Big Island of Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

The mega attraction on the Big Island is Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii’s sole World Heritage Site. The volatile park’s centerpiece is Kilauea Volcano, which continues to blow its top and spout molten lava, ash and steam. Crater Rim Drive is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 242 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent!!!!! I had never ziplined before and the staff made me feel comfortable about zipping. Great pilot for the helicopter ride, got us really close to the active volcano.....what a view! Extra kudos for our guide (Kelsey), who picked us up at our hotel in Kona, drove us to and from Hilo and also did our Volcano Museum tour. She was very friendly, upbeat and informative throughout the day about what we were seeing and doing.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I can't speak highly enough for the big island adventure tour! This was such a fun, memorable, and super organized tour! Zip lining was probably my favorite part. The views were breathtaking. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgable! Certainly a day to remember and great for people of all ages!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very worthwhile trip. Enjoyed our guide. Best part was seeing the volcano at night!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Eric was friendly and informative. We appreciated the cold drinks and snacks. The black sand beach was unique and interesting. Dinner was fine. We enjoyed the Jaggar Museum, and the evening view of the volcano from the its overlook was impressive. The absence of lava flow was somewhat disappointing. I'd suggest the tour guide order a seat rotation for the various driving segments so the same people don't have to climb to the back of the van each time.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My boyfriend and I took this tour on our recent trip to the Big Island and found it to be a great way to see some of the island. Our guide Dominik was so knowledgable of the history and environment, and we felt very well cared for the entire time. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour. We did it all. Long day and not cheap but full of great activities for the whole family. The zipline was scarey initially but kids loved it. Helicopter was excellent, walked through lava tube and then the view of the caldera at night was fantastic. Vern was a great tour leader

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Due to hurricane this tour had to be rebooked and work around road closures but the company were so helpful and upgraded me to the twilight tour for free. The driver was so informative and I definitely came away with a much better appreciation of volcanoes, Hawaiian plants and legends. Next time I would do it again and hopefully the crater road will be open.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful trip thru the local tour operator. Our guide Jesse was very knowledgeable about the island, the volcanic history and having grown up in Hawaii he had lots of great island stories. The dinner overlooking the volcano on a clear night was amazing. We saw the glow of the lava and my husband who is a photographer got great pictures. We saw steam coming out of the volcano besides the chemicals wafting out the volcano (which were drifting away from us). It was great!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great information. Great views. Biking was a great way to see the park.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was excellent. It was the best tour we have ever been on. Our tour guide, Katie, was amazing! You could tell she really loved her job which helped set this tour above all the rest! We learned everything we needed to know about the island.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The company did a great job of catering to their customers with drinks and cool clothes. I feel that this tour could have started earlier to allow us the opportunity to visit all the attractions without being rushed. We were unable to visit the Jaggar Museum since we arrived at 7:25 and it closed at 7:30. For those people who do not have their own vehicle I would recommend this tour. More commentary on the attractions and sites would also be helpful. I had no idea what the significance of the painted church was. Sitting at the back of the van could also have something to do with my lack of information as I feel I may have missed some commentary. Good tour, could be better.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Terrible! It was a tour of Hilo not of Volcano Natl Park. Do not recommend unless you want to see all of Hilo.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message