Hilo might be the Big Island’s largest settlement but it’s a laid back coastal place, with some classic old buildings and wooden storefronts. The town is on Hilo Bay, overlooked by the volcanoes Manua Loa and Mauna Kea. In town, visit the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 80 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Justin was very knowledgeable, interesting and had a great attitude.
Did not take us around the whole island....like I thought it would.
We thought that we would get closer to the volcano activity than we did.
Meals were not up to par. Dinner was questionable, and an afternoon snack would be nice

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a great day with Justin as our excellent tour guide. He took us all over the park and kept us entertained with both the Hawaiian native explanation and the scientific explanation for the history of the volcanoes. The scenery was stunning during the daytime and night, the van we rode in was very comfortable and the food was good. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fantastic day spent with Mark. Just about the right amount of stops to look at things. And, spot on amount of patter too. A very well researched guide, who obviously loves his job.
Food and drink supplied with the tour. Can't fault anything about the day at all.
Even got a lift back to our hotel.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Gary made this day spectacular. We were able to experience lava tubes, lava flows, seaside cliffs, craters and calderas. Short hikes provided personal discovery of the diverse terrain of this amazing island. Outstanding tour, highlighted by an excellent, knowledgeable and fun guide. Do this tour!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I love our guide!It's a really good experience! our guide is so nice that he is passionate, he remembers everyone's name and he is really knowledgable about volcano and the eco environment around the island. Taj, Thank you!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely fantastic. Gabe and Ninoa were great guides and Brian made a ride there and back special. I know it probably wasn't as profitable for you but we loved the VIP treatment that came with being the only two on the excursion.

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Hamakua Coast Zipline over KoleKole Falls

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was great. Our guide, Chris, was very knowledgeable and took us to some great places. Food provided was also very good. One of the highlights of our trip to the Big Island.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Due to hurricane this tour had to be rebooked and work around road closures but the company were so helpful and upgraded me to the twilight tour for free. The driver was so informative and I definitely came away with a much better appreciation of volcanoes, Hawaiian plants and legends. Next time I would do it again and hopefully the crater road will be open.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

First class tour in every respect!
Hawaii Forest and Trail was fantastic to deal with. Lunch and supper included in the tour were both excellent.
Johnny was our guide - request him if you have the option. He is incredibly passionate about volcanos, and you will have an amazing day with him!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great tour. It is long but it was interesting the entire day. This interest was enhanced greatly by Justin. He was an excellent tour guide and was completely professional all day.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was awesome and we went to some really unforgettable sites. It was a great experience and our guide Lauren was really knowledgable and great.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was amazing! Our tour guide Mark was extremely informative and just seemed to know the answer to every question. The food was simple yet good. It does get cold so bring pants and a jacket. Don't expect to see the actual lava flow of course as that is too dangerous. You do see a volcano smoking

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Long Day and Drive through some very winding roads to a landscape I probably wouldn't have wanted to visit on my own. Thanks very much to Matt for his patience,enthusiasm and professionalism.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Very good and informative tour

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Good day trip. We have a very good group of people on the bus. The tour guide Matt was very good and knowledgeable. Although there is no viewing of the active lava flow, the places we visited were very interesting. We also managed to view the lunar eclipse during the tour. Enjoyable trip not to be missed.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message