• USD ($)
  • English
Hilo might be the Big Island’s largest settlement but it’s a laid back coastal place, with some classic old buildings and wooden storefronts. The town is on Hilo Bay, overlooked by the volcanoes Manua Loa and Mauna Kea. In town, visit the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 86 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

First class tour in every respect!
Hawaii Forest and Trail was fantastic to deal with. Lunch and supper included in the tour were both excellent.
Johnny was our guide - request him if you have the option. He is incredibly passionate about volcanos, and you will have an amazing day with him!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great tour. It is long but it was interesting the entire day. This interest was enhanced greatly by Justin. He was an excellent tour guide and was completely professional all day.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was awesome and we went to some really unforgettable sites. It was a great experience and our guide Lauren was really knowledgable and great.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was amazing! Our tour guide Mark was extremely informative and just seemed to know the answer to every question. The food was simple yet good. It does get cold so bring pants and a jacket. Don't expect to see the actual lava flow of course as that is too dangerous. You do see a volcano smoking

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Long Day and Drive through some very winding roads to a landscape I probably wouldn't have wanted to visit on my own. Thanks very much to Matt for his patience,enthusiasm and professionalism.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Very good and informative tour

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Good day trip. We have a very good group of people on the bus. The tour guide Matt was very good and knowledgeable. Although there is no viewing of the active lava flow, the places we visited were very interesting. We also managed to view the lunar eclipse during the tour. Enjoyable trip not to be missed.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

From start to finish, a first rate tour, with everything you think you'll see and experience, plus more. If you want an edge on the other tourists, this is the way to go. The story behind what you're looking at, putting the puzzle together one piece at a time. I enjoyed small tour atmoshere, with the personal touch that made you feel included.

In one day I can say I saw and learned more by taking this tour, than if I would have wandered around the park and "hoping" I saw everything. This tour hits the highlights, and gives a good base of what the park has to offer. There is literally too much to see in this park. Taking this tour allowed us to maximize our time, while eliminating the stress of figuring it out on our own. The icing on the cake comes after dark, and gives life to what lies beneath. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a wonderful tour packed with great information! My husband and I enjoyed it thoroughly. Matt was a great guide. The day just went by too quickly!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

We felt that our tour guide was very knowledgeable. We felt that we wasted a lot of time by stopping to eat lunch in the mountains and going through Hilo and stopping at the candy store. We didn't see a lot of the park because it took over half the time getting there and stopping so much. We were disappointed in the amount of money we paid to see the park and spent so little time actually in the park and seeing so little of the park.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

I enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide, Chris, was clearly very knowledgeable and personable. I was disappointed with the evening meal. There was no specific mention of the meal format in the brochure, but I was expecting a hot, sit-down dinner. Instead we ended up with a warm box lunch style meal on picnic tables. We did not see any active lava flows. I don't know whether that is the nature of the tour or the nature of the volcano, but none of the stops involved a view of lava flows that were newer than ten years old.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Small friendly group, guide/driver had great knowledge but knew when to be quiet as it is a long day, and having someone talk all the time can be annoying. Food was good and the park well worth the visit. I would highly recommend doing this tour

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The volcano tour was one of the highlights of our trip to the big island. We couldn't have had a better tour guide! The whole day was great.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Overall, the tour was acceptable. One big disappointment was that the tour did not follow the itinerary that was published. The tour was advertised to take route 200 (saddle rd) and stop at Mauna Kea on the trip to the volcano and then take route 19 going back via Waimea. We did neither of these things, instead taking route 11 to and from the volcano, thus missing the Hilo side of the Island completely. Here is the actual text from the Hawaii Forest and Trail web site:
"You’ll really get an idea of how big the Big Island is during the course of this tour. And you’ll appreciate that someone else is doing the driving. Starting out from our headquarters in Kona, we travel up the coast over desolate lava flows for about a half hour before proceeding up the rolling pasturelands on the flanks of Mauna Kea. Turning onto the Saddle Road that traverses the island between Mauna Loa and Mauna Kea, you’ll see a dramatic and diverse landscape of ranchland, sub-alpine dryforest and rainforest (with striking features such as cinder cones, lava flows, lava tubes and kipuka). We’ll stop for a short break and continental-style breakfast.

Continuing on, we drop down to near sea-level on our way through Hilo where we begin the final climb to the summit of Kilauea and the lush entrance to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. On the way back, we’ll travel along the Hamakua Coast and pass through Waimea before returning to Kona. By the end of the day, you’ll have traveled over 300 miles and experienced an elevation change (we go up and down a few times!) of over 30,000 feet."
The guide was informative and the tour was disappointing.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

the whole tour was well organised, the driver was extremely knowledgeable and the volcano park is fabulous. seeing the caldera after dark enabled us to see the glow of lava.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message