Kilauea Volcano is the star of the Big Island’s Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii's only World Heritage Site. Kilauea Volcano remains active, spouting orange lava, venting steam, glowing and sputtering. When conditions are safe you can drive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 256 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The guide was awesome and cooperative.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Johnny did an excellent job!, would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour. Lots of information. Guide (Eugene) was excellent. Would highly recommend. See and learn heaps. We all (adults and kids) had a great day. Food was delicious.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Guidfe was good, but got no where near the lava as implied in the booking. It is a LONG day

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

The tour was disappointing! You should be told ahead of time that there is very little to almost no lava flow that can be seen from the helicopter. The ride, itself, was great! Our pilot, Joel, was very friendly and informative!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had a wonderful experience with paradise helicopters! Marco was a great guide, the scenery was amazing. This is an incredible overall view of the big island that you will not experience from the ground. It was a great way to start off our 10 day Hawaiian adventure! Definitely worth the money. By the way, I was in the middle seat and still had an awesome view!

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This 3 part Adventures tour of the Big Island (Viator is the tour aggregator) was worth every $ and every minute. Jeff picked us up at our condo complex in Waikoloa before daylight. He provided detailed knowledge of the geology, geography, and culture of the island as he drove us 2 hours to the main office in Hilo before our group of 11 loaded the van to the ziplines. The drive up to the ziplines is quite bumpy (we were warned), but not bad. A new zipline company, according to our guide was exactly that. Our guides Alex, Matt H, and Mike, were focused on our safety and making our experience fun (and funny) for even the oldest and most out of shape (me). We started with a brief "bunny" line to acclimate and zipped from tower to tower, with short walks, often across bridges, between lines. We stopped for a quick lunch (ordered in advance, wraps were pretty good, especially the veggie!) after Line 4, a trip over a stunning waterfall. At nearly 1/2 mile long, Line 8 is spectacular.

The helicopter tour was mostly over the lava fields and vents, with the friendly pilot pointing out the hot spots then making sure passengers on both sides of the aircraft had wide views. We've taken these helicoper tours on Kauai and Maui and this group on the Big Island is as consistently professional and safety-centered as on all the islands. Definitely the best of all of the helicopter tour companies.

We ended the day with a walking tour through a lava tube led by Jeff, who has a bottomless depth of knowledge and easy delivery to the group, then a large group dinner of all of the tour members at Volcano Inn (food was competent, but the view of the Kilauea volcano is SPECTACULAR), then a trip to the Jagger Museum where we watched the erupting volcano as the sun set. Utterly majestic.

A fabulous day we will never forget! Special Mahalo to Jeff, Alex, Matt H and Mike for making this the highlight of our stay on the Big Island!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

great ride, got to see lava and snow! which was crazy. plus we saw lots of whales while flying up the coast line. the only con was that you get a little bit sick because the helicopter is always dipping and turning.

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I especially liked the small group, much easier to hear and enjoy our trip and the others on the tour also.
Information and food provided was great. Our Tour Guide was very friendly and flexible.
I highly recommend this tour, as well as the tour group. They were very friendly and organized and helpful.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Justin was very knowledgeable, interesting and had a great attitude.
Did not take us around the whole island....like I thought it would.
We thought that we would get closer to the volcano activity than we did.
Meals were not up to par. Dinner was questionable, and an afternoon snack would be nice

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

i did pay extra and i hadthe worst seat back way all the way i did not like that at all going back way
the pilot explain something yu dont see at all or try to turn arround i had pain in the neck when i did finish
no never again i made a trip to Kone expecialy for that
the volcano lava was very small but view is nice

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

When we first booked and heard it was a 14-hour day, we second guessed ourselves because it seemed so daunting. But our tour guide Kelsey made it so seamless and easy that it seemed like it was was just another day at the beach, only a lot more informative and valuable, Kelsey was very well informed and provided great customer service. The overall day was indeed five stars.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a great day with Justin as our excellent tour guide. He took us all over the park and kept us entertained with both the Hawaiian native explanation and the scientific explanation for the history of the volcanoes. The scenery was stunning during the daytime and night, the van we rode in was very comfortable and the food was good. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an amazing experience!

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fantastic day spent with Mark. Just about the right amount of stops to look at things. And, spot on amount of patter too. A very well researched guide, who obviously loves his job.
Food and drink supplied with the tour. Can't fault anything about the day at all.
Even got a lift back to our hotel.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message