Kilauea Volcano is the star of the Big Island’s Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii's only World Heritage Site. Kilauea Volcano remains active, spouting orange lava, venting steam, glowing and sputtering. When conditions are safe you can drive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 279 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Kilauea put on quite a show for us. The tour was amazing!! Even though it was raining imagine that - - raining in the Rainforest, our guide, Mark, knew exactly what to do and where to go to make the best use of our time. Including when to go to the crater viewing area at night for spectacular views. A lot of ooohhs and aaaahhs were heard. Photos just can't show you what you will see in person. Mark also made two stops on the way that others may have missed. He knows a lot about the park, and the area on the way, including the flora and fauna....which was a nice plus. We were surprised to meet so many locals who had no idea what a seemingly common tree Ugly Fruit and animal Mongoose were. Mark knew those two, and many, many more. The Mercedes tour van was spotless, and comfortable. You do need to bring or wear long pants and bring a sweatshirt or jacket - it's cooler up there! In the park, we saw other tours where their members were drenched. I heard one guide say, well we TOLD them to bring rain coats. Rain jackets yes, waterproof were provided for us, as was a nice packed lunch and dinner complete with cookies, big brownies, water, hot tea, soft drinks, juice and hot chocolate. Just an amazing experience, and all the little extras were much appreciated. Mark took good very care of us, especially my mother.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely fantastic day. Our guide was most informative. Great small group. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour had way more than I thought. Robert was extremely knowledgeable and kept us well entertained during the drive. I recommend this to anybody of all ages. Good job Robert !

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I have to preface this post by stating I do not ever book tour type things as I tend to like doing things at my own pace. Having said this, I have to give an amazing review to the toru company. We chose the zip, heli, and volcanoes tour, and I will say the full tour is exhausting, but in a good and informative way. We were kept busy all day and had plenty of time to explore each of the areas ourselves. Our tour guide Glenn was informative and entertaining. We were picked up on time and continued pickups until we hit the road to Hilo. For anyone staying in Kona, this is the best trip to see all kinds of things on the other side of the island without the hassle of driving. Even more so if you want to cram all the touring on that side of the island into a day, it's a long drive back and we were thankful to not have to drive that night. We came back with some souvenirs and tons of pictures and a lot better understanding of the big island all in one day's worth of touring. For this, I thank the tour group, and especially the tour guide!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

David B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent. Eugene the guide was very knowledgable and made the excursion great fun.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very nice trip. Wished there was more lave flowing to see. All in all, quite an experience.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Overall a very good, interesting tour. The description was not quite accurate, for example, it promised dinner at a plantation, when instead we sat at picnic tables at a very windy park at the coast. Also, no hot cocoa, but instead our guide took us to Volcano House and told us we could buy our own drinks. On the positive side, guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. Got up close to the eruption site at the top of Kilauea and saw bubbling lava, great night views. Good overall tour of the park, great hike into an old lava field. We were staying in Waikoloa, which made for a long day, so be prepared.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

So, we only saw one little set of falls and basically no fire on this tour. I was under the impression we'd actually see the volcano -- what we saw was a minuscule amount of lava. The pilot of the helicopter was knowledgeable and friendly, very professional, and the only reason even rated this a two. Don't waste your money on this one!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a great experience! We had to push the helicopter ride back one day because of weather. The crew with the zip line was awesome they did a great job and we had a lot of fun. The lava tour was really cool and we got a lot of good pictures. As stated above the helicopter ride we pushed back one day and hoped for better weather and we got great weather and a great ride. The view was awesome and got to see some lava flow we were told that was not normal all tour guide were great and we would recommend to anyone and will be sure to book again when we go back!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The weather plays a big part in the outcome of a trip like this. On my day, it was overcast and rainy at times which obscured some of the scenery. Also, while it may have been erupting continuously for 30 years, Kilauea was not particularly active this day. Lots of steam and such but very little obvious lava. Still, having said all that, it was great fun made even better by our pilot, Reese. He is a great pilot, very knowledgeable about the area, very friendly and willing to chat. And also a darn fun pilot. This is a trip worth doing. Just know that you may not see fountains of lava. I hope you do, though.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The tour was ok, you don't get to see a live lava flow. You do get to walk out onto some different lava fields, and you see ALOT of craters (my fiancé called it the big hole tour). You do see a black sand beach early on, but if you know your way around the park, not worth the price of this tour.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our trip was excellent. We had to reschedule due to the weather but it was so well worth it. Would definately go again! I rate the tour with five stars.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

GREAT WAY TO SEE THE ISLAND. WONDERFUL PILOT AND LANDING IN THE VALLEY WAS BEAUTIFUL.. NOT TO BE MISSED

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely wonderful trip!!! Our guide, Justin was a pleasure to spend time with, he was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. Our tour bus was brand new and top of the line and the lunch and dinner were lovely. He took us to trails when they were quiet so that we weren't fighting the crowds and we got to see Kilauea steaming during the day and burning fiery hot at night. Highly recommend this!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome way to get as close as possible to the active volcano Po'o U'u. Our pilot Rhys was very engaging, narrating a lot of info about Hilo, the falls and the volcanoes. I just wish it were a longer tour! I actually thought that flying over the water was included but sadly, it wasn't. But it was awesome nonetheless! I'd totally do a tour with them again, but this time, the 2hr one :)

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Chris had a tremendous amount of knowledge the entire day. He kept us informed, safe, not rushed and away from crowds to enjoy every aspect of the tour!!!
I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful guide We learned so much.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It is a must for first timers to the island. Incredible experience

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My husband was a little hesitant about this, but the pilot and the staff was great and very informative. It was a beautiful day with very little cloud coverage. We fly close to the crator and were able to see the lave slowly flowing. We also fly along the coast and observed several whales, one with a baby. Also we saw a pod of dolphins and what the pilot said was a shark.

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We both really enjoyed this tour in Hilo. It was a long day but it was very interesting. Our bus driver was Sharon. She was very friendly and knowledgeable and heaps of fun. She even sang to us. Loved everything about this trip. We were not disappointed at all.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful trip! Zip line in particular was awesome with more than normal safety features which was important for first time zip liners! Viator did a great job keeping us reminded of our trip and paperwork went through seamlessly. We were rained out for the helicopter flight but Viator refunded that portion with no questions asked in a very timely manner. Would recommend to everyone!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The guide was awesome and cooperative.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Johnny did an excellent job!, would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message