Big Island of Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

The mega attraction on the Big Island is Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii’s sole World Heritage Site. The volatile park’s centerpiece is Kilauea Volcano, which continues to blow its top and spout molten lava, ash and steam. Crater Rim Drive is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 463 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great family activity. Our two teens loved it. Great way to see the the volcano area. Guide and driver most helpful. Felt safe and had a fun adventure

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Best tour EVER! Seeing the caldera by day and by night was a wow experience! We also had the lava tube to ourselves and the rain forest by night smelled sensational! Taj was our guide and is very knowledgeable and now I wish I had taken notes. He is very personable and sees to your every need and comfort. If or when I come back, I will take this tour again and hopefully get Taj as our guide! Only one thing to say to anyone thinking of doing this trip-DO IT!!!

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

william L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Long trip but worth the money. Saw the whole island with many stops. Pick us up at Kona, went north to see the valley, east to Hilo to see waterfalls, three stops at the volcanoes, south to the black sand beach. Then back to Hilo were we saw a nice sunset. We had a nice lunch at a beautiful bay near Hilo. There were plenty of drinks and snacks during the trip John the tour guide/driver was very informative and funny. Felt bad he had to drive 14 hours, tour was about 11 hours. Great day

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

brenda p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Lovely day, so much to see and experienced so much of the island. Only disappointment was volcano, no lava to be seen, of course not the trip's fault. Our guide was great a well worth trip to do.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Sandra D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was one of the highlights of our trip! Katie was very knowledgeable about all aspects of the tour and was so attentive to all of our needs. We enjoyed hearing about her experiences living on the island as she asked us questions of our lives. She made us feel as though we were hanging out with a new friend for the day! I highly recommend this tour for anyone visiting the Big Island! A big Texas Thank You to Katie for a great day!

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Jerry and Alba

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was a lot of fun! Very informative and beautiful! Highly recommend this as the first activity when arriving to the island :)

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Erin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Long but exciting day. From taking the Saddle Road to Hilo and zip lining over waterfalls, to glimpses of lava from the helicopter and the walk through the lava tubes, this tour is really a great was to see and enjoy the Big Island!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Helen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

An excellent introduction to the Big Island! Each stop was picturesque. Our guide Jonathan was amazing, with an encyclopedic knowledge of Big Island sites, nature, culture, history, etc. Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

DEBRA O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Sien is the GREATEST tour guide ever! This day of exploration was one of interest and of beauty. The lunch provided was excellent as well as the drop off and pick up service.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really enjoyed the all day tour of the island. It was a little long but full of interesting sights and we had a great narrator

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Sherry R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

There was a lot of traveling by vehicle but I realize that couldn't be helped.
Mike was an extraordinary tour guide....very knowledgeable, excited, and his personality was a hit with us since he and we are from Texas and could relate to one another!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Anita H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We all enjoyed the guided tour and of course the view was excellent. We were lucky with a very clear day. My husband 85 had this on his bucket list. Well worth the cost. Thank you.

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Linda V

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Katie was a wonderful guide. I would go on just about any excursion that she was involved in.
I was somewhat disappointed in the macadamia nut farm and I thought we were going to the winery, which we did not. Overall glad we did the trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Shameelta P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Jam packed day and for our party of six this was the best way to see the Island in one day. The weather was mostly great which made things even more pleasant. Chris our tour guide was outstanding! Was exceptionally knowledgeable, entertaining, hospitable and high degree of safety when driving. Can not recommend this tour and tour guide Chris enough.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

ibjansen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazong tour! John Preston was a fabulous guide, he saw to all our demands. Highly tekommended !

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Rob United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Viswaram N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The perfect package with complete value of money. My wife and I had an awesome time performing each and every activity making it the perfect honeymoon for us. The helicopter experience was a once-in-a-lifetime kind of experience. For someone who is in the Big Island for a short span, this would be the best way to cover the best that the island has to offer. Jason, the driver that drove us around on the tour was very friendly and incredibly helpful. The food served and the wine tasting at the Volcano Winery were incredible. Overall a complete sense of satisfaction. Thank you!!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Rebecca H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a great tour for people of all ages. Pretty and Mike were excellent tour guides and my boys and I had a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

TJ Tyler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing experience. The tour is something any level rider can do. We had people of all ages and fitness levels. Only 2 moderate inclines, and the rest was downhill. So much fun seeing the lava tube, rainforest, and volcano. our guide Mike was fantastic!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Janine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved our guide. Top notch. So informative. Great day. But it's a long day so be prepared for a full day cruising the entire island. Highly reccomend this trip

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Ashanta Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Nate was amazing. Incredible encyclopedic knowledge of the Big Island.
He also took the time to show us off the beaten path spots.
This tour was through Hawaii Forest and Trail tour. Very very good.

Highly recommended.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

juice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

First time to Hawaii....a wonderful tour and highlight of our trip...intimate experience with only 5 people plus Katie, the awesome tour guide...all day event in which you honestly see most of the Big Island. Kona Coffee Farm, Macadamia Nut Farm, Black Sand Beach, Volcanoes National Park and a quick stop at 6000 feet to stargaze. Katie was absolutely awesome, being fully prepared for the adventure snacks, drinks, raincoats, iPads, flashlights, a ukulele!. Very skillful as a musician and photographer as well as very knowledgable. Absolutely would recommend to anyone headed to the Big Island.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Samantha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Friendly staff, smooth ride, and gorgeous views. What more could we ask?

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Sharon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing day....so many things to see and learn about...Chris our tour guide was full of wonderful information that he shared with our group throughout whole day. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who has never been to Hawaii and/or to anyone who has a short visit there...you get the whole Island in ONE day...Thanks Chris...Aloha and Mahalo... Sharon

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Linda United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

great tour, small group, covering both sides of Island, water falls, volcanos, beaches, John Preston was our driver/guide, very friendly and knowledgeable. Provided snacks, water, and delicious hot box lunch, lunch break was a lovely picnic, sitting next to a rocky beach. Would recommend to everyone

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message