For some of the best snorkeling on the Big Island, visit the protected waters of Kealakekua Bay. This remote area is also popular with hikers, who might come across the ruins of ancient temples and villages on their travels. Dolphins frolic ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 120 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Linda A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We absolutely loved this tour. Kayaking was fun, snorkeling was great and Jamal is the very best guide. Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Shannon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful experience!! Kealakekua Bay and Honaunau Bay were excellent snorkel locations. We saw a wide array of fish, sea turtles, and dolphins during our tour. Captain Dave and Kevin were fantastic! Very engaging, informative, and we had a blast!!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Cheryl R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A wonderful evening with music, history, beautiful scenery and good food. The staff was very courteous and did a great job! Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

Rose M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Such a fun time!! Iwa and Jamal were awesome! We were inexperienced kayakers and snorkelers and they walked us through step by step! We got to see spinner dolphins and the fish while snorkeling were just amazing!!! Loved hearing the history too! Just a great tour all around!! Would highly recommend this tour to EVERYONE!!!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Jack E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a very pleasant cruse. The live music was peaceful and pleasant and the narration of the sites was interesting and enjoyable. There was a nice variety of very tasty food on the dinner buffet and the bar was well stocked with reasonable prices for such a venue. We had an enjoyable visit with other guest on the cruse and the atmosphere was conducive to friendly conversation.

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

Beverly T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a great time my wife and I had. Service was great very friendly and helpful. Music that was provided was outstanding. There was a person telling the history of Hawaii as we moved along the coast. Very informative: gave us other places to check out. Just an outstanding evening.

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

Michael G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Was an awesome experience. Do not book through the cruise ship. Book directly through here. Much cheaper.
Staff was great and very interactive. We seen a lot of great sites.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Rennie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend this tour that I took on 16th June. The guides Bill and Michael were very easy going and humourous and told us a lot about the surrounding area. Despite me not heeding their instructions on where to snorkel and ending up being washed up on the sharp coral rocks they were still able to come to my aid and help me get my wounds and scratches dressed. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip and the highlight was seeing the spinner dolphins in the bay doing their stuff spinning in the air. Don't forget to take your sunscreen though.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

peb512

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Loved it. The tour guide was funny, respectful, fun and excellent!

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

cielle92

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful scenery and beautiful sunset. We loved the musician on board! The movement of the boat made it difficult to walk. But we saw a couple groups of dolphins which made it all worth while. Dinner was good too.

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

Teresa S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We had a very good time on this trip. We were a little worried when we pulled up to the store and nobody was there, but the tour guide showed up shortly after we did. We were the only other kayak on this trip so it felt like a private tour and our guide was very knowledgeable and gave us great information.

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Joanne P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We took the evening cruise and it was spectacular. The sunset magnificent and we even had dolphins jumping on que as we prepared to return to the harbor.The crew on this trip were outstanding. The historian is a native Hawaiian woman who is a wonderful story teller. She has humor and knowledge, a rare mix. The food was very good and the entire evening was lovely. The staff couldn't do enough to assist the passengers. First rate and a must if you do nothing else.

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

Donna W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had an absolute ball on this tour. Our guide JC and Kevin were phenomenal. First time snorkeling and loved every moment of it and the tour or the caves and boat ride were wonderful.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Desiree F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great guide, great food, great music!

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

Lara R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Nice dinner cruise. Good food at the buffet. Well worth it!

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

Cynthia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We took this tour yesterday. If you are interested in history, enjoy the outdoors and a beautiful setting, this is the tour for you! The owner is quite a character. You will learn a great deal of Hawaiian history, kayak from one end of a gorgeous bay to the other. You will disembark your boats to enjoy snorkeling with colorful, beautiful fishes, including turtles. One of my regrets, is having forgotten to bring an underwater camera! The water scenery was amazing, but also the area you beach at really felt sacred and was probably the most beautiful spot we encountered in Hawaii. This tour is one of the only that allows visitors land privileges. I would highly recommend!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Kelly United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was our favorite booked trip while visiting Hawaii. Aloha Kayak Rentals is the only Hawaiian-owned kayak company in Kona. Iwa, the owner, gave an extraordinary history of the bay before we put in. Jamal, our guide, was very friendly, experienced, knowledgeable, and had a great respect for the bay and the environment. If you're only able to book one trip while in Hawaii, this is the one! I believe they do Manta trips too!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Kazys S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful ride with narration of the area and music just adding to the experience.

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

louann t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was fantastic. My husband and I were absolute beginners and Jamal helped us every step of the way. After you get to James Cook island, the Snorkling is some of the best we've ever experienced.

This is an absolute must for anyone on the big island!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Gail N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed the trip. The crew was wonderful and the boat was fantastic to snorkel from. Can't wait to do it again.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Finisa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Staff were wonderful. Drinks and food were top notch. Sightseeing was great, we even spotted whales!
This is a can't miss tour!

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

Bonnie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was such an amazing experience!!!!! Aloha Kayak's guides were superb and not only did we have a blast enjoying the activities, but it was also great to hear about the history and the locals' perspectives on the rapidly changing landscape of Hawaii. It was truly eye-opening, and if I ever visit again, I'll certainly go snorkeling with this crew again!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Katelyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful experience. I took the short tour. Glad I did. It was just enough time, especially given it wasn't too sunny I wouldn't have lasted much longer without being too cold. The bay was beautiful. All sorts of colorful fish and we even saw an octopus! Kendra the guide was excellent. Very informative and funny. Totally worth the money - highly recommend.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

glees

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

whale of a time
still waiting for suzanne from Seattle to send us picture of whale that came close to boat

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message