Big Island of Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Mauna Kea Summit & Observatory

Whether you’re a budding astrophysicist or just a fan of Big Bang Theory, take the opportunity while you’re on the Big Island to visit the Mauna Kea Summit and Observatory. At a lofty height of 13,796 ft (4,138 m) Mauna Kea is Hawaii's tallest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 170 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The pilot was great. The tour was great.

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Outstanding way to see the volcano!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent!!!!! I had never ziplined before and the staff made me feel comfortable about zipping. Great pilot for the helicopter ride, got us really close to the active volcano.....what a view! Extra kudos for our guide (Kelsey), who picked us up at our hotel in Kona, drove us to and from Hilo and also did our Volcano Museum tour. She was very friendly, upbeat and informative throughout the day about what we were seeing and doing.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I can't speak highly enough for the big island adventure tour! This was such a fun, memorable, and super organized tour! Zip lining was probably my favorite part. The views were breathtaking. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgable! Certainly a day to remember and great for people of all ages!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our guide was knowledgeable without being TOO academic. We thought it was good that our ascent included the dinner stop, giving us time to adjust to the thinner air. We brought gloves and hooded sweatshirts to supplement the parkas and were OK with the cold temps.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great experience but wish we had seen lava flow as dramatic as in the ad, but obviously that's up to nature not the tour. Great pilot, gave relevant into throughout.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

WOW! Despite the seriously bumpy road to the top, it was great! Nate, our guide, gave an excellent running commentary about local geology on the way up.

Dinner was bordering on awful. For $200, you'd think they could allocate a bit more on the catering. If they paid more than $10 for the meal, they were robbed. Since the meal came from Lava Java, it would be easy to offer a greater selection than chicken breast or tofu!

Still, the stars more than made up for the dinner. Nate was very good at pointing out different constellations and aiming his 11" telescope at interesting 'heavenly bodies'. We had a very dark night and could see millions of stars. We even saw the rings of Saturn. Way cool.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

During the morning that's quiet impossible the see Lava evrything is grey...
We were 4 passengers ,they put 2 people on the backand we were 3 in front so I was crush between the pilot and my husband. I was in front of the dashboard and realy I could't move my schoulder and hand so I could'nt take any photos.
Dissapointed!!!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour. We did it all. Long day and not cheap but full of great activities for the whole family. The zipline was scarey initially but kids loved it. Helicopter was excellent, walked through lava tube and then the view of the caldera at night was fantastic. Vern was a great tour leader

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was an awesome trip. We saw Mars, Jupiter and Saturn. We saw another entire galaxy.
The view was amazing.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the highlight of our vacation. Absolutely breathtaking sunset. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. Saw the International Space Station zip by.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 30th anniversary, doors off the helicopter so nothing to block view. It was amazing! The entire staff was great, especially the pilot.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had an excellent flight with our pilot Koji! He rocks! I would suggest this company and tour to anyone who wants a beautiful, breathtaking view of the Big Island! We had a great view of the activity over the volcanos and also the waterfalls in the Valley! Thanks Paradise for our memories!

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great pilot! The ride was interesting and pilot did a great job getting in the right spots for great pictures.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message