Hawaii is world famous for its stunning natural landscapes, its active volcanoes, its lush greenery, its warm blue waters, and in some cases, it’s throbbing cultural nightlife. Now that you’ve made it to the Big Island, where to begin? The Big ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 781 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is the second time I've been to this luau, so it was good enough to come back to. I also went to another luau on this trip, and while it was good, the Lava Legends was definitely better. There is a wide variety of great food, and the entertainment is top notch. I don't have small kids, but did see some activities for them. Don't miss it!

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Alan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I recommend doing this tour on your first full day on the island for two reasons: first, it will give you a good overview of what's there so you'll know where to go on the rest of your vacation, and second, it starts early, and if you're coming from the mainland USA, you're going to be at least two hours ahead so you'll be up early anyway.
I was told the bus would be at my hotel at 7 am, we got to the pick up point about 6:45 and he was already there. Lunch is at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, if you choose to eat there the other option is to bring your own lunch, you'll be given a menu on the bus, make your selection and it's called ahead and your table is ready for you when you get there.
Our driver, Kala, seemed to know everything there is to know about the island, its history, and Hawaiian culture, and freely shared it.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Shannon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful experience!! Kealakekua Bay and Honaunau Bay were excellent snorkel locations. We saw a wide array of fish, sea turtles, and dolphins during our tour. Captain Dave and Kevin were fantastic! Very engaging, informative, and we had a blast!!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Jan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour and excellent guide Dave. A lot to see and learn. I recommend to all.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Rose M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Josh was awesome! Such a great day filled with one thing after another!! We were lucky to see the sea turtles at the black sand beach. We got to have the best donuts ever a local bakery, lunch at a local place too! Best Mocha Iced Coffee! Got to see the volcanoes! Volcano tube! Volcano steam vents! Waterfalls! One beautiful scene after another while Josh gave us the history of the Big Island! Too much to list them all! I would highly recommend this to EVERYONE!!! WE LOVED EVERY second of this 12 hour tour!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Hawaii Island Adventure

cielle92

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Both tour guides were very knowledgeable and very entertaining. The views were incredible!

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Michael K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Hilary was very knowledgeable and kept the ride fun with his stories

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Michael K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Aunty Tutu was the best hostess we could have asked for made for a very homie atmosphere during the Luau

Doing what: Haleo Luau on the Big Island

Jack E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a fun and interesting tour. The guide was very knowledgeable about the sites as well as Hawaiian history and lore. He was able to answer many random questions about the Island and the culture and was a very adept storyteller. By the end of the day the tour was getting to be a bit long but it was interesting the whole way.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

linda E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed our big Island tour. Our guide Joe was fantastic and was very knowledgeable about the history of the island from the Gods to the plants, he covered everything. The locations we visited were beautiful and interesting. The bus was comfortable and lunch was good and plenty of snacks were available. It was a lot to take in for a one day trip but a great way to get an overview of the island and its history and let someone else do the driving. Will definitely recommend it to our friends.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

dazedinaz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent Luau with activities for the whole family to participate in and enjoy. We got to try authentic Hawaiian foods and had lessons on Hawaiian activities. The hostess was fantastic with a warm demeanor! Family friendly entertainment and educational, fun setting! Unfortunately ours was moved inside because of the rain, but they still made it a wonderful experience!

Doing what: Haleo Luau on the Big Island

SHEILA M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Exhilarating!! One of the BEST things we've ever done by far! We were well prepared for this by Hawaii Forest and Trail and they even called the day before. Our tour guide Maka, was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. The drive up was fun as he invited each of us to ask him a question. We stopped half-way for a decent dinner so we could acclimate to the elevation too. He even stopped again at 10,000 ft -- above the clouds -- so we could take photos! The Summit was amazing with all the telescopes. Freezing - 28 degrees!! We were dressed right and they gave us parkas and gloves too. After we watched the sunset, Maka took us back down to a private place along the road not the crowded observation level where he gave us an amazing astronomy lesson and viewing with his telescope as we enjoyed hot chocolate and brownies. The road was very rough going up and very dark coming down, so I would NOT recommend trying this yourself unless you're experienced and have a 4-wheel drive vehicle. Overall an experience I will remember forever! I cannot recommend this tour enough -- do it! You'll never regret it! :

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Ronald T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Marcus was an outstanding tour guide very knowledgeable in history and science of the Big island. He was very prompt and kept the tour moving so that we were done by the 10-11 hour range. thanks for a great time!!!

Joanne and Mark Tajima

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Danielle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Even though it rained most of the bike ride it was still amazing! We would do it again, no questions!! :) once in a life time experiences!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Judi A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The pilot was very knowledgeable. He gave a lot of information about the volcanos and history of the island. He circled around so better pictures could be obtained. It was awesome!

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

ceci b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

amazing view with exceptional service.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Bill W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time. Our tour guide was so knowledgeable. He gave us great ideas for the rest of our trip. Food was good too.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Gary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! We got to see many sights on the island in one fell swoop. Our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgable. They provided rain jackets, water, juice, and snacks which was a nice surprise.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Melissa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing! I would recommend this trip to everyone I know that is going to Kona. We were treated special.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Rennie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend this tour that I took on 16th June. The guides Bill and Michael were very easy going and humourous and told us a lot about the surrounding area. Despite me not heeding their instructions on where to snorkel and ending up being washed up on the sharp coral rocks they were still able to come to my aid and help me get my wounds and scratches dressed. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip and the highlight was seeing the spinner dolphins in the bay doing their stuff spinning in the air. Don't forget to take your sunscreen though.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Sara F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing tour!! I recommend for a great overview of the island. John our tour guide was fantastic! Very knowledgeable and great sense of humor. He went the extra mile to make our tour unforgettable. Thank you John!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

ornelashmimprstllc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was awwwweesome !!!! It was the guide first time and we had fun with him you have to book this tour.
He was very knowledgeable about his surrounding. What really inperst me is that he would pick up any little trash he saw. These people are proud of there island and i would be too!!! So don't mess with Hawaii !!!!!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Elizabeth Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had such a great trip with Pretty and Michael! It was definitely the highlight of our time on the big island.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message