• USD ($)
  • English

Big Island of Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Mauna Kea Summit & Observatoy

Whether you’re a budding astrophysicist or just a fan of Big Bang Theory, take the opportunity while you’re on the Big Island to visit the Mauna Kea Summit and Observatory. At a lofty height of 13,796 ft (4,138 m) Mauna Kea is Hawaii's tallest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 140 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great guide..whole package was well worth it

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

A well run tour with great enthusiasm and guidance from Nate. The sunset was terrific and he guided us through the night sky accompanied by hot chocolate and brownies so well.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It was a great helicopter and a great pilot with fantastic information on the Island and the Crater and the Lava flow.

I was hoping to see a high cliff area - yet this area did not have that - seemed relatively flat with a pushed up crater. And the Laval flow was very slow and gradual instead of really flowing.

So my expectations of what I would see was not the same as what I did see.

Excellent flight.

Thanks

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

You used a small helicopter and the front seat was cramped and hard to take pictures! Suggest when you take a group you might use a wider and bigger one ! I payed extra for a good seat !

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our initial booking was cancelled due to bad weather, but the company were very accommodating in rebooking us on an acceptable date. The tour guide was very professional. We were well informed of where we would be picked up (we were not in a resort/hotel). After being picked up, our guide made sure our car was parked in a very safe spot, and showed us where to park it. The trip to the summit was excellent, and afterwards the guide did a very professional and knowledgeable exploration of the Hawaiian sky. This tour was a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Wonderful trip - well worth it! It's the only way to really see the volcano now with the lava flowing the direction it currently is. The pilot was great about letting all have a great view. The trip to the waterfalls not visible any other way was a special treat.

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great trip up Mauna Kea! The drive was long and it was cold at the top, but the our guide (Nate) was terrific, full of information and very passionate about his work. Unfortunately it was a bit cloudy the night of our trip, but overall we enjoyed ourselves.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was great. But be ready to spend 7 and a half to 8 hours start to finish. For astronomy buffs this is time well spent. Our guide Nate was outstanding.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

After several days of going back and forth and wondering if I wanted to spend the money for this tour, I signed up and reserved a space on the helicopter. Wow...it was so worth the money! I went on the first flight out in the morning (8:00am) and while I don't like to set the alarm while on vacation, I recommend going this early. The weather was perfect and we were lucky enough to see many volcano hot spots and several waterfalls. The pilot even spotted two whales so we were able to fly over them to get a good view of them playing! In summary, I totally recommend this tour. Definitely worth the money spent!!!!

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

My husband was really disappointed with this trip. All the pictures even the picture on this review site were brilliant. Needles to say the reality is nothing like. Very disappointed!!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

Our pilot's name was Koji and was extremely hard to for us all to understand. The 2 hour ride was only 1hour and 40 minutes. For the price, it was hardly fair! Additionally, my wife and I paid roughly $80 each to guarantee window seats when, in actuality, 5 of the 6 seats were window seats! That was a complete ripoff!

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was a highlight of our 3-week trip. It was a great experience. Studiying the night time sky was awesome as was getting to see the observatories and sunset at the Mauna Kea summit. Our driver/guide was very knowledgeable and personable. Although parts of the drive up the summit can be a bit rocky and the meal was average, this excursion is still well woth it. Also, participants need to be aware that the altitude at the summit (14,000 ft.) can be stressful.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Excellent tour giving a great overview of the immense scale of the volcano and the past activity. Not much live activity to see but that is in natures control. Staff were friendly and helpful and looked after us. We went in the four seat small helicopter which was tight in the back for a large person and the views were really only out one side of the helicopter. My wife who was on the other side in the back got a different view than I did in some areas. The pilot tried to show the main sights from both sides by turning the helicopter around and approaching from different angles. All up a very worthwhile and satisfying way to see the volcano.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Ride was great - but the volcano was disappointing not much flow or fire. I would not do it again. Not worth the price.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great trip. Local vendor was excellent. This is a tour we would think about doing again ...

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message