Often called Kailua-Kona, and referring to the western Kona Coast district as a whole, Kona is on the leeward (dry and sunny) side of the Big Island. The Kona Coast is the Big Island’s vacation central, with good weather, watersports, great ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 195 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a favorite. My daughters loved the dancing especially the Flame thrower

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Had a brilliant time -- great snorkeling, lovely crew, good food.

Doing what: Best Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The snorkeling: 5 stars
The raft ride out to the snorkel site: -1 star

First of all, let me say the snorkeling and the views underwater were fantastic. The site is near the Captain Cook Monument which in itself is kind of cool since you can't access it from any road, and the reefs are home to some beautiful marine life. I myself hate putting my head under the water, and this was my first time snorkeling, but I'm glad I did. We were kicking ourselves that we didn't buy and underwater disposable camera to capture some of the magic we witnessed.

My experience on the raft ride was not as positive. This probably has a lot to do with the fact that I sat in front of the boat, which absorbs the most impact from the waves. For the entire thirty-minute ride out from the marina, I felt like I was going to get thrown overboard at any moment. It was a little torturous. According to the captain, we were cruising at around 30 mph, and each wave we hit sent a thunderous thwack through the bow of the raft and my lower back.

While we actually hit bigger waves on the way back, at least I knew what to expect. And the stops at the caves and cliffs along the way offered some stunning views. Plus, dolphins! A bunch of them followed our boat and we got to see them right up close. Even saw some jumping out of the water doing mid-air 360s. Amazing!

Loved the snorkeling and the coastline views, but might have been happier with a shorter and less harrowing ride, maybe on a larger boat.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Good experience. We had to change the date twice and were able to do this without a problem.

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

it was ok but I was expecting more views.

Doing what: Best Kona Submarine Adventure and Royal Kona Resort Luau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very interesting to see all types of sea creatures in the deep ocean, definitely a unique experience.

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

Bulldog
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great show and good food. I've attended two others in the past while in Hawaii but this was the best.

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Maybe it was just that the waves were not big enough but there were few in our group that did any actual surfing. The day was beautiful and the event enjoyable but didn't feel like I got the surfing out of it.

Doing what: Small-Group Surf Lesson on the Big Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I guess I was just hoping to see more volcanic activity on the helicopter tour .

Doing what: Kona Submarine Adventure and Island Breeze Luau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My 18 year old daughter did this lesson and she said it was her most favorite thing she did during our trip. The instructor was very very good, she got up in no time and the smile on her face was there for 2 hours. He was patient, responsible and the perfect person to do instruction. The waves were small enough but perfect for learning there is a place under trees by a tiny church to sit and video or watch from. Best experience ever.

Doing what: Small-Group Surf Lesson on the Big Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guides, Maria and Liz, were great. So friendly and really knew the water and coast well. The trip is well worth the cost and the time. Snorkling at Captain Cook's was so beautiful. Definitely recommend a lot of sunscreen - a lot and reapplying often. The guides talk about it a lot and my family wishes we applied even more. If we ever come back to the Big Island, we will do this adventure again.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Best Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great Dave knew a ton about the island and got us to a great snorkeling spot!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Not impressed. Actually the low point of our trip. Very commercialized, can't see unless you are right up front. "Open bar" is not true... It's only for 2 hours. We were not told to get there 2 hours early to just get in line to get in. So disappointing. Waste of money. Good food. That's it.

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Dre and Liz were awesome guides. We had a fabulous day. We had a group of 9, including kids, and everyone loved it.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Initial printing showed 100 minute boat ride out to the sub- it was actually a 5 to 10 minute boat ride and was a wonderful experience, at low season only 12 tourists were on the sub for our tour. The next day an NCL cruise ship pulled in and they were full up.

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We paid extra so that we could be seated in the Royal division. But although we were at the front 6 rows back of the stage, we were sideways on and it was awkward for us to see all the action going on on the stage. We attended a luau on Maui when we were there in 2000 and that was much much better then this. We were disappointed that there was too much singing and not enough action, although the fire eaters were wonderful. The food was also good but not enough choice. We enjoyed the evening mainly because of the friendliness of fellow diners.

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

I would give the submarine tour a four and the luau a three. The dancing at the luau was amazing but the food was only so-so.

Doing what: Best Kona Submarine Adventure and Royal Kona Resort Luau

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Très désappointant, on a vu que des petits poissons et des épaves de bateaux.

Doing what: Kona Submarine Adventure and Island Breeze Luau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

These instructors were fabulous. So glad we did this. the area and waves seemed great for beginners. The instructors were very patient, encouraging and fun. Would definitely recommend this.

Doing what: Small-Group Surf Lesson on the Big Island

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

NOT AT ALL SATISFIED!!! When we arrived at the luau, our names were not on the list. We had to sit in the back of the room and our view was blocked by a post. I will never book with Viator again.

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Good snorkeling. Great lunch and attentive crew. Plenty of water time and extra fun with the high dive and slide. Very enjoyable

Doing what: Best Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a very fun activity and appeals to all ages. Cody was our guide and he was very informative of the marine life as well as the ocean itself. We enjoyed the submarine more than the Luau but the Luau provided a pleasant insight to the Hawaiian culture.

Doing what: Best Kona Submarine Adventure and Royal Kona Resort Luau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The crew is very kind and attentive, and the diving point is beautiful. Dozens of dolphins and some whales were seen from the boat. It was a really gorgeous tour!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message