Often called Kailua-Kona, and referring to the western Kona Coast district as a whole, Kona is on the leeward (dry and sunny) side of the Big Island. The Kona Coast is the Big Island’s vacation central, with good weather, watersports, great ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 211 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

myperfecttouch United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We had a Fantastic time! Everyone was very friendly, the food was great!
Thank you Viator.
Rufus and Gail

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Nick W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A bit expensive but worth the experience. We saw lots of fish, 2 sunken boats, and even some scuba divers! Crew was great! Lots of fun and low stress activity.

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

Gail N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed the trip. The crew was wonderful and the boat was fantastic to snorkel from. Can't wait to do it again.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Karen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Loved loved loved this trip...the only thing I would want better is that the trip would be longer. Maria the tour guide was hilarious and very informed and educated. Ty again for this tour. Will definitely recommend it to others!

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

glees

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

whale of a time
still waiting for suzanne from Seattle to send us picture of whale that came close to boat

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Sherrie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great Tour with lots of interesting facts and sights to see. Justin our tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. We had a great time! I can't wait to go back to Kona again and take another tour with this company!! I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Kona Coffee and Craters

Abigail W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The submarine was incredible. Very professionally managed and a wonderful experience. The luau was nice, nothing special or unique if you have been to other luaus but if you haven't, it is an example of a good luau.

Doing what: Best Kona Submarine Adventure and Royal Kona Resort Luau

Andrea D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

seating was a little uncomfortable. But for the time your on the sub it's do able.

Doing what: Best Kona Submarine Adventure and Royal Kona Resort Luau

Karen S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Saw lots of fish. A bit disappointed with the lack of color in the coral, was anticipating it to be more colorful but it was mentioned that they were experiencing a coral bleach. Still worth the time.

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

Karen S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Lots of fish saw an eel hiding. Color of coral could have been better experiencing coral bleach. Still recommend it.

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

Brenda B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

A MUST DO! I only rated it a 4 because of what you see compared to the Atlantis in the Cayman. I will however give it a 5 based on the crew being much more entertaining than the crew in the Caymans. If you've never been on a submarine before this trip is definately a 5 for you!

Doing what: Best Kona Submarine Adventure and Royal Kona Resort Luau

Barbara E

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

We arrived with electronic ticket on my phone. they did not have my name on their handwritten list and refused to accept my electronic ticket. I had to go into the hotel, pull up my email and ask them to print it, which was exactly the same as what was on my phone! thankfully the woman accepted it because it was on a piece of paper. If i had been in a developing nation I'd understand, but this was the US!. Perhaps you need to tell your vendors to accept electronic tickets from you. also, why wasn't my name on the list. Unfortunately this is my first experience with Viator and not a good one. the Laua itself was decent with usual crummy food but very good dancing
barb erny

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Fiona Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Worth every penny! Very happy tour :

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

James Kevin United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I purchased this lesson for my son, and this was the highlight of his trip. Susie, his instructor, was wonderful and took her time teaching him. My son was up and surfing in no time!

Doing what: Private Surf Lesson on the Big Island

James Kevin United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This is a great luau with lots of food and great entertainment.

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Robert M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Througholy enjoyed the evening but it could have been longer

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

FELICITY E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The submarine was cancelled a few times due to poor visibility but totally worth it for the experience. Landed on the ocean floor 107 ft down. Saw two ship wrecks and lots of fish. The luau evening was also fun, really enjoyed the dancing, the fire show and the Mai Tais. The food was pretty gd too.

Doing what: Best Kona Submarine Adventure and Royal Kona Resort Luau

Samin H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

It was much worse than we expected. It was not better than snorkeling. That's it!

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

outstanding

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Cruise

Hazel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great crew, awesome time! Book it!

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

Cindy L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Other than general seating be extremely limited - the show was great and the food great.

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Michael J A

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The reef is dying because of the El Nino warmer waters, so the overall experience probably is not what it would have been a few years ago. We did see a shark up close which they said only happens once a month. A big negative for the sub ride was strictly that pier area of Kona has a very heavy and fairly aggressive homeless population. There were people bathing and essentially staying in the restrooms by the boarding area and all the local hotels. No bueno.

The Luau was acceptable, not great, not bad. The food? Not great, not good, not fair, just bad. The drinks wouldn't get a mosquito drunk.

Doing what: Best Kona Submarine Adventure and Royal Kona Resort Luau

Susan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My grandchildren were enchanted!

Doing what: Best Kona Submarine Adventure and Royal Kona Resort Luau

Stephen B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Good crew. Lots of fun. Lovely snorkeling spot.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message