Big Island of Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Mauna Kea Summit & Observatory

Whether you’re a budding astrophysicist or just a fan of Big Bang Theory, take the opportunity while you’re on the Big Island to visit the Mauna Kea Summit and Observatory. At a lofty height of 13,796 ft (4,138 m) Mauna Kea is Hawaii's tallest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 198 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Craig V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour, great sunset and the stars just unbelievable
Great tour guide

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Viswaram N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The perfect package with complete value of money. My wife and I had an awesome time performing each and every activity making it the perfect honeymoon for us. The helicopter experience was a once-in-a-lifetime kind of experience. For someone who is in the Big Island for a short span, this would be the best way to cover the best that the island has to offer. Jason, the driver that drove us around on the tour was very friendly and incredibly helpful. The food served and the wine tasting at the Volcano Winery were incredible. Overall a complete sense of satisfaction. Thank you!!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Enjoyed the views on this tour while the tour guide did the driving!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Jean Luc M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very impressive! fantastic guide, highly redommended!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

GRAMMIE

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

EVERYONE REALLY ENJOYED THE TOUR..FOR WHAT IT WAS...THE GUIDE DID A SUPER JOB EXPLAINING EVERYTHING....
.I WAS VERY, VERY, DISAPPOINTED THAT THEY NEVER GOT TO ENTER THE BUILDINGS TO SEE THROUGH THE TELESCOPES...THAT IS THE IMPRESSION I WAS GIVEN WHEN I SPENT 1,300.00 ON A GREAT TOUR THAT INCLUDED THE OBSERVATORY BUILDING BEING ENTERED and THEN GETTING TO LOOK THROUGH THEIR HUGH TELESCOPES....JANET HILL

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

bthead

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The tour guide was awesome and had a lot of information to share. There were delays getting started, but for the most part was a great tour.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Stefan Z

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The helicopter tour was very enjoyable -- the pilot was knowledgable and offered a lot of information about the island as part of the tour, and getting to see the island from the helicopter was a unique perspective that I would not have had the opportunity to experience, otherwise.

Doing what: Experience Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Jerry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Amazing trip! I'm so happy we decided on the 2-hour ride as I feel this was the perfect amount of time to explore the island.

Doing what: Experience Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Frank L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The flight was fantastic. I lucked out and sat in the co-pilot seat, so I had a great view of everything along the way. We basically flew around the island. We were able to see some lava flows, but that isn't always the case. The flows weren't nearly as good as some of the pictures you may have seen online, but it was still great to go around the island and see some awesome sights.

Doing what: Experience Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Catherine O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had an amazing experience viewing the big island from above. The ground staff was efficient and informative, making our pre flight check in a smooth experience. Our pilot was informative, courteous to his passengers needs and requests. The view of the volcanos, valleys, ocean and different towns of the bid island were breathtaking. I would recommend paradise helicopters to anyone considering a helicopter tour of the island!!!

Doing what: Experience Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

George K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The zip line and lava tour was great. The helicopter tour was only ok, perhaps due to the very exhilarating tour we had on Kauai by the same operator.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Jonathan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What an amazing tour!!! the volcano and the lava was spectacular but the real treat is the valleys and waterfalls. The staff from the office team to the fantastic Pilot Dan really made this the highlight of our Honeymoon.

Doing what: Experience Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

John Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We did a bunch of tours while on the big island helicopter trip, snorkeling, swimming with dolphins, national part, but this Mauna Kea trip was the best of all of them. Our guide Maka was AMAZING!!! I would highly recommend this trip to anyone going to the island.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Rick R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was well run and enjoyable.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Cora G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

not to be missed. Spectacular! Well informed guide. Delicious dinner!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Marie L Pucel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Incredible! Informative guides. A must do. There was plenty of time at the summit. So many stars in the sky. Everyone had time looking through the telescope

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Denise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Drive to the top of Mauna Kea for a spectacular sunset and then head a bit down the mountain for some stargazing with your guide . Recommended.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

YASUKO B

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Our guide were very good at focusing a telescope. So we could enjoy various planets and nebula. I and #39;ve never experienced such a gorgeous sky at night.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Ellen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Incredibly good! Gene was so knowledgeable that I felt like I was dealing with a guy with multiple Ph.D.s - geology, history, archaeology, astronomy, etc. Definitely give that man a raise! The trip itself was wonderful. I saw Saturn for the first time. I also enjoyed seeing all the observatories and hearing about the issues involved in the protest against the new telescope. Thank you!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Daniel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Was every single penny worth. The two guides are very competent,they know what they tell.
The flights are the best I ever had,the pilot was very professional

Doing what: Experience Volcanoes National Park: Helicopter, Coach, and Walking Tour from Kona

norsonbotrel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing place to go. Beautifull sunset over the summit with some Astronomy.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

yu kennth l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It is the best day I had in Hawaii so far. Got clear skies during Helicopter flight and saw some minor volcanic activity. Awesome areal sight of the lava field. Zipline was the best. Our guides, Dishman, Alex and Rudy were hilarious. They cant stop talking and cracking jokes, yet safety and our enjoyment was always on their mind. We zipped long lengths and over great landscapes. Evening visit to Volcanoes National Park was excellent. Had a great experience on the sulphur field and great view of the glowing magma above the crater. IMy thanks to the zipline crew and our tour guide Glenn. i will do this activity again if I get the chance!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Pamela A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I'm disappointed that I paid 50 additional for two people for guaranteed window seats when virtually all the seats are window seats. Other than that the tour was wonderful.

Doing what: Experience Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Diane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour day was long and amazing! The helicopter and zipline crews were very professional and I felt very safe. The lava tour was excellent. Everything ran smoothly. The driver for the day was very informative. A great way to see and do a lot if you have limited time on the island.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message