British explorer Captain James Cook met his death at Kealakekua Bay on February 14, 1779 perhaps due to a misunderstanding over the use of a boat. Today, a white obelisk marks the spot where he died, standing sentinel over the lush coast and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 79 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Linda A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We absolutely loved this tour. Kayaking was fun, snorkeling was great and Jamal is the very best guide. Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Shannon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful experience!! Kealakekua Bay and Honaunau Bay were excellent snorkel locations. We saw a wide array of fish, sea turtles, and dolphins during our tour. Captain Dave and Kevin were fantastic! Very engaging, informative, and we had a blast!!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Rose M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Such a fun time!! Iwa and Jamal were awesome! We were inexperienced kayakers and snorkelers and they walked us through step by step! We got to see spinner dolphins and the fish while snorkeling were just amazing!!! Loved hearing the history too! Just a great tour all around!! Would highly recommend this tour to EVERYONE!!!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Michael G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Was an awesome experience. Do not book through the cruise ship. Book directly through here. Much cheaper.
Staff was great and very interactive. We seen a lot of great sites.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Rennie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend this tour that I took on 16th June. The guides Bill and Michael were very easy going and humourous and told us a lot about the surrounding area. Despite me not heeding their instructions on where to snorkel and ending up being washed up on the sharp coral rocks they were still able to come to my aid and help me get my wounds and scratches dressed. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip and the highlight was seeing the spinner dolphins in the bay doing their stuff spinning in the air. Don't forget to take your sunscreen though.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Priti P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was an amazing experience. Tour was organized very nicely. Tour guide Jamhal was caring, helpful and awesome. Other staff was also good. We were lucky to see dolphins that day. ocean kayaking..must do thing..!!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Teresa S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We had a very good time on this trip. We were a little worried when we pulled up to the store and nobody was there, but the tour guide showed up shortly after we did. We were the only other kayak on this trip so it felt like a private tour and our guide was very knowledgeable and gave us great information.

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Donna W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had an absolute ball on this tour. Our guide JC and Kevin were phenomenal. First time snorkeling and loved every moment of it and the tour or the caves and boat ride were wonderful.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Cynthia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We took this tour yesterday. If you are interested in history, enjoy the outdoors and a beautiful setting, this is the tour for you! The owner is quite a character. You will learn a great deal of Hawaiian history, kayak from one end of a gorgeous bay to the other. You will disembark your boats to enjoy snorkeling with colorful, beautiful fishes, including turtles. One of my regrets, is having forgotten to bring an underwater camera! The water scenery was amazing, but also the area you beach at really felt sacred and was probably the most beautiful spot we encountered in Hawaii. This tour is one of the only that allows visitors land privileges. I would highly recommend!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Kelly United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was our favorite booked trip while visiting Hawaii. Aloha Kayak Rentals is the only Hawaiian-owned kayak company in Kona. Iwa, the owner, gave an extraordinary history of the bay before we put in. Jamal, our guide, was very friendly, experienced, knowledgeable, and had a great respect for the bay and the environment. If you're only able to book one trip while in Hawaii, this is the one! I believe they do Manta trips too!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

louann t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was fantastic. My husband and I were absolute beginners and Jamal helped us every step of the way. After you get to James Cook island, the Snorkling is some of the best we've ever experienced.

This is an absolute must for anyone on the big island!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Bonnie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was such an amazing experience!!!!! Aloha Kayak's guides were superb and not only did we have a blast enjoying the activities, but it was also great to hear about the history and the locals' perspectives on the rapidly changing landscape of Hawaii. It was truly eye-opening, and if I ever visit again, I'll certainly go snorkeling with this crew again!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Katelyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful experience. I took the short tour. Glad I did. It was just enough time, especially given it wasn't too sunny I wouldn't have lasted much longer without being too cold. The bay was beautiful. All sorts of colorful fish and we even saw an octopus! Kendra the guide was excellent. Very informative and funny. Totally worth the money - highly recommend.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

glees

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

whale of a time
still waiting for suzanne from Seattle to send us picture of whale that came close to boat

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Colin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Aloha was very good. They assigned a guide to our 4some. Very personable and informative about the history, ecology, native perspective, British perspective, wildlife etc. We were very pleased.
Lunch was delicious. Great day!!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Daniel M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Liked the smallness of the group and being able to go to 3 sites.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Markus F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We took the long tour, stopped at 3 snorkling spots. Kealakekua Bay was really nice, but snorkeling with turtles in this lava rocked bay was - at least for me - the thing! Our guide, i think it was Ben been 3 wks already.. sry. Taught us lot about certain spots and history. The food being served was good and the snorkeling trip with this smaller group lots of fun!
And, we stopped to see WHALES!! Wow, that was soo impressive!!!!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Latoya W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Tour was great...saw plenty of spinner dolphins on the kayak over, reef was awesome for snorkelling. Guide, Makai was great!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Stephen B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Good crew. Lots of fun. Lovely snorkeling spot.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Noreen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was my husband's favorite tour on our vacation. Michela sp? and Zach were outstanding guides. The snorkeling was outstanding. Thank you!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

davidcastro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really enjoyed, highly recommend. Captain Collin is the best!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

jandruka

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The snorkeling: 5 stars
The raft ride out to the snorkel site: -1 star

First of all, let me say the snorkeling and the views underwater were fantastic. The site is near the Captain Cook Monument which in itself is kind of cool since you can't access it from any road, and the reefs are home to some beautiful marine life. I myself hate putting my head under the water, and this was my first time snorkeling, but I'm glad I did. We were kicking ourselves that we didn't buy and underwater disposable camera to capture some of the magic we witnessed.

My experience on the raft ride was not as positive. This probably has a lot to do with the fact that I sat in front of the boat, which absorbs the most impact from the waves. For the entire thirty-minute ride out from the marina, I felt like I was going to get thrown overboard at any moment. It was a little torturous. According to the captain, we were cruising at around 30 mph, and each wave we hit sent a thunderous thwack through the bow of the raft and my lower back.

While we actually hit bigger waves on the way back, at least I knew what to expect. And the stops at the caves and cliffs along the way offered some stunning views. Plus, dolphins! A bunch of them followed our boat and we got to see them right up close. Even saw some jumping out of the water doing mid-air 360s. Amazing!

Loved the snorkeling and the coastline views, but might have been happier with a shorter and less harrowing ride, maybe on a larger boat.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Lisa P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Nice tour guides! You get a pretty cool history lesson from some chill dudes, then a short drive down to the boat launch. Mild paddle to the snorkel area with fantastic coral and sea life. After an hour in the bay, they provide some water and snacks. Fun adventure.

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Donald D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

This was a real bust! Arrived at location and no one was there. Voicemail was full so just left. Looked kind of fly by night anyway. Suggest u take them off your website and we lost 300........

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message