Forming a deep natural amphitheater, washed by the sea and waterfalls, the Big Island’s Waipi'o Valley is a natural wonderland of flowering rainforest and hiking trails. Cliffs thousands of feet high line the famously steep valley, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 51 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

lr002

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had the best time. I never rode an ATV before and was nervous, but they let me do a few practice runs and I was comfortable before the real ride. The track was amazing. It was fun dirt roads with dips and rocks and hills that allowed for a rough and fun terrain ride. It was raining, they provided ponchos, but this just added to the adventure. They allow more time than other ATV tours and this was so worth it! Would do it again!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Harold S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Knowledgeable guides, well managed, great family experience.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Ward D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Highly recommended to take this tour!!! Disappointed with your handling of the booking. We booked it for Friday. Drove all the way up there to find out that you did NOT book it. The people were very nice and we were able to reschedule for Saturday morning!!!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Sam S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

long day. plenty of free time. the waterfalls are gorgeous. definitely do not need a swim suit there is no opportunity to go in the water.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

hirani02

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Very interesting and informative.Tour guides were perfect professional.I do recommend this tour

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

James P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The guides were great and from the area so they knew of local customs. The atvs ran great and splashing through the mud was great. The only problem was it was raining the entire time so there were no pictures of the great scenery or waterfalls that were out there. Take note: don't schedule this activity when there is a hurricane in the vicinity of the big island.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

April M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour guide. My only complaint is car ride time. It's inevitable on Kona, but if you're not one for long periods of time between sites, pick something else. The tour guide was very educated and funny. He had plenty of snacks for everyone. The waterfalls were of course beautiful! I was hoping to get into one of the pools, but you don't actually get that close. The black sand beach we had time to take off our shoes and walk and get wet. If you have time, def. do the tour. You will get a great snapshot of the island in one day.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Glen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour of the Waipio Valley was fantastic. Hili, our guide into the valley, was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. His commentary during the tour brought out many things that would otherwise have been missed. A truly amazing tour that no one should miss!

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Anne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

One of the highlights of our entire time on the island. Awesome and fantastic guides too.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Cheryl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fun from start to finish, breath taking,awe inspiring and humbling views. Will do it again upon island return:

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Paul R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had the best day ... Amazing informative staff .. Made us feel safe on the bike. Would highly recommend .. So beautiful

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Kristine N S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour of the Waipio Valley Rim. Our guide, Ray, was very knowledgeable about the valley, especially he lived in the valley. The views of the valley from above were just awesome. Couldn't get the same feel of the valley if it were a valley floor tour. Although we might consider that the next time. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to venture off the regular tourist destinations. We did gthe buggy ride! Great!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Danielle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a lot of fun. My daughter and I got to ride in a side by side since she wasn't old enough to drive herself. We saw beautiful views and swam in a waterfall. One of the highlights of our trip.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Janice M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great trip. Highly recommend it. Joseph was an excellent tour guide!

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Jeff L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Views were beautiful and swimming in waterfall pool fun and refreshing. Great trip for beginners on ATV really had fun riding thru eucalyptus forest to stops along the way. For experienced riders a slow but still fun. I would do this tour again.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Dallas M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We loved this tour and Nick, our guide, was terrific. We saw lots of amazing sights and had plenty of time at each stop to enjoy the surroundings and take photos. The black sand beach was amazing and the waterfalls were spectacular. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Sandra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Awesome!!! Guides were friendly, fun, and very conscience of our safety. The ATV's were in great condition.
Saw some breath taking views of the Waipio Valley that you can't see from the public lookout. Will definetely do this again!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Michele P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Lucked out by going on the early morning tour as there were only 9 people. Nice to have been with a small group. The guides were great both born and raised in the area and passionate about their heritage. The scenery is awesome. The tour did not go through Waipio Valley as stated. It's a valley rim tour and does not go to the black sand beach as some of the promo material said. The stop at a waterfall was fun surprised at how cold the fall's pool was ....maybe it warms up in the summertime. Wrongly assumed the water would be tepid. The cracker/cookie snacks offered are passable. Fresh Hawaiian fruit would have been much better. Eat at Tex's Drive-In nearby by before you go good food.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Cheryl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide, Paul, was excellent. He was knowledgeable about Hawaiian history and folklore and made the tour fun and informative

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Judith S

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

I chose this tour because it was 3 1/2 hours but at least an hour was spent with orientation, not travelling. I was a little suspicious about the cost of the trip because I thought the company was ATV Tours yet my reservation at the meet up place had a different tour company name on it. I think there may have been different prices for the tour.
The tour itself was a lot of fun, but I expected to see many more vistas. We stopped at a waterfalls which was lovely and got to swim there, and also a beautiful vista overlooking a village in the valley. I expected more lookout points than just two. As a woman, my thumbs are short and I had a hard time keeping the gas throttle pushed at a steady rate as we bumped along. I think ATVs are made for men with the handlebars and throttle made for bigger arms and men. Nevertheless, it was a good experience for a first timer.
The guides were excellent, very knowledgeable and personable, which was perhaps the best part of the tour. Ray, who grew up in the village we saw, was fascinating to talk to and he was more than willing to share his experiences and life in the valley.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Barry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Highly recommended. The scenery and experience are awesome and the guides bring fun, enthusiasm and a true love of their land to life. Very conscious of safety and appropriate riding behaviors as well (I was a first timer and never felt unsafe).

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

jona b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Best tour I went on! Very fun, exciting and absolutely beautiful scenery. Guides were informative and very entertaining! Loved it and would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

jeffery b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message