• USD ($)
  • English
Kilauea Volcano is the star of the Big Island’s Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii's only World Heritage Site. Kilauea Volcano remains active, spouting orange lava, venting steam, glowing and sputtering. When conditions are safe you can drive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 187 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It was a great helicopter and a great pilot with fantastic information on the Island and the Crater and the Lava flow.

I was hoping to see a high cliff area - yet this area did not have that - seemed relatively flat with a pushed up crater. And the Laval flow was very slow and gradual instead of really flowing.

So my expectations of what I would see was not the same as what I did see.

Excellent flight.

Thanks

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

You used a small helicopter and the front seat was cramped and hard to take pictures! Suggest when you take a group you might use a wider and bigger one ! I payed extra for a good seat !

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

From start to finish, a first rate tour, with everything you think you'll see and experience, plus more. If you want an edge on the other tourists, this is the way to go. The story behind what you're looking at, putting the puzzle together one piece at a time. I enjoyed small tour atmoshere, with the personal touch that made you feel included.

In one day I can say I saw and learned more by taking this tour, than if I would have wandered around the park and "hoping" I saw everything. This tour hits the highlights, and gives a good base of what the park has to offer. There is literally too much to see in this park. Taking this tour allowed us to maximize our time, while eliminating the stress of figuring it out on our own. The icing on the cake comes after dark, and gives life to what lies beneath. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Wonderful trip - well worth it! It's the only way to really see the volcano now with the lava flowing the direction it currently is. The pilot was great about letting all have a great view. The trip to the waterfalls not visible any other way was a special treat.

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Breath taking spectacular views, volcano lava, saw pods of whales, a MUST take ride

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a wonderful tour packed with great information! My husband and I enjoyed it thoroughly. Matt was a great guide. The day just went by too quickly!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent. The tour guide was fantastic. Great knowledge of the area, what we were seeing and answered all questions thrown his way. Brilliant. I would recommend this.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

After several days of going back and forth and wondering if I wanted to spend the money for this tour, I signed up and reserved a space on the helicopter. Wow...it was so worth the money! I went on the first flight out in the morning (8:00am) and while I don't like to set the alarm while on vacation, I recommend going this early. The weather was perfect and we were lucky enough to see many volcano hot spots and several waterfalls. The pilot even spotted two whales so we were able to fly over them to get a good view of them playing! In summary, I totally recommend this tour. Definitely worth the money spent!!!!

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

My husband was really disappointed with this trip. All the pictures even the picture on this review site were brilliant. Needles to say the reality is nothing like. Very disappointed!!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

We felt that our tour guide was very knowledgeable. We felt that we wasted a lot of time by stopping to eat lunch in the mountains and going through Hilo and stopping at the candy store. We didn't see a lot of the park because it took over half the time getting there and stopping so much. We were disappointed in the amount of money we paid to see the park and spent so little time actually in the park and seeing so little of the park.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

Our pilot's name was Koji and was extremely hard to for us all to understand. The 2 hour ride was only 1hour and 40 minutes. For the price, it was hardly fair! Additionally, my wife and I paid roughly $80 each to guarantee window seats when, in actuality, 5 of the 6 seats were window seats! That was a complete ripoff!

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was perfect in every sense of the word. Our guide, (Auntie) Sharon Simoes was very, very knowledgable and informative of the area. And humorous as well. It was a great day. Whatever Ms. Simones is paid (excluding tips) it can't possibly be enough. She deserves a raise!!

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Excellent tour giving a great overview of the immense scale of the volcano and the past activity. Not much live activity to see but that is in natures control. Staff were friendly and helpful and looked after us. We went in the four seat small helicopter which was tight in the back for a large person and the views were really only out one side of the helicopter. My wife who was on the other side in the back got a different view than I did in some areas. The pilot tried to show the main sights from both sides by turning the helicopter around and approaching from different angles. All up a very worthwhile and satisfying way to see the volcano.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

I enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide, Chris, was clearly very knowledgeable and personable. I was disappointed with the evening meal. There was no specific mention of the meal format in the brochure, but I was expecting a hot, sit-down dinner. Instead we ended up with a warm box lunch style meal on picnic tables. We did not see any active lava flows. I don't know whether that is the nature of the tour or the nature of the volcano, but none of the stops involved a view of lava flows that were newer than ten years old.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Ride was great - but the volcano was disappointing not much flow or fire. I would not do it again. Not worth the price.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message