Big Island of Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

The mega attraction on the Big Island is Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii’s sole World Heritage Site. The volatile park’s centerpiece is Kilauea Volcano, which continues to blow its top and spout molten lava, ash and steam. Crater Rim Drive is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 253 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide Katie was amazing!!! She made the tour a five star tour because of her knowledge and her enthusiasm.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was fantastic. Our tour guide Avia (Sp ???) was excellent. She was very informed about everything asked of her. Very knowledgeable about the Island. BUT, I thought my husband tipped her and he thought I did. This has been on my mind since we left and I need to know an address to send her something. Please make this possible for me. Karen Smith

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I travel a lot and this tour was fantastic the tour guide was absolutely amazing with her knowledge of the island and the people. I would definitely recommend this to everybody, if you travel you want to see the Kilauea Volcano this is the tour you should take!!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our Pilot Dan was awesome! There are views of the Island you can only see from plane or helicopter. It was beautiful! I highly recommend this tour, especially if you want to see the volcano action.

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

One of the best tours I've done in all my years. To zipline, fly in a helicopter to sea the active volcano and lava as well as the lava tour to see the volcano at night was sensational. a Bit pricy BUT a must do for everyone. Definitely forth it.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour and the guide were amazing. We learnt heaps and the guide was more than willing to answer any question asked about the islands/USA. The volcanoe viewing after dinner was spectacular - we would have loved to have stayed longer. Just means we have to go back again someday....
Only negative was that the bus configuration meant that as the last people on board we had to climb over seats (and that's not an exaggeration) to get to the back seat all day. It was super hot/humid when we were there so this made it extra challenging. Rotating the seating around part way during the day would have been a solution (although childish and maybe not always possible depending on the agility of the participants). Would still use this company/tour again though.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Loved the tour guide, Loren. Loved the stories he told and all the sites we saw. For the tour of the volcano itself, I thought we would see the active lava flows. Seeing the past lava flows and ghe steam vents wss intersting but if I ever get anither chance, I will take a night time tour instead. For me it was just a little anticlimatic.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was great. Our guide, Chris, was very knowledgeable and took us to some great places. Food provided was also very good. One of the highlights of our trip to the Big Island.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour was worth doing but we did come to see some amazing volcanic activity. This wasn't to be for us on this occasion and to no ones fault. It just wasn't happening. The driver was good, the visits were good but all a bit robotic and uneventful. To me a little ho hum w/out bigger volcano action.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

We drove to the area where lava flowed into the ocean and walked on the lava out to the latest flow. Flow stopped several months ago; so no lava to be seen. Then moved on to the summit of the volcano and walked the lava tube, then dinner in the lava hotel with views of the caldera and smoke; then viewing of the caldara glowing red at night. I think a bit overpriced for things easy to do on our own with a car. If you have a vehicle; i'd suggest doing it on your own, on your own schedule.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent!!!!! I had never ziplined before and the staff made me feel comfortable about zipping. Great pilot for the helicopter ride, got us really close to the active volcano.....what a view! Extra kudos for our guide (Kelsey), who picked us up at our hotel in Kona, drove us to and from Hilo and also did our Volcano Museum tour. She was very friendly, upbeat and informative throughout the day about what we were seeing and doing.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I can't speak highly enough for the big island adventure tour! This was such a fun, memorable, and super organized tour! Zip lining was probably my favorite part. The views were breathtaking. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgable! Certainly a day to remember and great for people of all ages!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very worthwhile trip. Enjoyed our guide. Best part was seeing the volcano at night!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message