For some of the best snorkeling on the Big Island, visit the protected waters of Kealakekua Bay. This remote area is also popular with hikers, who might come across the ruins of ancient temples and villages on their travels. Dolphins frolic ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 93 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Daniel M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Liked the smallness of the group and being able to go to 3 sites.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Markus F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We took the long tour, stopped at 3 snorkling spots. Kealakekua Bay was really nice, but snorkeling with turtles in this lava rocked bay was - at least for me - the thing! Our guide, i think it was Ben been 3 wks already.. sry. Taught us lot about certain spots and history. The food being served was good and the snorkeling trip with this smaller group lots of fun!
And, we stopped to see WHALES!! Wow, that was soo impressive!!!!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Captain Mike and his First Mate Katelyn were fantastic! The snorkeling spots were top notch and were everything they promised. We were able to swim with a large pod of dolphins, snorkeled in Captain Cook, which is the BEST coral and fish area on the Big Island!
Lunch was perfect fresh and many choices..
All in all a wonderful pick!

Doing what: Hawaii Combo: Wild Dolphin Swim and Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

outstanding

Doing what: Best Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Cruise

Latoya W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Tour was great...saw plenty of spinner dolphins on the kayak over, reef was awesome for snorkelling. Guide, Makai was great!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Marie L Pucel P

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The photography information was for beginners. Basically how to frame a shot. I was hoping for more advanced info. Making sure you had the right setting for different shots etc. The good thing was having a private guide. Our guide was very informative and had some interesting insights on island life

Doing what: Private Tour: Big Island Photo Safari

Espy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The cruise was really fun and the entertainment was great. The only downside is that the water was a little choppy and it made a few people seasick, including my fiancé.

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

Stephen B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Good crew. Lots of fun. Lovely snorkeling spot.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Kelly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great day. We got to see dolphins and they got very close to us. Then we got to go to the coral reef and see some beautiful coral and very beautiful fish. They fed us a great lunch out on the boat. It was a very fun day

Doing what: Hawaii Combo: Wild Dolphin Swim and Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling

Noreen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was my husband's favorite tour on our vacation. Michela sp? and Zach were outstanding guides. The snorkeling was outstanding. Thank you!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Lee F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The food and drinks were great they had a good staff. It would have been better if we did not have 5' seas. I have taken similar sunset cruise's that had calmer water. the boat was nice it had large restrooms.

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

davidcastro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really enjoyed, highly recommend. Captain Collin is the best!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Kevin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

GREAT TRIP!!!! The guides at Sea Quest Capt. Dave, his first mate, and snorkel guide - I just wish I could remember their names were GREAT!!! Got us to the spots where spinner dolphins were at. Unfortunately, some of the dolphins were on the move and we could never get in front of them long enough to swim with them and the second set of dolphins were swimming in a boating channel that made it too dangerous for us to swim it. We loved seeing them swim - just too bad we couldn't really get to, but that's the way it goes.

Capt. Dave took us to a coral reef by the Capt. Cook monument. IT WAS FANTASTIC!!! Beautiful fish and coral. Absolutely wonderful. On the way back, Capt. Dave took to and sometimes into!! lava tubes that were at water level. TOO COOL!!! Wonderful trip! Would have/should have paid to do it again! Definitely will do it again when we come back.

Doing what: Hawaii Combo: Wild Dolphin Swim and Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling

Julian d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Had a brilliant time -- great snorkeling, lovely crew, good food.

Doing what: Best Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

jandruka

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The snorkeling: 5 stars
The raft ride out to the snorkel site: -1 star

First of all, let me say the snorkeling and the views underwater were fantastic. The site is near the Captain Cook Monument which in itself is kind of cool since you can't access it from any road, and the reefs are home to some beautiful marine life. I myself hate putting my head under the water, and this was my first time snorkeling, but I'm glad I did. We were kicking ourselves that we didn't buy and underwater disposable camera to capture some of the magic we witnessed.

My experience on the raft ride was not as positive. This probably has a lot to do with the fact that I sat in front of the boat, which absorbs the most impact from the waves. For the entire thirty-minute ride out from the marina, I felt like I was going to get thrown overboard at any moment. It was a little torturous. According to the captain, we were cruising at around 30 mph, and each wave we hit sent a thunderous thwack through the bow of the raft and my lower back.

While we actually hit bigger waves on the way back, at least I knew what to expect. And the stops at the caves and cliffs along the way offered some stunning views. Plus, dolphins! A bunch of them followed our boat and we got to see them right up close. Even saw some jumping out of the water doing mid-air 360s. Amazing!

Loved the snorkeling and the coastline views, but might have been happier with a shorter and less harrowing ride, maybe on a larger boat.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Lisa P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Nice tour guides! You get a pretty cool history lesson from some chill dudes, then a short drive down to the boat launch. Mild paddle to the snorkel area with fantastic coral and sea life. After an hour in the bay, they provide some water and snacks. Fun adventure.

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Donald D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

This was a real bust! Arrived at location and no one was there. Voicemail was full so just left. Looked kind of fly by night anyway. Suggest u take them off your website and we lost 300........

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

sjdeane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We did this trip on May 25th. it was a great sunny day so the snorkeling and the waters were beautiful. We did the 5 hour with lunch trip. I highly recommend the 3 snorkels spots. After Honaunau Bay they provide a light snack of kiwi, pineapple, and papaya with cookies and juice. Couldn't believe how hungry we were. The snorkeling there was good, however we needed to be wary of the rock side and keep an eye out that we didn't get too close. From there we went to a site that they picked based on surf and wave condition. I don't remember the name of the place, it was ok, allot of swells but it was nice. During the entire trip we would stop to look at lave caves were unable to go into any because of the swells. The last place we went was Captain Cook amazing truly the best place in the area. Loved this area. After that we were served a very filling deli sandwich lunch. The raft had a cover so you could be out of the sun if needed. It is quite bumpy when you are going from site to site, but if you sit on the benches instead of the side of the raft it is much better. They had great dry storage and you could get into your stuff any time you wanted . If you got tired you could at all times come aboard. Safety is their 1 concern they learned all of our names . They also provided noodles to use for flotation if you wanted. I highly recommend the use of these, it helps if you get tired, it gives you piece of mind, and it makes it allot easier to adjust your mask if you need to in the water.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

MillerViator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guides, Maria and Liz, were great. So friendly and really knew the water and coast well. The trip is well worth the cost and the time. Snorkling at Captain Cook's was so beautiful. Definitely recommend a lot of sunscreen - a lot and reapplying often. The guides talk about it a lot and my family wishes we applied even more. If we ever come back to the Big Island, we will do this adventure again.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

sjatienza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Best Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Cruise

Patrick C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great Dave knew a ton about the island and got us to a great snorkeling spot!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Dre and Liz were awesome guides. We had a fabulous day. We had a group of 9, including kids, and everyone loved it.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

William B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was an aswome time out for us first time snorklers. We had an amazing day saw and swam with tons of dolphins. The crew on our boat were very entertaining and kept the flow of the day filled with laughs and knowledge of dolphin life as well as the sights and stops we were taken too along the way. They were super nice and took one of our tour guides back to the main land because of sea sickness. We were also shown caves and the coast and even went to a more secluded place to snorkel as well a the usual stop. Lunch and snacks were served as well. A must do for first timers.

Doing what: Hawaii Combo: Wild Dolphin Swim and Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling

Jennifer T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable of the island and the lore surrounding Captain Cook. He was careful to help the older members of our groups on rocks and slippery slopes, and ensured everyone knew what they were doing with the kayak. We got to snorkel at two different places near the monument, and lunch was good. Nothing more for which you could ask!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message