Hawaii is world famous for its stunning natural landscapes, its active volcanoes, its lush greenery, its warm blue waters, and in some cases, it’s throbbing cultural nightlife. Now that you’ve made it to the Big Island, where to begin? The Big ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 498 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was an aswome time out for us first time snorklers. We had an amazing day saw and swam with tons of dolphins. The crew on our boat were very entertaining and kept the flow of the day filled with laughs and knowledge of dolphin life as well as the sights and stops we were taken too along the way. They were super nice and took one of our tour guides back to the main land because of sea sickness. We were also shown caves and the coast and even went to a more secluded place to snorkel as well a the usual stop. Lunch and snacks were served as well. A must do for first timers.

Doing what: Hawaii Combo: Wild Dolphin Swim and Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

One of the best tours to take to get an overview of The Big Island in one day with a tour guide that does all the driving! Thank you, Kala and Wasabi Tours for taking me on an awesome day trip. I enjoyed seeing all the waterfalls and scenery but the best part was seeing the Kilauea lava flow from the Jaggar lookout. Kala was great in giving our tour so much interesting information and history. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting The Big Island.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide Kala was amazing! His vast wealth of knowledge of all things Hawaiian made this day long tour of the Big Island very enjoyable.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed the tour, and Sal was an awesome guide!!! This is our first time on the island, and we learned a lot about the history, Hawaiian culture, plants, etc, and now have a much better idea where we want to go during the rest of our trip.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Guide / driver had a lot of knowledge about the local area. Very professional yet very friendly. There was a power failure when we were there and he had to change itinerary and location for lunch. No problem. We actually got to eat in an orchid factory. What a bonus. Don't forget bug spray when in the rain forest. Was packed full of stops and fantastic views. Would recommend as the best day I ever spent.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We loved this tour and Nick, our guide, was terrific. We saw lots of amazing sights and had plenty of time at each stop to enjoy the surroundings and take photos. The black sand beach was amazing and the waterfalls were spectacular. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Kilauea put on quite a show for us. The tour was amazing!! Even though it was raining imagine that - - raining in the Rainforest, our guide, Mark, knew exactly what to do and where to go to make the best use of our time. Including when to go to the crater viewing area at night for spectacular views. A lot of ooohhs and aaaahhs were heard. Photos just can't show you what you will see in person. Mark also made two stops on the way that others may have missed. He knows a lot about the park, and the area on the way, including the flora and fauna....which was a nice plus. We were surprised to meet so many locals who had no idea what a seemingly common tree Ugly Fruit and animal Mongoose were. Mark knew those two, and many, many more. The Mercedes tour van was spotless, and comfortable. You do need to bring or wear long pants and bring a sweatshirt or jacket - it's cooler up there! In the park, we saw other tours where their members were drenched. I heard one guide say, well we TOLD them to bring rain coats. Rain jackets yes, waterproof were provided for us, as was a nice packed lunch and dinner complete with cookies, big brownies, water, hot tea, soft drinks, juice and hot chocolate. Just an amazing experience, and all the little extras were much appreciated. Mark took good very care of us, especially my mother.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent event. Great to sample variety of foods from the islands. Interesting and informative show.

Doing what: Gathering of the Kings Luau on the Big Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely fantastic day. Our guide was most informative. Great small group. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Overall a very good, interesting tour. The description was not quite accurate, for example, it promised dinner at a plantation, when instead we sat at picnic tables at a very windy park at the coast. Also, no hot cocoa, but instead our guide took us to Volcano House and told us we could buy our own drinks. On the positive side, guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. Got up close to the eruption site at the top of Kilauea and saw bubbling lava, great night views. Good overall tour of the park, great hike into an old lava field. We were staying in Waikoloa, which made for a long day, so be prepared.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Yummy appetizers and drinks. Unforgettable sunset. Attentive and courteous crew. A great time!

Doing what: Sunset Champagne Dinner Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The guide talk too much. He was in formative about the island. He kept saying Mr. and Mrs. Graham we are not married. It was mother and son. I corrected at least 3 times.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We paid extra so that we could be seated in the Royal division. But although we were at the front 6 rows back of the stage, we were sideways on and it was awkward for us to see all the action going on on the stage. We attended a luau on Maui when we were there in 2000 and that was much much better then this. We were disappointed that there was too much singing and not enough action, although the fire eaters were wonderful. The food was also good but not enough choice. We enjoyed the evening mainly because of the friendliness of fellow diners.

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Rita
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

It's a great tour to take to see all of Big Island including the volcano all in one day. It does make this a very long day however. The tour Company provided us with a Bento box at a beautiful waterfall spot we stopped at for lunch. We thought this was a very nice touch. My one suggestion please is that there is a coffee/breakfast stop at Waimea please due to the early morning start from Kona.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a great time on the tour and our pilot was very nice and informative. The seats were so comfortable you could take a nap in them, but if you did, you'd miss the scenery which went by so fast. Great tour!!!

Doing what: Big Island Air Tour by Cessna Plane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an excellent tour which our family really enjoyed. Maka was an outstanding guide. His knowledge and communication skills made for a fun trip for everyone in our group.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Tour guide excellent. The stars were spectacular and I wouldn't have missed it for the world.This tour group is very organized and well run.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Swimming with wild Hawaiian spinner dolphins is amazing!!! My kids (ages 11 and up) will definitely do this again and again. Fantastic crew, boat and equipment. What a wonderful day!!

Doing what: Hawaii Combo: Wild Dolphin Swim and Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was the best short tour I've ever experienced. So laid back and fun!

Doing what: Sunset Champagne Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was fantastic - the weather cooperated, we got to see more than we imagined - the waterfalls, lava tube hike, the volcano and the black sand beach were all highlights. The real star was our tour guide, Joe - he is so knowledgeable about the island and its history.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I love Sal. He was amazing! The tour was great and very informative.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The best part of the tour was the knowledge of our tour guide Greg. We did the tour on a Thursday in one of the small buses so the group interaction was also fun.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing tour. You get to see Big Island in one day. Dan, our guide was very knowledgeable and expert driver. We got to see the waterfalls, volcanoes., black sand beach, lava tube and sea turtles. Loved the picnic lunch by the waterfalls.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message