For some of the best snorkeling on the Big Island, visit the protected waters of Kealakekua Bay. This remote area is also popular with hikers, who might come across the ruins of ancient temples and villages on their travels. Dolphins frolic ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 76 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

This was a real bust! Arrived at location and no one was there. Voicemail was full so just left. Looked kind of fly by night anyway. Suggest u take them off your website and we lost 300........

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We did this trip on May 25th. it was a great sunny day so the snorkeling and the waters were beautiful. We did the 5 hour with lunch trip. I highly recommend the 3 snorkels spots. After Honaunau Bay they provide a light snack of kiwi, pineapple, and papaya with cookies and juice. Couldn't believe how hungry we were. The snorkeling there was good, however we needed to be wary of the rock side and keep an eye out that we didn't get too close. From there we went to a site that they picked based on surf and wave condition. I don't remember the name of the place, it was ok, allot of swells but it was nice. During the entire trip we would stop to look at lave caves were unable to go into any because of the swells. The last place we went was Captain Cook amazing truly the best place in the area. Loved this area. After that we were served a very filling deli sandwich lunch. The raft had a cover so you could be out of the sun if needed. It is quite bumpy when you are going from site to site, but if you sit on the benches instead of the side of the raft it is much better. They had great dry storage and you could get into your stuff any time you wanted . If you got tired you could at all times come aboard. Safety is their 1 concern they learned all of our names . They also provided noodles to use for flotation if you wanted. I highly recommend the use of these, it helps if you get tired, it gives you piece of mind, and it makes it allot easier to adjust your mask if you need to in the water.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guides, Maria and Liz, were great. So friendly and really knew the water and coast well. The trip is well worth the cost and the time. Snorkling at Captain Cook's was so beautiful. Definitely recommend a lot of sunscreen - a lot and reapplying often. The guides talk about it a lot and my family wishes we applied even more. If we ever come back to the Big Island, we will do this adventure again.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great Dave knew a ton about the island and got us to a great snorkeling spot!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Dre and Liz were awesome guides. We had a fabulous day. We had a group of 9, including kids, and everyone loved it.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was an aswome time out for us first time snorklers. We had an amazing day saw and swam with tons of dolphins. The crew on our boat were very entertaining and kept the flow of the day filled with laughs and knowledge of dolphin life as well as the sights and stops we were taken too along the way. They were super nice and took one of our tour guides back to the main land because of sea sickness. We were also shown caves and the coast and even went to a more secluded place to snorkel as well a the usual stop. Lunch and snacks were served as well. A must do for first timers.

Doing what: Hawaii Combo: Wild Dolphin Swim and Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable of the island and the lore surrounding Captain Cook. He was careful to help the older members of our groups on rocks and slippery slopes, and ensured everyone knew what they were doing with the kayak. We got to snorkel at two different places near the monument, and lunch was good. Nothing more for which you could ask!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The captain and crew were great! Swimming with the wild dolphins was an amazing experince-- and we also saw Pacific bottle nose dolphins on our way back. Swimming at Captain Cook was also great fun. I would do this tour over and over again!

Doing what: Hawaii Combo: Wild Dolphin Swim and Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Swimming with wild Hawaiian spinner dolphins is amazing!!! My kids (ages 11 and up) will definitely do this again and again. Fantastic crew, boat and equipment. What a wonderful day!!

Doing what: Hawaii Combo: Wild Dolphin Swim and Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Good snorkeling. Great lunch and attentive crew. Plenty of water time and extra fun with the high dive and slide. Very enjoyable

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Sian was great in every way. The four of us had a great time and the photo stops were great.

Doing what: Private Tour: Big Island Photo Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The crew is very kind and attentive, and the diving point is beautiful. Dozens of dolphins and some whales were seen from the boat. It was a really gorgeous tour!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was great. Nice boat and crew. Captian Jenna and first mate were amazing. She nurtured my reluctant wife into the water after i failed to. Thanks Jenna... Jeff and Vicky

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was our first snorkeling experience and I couldn't have felt in better hands. Liam was a great guide, very funny, personable and knowledgeable. I would hands down recommend the 5 hour option- 3 sites. We saw dolphins, pristine reefs with numerous fish, an eel, turtles (my favorite) and a mom and calf humpback whale. What an amazing experience!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great guide. The snorkeling was wonderful many fish and few people.
It was difficult to get out of the water.
Would recommend some sort or ladder.

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We would take this trip every day if we could.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had possibly our most magical day on the island thanks to Mare and Dave, who were both cheery and very knowledgeable about what they are doing. We not only swam with Spinner Dophins more than once, and took in the majestic snorkeling in the bay, but we also had the good luck of seeing two humpbacks breech right in front of the boat. We'll never forget it. But again it was all made that much more fun by the great attitude (very kid friendly) of our hosts and guides! Thanks again! Highly recommend this as a must-do during your stay on the island.

Doing what: Hawaii Combo: Wild Dolphin Swim and Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A brilliant day on the ocean with Captain Dave! Enjoyed every bump along the way. The snorkelling was excellent, the water incredible and the day perfect.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a good day the snorkeling was awesome and I was the only Aussie on the trip. I gave a history lesson on Capt Cook and his signifance to Australia which the Americans on board nothing about. I recommend this trip to everyone.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great experience with a great guide that knew the history. Using a two man Kayak went to Captain Cook monument. On the way was stopped twice by dolphins swimming around us. When arriving at the Monument did some of the best snorkeling we have seen anywhere in any of the Hawaiian Islands.

After lunch got more history of the area. And again on the way back was encountered by the dolphins again.

This was one of the best tours we have ever taken.

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was great and had an authentic, non-tourist flair to it, like a Hawaiian friend was taking me kayaking. Loved it.

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was an excellent tour. There were just 12 of us and we gelled really well together. Our tour guides Colin and Jen were very informative and Colin did a terrific job of making the adventure fun for everyone. I highly recommend it whether your young or 60+ you'll have a great time!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We were very happy with our experience. The guides were both great and a lot of fun. They were very knowledgeable and pointed out so many of the wonderful things about the adventure. We were surrounded by dolphins as they leaped and swam around us on our paddle out. The crystal blue water provided a window to the sea world below.
The one thing that did prevent me from giving this a 5-star rating was that the description states, "On the 5-hour tour, you’ll have two hours of snorkeling time (one hour each in two separate locations) and one hour of hiking...." We only made one stop for the snorkling (albeit there was plenty of space and so much beauty to see that I didn't feel cheated) and we were told that hiking was not allowed because of the restrictions to the company's permit, which did disappoint me a bit.
Overall, however, I would still highly recommend this to anyone looking for a fantastic adventure and a chance to see a small part of Hawaiian history in a very active and unique way.

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

For some reason I thought I would be a on a big boat, but ended up on a pretty small one. In the end I really enjoyed the experience, and I think being on a small boat was even better, the experience was way more up close and personal and I got to see caves that a big boat wouldn't be able to get into.
I also got a free upgrade so I got to snorkel in both Kealakekua Bay and Honaunau Bay. They were both amazing, clear water, beautiful reefs and plenty of fish. Our guides were great, they spotted dolphins twice while we were out there as well.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message