Big Island of Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

The mega attraction on the Big Island is Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii’s sole World Heritage Site. The volatile park’s centerpiece is Kilauea Volcano, which continues to blow its top and spout molten lava, ash and steam. Crater Rim Drive is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 300 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Patricia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wonderful trip which gave us an excellent overview of the island. Our guide, Dan. was informative and enthusiastic. If you have limited time on Hawaii, this would give you a very complete tour in 1 day.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Fiona W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A well paced tour covering pretty waterfalls, very interesting landscape and fascinating volcanoes. Our tour guide Joe Joel? was exceptional with his local knowledge. A great day out!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Jerry Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Extremely interesting and educating trip very knowledgable and engaging guide.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

sanford95

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The best way to see all the sights in one day. We enjoyed every stop and our tour guide Jonathon was great! Every question that was asked on the trip he had an answer for. My two teenagers actually listened and observed instead of being on their phones the entire trip lol. We would recommend this trip to our friends and family.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Diane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great trip. Knowledgeable guide Katy. Good meals and excellent visits to Kona Coffee Farm and Volcanoes National Park.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Janice M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We have a wonderful day. We hit the highlights of the big Island. And got some great photos. Dan was a wonderful guide. And Nathan the interpreter for part of our group was great also . A great lunch was provided along with snacks through out the day. We were an International group which made the trip even more fun.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

speedjacque

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent! We were picked up on time. Tour was as described. Tour guide was fantastic. Driver was also top notch. Lunch was delicious. Weather was perfect. Views and history were beautiful and so interesting. Worth doing.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Barbara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

My friend and I enjoyed the day very much. Our tour guide, John,was personable and informative. There was enough Time to explore the areas that we stopped at. We enjoyed our lunches and my girlfriend was appreciative that hers was vegetarian. If I have occasion to tour again in Hawaii or in other places where your tours are offered, I will be sure to take advantage of it

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

lakbcs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great way to see the highlights of the Big Island in one day! Our guide, Johnathan, was very knowledgeable and fun. He gave us plenty of time for photos and questions at each stop and pointed out a lot of unique plants and flowers. He also gave us tips on other sites to see during our visit The zen box lunches were great too! And the visit to the southern most bakery in the US was an added bonus!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

David A P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a very comprehensive tour of the significant sites on the island. Joe, our driver and guide, is very knowledgeable and helpful. We would certainly recommend this tour to anyone who hasn't seen the Big Island before.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Rodger N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was wonderful, and our guide was awesome. It was a day packed full with fun facts and beautiful sites

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Brian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We really enjoyed this tour around the Big Island and learned a ton about the history, climate, geology, etc of this young island. Our driver was Nick and he was a young guy but filled with knowledge about virtually everything that we wanted to know more about. There wasn't a question that he couldn't answer with a high quality and thorough response - he was amazing in his depth and breadth of knowledge. The stops on the tour were fun and typical of what you would expect: waterfalls, black sand beach, amazing views, volcano national park and more. The lunch they provided was delicious as well. Our daughter 8 yrs old also enjoyed the entire tour and learning about the Big Island. It is a long day - we started at 7am when we got picked up and got back around 5pm. But it never seemed slow because Nick would inform us about everything as we were driving from one spot to the next. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Rhodalyn V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Jeff was our tour guide Dec 3/15, he was courteous, knowledgeable, hands on and funny! He kept us in tune with Hawaiian history, nature and our surroundings. For a 10-11 hr tour it was well organized, my kids and I learned so much, and you didn and #39;t realize how fast the turn around was, time well spent!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Latoya W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Loved this tour - was a great way to see the island and I cannot even describe the amazing volcano experience!!

Our tour guide was FANTASTIC!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Clara V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very interesting and fun!

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Scott C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Another fantastic tour! Jeff was a knowledgeable, entertaining and energetic guide! Not only were the sites we visited great, but he would get us there at ideal times and perfect locations for viewing/photographs. Provided great history and information that was relevant and interesting. It's a beautiful island, but really important that you have the right 'tour guide' who knows their stuff and how to get you where you need to be and Jeff's experience and expertise rose to the occasion. What could have been a very long day flew by and we have incredible memories to enjoy for the rest of our lives.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Karen E

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We both had a good time. Our guide was knowledgeable and courteous. We saw some beautiful sights and learned some neat history of the islands. I only wish that we had skipped the stops in town so that more time could have been spent at the volcanoes since that is what the tour is meant to be about. We especially could have done without the stop at the convenience store to get snacks for the day. It would be better that they advise you get those ahead of time and then more time could be spent enjoying the sights. We felt too rushed at some of them. Overall, it was a good day and I'd definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Donald P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour of the island. Our tour guide, Joseph, was delightful. His knowledge of the island and it's history was impressive.. He made the long tour a great experience.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

dorarich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Most amazing thing we did on the island - and we did a lot of amazing things. They don't joke though when they say it's a grueling hike up to the lava fields. Muddy, jungle-like - expect to get dirty. The reared however for this hike is seeing live lava flow - within inches of where you are. Our guide - Chris - was awesome. He was extremely knowledgeable in native Hawaiian stories, legends and facts - he made the hike go by quickly while keeping everyone safe.

If you can hike 4 miles through rough terrain read the email and please wear pants and good sneakers/hiking boots you'll love this tour. We'd do it again in half a second.

Doing what: Hawaii Volcano Lava Tour to See Lava

Virginia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Trip was great. Paul was our tour guide, very informative, knew a lot about the Hawaiian culture and very pleasant

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Jason B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My family and I had a wonderful time on this bike tour. My husband and I live in Oahu and we traveled to the Big Island with his parents who were visiting from out of state it was great for both those who live here and those visiting. Our guides, Nainoa and Pretty did a fantastic job!! The bike ride was paced well with excellent stops and snack/water breaks along the way, kept fun and informative by our guides, and got to see some wonderful sites of the volcano. It ended on a wonderful note, eating our lunches on previously formed lava patches overlooking the ocean.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Pal India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our Tour Guide was very informative and even a better driver!! It was fun filled day.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

cooper c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

beautiful, amazing, and well thought out.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message