Big Island of Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Mauna Kea Summit & Observatory

Whether you’re a budding astrophysicist or just a fan of Big Bang Theory, take the opportunity while you’re on the Big Island to visit the Mauna Kea Summit and Observatory. At a lofty height of 13,796 ft (4,138 m) Mauna Kea is Hawaii's tallest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 114 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent trip. The weather was perfect so the view of the sunset and the stars was amazing.

The journey up isn't long at all, it's a little bumpy but really not a problem.

The guide was really knowledgeable and showed us the star formations and a nebula and the Milky Way.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

When we first booked and heard it was a 14-hour day, we second guessed ourselves because it seemed so daunting. But our tour guide Kelsey made it so seamless and easy that it seemed like it was was just another day at the beach, only a lot more informative and valuable, Kelsey was very well informed and provided great customer service. The overall day was indeed five stars.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Had a wonderful time and saw a beautiful star filled sky. The parkas were perfect. Nate was a wonderful guide, and Hawaii Forest and Trails was excellent. The veggie roll was a little bland but other than that it was a highlight on our trip!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an amazing experience!

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great tour. Knowledgable and friendly guide. He'd got a tough crowd - Aussies and Canadians. Despite that, we really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great tour. A must for every traveler.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Incredible tour that is highly recommended. We were picked up and dropped off right at the front entrance of our villa complex. The tour guide is highly knowledgable and you can tell that he really enjoys what he does for a living. Definitely worth the cost.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Highly recommend this tour. Guide created a fun atmosphere on the bus immediately, it was easy to get to your seat, you could hear everything that was said, we had great meal, we learnt so much about the mountain and the island and then the star gazing...wow!! In one day we went from snorkelling before we joined the trip, to being on the highest mountain and looking at another galaxy. Pretty special indeed. It's definitely worth going on this tour and would go again in the future.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I travel a lot and this tour was fantastic the tour guide was absolutely amazing with her knowledge of the island and the people. I would definitely recommend this to everybody, if you travel you want to see the Kilauea Volcano this is the tour you should take!!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I would recommend this trip to everyone. It was awesome. We did take the Blue Hawaiian in Hilo over the volcano and that was good. But this trip over the volcano and by the waterfalls was way better. The price is worth it. When we come back, we will probably take this trip again. I loved it. Ask for Marcus he was our Helicopter pilot, he was awesome. Thanks to the tour operator for the great trip within the island. We saw so much stuff.

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

One of the best tours I've done in all my years. To zipline, fly in a helicopter to sea the active volcano and lava as well as the lava tour to see the volcano at night was sensational. a Bit pricy BUT a must do for everyone. Definitely forth it.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great views, knowledgeable guide. Unfortunately because of Tropical Storm Ana we didn't get to go to the very top. But the view from the visitors center was still amazing. A must see on the Big Island.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The pilot was great. The tour was great.

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent!!!!! I had never ziplined before and the staff made me feel comfortable about zipping. Great pilot for the helicopter ride, got us really close to the active volcano.....what a view! Extra kudos for our guide (Kelsey), who picked us up at our hotel in Kona, drove us to and from Hilo and also did our Volcano Museum tour. She was very friendly, upbeat and informative throughout the day about what we were seeing and doing.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message