Kilauea Volcano is the star of the Big Island’s Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii's only World Heritage Site. Kilauea Volcano remains active, spouting orange lava, venting steam, glowing and sputtering. When conditions are safe you can drive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 368 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joanne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome Ron the pilot was great 10 stars a must do

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Viswaram N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The perfect package with complete value of money. My wife and I had an awesome time performing each and every activity making it the perfect honeymoon for us. The helicopter experience was a once-in-a-lifetime kind of experience. For someone who is in the Big Island for a short span, this would be the best way to cover the best that the island has to offer. Jason, the driver that drove us around on the tour was very friendly and incredibly helpful. The food served and the wine tasting at the Volcano Winery were incredible. Overall a complete sense of satisfaction. Thank you!!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Ashanta Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Nate was amazing. Incredible encyclopedic knowledge of the Big Island.
He also took the time to show us off the beaten path spots.
This tour was through Hawaii Forest and Trail tour. Very very good.

Highly recommended.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Samantha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Friendly staff, smooth ride, and gorgeous views. What more could we ask?

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

JOHN P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We saw far much than I expected, it was excellent value and I highly recommend this company

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Stefan Z

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The helicopter tour was very enjoyable -- the pilot was knowledgable and offered a lot of information about the island as part of the tour, and getting to see the island from the helicopter was a unique perspective that I would not have had the opportunity to experience, otherwise.

Doing what: Experience Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

bthead

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. There was problems getting organized, though. The tour started with 3 hours of picking people up and various hotels. The van was very crowded and a lot of time was spent getting in and out of the van at the multiple stops. The food was tasty but meager.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Greg

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Too much wasted time. We don't need to stop at every restroom. A 20 minute stop to load up on drinks and snacks for the day is ridiculous. People should plan ahead and bring there own. I felt like we spent a lot of the day killing time to make it a full day tour. We only spent 4 of the 11 hours at the Volcano. Didn't see anything I couldn't see by car.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Jerry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Amazing trip! I'm so happy we decided on the 2-hour ride as I feel this was the perfect amount of time to explore the island.

Doing what: Experience Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

rfgrabish

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This as a fantastic excursion. Our guide, Steve, was extremely knowledgable adaptive to our needs and had a great sense of humor. The highlight of the trip was back up the volcano after dark. The light, steam Ans explosions of magma were phenomenal. We would highly recommend this trip.. You might think you could do it on your own, but you would miss so much.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Frank L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The flight was fantastic. I lucked out and sat in the co-pilot seat, so I had a great view of everything along the way. We basically flew around the island. We were able to see some lava flows, but that isn't always the case. The flows weren't nearly as good as some of the pictures you may have seen online, but it was still great to go around the island and see some awesome sights.

Doing what: Experience Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

patterson.mom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Time on Big Island was very limited so this all round tour fit the bill!

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

kathimurphy60

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

We thought the helicopter tour was good. Issues: it is very noisy and I was in the middle up front and found it quite tight and the lines in the helicopter window blocked some of the view. The pilot was very good

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A bit expensive but the view was unbeatable.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Catherine O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had an amazing experience viewing the big island from above. The ground staff was efficient and informative, making our pre flight check in a smooth experience. Our pilot was informative, courteous to his passengers needs and requests. The view of the volcanos, valleys, ocean and different towns of the bid island were breathtaking. I would recommend paradise helicopters to anyone considering a helicopter tour of the island!!!

Doing what: Experience Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

George K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The zip line and lava tour was great. The helicopter tour was only ok, perhaps due to the very exhilarating tour we had on Kauai by the same operator.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Jonathan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What an amazing tour!!! the volcano and the lava was spectacular but the real treat is the valleys and waterfalls. The staff from the office team to the fantastic Pilot Dan really made this the highlight of our Honeymoon.

Doing what: Experience Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Deb Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This was a very informative and well run tour. Sadly, I cannot remember our tour guide's name, however his knowledge was astounding. Unfortunately for us, visibility on the day was limited so we could not see the volcano lava glow as clearly as we'd hoped, however this was obviously beyond anyone's control. Having dinner on the lava plains by the ocean made for a lovely evening with our small group. Walking around the steam vents and through the Thurston Lava Tube was very cool. The only suggestion I could offer is to give people who have a car the option to meet at the tour office rather than be picked up. This would have given us an extra hour or so in the morning. Would recommend this tour to friends.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Marie L Pucel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great time, was able to see some lava. Water falls were nice too

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Clara V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very interesting and fun!

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Karen E

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We both had a good time. Our guide was knowledgeable and courteous. We saw some beautiful sights and learned some neat history of the islands. I only wish that we had skipped the stops in town so that more time could have been spent at the volcanoes since that is what the tour is meant to be about. We especially could have done without the stop at the convenience store to get snacks for the day. It would be better that they advise you get those ahead of time and then more time could be spent enjoying the sights. We felt too rushed at some of them. Overall, it was a good day and I'd definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Myron R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

It was fantastic! Everyone that worked there was friendly and helpful. We did the doors off tour, the best way to go. Our pilot, Joyce, was amazing. Very knowledgeable and a great pilot. It was one of the highlights of our trip.
Myron Ruth

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Blake L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Enjoyed the tour. Thank You for the experience.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

dorarich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Most amazing thing we did on the island - and we did a lot of amazing things. They don't joke though when they say it's a grueling hike up to the lava fields. Muddy, jungle-like - expect to get dirty. The reared however for this hike is seeing live lava flow - within inches of where you are. Our guide - Chris - was awesome. He was extremely knowledgeable in native Hawaiian stories, legends and facts - he made the hike go by quickly while keeping everyone safe.

If you can hike 4 miles through rough terrain read the email and please wear pants and good sneakers/hiking boots you'll love this tour. We'd do it again in half a second.

Doing what: Hot Lava Hike to See Lava Volcano Tour

jplion

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was incredible! i was really nervous as I'm really afraid of heights and I was upgraded to a door-off flight! But the folks at Paradise Helicopters were really assuring and I felt really safe throughout the entire ride. Saw some lava rivers and a lava lake. Totally awesome! Would highly recommend this for anyone who comes to the Big Island. Shout out to Jie and our pilot Ryan!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message