Big Island of Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

The mega attraction on the Big Island is Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii’s sole World Heritage Site. The volatile park’s centerpiece is Kilauea Volcano, which continues to blow its top and spout molten lava, ash and steam. Crater Rim Drive is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 334 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

One of the best tours to take to get an overview of The Big Island in one day with a tour guide that does all the driving! Thank you, Kala and Wasabi Tours for taking me on an awesome day trip. I enjoyed seeing all the waterfalls and scenery but the best part was seeing the Kilauea lava flow from the Jaggar lookout. Kala was great in giving our tour so much interesting information and history. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting The Big Island.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide Kala was amazing! His vast wealth of knowledge of all things Hawaiian made this day long tour of the Big Island very enjoyable.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Guide / driver had a lot of knowledge about the local area. Very professional yet very friendly. There was a power failure when we were there and he had to change itinerary and location for lunch. No problem. We actually got to eat in an orchid factory. What a bonus. Don't forget bug spray when in the rain forest. Was packed full of stops and fantastic views. Would recommend as the best day I ever spent.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Kilauea put on quite a show for us. The tour was amazing!! Even though it was raining imagine that - - raining in the Rainforest, our guide, Mark, knew exactly what to do and where to go to make the best use of our time. Including when to go to the crater viewing area at night for spectacular views. A lot of ooohhs and aaaahhs were heard. Photos just can't show you what you will see in person. Mark also made two stops on the way that others may have missed. He knows a lot about the park, and the area on the way, including the flora and fauna....which was a nice plus. We were surprised to meet so many locals who had no idea what a seemingly common tree Ugly Fruit and animal Mongoose were. Mark knew those two, and many, many more. The Mercedes tour van was spotless, and comfortable. You do need to bring or wear long pants and bring a sweatshirt or jacket - it's cooler up there! In the park, we saw other tours where their members were drenched. I heard one guide say, well we TOLD them to bring rain coats. Rain jackets yes, waterproof were provided for us, as was a nice packed lunch and dinner complete with cookies, big brownies, water, hot tea, soft drinks, juice and hot chocolate. Just an amazing experience, and all the little extras were much appreciated. Mark took good very care of us, especially my mother.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was fantastic! Guide, Dominick, was excellent -- very knowledgeable and personable. We had a great time!

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Mon mari et moi avons très apprécié ce tour. Nous le recommandons grandement.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely fantastic day. Our guide was most informative. Great small group. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour had way more than I thought. Robert was extremely knowledgeable and kept us well entertained during the drive. I recommend this to anybody of all ages. Good job Robert !

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I have to preface this post by stating I do not ever book tour type things as I tend to like doing things at my own pace. Having said this, I have to give an amazing review to the toru company. We chose the zip, heli, and volcanoes tour, and I will say the full tour is exhausting, but in a good and informative way. We were kept busy all day and had plenty of time to explore each of the areas ourselves. Our tour guide Glenn was informative and entertaining. We were picked up on time and continued pickups until we hit the road to Hilo. For anyone staying in Kona, this is the best trip to see all kinds of things on the other side of the island without the hassle of driving. Even more so if you want to cram all the touring on that side of the island into a day, it's a long drive back and we were thankful to not have to drive that night. We came back with some souvenirs and tons of pictures and a lot better understanding of the big island all in one day's worth of touring. For this, I thank the tour group, and especially the tour guide!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Overall a very good, interesting tour. The description was not quite accurate, for example, it promised dinner at a plantation, when instead we sat at picnic tables at a very windy park at the coast. Also, no hot cocoa, but instead our guide took us to Volcano House and told us we could buy our own drinks. On the positive side, guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. Got up close to the eruption site at the top of Kilauea and saw bubbling lava, great night views. Good overall tour of the park, great hike into an old lava field. We were staying in Waikoloa, which made for a long day, so be prepared.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The guide talk too much. He was in formative about the island. He kept saying Mr. and Mrs. Graham we are not married. It was mother and son. I corrected at least 3 times.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Rita
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

It's a great tour to take to see all of Big Island including the volcano all in one day. It does make this a very long day however. The tour Company provided us with a Bento box at a beautiful waterfall spot we stopped at for lunch. We thought this was a very nice touch. My one suggestion please is that there is a coffee/breakfast stop at Waimea please due to the early morning start from Kona.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was fantastic - the weather cooperated, we got to see more than we imagined - the waterfalls, lava tube hike, the volcano and the black sand beach were all highlights. The real star was our tour guide, Joe - he is so knowledgeable about the island and its history.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Zip lining was terrific and the staff were so well trainings and knowledgable, but also a lot of fun. Our volcano tour was ruined a little by poor weather, but our guide did her utmost to make sure we got to enjoy ourselves and see the most possible on a miserable afternoon.

Doing what: Big Island Zipline Tour and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park from Hilo or Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing tour. You get to see Big Island in one day. Dan, our guide was very knowledgeable and expert driver. We got to see the waterfalls, volcanoes., black sand beach, lava tube and sea turtles. Loved the picnic lunch by the waterfalls.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Just had to give a huge thank you to Kala, our Tour Guide, for the March 24th Big Island tour. We toured the entire Big Island in about 12 hours, and Kala was so knowledgeable and answered all of our questions during the tour. You can tell, he is very proud of his Big Island heritage. I would definitely recommend that your take this tour while visiting the Big Island of Hawaii.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour guide, Nick, was very intelligent, knows when to explain and when to leave us enjoy the trip. Very well organized, full of interesting stops and my wife; very difficult to satisfy; was amazed. Thanks every one

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was beyond expectations. Excellent guide! Knowledgeable and pleasant. See the Big Island highlights and amenities included. The best introduction to the Big Island.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a great experience! We had to push the helicopter ride back one day because of weather. The crew with the zip line was awesome they did a great job and we had a lot of fun. The lava tour was really cool and we got a lot of good pictures. As stated above the helicopter ride we pushed back one day and hoped for better weather and we got great weather and a great ride. The view was awesome and got to see some lava flow we were told that was not normal all tour guide were great and we would recommend to anyone and will be sure to book again when we go back!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was excellent. We saw some of the best tourist spots to see on the island. Our tour guide, Nick, was very knowledgeable, not only about the island, but also about the history of Hawaii. Everyone was very impressed with him. "I would definitely recommend this to anyone new to the big island.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The tour was ok, you don't get to see a live lava flow. You do get to walk out onto some different lava fields, and you see ALOT of craters (my fiancé called it the big hole tour). You do see a black sand beach early on, but if you know your way around the park, not worth the price of this tour.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The weather was not cooperative but that didn't ruin the trip. Our guide was very informative, careful driver and looking out for us. We drove home in horrible fog for most of the way, but always felt safe. Great experience!

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

GREAT WAY TO SEE THE ISLAND. WONDERFUL PILOT AND LANDING IN THE VALLEY WAS BEAUTIFUL.. NOT TO BE MISSED

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message