Kilauea Volcano is the star of the Big Island’s Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii's only World Heritage Site. Kilauea Volcano remains active, spouting orange lava, venting steam, glowing and sputtering. When conditions are safe you can drive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 203 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour is the best way to see the island. Koji (our pilot) and the ground staff were awesome. Loved the flight as well as the gorgeous landing site. Will definitely do this tour again when we are on on the Big Island since it was an unforgettable experience.

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was awesome and we went to some really unforgettable sites. It was a great experience and our guide Lauren was really knowledgable and great.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our pilot Danny provided instructions early in the morning for our trip. We had 6 people on the trip (3 in my party) tha had never flown in a helicopter. Danny has military background in piloting that showed when he flew us around the island. Danny flew us with precision and precise positioning to see the island of Hawaii including mountains (volcanos), gulleys, cliffs, beaches, lava flows, and landmarks. He keep the trip focused on areas that you cannot see by car so it was a more unique and valuable sightseeing experience. We spent about 90 minutes flying from Kona airport over the South Kona Forest Reserve to the Kilauea volcano. We flew over the Volcanoes National Park and hovered above flowing lava within the volcano. Danny flew us in several directions above the lava so both sides of the helicopter could view/take pictures of the lava. He changed directions many times on this trip to allow both sides to get gret views. We then flew up the coast from Hilo (rainforest) and over massive cliffs. He hovered over the ocean so we could view the cliffs and awsome views of the island. We flew up some gulleys on the north part of the island where we landed on top of a mountain. We walked to a house built in 1950s secluded in the forest (privately owned) that you cannot reach unless by helicopter. Nice hike and rest stop of about an hour. Then back to the tour of the western coast of Hawaii for about 30 minutes flying over Parker Ranch, Kohalo Coast, and beaches while viewing Mauna Kea. The entire trip you view the old lava flows throughout the island with brown, black and multicolored lava dried up for years flowing to the sea. I HIGHLY recommend this specific tour and tour company. Best views of the island that you can experience and worth every penny. I also recommend paying extra for a window seat for better photo ops and face forward seating if you get motion illness.

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was amazing! Our tour guide Mark was extremely informative and just seemed to know the answer to every question. The food was simple yet good. It does get cold so bring pants and a jacket. Don't expect to see the actual lava flow of course as that is too dangerous. You do see a volcano smoking

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

While this tour was long, it was full of adventure and very entertaining! Grant was the tour guide with us all day and was very informative. He kept me awake and engaged on the drive to the other side of the island at 6:30 AM by sharing Hawaiian legends. We had Gavin, Chris, and Urie distracting us w/ jokes that are just as cheesy as mine while they promptly hooked us from one zipline to the other. This was an efficient process that soared us over beautiful waterfalls and rivers. I ordered a tuna salad for lunch…mmMMmm. There were many drink/chip/snack options. The helicopter was awesome! It was my first time and I felt like a dragon fly floating up in the air. Kevin, the pilot, took us over two eruption sites where we could see the lava burning down trees and also over a set of waterfalls and rivers. We hiked through the Volcano National Park and stood in lava tunnels, learned the history, and got some great action shots. That was followed by a nice dinner. Get the chicken! I normally go for fish, but it was a little dry. Good thing I bought a long sleeve shirt at the gift shop bc I was freezing after, but standing in front of those steam pods was so nice and warm…until you walk away from it! We went to a museum after dinner, watched the lava glow, star gazed, and listened to a nice informational video about Hawaii on the drive back. Though Grant had other movie options, this video was surprisingly engaging and kept me in the Hawaiian spirit! The trip was awesome and definitely a time to remember. Us three Vegas girls did have to sneak away for 5 minutes after the helicopter ride to grab a quick drink in the airport bar, but the group was great and understanding. We lucked out with the weather! It was a beautiful day, even though we drove across the island through a nice amount of rain. Both Grant and the zip liners had rain jackets to offer, but as soon as we started, it all cleared up and the jackets were dropping like flies. I will never forget this day! Thanks!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Long Day and Drive through some very winding roads to a landscape I probably wouldn't have wanted to visit on my own. Thanks very much to Matt for his patience,enthusiasm and professionalism.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

I enjoyed it but would have liked to seen the lava flow into the water. I was impressed by the waterfalls but not with just flying over the top of the crater. No real activity, which you can't help. Seemed to be alot of money for the flight. Ialso would have liked to be in the smaller helicopter and not so crowed in the big one. I was stuck in the middle and didnt get the quality of pictures I wanted. Overall liked the people.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Don't let the advertised photos fool you...all the "lava" we saw was a few spirals of smoke and old lava flows. I had expected to see the caldera or at least where the lava flows into the sea...we were terribly disappointed. There were two seats beside the pilot and my niece and I were so cramped that neither of us could move or even turn to take pictures of the waterfalls we flew by. (She weighs 125 and I weigh 140--not very large women). We luckily had also rented a car for the day and were able to drive to the caldera and get some excellent photos. I cannot recommed this particular flight at all and it was a huge waste of money that we flew from Oahu to the Big Island for the day just to do.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I went on this tour with my mother-in-law and we choose preferred seating. It was a good option for me as I'm smaller and everyone else was large, I would have ended up in the middle of the seat. This is a truly wonderful way to see the island and the volcano. Our pilot was very informative and the ground crew were great too. The views are spectacular.

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Very good and informative tour

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

Not much to see. I'm a bit disappointed.

Service and pilot was good though.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was an awesome trip! The open air ride was breathtaking.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Good day trip. We have a very good group of people on the bus. The tour guide Matt was very good and knowledgeable. Although there is no viewing of the active lava flow, the places we visited were very interesting. We also managed to view the lunar eclipse during the tour. Enjoyable trip not to be missed.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our driver/tour guide Dennis was the best. He kept us on schedule but didn't make it seem that we were on a schedule. He was knowledgeable and witty and kept track of everyone. . he was amazing! I've taken many tours around the world but I rate the Volcano Adventure trip on Hawaii the best!

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message