Kilauea Volcano is the star of the Big Island’s Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii's only World Heritage Site. Kilauea Volcano remains active, spouting orange lava, venting steam, glowing and sputtering. When conditions are safe you can drive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 256 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jonathan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What an amazing tour!!! the volcano and the lava was spectacular but the real treat is the valleys and waterfalls. The staff from the office team to the fantastic Pilot Dan really made this the highlight of our Honeymoon.

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Marie L Pucel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great time, was able to see some lava. Water falls were nice too

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Clara V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very interesting and fun!

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Karen E

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We both had a good time. Our guide was knowledgeable and courteous. We saw some beautiful sights and learned some neat history of the islands. I only wish that we had skipped the stops in town so that more time could have been spent at the volcanoes since that is what the tour is meant to be about. We especially could have done without the stop at the convenience store to get snacks for the day. It would be better that they advise you get those ahead of time and then more time could be spent enjoying the sights. We felt too rushed at some of them. Overall, it was a good day and I'd definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Myron R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

It was fantastic! Everyone that worked there was friendly and helpful. We did the doors off tour, the best way to go. Our pilot, Joyce, was amazing. Very knowledgeable and a great pilot. It was one of the highlights of our trip.
Myron Ruth

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

dorarich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Most amazing thing we did on the island - and we did a lot of amazing things. They don't joke though when they say it's a grueling hike up to the lava fields. Muddy, jungle-like - expect to get dirty. The reared however for this hike is seeing live lava flow - within inches of where you are. Our guide - Chris - was awesome. He was extremely knowledgeable in native Hawaiian stories, legends and facts - he made the hike go by quickly while keeping everyone safe.

If you can hike 4 miles through rough terrain read the email and please wear pants and good sneakers/hiking boots you'll love this tour. We'd do it again in half a second.

Doing what: Hawaii Volcano Lava Tour to See Lava

jplion

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was incredible! i was really nervous as I'm really afraid of heights and I was upgraded to a door-off flight! But the folks at Paradise Helicopters were really assuring and I felt really safe throughout the entire ride. Saw some lava rivers and a lava lake. Totally awesome! Would highly recommend this for anyone who comes to the Big Island. Shout out to Jie and our pilot Ryan!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

yu kennth l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It is the best day I had in Hawaii so far. Got clear skies during Helicopter flight and saw some minor volcanic activity. Awesome areal sight of the lava field. Zipline was the best. Our guides, Dishman, Alex and Rudy were hilarious. They cant stop talking and cracking jokes, yet safety and our enjoyment was always on their mind. We zipped long lengths and over great landscapes. Evening visit to Volcanoes National Park was excellent. Had a great experience on the sulphur field and great view of the glowing magma above the crater. IMy thanks to the zipline crew and our tour guide Glenn. i will do this activity again if I get the chance!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Pamela A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I'm disappointed that I paid 50 additional for two people for guaranteed window seats when virtually all the seats are window seats. Other than that the tour was wonderful.

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Katarina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

great tour guide!!!

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Diane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour day was long and amazing! The helicopter and zipline crews were very professional and I felt very safe. The lava tour was excellent. Everything ran smoothly. The driver for the day was very informative. A great way to see and do a lot if you have limited time on the island.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Chris G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

great stuff. a long day full of adventures. lots of things that were great. the tour guides esp ken for the volcano tour at the end of the day.

highly recommend

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fun ride. We were able to go right over an active volcano at treetop level. Winds were favorable for a few minutes. Quite a tour.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

WE had the most wonderful time. We will tell all our friends from Jacksonville Florida to take this trip. Our guide Glen was fantastic. Thank you all.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Rosalie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

MUST DO when on the Big Island! Best zip-line ever and who can say they saw actual lava flowing! I have moderate motion sickness but the helicopter ride was amazing and so much smoother than I expected. You are also well fed throughout the day: lunch, snacks and dinner

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Michael J A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

SPECTACULAR!! AMAZING!! SUPERB!! Add about 30 more adjectives and you will get an idea of how fun this was. Our pilot, CHRIS, was a Marine helicopter pilot for a couple of decades, and took us up close and personal into the narrowest of canyons, with 4 waterfalls each a few hundred feet high flowing heavily, and we were right next to them. He landed us in the remote valley where King Kamehameha was hidden when he was a child from the rulers who were trying to kill him before he could claim the throne. We spent an hour having a picnic and hiking around. We made alot of memories on this flight, and cannot thank Chris and Paradise Helicopters enough. I would absolutely recommend everyone do this. There is a point where you are looking at the cost and going Thats a helluva lotta money for three hours but trust me, just do it. The money will come and go but the memories from this ride will last forever.

A note of caution, this is a weather dependent thing - the island has almost daily rain on one side, and I would really recommend getting a clear understanding how it will work if you need to reschedule. We drew very lucky, huge rains the day before and after our ride, but spectacular clear skies were what we got. Sometimes you just get lucky, as I said. Also, my wife experienced nausea because she got the seat facing backwards in the copter. If anyone in your party is prone to sea/air sickness or motion sickness, let them know so they can do their best to minimize anything in that regard.

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

waughab

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were a group of 4 adults - first time for zipliners - it was great! Loved the helicopter ride and the lava tour. The guides were exploding with valuable information about the area and the island. All had great presentation skills.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Vicki M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Aunty Sharon treated us like Ohana, friendly, kind.
A wealth of knowledge.
Especially great at the hula...

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Ilya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was really cool to see Lava and was definitely a once in a life time opportunity which we were very glad we did. That being said, this was a very grueling activity.
1. The trail is a one way 3 mile machete-cut path through the rainforest to the active lava fields. It is full of mud holes, small hills, and roots. We were very lucky and our deepest mud was only 8 inches but it can get up to the knee if it rains. The guide provides rubber boots and ducktape to keep the mud out, which is very nice. They mostly have size 8-12, so if you have other size feet, you may wish to buy your own. There is a hardware store at the meeting point that sells them.
2. The trail is hot and there is a high chance of getting some rain, so bring a light raincoat and long pants. Bugs are everywhere, so mosquito repellent is a must. Make sure you bring snacks and lots of water at least 3 liters per person to stay hydrated. There are no bathrooms except the bushes. The hike lasts about 10-12 hours. If it lasts longer, you will have to come back in the dark through the rainforest, so bring a Bright Flashlight.
3. The activity is not dangerous, despite what the locals say, but it is very exhausting and you can get scarped by the bushes. This is designed for hikers with moderate experience who can easily walk 8 miles a day. If you are not at least moderately fit, this will likely be a bad activity for you. There is no way to turn back once you start. We had several not very fit people and they all made it, but I'm not sure about their level of satisfaction with the experience...

This was really awesome and will definitely make or break your vacation if you are not prepared.

Doing what: Hawaii Volcano Lava Tour to See Lava

George R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour which included much more than just the volcanoes tour. Our tour guide John was quirky, very funny, but most importantly knowledgable about all of the sites within the tour. This is a full day of adventure so his sense of humor came in handy throughout the day. I would definitely book through Viator again.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

R D F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Absolutely Brilliant Helicopter Tour. Very Friendly and Professional. And KOJI 0ur Pilot was brilliant and gave us all time to take photos from all angles by turning the Helicopter around for both sides etc. And some very fancy flying indeed through the valleys to see the wonderful waterfalls and the keyhole etc. Can highly recommend this Company. Superb.

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Robert M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Glenn, our driver was the bright spot. I have no problem paying extra for stuff, like the helicopter tour, because of my size, but when I was denied the zip line because of my size, without any idea there were restrictions, I was not pleased, and I doubt I will use your service again because of that.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Anne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Leroy was the best guide with his knowledge and great story telling. We fitted alot in that day and felt safe doing it.Highlight was walking on the lava flow from 1979.You think it's another planet. Walking through the lava tunnel also. Lunch was a in the accommodation lodge with a view of the volcano which is smoking away. Again the weather up the mountain became misty and foggy and their was one view we didn't get to see.Again that's mother nature and no one can change that.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Cameron U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was absolutely amazing and as described. Our awesome guide, Glenn, had so much knowledge of the island and Hawaiian culture. He made sure we were comfortable and well-fed, with plenty of snacks and beverages in the van. We were fortunate to have a small group of four, so we had plenty of room in the in the large, well-air-conditioned van. As we were a small group, we were afforded extra time to stop at local highlights, such as Rainbow Falls and shopping in Hilo. The crew at the ziplines made safety their 1 priority, having us pause a few times to due high winds. The photos I viewed of the ziplines prior to the tour did not do it justice. The backdrop is much more beautiful and high up with the many, many waterfalls and ocean views. The crew interacted well with the group and kept us entertained. Lunch mid-way through was so good with local fruits. The helicopter tour went off without a hitch. The views were spectacular. Flying over the volcano felt like flying over another planet, as the landscape was unlike any other I had seen. We were fortunate to see several lava pools and charred trees from the recent flow . My only complaint about the flight was that it was quite warm in the helicopter. The walking tour of the park was leisurely and much cooler, with beautiful flora and fauna and amazing views of the volcano. Being able to walk through the lava tubes was definitely a highlight for me. Dinner at the Volcano House was very good as well. We all had the coconut-crusted mahi-mahi and paired it with Coconut Porter. We had ample time for photos and shopping afterwards. Then on to view the glowing Kilauea Caldera at sunset. A bit crowded but worth it see that ominous red glow. As a 1st timer to Hawaii this tour was everything I wanted and worth every penny.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

ROBERT P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Trip was fabulous. I highly recommend Viator for booking any excursions. Excellent to work with and extremely accommodating. Very professional.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message