Kilauea Volcano is the star of the Big Island’s Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii's only World Heritage Site. Kilauea Volcano remains active, spouting orange lava, venting steam, glowing and sputtering. When conditions are safe you can drive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 321 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

loved it. tour guide steve obviously loves his job and the island. very informative. i had a birthday ill never equal or forget. i recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip even with a little rain! Friendly service, spectacular views, fun day!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was absolutely amazing! Our pilot was great, very knowledgeable, and made our experience that much better. Thank you

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a very informative tour! Very cool to see the lava rocks and cave. Wish we could have gotten closer to the active volcano. Lunch and dinner provided!

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

While the weather was not perfect, our tour guide Taj was fantastic and made the trip both fun and educational.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very well organised with pick up on time. Busy afternoon and evening with great views of the volcano and the lava glowing at night - as a keen photographer I would have preferred to arrive at twilight rather than dark in order to set up and to have had more time but not sure how the schedule could accommodate this. Be prepared for a late finish - was 11.45 pm back at the hotel. The guide was very informative and pleasant.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Had a great trip we did the 3 hour trip around the Big Island our pilot was professional and informed. Fortunately we had fairly good weather and the windward side we got to see great water falls and valleys.
The landing in the outback was a minor disappointment we were high on a ridge and had great views but it was a clear cut area and hunting/ work camp. We did hike to the camp cabin was nice but not great. I would recommend this.

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great tour. Our guide Justin was genuinely knowledgeable about the history and ecology of the island. This hasn't been true of some of the other Big Island tours I've been on. As a professor, I'd list 'informed guides' as one of the strengths of this company. As for the tour itself, it's a good way to see the major volcanic sites of the park in a single day. The hikes are basically 2-3 mile walks over rough ground -- no need for poles or hiking boots but wear proper walking shoes. Some reviewers complain about the length of time the tour spends on the bus, but if you're trying to see these sites in a day you'll be spending the same time amount of time in a car, without a guide. If you only have one day and you want to see the major volcanic sites in the park, this tour is a good use of your time and money.


I gather the other guides are also good, so I'd


This tour is a good use of your time and money if you only have one day for the park/

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Loved this trip! Lot's of information.

Would love to have had a full hour at the Kilauea Caldera, after dark! It's the highlight of the whole tour! 30 minutes left me hungry for more!

Thank you for a great day on the mountain!

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Everything could be done from yourself. Due to the fact the Kilauea is currently very calm, you can't see anything spectacular. The only interesting thing is the glowing steam in the darkness. But for this there is no need to book this tour. The guide was great, but I had expected more to see.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great trip run by a very professional tour group. Our guide Mark was brilliant, knowledgeable, passionate and spent the entire day engaged with everyone on the tour. Well worth a visit to Big Island.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were upgraded. To the 2 hour tour from Kona. We enjoyed the tour. We saw lava flowing and it was incredible

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our driver was very excited about her job and knew a lot of information about different things. The zipline was so much fun. I was anxious at first, but was so much fun. The guys at the zipline were fantastic. We got a lot information, had a couple of little short hikes in Volcano park and a lovely dinner at the volcano house. We were able to see the crater glow in the evening, amazing. The only disappointment was that our helicopter flight was canceled due to weather at the last second. No one's fault, but disappointing not to get to fly over the volcano. We were refunded quickly for the helicopter part of the trip as we could not reschedule due to our schedule.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very cool tour and a really good and entertaining driver. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour! Terrific driver/guide. Very knowledgeable, comfortable tour.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Knowledgeable and friendly guide, and decent food during the tour. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The trip was fantastic! The tour guide Lauren was the BEST tour guide we've ever had! Would definitely recommend to others. Well worth the twilight tour vs. going on the daylight only tour!

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour is fabulous. We've been ziplining before and this is by far the best set up we have ever been on. The helicopter ride was a great opportunity to view the lava fields. Our tour guide was Glenn and he was A-MA-ZING! His enthusiasm and knowledge about the Big Island and Hawaii's history made the entire day very enjoyable. We definitely recommend this tour it is well worth the money. If possible, definitely request Glenn for your guide.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The pilot could of been more knowledgeable and informative

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Let me preface by stating it was great! It is not what is in the brochure. That's why I'm not giving it 5 stars. I read other posts, so I knew there would be no sit Down hot dinner in the evening. I figure it is due to the newest lava flows, that said. . .why haven't the owners of this tour changed at least their on-line brochure? I worked in advertising, it's best to state the truth or don't say anything at all to eliminate false advertising. My tour guide was great, what we saw in a word breathtaking, recommend it to all who have the time, be prepared for two cold meals!

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Most of the activities we participated in where hard to get events like swimming with manta rays or petting dolphins but this would have been better to drive there yourself and do it. The guide was hilarious and the volcano was cool but I would have enjoyed it more in silence on a hike by myself or with my companions.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Previously sent a recommendation of our tour. Again it was marvelous. Forgot to rate it. I highly recommend it. Our guide Gary was the best.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing trip, amazing views, with expert narration!

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My Husband and I really got so much out of this tour.
Our guide was well informed. He took great care of us on the full day excursion.
It was so nice to see the volcano at night and not have to do the drive home on our own. We had flexibility as group and decided to do a side trip that wasn't scheduled.
Highly recommend taking advantage of this tour, It makes the landscape come alive !

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed every minute of the tour. It was just me and my boyfriend and we had a blast. We were the only ones who booked the all day tour and we had a great tour guide. His name is Glen and he was able to answer any of our questions about Hawaii. He was also very friendly, helpful and accommodating. He made the best of the time and when we did have extra time, he would ask if we want to do this or that. He was excellent. I would recommend him.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message