Often called Kailua-Kona, and referring to the western Kona Coast district as a whole, Kona is on the leeward (dry and sunny) side of the Big Island. The Kona Coast is the Big Island’s vacation central, with good weather, watersports, great ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 259 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Kilauea put on quite a show for us. The tour was amazing!! Even though it was raining imagine that - - raining in the Rainforest, our guide, Mark, knew exactly what to do and where to go to make the best use of our time. Including when to go to the crater viewing area at night for spectacular views. A lot of ooohhs and aaaahhs were heard. Photos just can't show you what you will see in person. Mark also made two stops on the way that others may have missed. He knows a lot about the park, and the area on the way, including the flora and fauna....which was a nice plus. We were surprised to meet so many locals who had no idea what a seemingly common tree Ugly Fruit and animal Mongoose were. Mark knew those two, and many, many more. The Mercedes tour van was spotless, and comfortable. You do need to bring or wear long pants and bring a sweatshirt or jacket - it's cooler up there! In the park, we saw other tours where their members were drenched. I heard one guide say, well we TOLD them to bring rain coats. Rain jackets yes, waterproof were provided for us, as was a nice packed lunch and dinner complete with cookies, big brownies, water, hot tea, soft drinks, juice and hot chocolate. Just an amazing experience, and all the little extras were much appreciated. Mark took good very care of us, especially my mother.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely fantastic day. Our guide was most informative. Great small group. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

David B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent. Eugene the guide was very knowledgable and made the excursion great fun.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Overall a very good, interesting tour. The description was not quite accurate, for example, it promised dinner at a plantation, when instead we sat at picnic tables at a very windy park at the coast. Also, no hot cocoa, but instead our guide took us to Volcano House and told us we could buy our own drinks. On the positive side, guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. Got up close to the eruption site at the top of Kilauea and saw bubbling lava, great night views. Good overall tour of the park, great hike into an old lava field. We were staying in Waikoloa, which made for a long day, so be prepared.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We paid extra so that we could be seated in the Royal division. But although we were at the front 6 rows back of the stage, we were sideways on and it was awkward for us to see all the action going on on the stage. We attended a luau on Maui when we were there in 2000 and that was much much better then this. We were disappointed that there was too much singing and not enough action, although the fire eaters were wonderful. The food was also good but not enough choice. We enjoyed the evening mainly because of the friendliness of fellow diners.

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Très désappointant, on a vu que des petits poissons et des épaves de bateaux.

Doing what: Kona Submarine Adventure and Island Breeze Luau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

These instructors were fabulous. So glad we did this. the area and waves seemed great for beginners. The instructors were very patient, encouraging and fun. Would definitely recommend this.

Doing what: Small-Group Surf Lesson on the Big Island

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

NOT AT ALL SATISFIED!!! When we arrived at the luau, our names were not on the list. We had to sit in the back of the room and our view was blocked by a post. I will never book with Viator again.

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Good snorkeling. Great lunch and attentive crew. Plenty of water time and extra fun with the high dive and slide. Very enjoyable

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a very fun activity and appeals to all ages. Cody was our guide and he was very informative of the marine life as well as the ocean itself. We enjoyed the submarine more than the Luau but the Luau provided a pleasant insight to the Hawaiian culture.

Doing what: Kona Submarine Adventure and Royal Kona Resort Luau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely wonderful trip!!! Our guide, Justin was a pleasure to spend time with, he was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. Our tour bus was brand new and top of the line and the lunch and dinner were lovely. He took us to trails when they were quiet so that we weren't fighting the crowds and we got to see Kilauea steaming during the day and burning fiery hot at night. Highly recommend this!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Chris had a tremendous amount of knowledge the entire day. He kept us informed, safe, not rushed and away from crowds to enjoy every aspect of the tour!!!
I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful guide We learned so much.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The crew is very kind and attentive, and the diving point is beautiful. Dozens of dolphins and some whales were seen from the boat. It was a really gorgeous tour!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Diane Z
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide was very very knowledgeable about the area and the habits of the whales. The zodiac boat was great, as I do get sick and I did not feel any symptoms. We went to areas that were not common to most boats and saw some amazing whales. We had two bull whales fighting, a couple of breaches and even a school of dolphins. I would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft Whale Watching Adventure

Diane Z
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The location for the show was great, right on the ocean with the water breaking was beautiful! The only thing that was not impressive was the placement of the seating... trees were scattered throughout the area and blocked many of the views of the show. The show was really good.

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Submarine adventure was exciting and informative. We learned a lot about tropical fish. Luau the food was good, open bar was nice and the show was great.

Doing what: Kona Submarine Adventure and Royal Kona Resort Luau

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The ride was good and the captain and 1st mate were very informative. Glad we did it.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft Whale Watching Adventure

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

Don't be fooled by the title, you will not swim with dolphins on this trip. We saw 2 different pods though, and even a couple of whales. The snorkeling is in a bay and still worth doing (though NOT for the seasick!) as you see coral and tropical fish, the sub was fun and informative.

Doing what: Kona Submarine Adventure and Snorkel Dolphin Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Johnny did an excellent job!, would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour. Lots of information. Guide (Eugene) was excellent. Would highly recommend. See and learn heaps. We all (adults and kids) had a great day. Food was delicious.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was a fantastic trip. We saw whales...lots of whales! Our guide was Captain Ron and he was excellent. He made the trip fun, exciting, and even educational. We would do it again.
BRAVO!!!!!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft Whale Watching Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We would take this trip every day if we could.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

So much fun!!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft Whale Watching Adventure

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

It was fun "under the sea." Shore personnel and boat crew were all upbeat and helpful. Sub guide was informative and fun. We saw lots of fish, and several sunken vessels. The only drawback was the lack of photographic light under the water--our photos didn't turn out as well as we had hoped. Still, we really loved the experience.

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message