Big Island of Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

The mega attraction on the Big Island is Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii’s sole World Heritage Site. The volatile park’s centerpiece is Kilauea Volcano, which continues to blow its top and spout molten lava, ash and steam. Crater Rim Drive is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 232 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My boyfriend and I took this tour on our recent trip to the Big Island and found it to be a great way to see some of the island. Our guide Dominik was so knowledgable of the history and environment, and we felt very well cared for the entire time. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Due to hurricane this tour had to be rebooked and work around road closures but the company were so helpful and upgraded me to the twilight tour for free. The driver was so informative and I definitely came away with a much better appreciation of volcanoes, Hawaiian plants and legends. Next time I would do it again and hopefully the crater road will be open.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Small Group Adventure Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The company did a great job of catering to their customers with drinks and cool clothes. I feel that this tour could have started earlier to allow us the opportunity to visit all the attractions without being rushed. We were unable to visit the Jaggar Museum since we arrived at 7:25 and it closed at 7:30. For those people who do not have their own vehicle I would recommend this tour. More commentary on the attractions and sites would also be helpful. I had no idea what the significance of the painted church was. Sitting at the back of the van could also have something to do with my lack of information as I feel I may have missed some commentary. Good tour, could be better.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Terrible! It was a tour of Hilo not of Volcano Natl Park. Do not recommend unless you want to see all of Hilo.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guides included a truck driver from one of the defunct sugar plantations, a competitive koa canoeist, and a recent geologist grad from Hilo University. These women knew their stuff, were fun, reassuring and provided us a great perspective on the volcano, flora, fauna, as well as history and culture of the area. They even brought out "the horse" for me to ride (nickname for the large frame bike frame that fit me well). Lunch was great. The ride is mostly downhill and a nice way to cover a lot of ground and learn a lot in a short time.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was very friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the island and volcanoes.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Best tour ever! I was terrified of the zipline part but the guides were so fantastic and comforting that I overcame my fear of heights along with flying through the air! We saw the volcano at sunset which was beautiful. All the meals were very good.

Doing what: Big Island Zipline Tour and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park from Hilo or Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Grant was an excellent guide and the tour was wonderful. His knowledge of The Big Island was incredibly impressive. It was a great experience from start to finish!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

First class tour in every respect!
Hawaii Forest and Trail was fantastic to deal with. Lunch and supper included in the tour were both excellent.
Johnny was our guide - request him if you have the option. He is incredibly passionate about volcanos, and you will have an amazing day with him!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great tour. It is long but it was interesting the entire day. This interest was enhanced greatly by Justin. He was an excellent tour guide and was completely professional all day.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It has been a great experience for my family vacation and the tour was fun and educational. Thanks

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We had an excellent day and Laura our driver and guide was a fountain of knowledge and gave us a great experience on the day. We learned a lot and had plenty of time to look around the various areas where we stopped. All very well organised and would recommend to others. We had quite a small group so this made it a little better for us all.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message