Big Island of Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Mauna Kea Summit & Observatory

Whether you’re a budding astrophysicist or just a fan of Big Bang Theory, take the opportunity while you’re on the Big Island to visit the Mauna Kea Summit and Observatory. At a lofty height of 13,796 ft (4,138 m) Mauna Kea is Hawaii's tallest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 143 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an excellent tour which our family really enjoyed. Maka was an outstanding guide. His knowledge and communication skills made for a fun trip for everyone in our group.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Tour guide excellent. The stars were spectacular and I wouldn't have missed it for the world.This tour group is very organized and well run.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a great experience! We had to push the helicopter ride back one day because of weather. The crew with the zip line was awesome they did a great job and we had a lot of fun. The lava tour was really cool and we got a lot of good pictures. As stated above the helicopter ride we pushed back one day and hoped for better weather and we got great weather and a great ride. The view was awesome and got to see some lava flow we were told that was not normal all tour guide were great and we would recommend to anyone and will be sure to book again when we go back!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Nate was our tour guide and we loved the experience he gave us. He was very knowledgeable of not only the Big Island, but the mountain and all the stars also. This tour was very informative and Nate made the entire experience what it was. This tour is at the top of our list of recommended tours.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great experience, very competent and entertaining guide and amazing views on top of Mauna Kea !!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Mako was a very knowledgeable guide.We enjoyed meeting the other members of the group. The food was mediocre but that wasn't what we were there for. We would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide Eugene was awesome and incredibly knowledgeable! The entire trip was nothing but sensational from start to finish. I would do this trip again in a heart beat

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A totally absorbing trip. Our guide was highly knowledgeable. The views from Mauna Kea are breathtaking and the stargazing was amazing. It a "must do" trip on Big Island.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The sunset was spectacular at the top of Mauna Kea. Be prepared for the cold. It was -30 with the wind chill. Parkas and gloves were provided which were much needed.

The star gazing was fantastic. We saw the whole Milky Way. I have never seen anything like it. Once in a lifetime experience!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My husband was a little hesitant about this, but the pilot and the staff was great and very informative. It was a beautiful day with very little cloud coverage. We fly close to the crator and were able to see the lave slowly flowing. We also fly along the coast and observed several whales, one with a baby. Also we saw a pod of dolphins and what the pilot said was a shark.

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful trip! Zip line in particular was awesome with more than normal safety features which was important for first time zip liners! Viator did a great job keeping us reminded of our trip and paperwork went through seamlessly. We were rained out for the helicopter flight but Viator refunded that portion with no questions asked in a very timely manner. Would recommend to everyone!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Had a great time, only drawback was that we couldn't get to the summit due to weather conditions. Would highly recommend this outing. Heavy jackets were provided, but I would also recommend layering underneath that.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

John our guide was great. He taught us so much about the stars. 80 mph winds kept us from the top which was a disappointing.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message