Forming a deep natural amphitheater, washed by the sea and waterfalls, the Big Island’s Waipi'o Valley is a natural wonderland of flowering rainforest and hiking trails. Cliffs thousands of feet high line the famously steep valley, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

One of the highlights of our entire time on the island. Awesome and fantastic guides too.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fun from start to finish, breath taking,awe inspiring and humbling views. Will do it again upon island return:

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had the best day ... Amazing informative staff .. Made us feel safe on the bike. Would highly recommend .. So beautiful

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour of the Waipio Valley Rim. Our guide, Ray, was very knowledgeable about the valley, especially he lived in the valley. The views of the valley from above were just awesome. Couldn't get the same feel of the valley if it were a valley floor tour. Although we might consider that the next time. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to venture off the regular tourist destinations. We did gthe buggy ride! Great!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a lot of fun. My daughter and I got to ride in a side by side since she wasn't old enough to drive herself. We saw beautiful views and swam in a waterfall. One of the highlights of our trip.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great trip. Highly recommend it. Joseph was an excellent tour guide!

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Views were beautiful and swimming in waterfall pool fun and refreshing. Great trip for beginners on ATV really had fun riding thru eucalyptus forest to stops along the way. For experienced riders a slow but still fun. I would do this tour again.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We loved this tour and Nick, our guide, was terrific. We saw lots of amazing sights and had plenty of time at each stop to enjoy the surroundings and take photos. The black sand beach was amazing and the waterfalls were spectacular. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Awesome!!! Guides were friendly, fun, and very conscience of our safety. The ATV's were in great condition.
Saw some breath taking views of the Waipio Valley that you can't see from the public lookout. Will definetely do this again!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Lucked out by going on the early morning tour as there were only 9 people. Nice to have been with a small group. The guides were great both born and raised in the area and passionate about their heritage. The scenery is awesome. The tour did not go through Waipio Valley as stated. It's a valley rim tour and does not go to the black sand beach as some of the promo material said. The stop at a waterfall was fun surprised at how cold the fall's pool was ....maybe it warms up in the summertime. Wrongly assumed the water would be tepid. The cracker/cookie snacks offered are passable. Fresh Hawaiian fruit would have been much better. Eat at Tex's Drive-In nearby by before you go good food.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide, Paul, was excellent. He was knowledgeable about Hawaiian history and folklore and made the tour fun and informative

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

I chose this tour because it was 3 1/2 hours but at least an hour was spent with orientation, not travelling. I was a little suspicious about the cost of the trip because I thought the company was ATV Tours yet my reservation at the meet up place had a different tour company name on it. I think there may have been different prices for the tour.
The tour itself was a lot of fun, but I expected to see many more vistas. We stopped at a waterfalls which was lovely and got to swim there, and also a beautiful vista overlooking a village in the valley. I expected more lookout points than just two. As a woman, my thumbs are short and I had a hard time keeping the gas throttle pushed at a steady rate as we bumped along. I think ATVs are made for men with the handlebars and throttle made for bigger arms and men. Nevertheless, it was a good experience for a first timer.
The guides were excellent, very knowledgeable and personable, which was perhaps the best part of the tour. Ray, who grew up in the village we saw, was fascinating to talk to and he was more than willing to share his experiences and life in the valley.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Highly recommended. The scenery and experience are awesome and the guides bring fun, enthusiasm and a true love of their land to life. Very conscious of safety and appropriate riding behaviors as well (I was a first timer and never felt unsafe).

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Best tour I went on! Very fun, exciting and absolutely beautiful scenery. Guides were informative and very entertaining! Loved it and would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We had great tour guides. The valley is absolutely gorgeous and worthwhile to do the tour.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The best crew to take us on the tour they were all of fun and informative as well as keeping an eye on everyone for safety reasons. The trek thru the jungle and to the top of the crater was amazing I would recommend for others. If you have aches and pains in your body this is not for you

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was awesome! Beautiful scenery, swimming in a waterfall, incredible views. Great quads, fun and extremely informative guides. One of the best parts of our trip!!!!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

The people was really nice , the boys running the tour where really nice.
For the tour, I was disappointed as we drove a lot inside of a eucalyptus far , couple of nice spot with nice views . Too many trees !
On the other hand , my older son is 13 and he paid for an adult but he is not allow to drive an ATV , that does not make sense.
Also in the middle of the tour the buggies broke so the kids had to ride with one with the tour guide and my small son with my husband , which slow my husband and the tour .

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a wonderful time. We saw breathtaking sights and learned so much we didn't know about Hawaii. Our guides Jay and Pat were kind and very knowledgeable It is definitely something we are glad we did and would do it again.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Great times! Great views! Make sure to swim the pond and relax in the waterfall!!!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The guys that did the ATV tour on the big island of Hawaii were AWESOME! Very safety diligent in training, great info on Hawaii, and lots of FUN!!! BEST EVER!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2014

This was the first time my husband and I did an ATV tour. As far as I am concerned it was particularly difficult . It was way too bumpy and I felt out of control most of the time, even though we had an instructional introduction. At some points I was actually out of my seat due to the rough terrain. We love to bike, snorkel, kayak and hike. This experience was one I will never repeat and suggest, especially to women (because we are usually smaller) that they ought to think twice before signing on for this tour.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Really good. The knowledge of the guides was wonderful. Would do it again.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message