Often called Kailua-Kona, and referring to the western Kona Coast district as a whole, Kona is on the leeward (dry and sunny) side of the Big Island. The Kona Coast is the Big Island’s vacation central, with good weather, watersports, great ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 219 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Loved loved loved this trip...the only thing I would want better is that the trip would be longer. Maria the tour guide was hilarious and very informed and educated. Ty again for this tour. Will definitely recommend it to others!

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

Abigail W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The submarine was incredible. Very professionally managed and a wonderful experience. The luau was nice, nothing special or unique if you have been to other luaus but if you haven't, it is an example of a good luau.

Doing what: Best Kona Submarine Adventure and Royal Kona Resort Luau

Barbara E

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

We arrived with electronic ticket on my phone. they did not have my name on their handwritten list and refused to accept my electronic ticket. I had to go into the hotel, pull up my email and ask them to print it, which was exactly the same as what was on my phone! thankfully the woman accepted it because it was on a piece of paper. If i had been in a developing nation I'd understand, but this was the US!. Perhaps you need to tell your vendors to accept electronic tickets from you. also, why wasn't my name on the list. Unfortunately this is my first experience with Viator and not a good one. the Laua itself was decent with usual crummy food but very good dancing
barb erny

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Fiona Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Worth every penny! Very happy tour :

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

James Kevin United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I purchased this lesson for my son, and this was the highlight of his trip. Susie, his instructor, was wonderful and took her time teaching him. My son was up and surfing in no time!

Doing what: Private Surf Lesson on the Big Island

FELICITY E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We loved this trip! The captain was determined to get us the best photos right until the last minute. Had a brilliant time, saw many whales and dolphins too!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft Whale Watching Adventure

James Kevin United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This is a great luau with lots of food and great entertainment.

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Robert M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Througholy enjoyed the evening but it could have been longer

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

FELICITY E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The submarine was cancelled a few times due to poor visibility but totally worth it for the experience. Landed on the ocean floor 107 ft down. Saw two ship wrecks and lots of fish. The luau evening was also fun, really enjoyed the dancing, the fire show and the Mai Tais. The food was pretty gd too.

Doing what: Best Kona Submarine Adventure and Royal Kona Resort Luau

Samin H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

It was much worse than we expected. It was not better than snorkeling. That's it!

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

outstanding

Doing what: Best Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Cruise

Hazel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great crew, awesome time! Book it!

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

Cindy L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Other than general seating be extremely limited - the show was great and the food great.

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Michael J A

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The reef is dying because of the El Nino warmer waters, so the overall experience probably is not what it would have been a few years ago. We did see a shark up close which they said only happens once a month. A big negative for the sub ride was strictly that pier area of Kona has a very heavy and fairly aggressive homeless population. There were people bathing and essentially staying in the restrooms by the boarding area and all the local hotels. No bueno.

The Luau was acceptable, not great, not bad. The food? Not great, not good, not fair, just bad. The drinks wouldn't get a mosquito drunk.

Doing what: Best Kona Submarine Adventure and Royal Kona Resort Luau

Susan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My grandchildren were enchanted!

Doing what: Best Kona Submarine Adventure and Royal Kona Resort Luau

Stephen B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Good crew. Lots of fun. Lovely snorkeling spot.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Dale R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

My wife has mobility and anxiety issues and they were MOST helpful. She thoroughly Enjoyed the Experience

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

dhelusay

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Interesting view of the ocean floor and fish that swam by us.

Doing what: Best Kona Submarine Adventure and Royal Kona Resort Luau

Nicole W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

On the hotel property and hotel guests were able to watch the show from the pool area. It didn't seem secluded enough. We could have done dinner on our own and watched the show for free.

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Larry C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The views were great. The crew was able to move the sub so that both sides would get view's of special places on the ocean floor.

Doing what: Best Kona Submarine Adventure and Royal Kona Resort Luau

Amanda M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Absolutely amazing! To be under water and see so many fish up close. We were lucky enough to see a shark. Our guide said they see about one a month, our lucky day! The pictures we took came out clear through the windows. The crew was wonderfully helpful.

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

Kelly P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This was a great luau. Great setting, Great dancing

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

davidcastro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really enjoyed, highly recommend. Captain Collin is the best!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Kenneth S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The submarine adventure was great! We saw a lot of fish and the guide was very informative. Would do the submarines again. However the Luau was marginal at best. I've been to Luau's on the other islands that were a lot better.

Doing what: Best Kona Submarine Adventure and Royal Kona Resort Luau

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message