For some of the best snorkeling on the Big Island, visit the protected waters of Kealakekua Bay. This remote area is also popular with hikers, who might come across the ruins of ancient temples and villages on their travels. Dolphins frolic ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 104 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cynthia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We took this tour yesterday. If you are interested in history, enjoy the outdoors and a beautiful setting, this is the tour for you! The owner is quite a character. You will learn a great deal of Hawaiian history, kayak from one end of a gorgeous bay to the other. You will disembark your boats to enjoy snorkeling with colorful, beautiful fishes, including turtles. One of my regrets, is having forgotten to bring an underwater camera! The water scenery was amazing, but also the area you beach at really felt sacred and was probably the most beautiful spot we encountered in Hawaii. This tour is one of the only that allows visitors land privileges. I would highly recommend!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Kelly United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was our favorite booked trip while visiting Hawaii. Aloha Kayak Rentals is the only Hawaiian-owned kayak company in Kona. Iwa, the owner, gave an extraordinary history of the bay before we put in. Jamal, our guide, was very friendly, experienced, knowledgeable, and had a great respect for the bay and the environment. If you're only able to book one trip while in Hawaii, this is the one! I believe they do Manta trips too!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Kazys S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful ride with narration of the area and music just adding to the experience.

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

louann t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was fantastic. My husband and I were absolute beginners and Jamal helped us every step of the way. After you get to James Cook island, the Snorkling is some of the best we've ever experienced.

This is an absolute must for anyone on the big island!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Gail N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed the trip. The crew was wonderful and the boat was fantastic to snorkel from. Can't wait to do it again.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Finisa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Staff were wonderful. Drinks and food were top notch. Sightseeing was great, we even spotted whales!
This is a can't miss tour!

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

Bonnie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was such an amazing experience!!!!! Aloha Kayak's guides were superb and not only did we have a blast enjoying the activities, but it was also great to hear about the history and the locals' perspectives on the rapidly changing landscape of Hawaii. It was truly eye-opening, and if I ever visit again, I'll certainly go snorkeling with this crew again!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Katelyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful experience. I took the short tour. Glad I did. It was just enough time, especially given it wasn't too sunny I wouldn't have lasted much longer without being too cold. The bay was beautiful. All sorts of colorful fish and we even saw an octopus! Kendra the guide was excellent. Very informative and funny. Totally worth the money - highly recommend.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

glees

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

whale of a time
still waiting for suzanne from Seattle to send us picture of whale that came close to boat

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Colin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Aloha was very good. They assigned a guide to our 4some. Very personable and informative about the history, ecology, native perspective, British perspective, wildlife etc. We were very pleased.
Lunch was delicious. Great day!!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Tina

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The historical information was very interesting, but also difficult to understand and follow simply because words and names were in the Hawaiian language. Live music was nice. The crew was very friendly and frequently offered to get us drinks, help carry our food to the table, etc. Cruise atmosphere was much more casual that we expected. Was thinking it'd be semi-formal with closed glass windows, table cloths, glass plates and real silverware, etc, but it was open air, most passengers were dressed super casual, paper plates, plastic ware. They served a snack wasn't crazy about the sweet cream cheese product that included fresh fruit. Dinner itself included beef, chicken and pork along with a rice mixture and some salad, all in buffet format. We did not like the chicken. It was dry and just not as flavorful as the other meat options. The only dessert available was cheese cake. There wasn't much in the way of leftovers or being able to go for a second full plate primarily meat, for those that may want to, but with the snack and drinks alcohol and non-alcohol, you won't leave hungry. When we got to the bay, we just hung out there to eat dinner. Bonus was a manta ray that we could all see. It started drizzling when we were done eating and the captain took us back towards the pier. Most passengers went downstairs. Due to the cloud cover, we really didn't see the sun set from the boat as hoped for, but we had a few other nights on the island and saw some beautiful sunsets. Overall, would recommend this activity - something not everyone gets a chance to experience. For those who might get seasick, I did see some wrist bands and Dramamine by the bar. They also had sunblock in large pump bottles.

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

Daniel M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Liked the smallness of the group and being able to go to 3 sites.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Markus F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We took the long tour, stopped at 3 snorkling spots. Kealakekua Bay was really nice, but snorkeling with turtles in this lava rocked bay was - at least for me - the thing! Our guide, i think it was Ben been 3 wks already.. sry. Taught us lot about certain spots and history. The food being served was good and the snorkeling trip with this smaller group lots of fun!
And, we stopped to see WHALES!! Wow, that was soo impressive!!!!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Captain Mike and his First Mate Katelyn were fantastic! The snorkeling spots were top notch and were everything they promised. We were able to swim with a large pod of dolphins, snorkeled in Captain Cook, which is the BEST coral and fish area on the Big Island!
Lunch was perfect fresh and many choices..
All in all a wonderful pick!

Doing what: Hawaii Combo: Wild Dolphin Swim and Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

outstanding

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Cruise

Latoya W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Tour was great...saw plenty of spinner dolphins on the kayak over, reef was awesome for snorkelling. Guide, Makai was great!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Marie L Pucel P

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The photography information was for beginners. Basically how to frame a shot. I was hoping for more advanced info. Making sure you had the right setting for different shots etc. The good thing was having a private guide. Our guide was very informative and had some interesting insights on island life

Doing what: Private Tour: Big Island Photo Safari

Espy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The cruise was really fun and the entertainment was great. The only downside is that the water was a little choppy and it made a few people seasick, including my fiancé.

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

Stephen B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Good crew. Lots of fun. Lovely snorkeling spot.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Kelly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great day. We got to see dolphins and they got very close to us. Then we got to go to the coral reef and see some beautiful coral and very beautiful fish. They fed us a great lunch out on the boat. It was a very fun day

Doing what: Hawaii Combo: Wild Dolphin Swim and Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling

Noreen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was my husband's favorite tour on our vacation. Michela sp? and Zach were outstanding guides. The snorkeling was outstanding. Thank you!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Lee F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The food and drinks were great they had a good staff. It would have been better if we did not have 5' seas. I have taken similar sunset cruise's that had calmer water. the boat was nice it had large restrooms.

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

davidcastro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really enjoyed, highly recommend. Captain Collin is the best!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Kevin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

GREAT TRIP!!!! The guides at Sea Quest Capt. Dave, his first mate, and snorkel guide - I just wish I could remember their names were GREAT!!! Got us to the spots where spinner dolphins were at. Unfortunately, some of the dolphins were on the move and we could never get in front of them long enough to swim with them and the second set of dolphins were swimming in a boating channel that made it too dangerous for us to swim it. We loved seeing them swim - just too bad we couldn't really get to, but that's the way it goes.

Capt. Dave took us to a coral reef by the Capt. Cook monument. IT WAS FANTASTIC!!! Beautiful fish and coral. Absolutely wonderful. On the way back, Capt. Dave took to and sometimes into!! lava tubes that were at water level. TOO COOL!!! Wonderful trip! Would have/should have paid to do it again! Definitely will do it again when we come back.

Doing what: Hawaii Combo: Wild Dolphin Swim and Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message