Big Island of Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

The mega attraction on the Big Island is Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii’s sole World Heritage Site. The volatile park’s centerpiece is Kilauea Volcano, which continues to blow its top and spout molten lava, ash and steam. Crater Rim Drive is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 421 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide, Ailene was very good!!! I got sick during the tour and she was very accommodating and helped me throughout the tour!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

loved it. tour guide steve obviously loves his job and the island. very informative. i had a birthday ill never equal or forget. i recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour with our very informative guide, Jonathan, taking us on a day long tour of the island. You get to see a lot of Big Island and learn a lot about its history. With snacks and picnic lunch included it is good value. Highlight has to be the volcano visit and walk through a lava tube. If you do not want to do a c300 mile drive yourself and just want to relax and learn about this fascinating island then this tour takes a lot to beat it.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was great. The Guide, Kala, was the best tour guide we have ever had. Very intellegient and friendly. The 10 hour tour went by fast. The only thing i wish we wouldve been able to get wet.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was well worth the money. Kala was a PHENOMENAL tour guide and a fountain of information. This turned out to be a great way to cross a few items off our list of things we wanted to do while in Hawaii, and provided a few extras that we wouldn't have done/seen otherwise. Lavatube tour, very cool! I would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone thinking about going.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great for first time traveler to the Big island. I loved how much we saw on this tour. We went everywhere and didn't need a rental car and gas while on the tour. I do wish that the tour stops were longer, but we got so much done.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide Chris did a great job - very enthusiastic - learned much about the Big Island including history and about the Hawaiian people

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Pretty and Mike did a great job! Loved this tour and would highly recommend. They provided great commentary on the history of the volcano. Enjoyed the combination of biking and stops at highlights along the route.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was great. I have an idea of what I want to see more of when I come back to the Big Island. I only had a couple days on shore to see the sights. This was definitely the easiest way to see them all in one day.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great tour with Jonathan - saw all the sights, learned a lot about Hawaii and didn't have to drive! He was terrific, both knowledgeable and personable. It was a long day, but well worth it!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a very informative tour! Very cool to see the lava rocks and cave. Wish we could have gotten closer to the active volcano. Lunch and dinner provided!

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was excellent. We would never have seen all that we did had we tried to do this trip on our own. Zane was the best tour guide ever. He attended to our every need. He is very knowledgeable about the Island and we came away knowing about the Island's history and especially about mother volcano. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Katie is an exceptional and informative tour guide. The trip to the Thai restaurant was one of the best meals we ate on our trip. The only downside was that it rained that evening so we did not get a good view of the volcano

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

While the weather was not perfect, our tour guide Taj was fantastic and made the trip both fun and educational.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The guide was very good and informative through out the day. The transport was comfortable and had air conditioning which was good. We saw all the sights we expected was disappointed not see the turtles but due to the undercurrents for an expectant hurricane they stayed further out to sea which could not be helped. A good way to get a flavour of the island.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very well organised with pick up on time. Busy afternoon and evening with great views of the volcano and the lava glowing at night - as a keen photographer I would have preferred to arrive at twilight rather than dark in order to set up and to have had more time but not sure how the schedule could accommodate this. Be prepared for a late finish - was 11.45 pm back at the hotel. The guide was very informative and pleasant.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great day out apart from the rain! I would like to come and re-do in the sun as by the last activity the fog had closed in. There was a problem with the pick up which was unfortunate as otherwise this was an excellent tour.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Had a great trip we did the 3 hour trip around the Big Island our pilot was professional and informed. Fortunately we had fairly good weather and the windward side we got to see great water falls and valleys.
The landing in the outback was a minor disappointment we were high on a ridge and had great views but it was a clear cut area and hunting/ work camp. We did hike to the camp cabin was nice but not great. I would recommend this.

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great tour. Our guide Justin was genuinely knowledgeable about the history and ecology of the island. This hasn't been true of some of the other Big Island tours I've been on. As a professor, I'd list 'informed guides' as one of the strengths of this company. As for the tour itself, it's a good way to see the major volcanic sites of the park in a single day. The hikes are basically 2-3 mile walks over rough ground -- no need for poles or hiking boots but wear proper walking shoes. Some reviewers complain about the length of time the tour spends on the bus, but if you're trying to see these sites in a day you'll be spending the same time amount of time in a car, without a guide. If you only have one day and you want to see the major volcanic sites in the park, this tour is a good use of your time and money.


I gather the other guides are also good, so I'd


This tour is a good use of your time and money if you only have one day for the park/

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Paul worked very hard to make the day fun and educational. We had the weather in our favor at the start, but had some rain in Hilo. The group was fun -- I had actually anticipated viewing a lava flow but realized we would need a helicopter for a better view. The tour met our expectations and allowed us to have a better understating of the layout of the Big Island.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Loved this trip! Lot's of information.

Would love to have had a full hour at the Kilauea Caldera, after dark! It's the highlight of the whole tour! 30 minutes left me hungry for more!

Thank you for a great day on the mountain!

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Everything could be done from yourself. Due to the fact the Kilauea is currently very calm, you can't see anything spectacular. The only interesting thing is the glowing steam in the darkness. But for this there is no need to book this tour. The guide was great, but I had expected more to see.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great trip run by a very professional tour group. Our guide Mark was brilliant, knowledgeable, passionate and spent the entire day engaged with everyone on the tour. Well worth a visit to Big Island.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What an awesome way to get introduced to the island. Our guide Kala was excellent. Very knowledgeable about the island and the volcanoes. Highly recommend this tour. Well worth the price

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message