Hilo might be the Big Island’s largest settlement but it’s a laid back coastal place, with some classic old buildings and wooden storefronts. The town is on Hilo Bay, overlooked by the volcanoes Manua Loa and Mauna Kea. In town, visit the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 91 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a great day with Justin as our excellent tour guide. He took us all over the park and kept us entertained with both the Hawaiian native explanation and the scientific explanation for the history of the volcanoes. The scenery was stunning during the daytime and night, the van we rode in was very comfortable and the food was good. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fantastic day spent with Mark. Just about the right amount of stops to look at things. And, spot on amount of patter too. A very well researched guide, who obviously loves his job.
Food and drink supplied with the tour. Can't fault anything about the day at all.
Even got a lift back to our hotel.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely fantastic. Gabe and Ninoa were great guides and Brian made a ride there and back special. I know it probably wasn't as profitable for you but we loved the VIP treatment that came with being the only two on the excursion.

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Hamakua Coast Zipline over KoleKole Falls

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was great. Our guide, Chris, was very knowledgeable and took us to some great places. Food provided was also very good. One of the highlights of our trip to the Big Island.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Due to hurricane this tour had to be rebooked and work around road closures but the company were so helpful and upgraded me to the twilight tour for free. The driver was so informative and I definitely came away with a much better appreciation of volcanoes, Hawaiian plants and legends. Next time I would do it again and hopefully the crater road will be open.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

First class tour in every respect!
Hawaii Forest and Trail was fantastic to deal with. Lunch and supper included in the tour were both excellent.
Johnny was our guide - request him if you have the option. He is incredibly passionate about volcanos, and you will have an amazing day with him!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great tour. It is long but it was interesting the entire day. This interest was enhanced greatly by Justin. He was an excellent tour guide and was completely professional all day.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was awesome and we went to some really unforgettable sites. It was a great experience and our guide Lauren was really knowledgable and great.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was amazing! Our tour guide Mark was extremely informative and just seemed to know the answer to every question. The food was simple yet good. It does get cold so bring pants and a jacket. Don't expect to see the actual lava flow of course as that is too dangerous. You do see a volcano smoking

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Long Day and Drive through some very winding roads to a landscape I probably wouldn't have wanted to visit on my own. Thanks very much to Matt for his patience,enthusiasm and professionalism.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Very good and informative tour

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Good day trip. We have a very good group of people on the bus. The tour guide Matt was very good and knowledgeable. Although there is no viewing of the active lava flow, the places we visited were very interesting. We also managed to view the lunar eclipse during the tour. Enjoyable trip not to be missed.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

From start to finish, a first rate tour, with everything you think you'll see and experience, plus more. If you want an edge on the other tourists, this is the way to go. The story behind what you're looking at, putting the puzzle together one piece at a time. I enjoyed small tour atmoshere, with the personal touch that made you feel included.

In one day I can say I saw and learned more by taking this tour, than if I would have wandered around the park and "hoping" I saw everything. This tour hits the highlights, and gives a good base of what the park has to offer. There is literally too much to see in this park. Taking this tour allowed us to maximize our time, while eliminating the stress of figuring it out on our own. The icing on the cake comes after dark, and gives life to what lies beneath. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a wonderful tour packed with great information! My husband and I enjoyed it thoroughly. Matt was a great guide. The day just went by too quickly!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

We felt that our tour guide was very knowledgeable. We felt that we wasted a lot of time by stopping to eat lunch in the mountains and going through Hilo and stopping at the candy store. We didn't see a lot of the park because it took over half the time getting there and stopping so much. We were disappointed in the amount of money we paid to see the park and spent so little time actually in the park and seeing so little of the park.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message