Big Island of Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Mauna Kea Summit & Observatory

Whether you’re a budding astrophysicist or just a fan of Big Bang Theory, take the opportunity while you’re on the Big Island to visit the Mauna Kea Summit and Observatory. At a lofty height of 13,796 ft (4,138 m) Mauna Kea is Hawaii's tallest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 157 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our driver was very excited about her job and knew a lot of information about different things. The zipline was so much fun. I was anxious at first, but was so much fun. The guys at the zipline were fantastic. We got a lot information, had a couple of little short hikes in Volcano park and a lovely dinner at the volcano house. We were able to see the crater glow in the evening, amazing. The only disappointment was that our helicopter flight was canceled due to weather at the last second. No one's fault, but disappointing not to get to fly over the volcano. We were refunded quickly for the helicopter part of the trip as we could not reschedule due to our schedule.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour is fabulous. We've been ziplining before and this is by far the best set up we have ever been on. The helicopter ride was a great opportunity to view the lava fields. Our tour guide was Glenn and he was A-MA-ZING! His enthusiasm and knowledge about the Big Island and Hawaii's history made the entire day very enjoyable. We definitely recommend this tour it is well worth the money. If possible, definitely request Glenn for your guide.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great experience. Great guide. Amazing to see the stars at that altitude!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

very good tour. amazing stars to seen.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was the best part of my week on the Big Island. We were so fortunate to experience the Joel team! Our pilot Joel was so awesome, as was our ground tour guide Joel!!! The pictures we were able to take will make our memories of this special day last forever! Thank you both for such a wonderful day!

Doing what: Experience Volcanoes National Park: Helicopter, Coach, and Walking Tour from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed every minute of the tour. It was just me and my boyfriend and we had a blast. We were the only ones who booked the all day tour and we had a great tour guide. His name is Glen and he was able to answer any of our questions about Hawaii. He was also very friendly, helpful and accommodating. He made the best of the time and when we did have extra time, he would ask if we want to do this or that. He was excellent. I would recommend him.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The best experience of my life!

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Shirley
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time. Our tour guide Barry was extremely knowledgable about all aspects of Hawaiian culture. Tim our helicopter pilot made sure people on both sides of the helicopter got to see the sites. The people running the zip line were great. I considered skipping this. I'm glad I didn't.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an excellent experience. Everyone involved in the planning and execution of this trip were both professional, knowledgeable, and personable. Wonderful tour filled with learning and a great time. Would highly recommend this tour. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Experience Volcanoes National Park: Helicopter, Coach, and Walking Tour from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was awesome! The guide was knowledgeable in all aspects. The sunset was unbelievable! Enjoyed looking through the telescope and learning about the constellations. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone. The food was good as well. We both had the chicken.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I have to preface this post by stating I do not ever book tour type things as I tend to like doing things at my own pace. Having said this, I have to give an amazing review to the toru company. We chose the zip, heli, and volcanoes tour, and I will say the full tour is exhausting, but in a good and informative way. We were kept busy all day and had plenty of time to explore each of the areas ourselves. Our tour guide Glenn was informative and entertaining. We were picked up on time and continued pickups until we hit the road to Hilo. For anyone staying in Kona, this is the best trip to see all kinds of things on the other side of the island without the hassle of driving. Even more so if you want to cram all the touring on that side of the island into a day, it's a long drive back and we were thankful to not have to drive that night. We came back with some souvenirs and tons of pictures and a lot better understanding of the big island all in one day's worth of touring. For this, I thank the tour group, and especially the tour guide!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This combo is what made my trip jaw dropping, I was overwhelmed with all the exploring and information that our tour guy Glenn provided to us. He didn't miss a beat and had a lot to say and offer. At first, I was a little concerned about the hours I was going to spend in one but in the end, I was so happy I didn't and not once did I say I wish I would not have done this. I would strongly recommend this tour packet to any one with traveling the Big Island as you can see a lot in one day and have the rest of your stay just exploring the beaches, stores, and relaxing. Also, I was very impressed that the tour package included my pickup and drop off so, I didn't have to spend anytime driving and all I had to do was sit back and enjoy the ride.THANKS again!!!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

David B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent. Marka the guide was very knowledgable and made the excursion great fun. Incredible views from the top and the sunset was fantastic. Got to see Saturn, Jupiter and Venus through the telescope.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

David B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent. Marka the guide was very knowledgable and made the excursion great fun. Incredible views from the top and the sunset was fantastic. Got to see Saturn, Jupiter and Venus through the telescope.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an excellent tour which our family really enjoyed. Maka was an outstanding guide. His knowledge and communication skills made for a fun trip for everyone in our group.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Tour guide excellent. The stars were spectacular and I wouldn't have missed it for the world.This tour group is very organized and well run.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a great experience! We had to push the helicopter ride back one day because of weather. The crew with the zip line was awesome they did a great job and we had a lot of fun. The lava tour was really cool and we got a lot of good pictures. As stated above the helicopter ride we pushed back one day and hoped for better weather and we got great weather and a great ride. The view was awesome and got to see some lava flow we were told that was not normal all tour guide were great and we would recommend to anyone and will be sure to book again when we go back!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Nate was our tour guide and we loved the experience he gave us. He was very knowledgeable of not only the Big Island, but the mountain and all the stars also. This tour was very informative and Nate made the entire experience what it was. This tour is at the top of our list of recommended tours.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great experience, very competent and entertaining guide and amazing views on top of Mauna Kea !!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Mako was a very knowledgeable guide.We enjoyed meeting the other members of the group. The food was mediocre but that wasn't what we were there for. We would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide Eugene was awesome and incredibly knowledgeable! The entire trip was nothing but sensational from start to finish. I would do this trip again in a heart beat

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A totally absorbing trip. Our guide was highly knowledgeable. The views from Mauna Kea are breathtaking and the stargazing was amazing. It a "must do" trip on Big Island.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The sunset was spectacular at the top of Mauna Kea. Be prepared for the cold. It was -30 with the wind chill. Parkas and gloves were provided which were much needed.

The star gazing was fantastic. We saw the whole Milky Way. I have never seen anything like it. Once in a lifetime experience!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message