area Berlin/Potsdam and it was a great trip. It was a little longer than advertised which was not an issue for us but if there are tight schedules for people they should know this. Highly recommend all their tours as all of the guides really know their history but Finn was exceptional.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It was nice to have this excursion out of Berlin itself. Our guide shepherded us along at a good pace but there was still time for good explanations and photo opportunities. This tour is a vey long one with a great deal of walking and so is not for the faint hearted. Our Berlin hot weather had continued although by now we were getting used to the heat. Also it was not as hot as our two previous tours that we had booked and done the previous days. Potsdam is a good pace to,spend time just wandering around with its very interesting and lovely gardens, palaces and has a pleasant town to visit. Must admit that by the time we reached the palace towards the end of the tour we were too tired to spend any extra time there and were happy to be guided back to the station and our return to Berlin.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great deal to see highlights of Berlin and Potsdam! The bike tour company provide a fun way to see the city, and injects humor in telling the story behind the sites. Potsdam is beautiful and provides a nice contrast to the urban landscape in Berlin. A great value and highly recommended!

Doing what: Berlin Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Potsdam Day Trip by Train with Bike Tour

Vasily L
Russian Federation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Definitely value for money. A good way to see Potsdam in one day.

Doing what: Potsdam Day Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message