Big Island of Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

The mega attraction on the Big Island is Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii’s sole World Heritage Site. The volatile park’s centerpiece is Kilauea Volcano, which continues to blow its top and spout molten lava, ash and steam. Crater Rim Drive is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 385 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great trip run by a very professional tour group. Our guide Mark was brilliant, knowledgeable, passionate and spent the entire day engaged with everyone on the tour. Well worth a visit to Big Island.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What an awesome way to get introduced to the island. Our guide Kala was excellent. Very knowledgeable about the island and the volcanoes. Highly recommend this tour. Well worth the price

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our driver was very excited about her job and knew a lot of information about different things. The zipline was so much fun. I was anxious at first, but was so much fun. The guys at the zipline were fantastic. We got a lot information, had a couple of little short hikes in Volcano park and a lovely dinner at the volcano house. We were able to see the crater glow in the evening, amazing. The only disappointment was that our helicopter flight was canceled due to weather at the last second. No one's fault, but disappointing not to get to fly over the volcano. We were refunded quickly for the helicopter part of the trip as we could not reschedule due to our schedule.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The best tour ever. Our tour guide Dan was very knowledgeable and very pleasant. Dan was tentative and enthusiastic, he provided us with flawless service. This tour drove us through pretty much the whole island, it covers the highlights of the Big Island. On top of the rich content in one day, we were surprised that this tour covers refreshments, desserts and a delicious lunch box. If this is your first time to the Big Island, I strongly recommend you to join this tour.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Let me preface by stating it was great! It is not what is in the brochure. That's why I'm not giving it 5 stars. I read other posts, so I knew there would be no sit Down hot dinner in the evening. I figure it is due to the newest lava flows, that said. . .why haven't the owners of this tour changed at least their on-line brochure? I worked in advertising, it's best to state the truth or don't say anything at all to eliminate false advertising. My tour guide was great, what we saw in a word breathtaking, recommend it to all who have the time, be prepared for two cold meals!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Most of the activities we participated in where hard to get events like swimming with manta rays or petting dolphins but this would have been better to drive there yourself and do it. The guide was hilarious and the volcano was cool but I would have enjoyed it more in silence on a hike by myself or with my companions.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Dominik was simply the best tour guide we have ever had. He made the experience very memorable and we would highly recommend him.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour guides Robbie and Pretty are so informative! Great to hear about the volcano history, local cultural folklore, and ride bikes! 15 mile biking went by fast. Will do again!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Previously sent a recommendation of our tour. Again it was marvelous. Forgot to rate it. I highly recommend it. Our guide Gary was the best.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing trip, amazing views, with expert narration!

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an amazing trip. I would reccomend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My Husband and I really got so much out of this tour.
Our guide was well informed. He took great care of us on the full day excursion.
It was so nice to see the volcano at night and not have to do the drive home on our own. We had flexibility as group and decided to do a side trip that wasn't scheduled.
Highly recommend taking advantage of this tour, It makes the landscape come alive !

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thanks so much to our driver kala (I think), we learned so much about hawaii culture and saw lava,sea turtles and waterfalls. The 10hour journey did not drag because we had well timed stops and a very informative guide kept us entertained in between. Would highly recommend tour and guide.johnny may9

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip, enough exhiliration to keep it interesting! Robbie was great, the day was perfect and the sights were amazing! Thank you!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was our first time to Big Island and this tour gave us a really great experience of the Island and it's diverse scenery and climate. So many beautiful sights to see! Our guide was informative and enthusiastic and we enjoyed a memorable day.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was the best part of my week on the Big Island. We were so fortunate to experience the Joel team! Our pilot Joel was so awesome, as was our ground tour guide Joel!!! The pictures we were able to take will make our memories of this special day last forever! Thank you both for such a wonderful day!

Doing what: Experience Volcanoes National Park: Helicopter, Coach, and Walking Tour from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed every minute of the tour. It was just me and my boyfriend and we had a blast. We were the only ones who booked the all day tour and we had a great tour guide. His name is Glen and he was able to answer any of our questions about Hawaii. He was also very friendly, helpful and accommodating. He made the best of the time and when we did have extra time, he would ask if we want to do this or that. He was excellent. I would recommend him.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Outstanding tour guide. Even though the tour is long, our tour guide never lost his composure and professionalism.
Would highly recommend asking for Dominick if he is available.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was awesome. Taj our guide was knowledgeable, entertaining and passionate about the park. The tour is really well planned with opportunities to get out of the small and comfortable bus, small hikes and loads of interesting landscapes to see and experience. We saw everything and more of what was expected, plus learned so much about the Big Island and its incredible diversity. And yes we saw red lava! The walk through the lava tunnel at night was incredible and I equally enjoyed the walks on the black lava where it met the sea or where it had eaten up trees in its path and formed sculptural mounds. The meals boxed were really good too. Taj is a brilliant guide, and we were so lucky to have him share his love and knowledge of this beautiful landscape. I would do this tour again - it was a wonderful day/night.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome...everything we expected and more...we will do it again.

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great. The guide Eugene with his knowledge of the island, its people, and not only the obvious tourist sties but the plant life and how the island became what it is now from the natural to the imported plants made the tour worth the money.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide is very informative . Food is very good . Just wish that we have more time swimming on the black beach.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great. Our guide Dominique was very friendly, knowledgeable and informative. We would take another tour by this company again.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Driver/guide was terrific. He shared much information about the island - history, current issues, living experience. Seemed rushed at times but he was trying and succeeded in taking us to two additional sites. Great overview of the island. He also made suggestions for follow up visits. Just what we were looking for in a tour. Liked the small group!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was beyond our expectations, thank you very much. The guide was excellent, thanks Chris!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message