• USD ($)
  • English
Hilo might be the Big Island’s largest settlement but it’s a laid back coastal place, with some classic old buildings and wooden storefronts. The town is on Hilo Bay, overlooked by the volcanoes Manua Loa and Mauna Kea. In town, visit the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 79 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

From start to finish, a first rate tour, with everything you think you'll see and experience, plus more. If you want an edge on the other tourists, this is the way to go. The story behind what you're looking at, putting the puzzle together one piece at a time. I enjoyed small tour atmoshere, with the personal touch that made you feel included.

In one day I can say I saw and learned more by taking this tour, than if I would have wandered around the park and "hoping" I saw everything. This tour hits the highlights, and gives a good base of what the park has to offer. There is literally too much to see in this park. Taking this tour allowed us to maximize our time, while eliminating the stress of figuring it out on our own. The icing on the cake comes after dark, and gives life to what lies beneath. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a wonderful tour packed with great information! My husband and I enjoyed it thoroughly. Matt was a great guide. The day just went by too quickly!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

We felt that our tour guide was very knowledgeable. We felt that we wasted a lot of time by stopping to eat lunch in the mountains and going through Hilo and stopping at the candy store. We didn't see a lot of the park because it took over half the time getting there and stopping so much. We were disappointed in the amount of money we paid to see the park and spent so little time actually in the park and seeing so little of the park.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

I enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide, Chris, was clearly very knowledgeable and personable. I was disappointed with the evening meal. There was no specific mention of the meal format in the brochure, but I was expecting a hot, sit-down dinner. Instead we ended up with a warm box lunch style meal on picnic tables. We did not see any active lava flows. I don't know whether that is the nature of the tour or the nature of the volcano, but none of the stops involved a view of lava flows that were newer than ten years old.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Small friendly group, guide/driver had great knowledge but knew when to be quiet as it is a long day, and having someone talk all the time can be annoying. Food was good and the park well worth the visit. I would highly recommend doing this tour

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The volcano tour was one of the highlights of our trip to the big island. We couldn't have had a better tour guide! The whole day was great.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Overall, the tour was acceptable. One big disappointment was that the tour did not follow the itinerary that was published. The tour was advertised to take route 200 (saddle rd) and stop at Mauna Kea on the trip to the volcano and then take route 19 going back via Waimea. We did neither of these things, instead taking route 11 to and from the volcano, thus missing the Hilo side of the Island completely. Here is the actual text from the Hawaii Forest and Trail web site:
"You’ll really get an idea of how big the Big Island is during the course of this tour. And you’ll appreciate that someone else is doing the driving. Starting out from our headquarters in Kona, we travel up the coast over desolate lava flows for about a half hour before proceeding up the rolling pasturelands on the flanks of Mauna Kea. Turning onto the Saddle Road that traverses the island between Mauna Loa and Mauna Kea, you’ll see a dramatic and diverse landscape of ranchland, sub-alpine dryforest and rainforest (with striking features such as cinder cones, lava flows, lava tubes and kipuka). We’ll stop for a short break and continental-style breakfast.

Continuing on, we drop down to near sea-level on our way through Hilo where we begin the final climb to the summit of Kilauea and the lush entrance to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. On the way back, we’ll travel along the Hamakua Coast and pass through Waimea before returning to Kona. By the end of the day, you’ll have traveled over 300 miles and experienced an elevation change (we go up and down a few times!) of over 30,000 feet."
The guide was informative and the tour was disappointing.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

the whole tour was well organised, the driver was extremely knowledgeable and the volcano park is fabulous. seeing the caldera after dark enabled us to see the glow of lava.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Michelle G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An amazing tour with a fantastic guide. Taj was extremely knowledgable and provided a wonderful insight into the history of the island, it's volcanoes and Hawaiian legends. He pointed out flora and fauna indigenous to the islands and took us to some out of the way sites that only locals know of. I would highly recommend this tour as travelling in a small group allowed for a flexible schedule and plenty of opportunities for our questions to be answered. Seeing the glow of the volcano at night is not to be missed!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was brilliant. We had a fantastic time. Our guide, Matt, was so friendly, welcoming and very knowledgeable and took us to places that were on the tour guide but also managed to stop off at others when we had time. There were only 7 of us on this tour plus Matt so it was great as we didn't get held up waiting for a big group. We did a great hike up Mauna Loa which this tour doesn't always do but it was fascinating being at the top of the largest active volcano and mountain on earth. Would highly recommend this tour. Really well run and great tour guide.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We saw so much in one day. Our guide was like an encyclopedia with personality. He was extremely knowledgable about things we saw on our tour and general Hawaiian culture. We saw a rainforest, lava tubes, a waterfall, volcanic terrain, and much more.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was the highlight of our trip. Our guide, Mark, was awesome. We made several stops and ate lunch between Mauna Kea and Mauna Loa. Mark was very knowledgable and kept things lively. We were also lucky to have a great group of people. Would recommend highly.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Aleson was a awsome guide. Very friendly and knew a lot about the island.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was an outstanding tour for the 11 members, three generations, of our family! Mark was an exceptionally talented tour guide. He was the driver, food preparer and server and most important, knowledgeable, caring, friendly, informative and very patient. He answered all our questions and had a great sense of humor. He picked us up in a good sized, air conditioned van, with many large windows, on the Kona side of the island. We had lots of time to visit many interesting sites on the way to the Volcano National Park. We also waded in the water at the black sand beach, toured the lava caves and visited the museum. There were many stops for photo ops. The pictures are a grand reminder of a very special day, thanks to Mark! Mark was also a very careful and courteous driver. At night, as he drove us back to Kona in the rain, he was particularly careful and made us all feel relaxed. This was a very comfortable, informative and memorable tour, which we ALL thoroughly enjoyed!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I really enjoyed this tour, esprcially because our guide was very knowledgable and friendly.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Small Group Adventure Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message