Kilauea Volcano is the star of the Big Island’s Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii's only World Heritage Site. Kilauea Volcano remains active, spouting orange lava, venting steam, glowing and sputtering. When conditions are safe you can drive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 373 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Best tour EVER! Seeing the caldera by day and by night was a wow experience! We also had the lava tube to ourselves and the rain forest by night smelled sensational! Taj was our guide and is very knowledgeable and now I wish I had taken notes. He is very personable and sees to your every need and comfort. If or when I come back, I will take this tour again and hopefully get Taj as our guide! Only one thing to say to anyone thinking of doing this trip-DO IT!!!

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Erin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Long but exciting day. From taking the Saddle Road to Hilo and zip lining over waterfalls, to glimpses of lava from the helicopter and the walk through the lava tubes, this tour is really a great was to see and enjoy the Big Island!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Graham C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Took a two hour helicopter ride with Paradise Helicopters. They operate out of Kona airport. If you contact them when in your resort you may be able to persuade them to send a complimentary cab for you - we found this out when we spoke to our hotel staff and this saved us about 100 dollars - so worth a phone call. The trip was excellent - the pilot was amusing and I felt safe at all times. The scenery was stunning and I would recommend this trip to anyone. It may seem expensive but it is worthwhile. definitely worth upgrading to a guaranteed window seat - and wear dark clothing as the windows can pick up reflections which can hamper photography.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful views and a fantastic flight. Organisation was efficient from pick up to drop off and we really enjoyed the pilots attempts to chase the lava down so we could get the best photographs.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Anita H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We all enjoyed the guided tour and of course the view was excellent. We were lucky with a very clear day. My husband 85 had this on his bucket list. Well worth the cost. Thank you.

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Joanne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome Ron the pilot was great 10 stars a must do

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Viswaram N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The perfect package with complete value of money. My wife and I had an awesome time performing each and every activity making it the perfect honeymoon for us. The helicopter experience was a once-in-a-lifetime kind of experience. For someone who is in the Big Island for a short span, this would be the best way to cover the best that the island has to offer. Jason, the driver that drove us around on the tour was very friendly and incredibly helpful. The food served and the wine tasting at the Volcano Winery were incredible. Overall a complete sense of satisfaction. Thank you!!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Ashanta Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Nate was amazing. Incredible encyclopedic knowledge of the Big Island.
He also took the time to show us off the beaten path spots.
This tour was through Hawaii Forest and Trail tour. Very very good.

Highly recommended.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Samantha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Friendly staff, smooth ride, and gorgeous views. What more could we ask?

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

JOHN P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We saw far much than I expected, it was excellent value and I highly recommend this company

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Stefan Z

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The helicopter tour was very enjoyable -- the pilot was knowledgable and offered a lot of information about the island as part of the tour, and getting to see the island from the helicopter was a unique perspective that I would not have had the opportunity to experience, otherwise.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

bthead

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. There was problems getting organized, though. The tour started with 3 hours of picking people up and various hotels. The van was very crowded and a lot of time was spent getting in and out of the van at the multiple stops. The food was tasty but meager.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Greg

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Too much wasted time. We don't need to stop at every restroom. A 20 minute stop to load up on drinks and snacks for the day is ridiculous. People should plan ahead and bring there own. I felt like we spent a lot of the day killing time to make it a full day tour. We only spent 4 of the 11 hours at the Volcano. Didn't see anything I couldn't see by car.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Jerry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Amazing trip! I'm so happy we decided on the 2-hour ride as I feel this was the perfect amount of time to explore the island.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

rfgrabish

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This as a fantastic excursion. Our guide, Steve, was extremely knowledgable adaptive to our needs and had a great sense of humor. The highlight of the trip was back up the volcano after dark. The light, steam Ans explosions of magma were phenomenal. We would highly recommend this trip.. You might think you could do it on your own, but you would miss so much.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Frank L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The flight was fantastic. I lucked out and sat in the co-pilot seat, so I had a great view of everything along the way. We basically flew around the island. We were able to see some lava flows, but that isn't always the case. The flows weren't nearly as good as some of the pictures you may have seen online, but it was still great to go around the island and see some awesome sights.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

patterson.mom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Time on Big Island was very limited so this all round tour fit the bill!

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

kathimurphy60

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

We thought the helicopter tour was good. Issues: it is very noisy and I was in the middle up front and found it quite tight and the lines in the helicopter window blocked some of the view. The pilot was very good

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A bit expensive but the view was unbeatable.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Catherine O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had an amazing experience viewing the big island from above. The ground staff was efficient and informative, making our pre flight check in a smooth experience. Our pilot was informative, courteous to his passengers needs and requests. The view of the volcanos, valleys, ocean and different towns of the bid island were breathtaking. I would recommend paradise helicopters to anyone considering a helicopter tour of the island!!!

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

George K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The zip line and lava tour was great. The helicopter tour was only ok, perhaps due to the very exhilarating tour we had on Kauai by the same operator.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Jonathan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What an amazing tour!!! the volcano and the lava was spectacular but the real treat is the valleys and waterfalls. The staff from the office team to the fantastic Pilot Dan really made this the highlight of our Honeymoon.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Deb Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This was a very informative and well run tour. Sadly, I cannot remember our tour guide's name, however his knowledge was astounding. Unfortunately for us, visibility on the day was limited so we could not see the volcano lava glow as clearly as we'd hoped, however this was obviously beyond anyone's control. Having dinner on the lava plains by the ocean made for a lovely evening with our small group. Walking around the steam vents and through the Thurston Lava Tube was very cool. The only suggestion I could offer is to give people who have a car the option to meet at the tour office rather than be picked up. This would have given us an extra hour or so in the morning. Would recommend this tour to friends.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Marie L Pucel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great time, was able to see some lava. Water falls were nice too

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Clara V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very interesting and fun!

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message