There’s little more iconic than the image of a sheer mountain cliff surrounded by sea, its verdant flora overtaking the whole of the mountainside, greenery everywhere save for a little gap in the vegetation from which spouts a mighty torrent of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 151 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The best experience of my life!

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an absolutely terrific tour! The staff at Paradise Helicopters was great. This was our first helicopter flight and it was so much fun! The pilot made sure that we saw everything there was to see at and around the volcano, and all of the waterfalls. We thoroughly enjoyed it!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great trip. Highly recommend it. Joseph was an excellent tour guide!

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour and Awesome staff! Worth every penny! We loved our pilot Rachel.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a,great trip.

Doing what: Kohala Waterfalls Small Group Adventure Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful trip. I will always cherish those memories.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

The female pilot was not very personable. It did not make the trip very pleasant. Overall, the helicopter tour was pretty boring. We have been on these tours before. I know it could have been better.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We loved this tour and Nick, our guide, was terrific. We saw lots of amazing sights and had plenty of time at each stop to enjoy the surroundings and take photos. The black sand beach was amazing and the waterfalls were spectacular. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very nice trip. Wished there was more lave flowing to see. All in all, quite an experience.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

So, we only saw one little set of falls and basically no fire on this tour. I was under the impression we'd actually see the volcano -- what we saw was a minuscule amount of lava. The pilot of the helicopter was knowledgeable and friendly, very professional, and the only reason even rated this a two. Don't waste your money on this one!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The weather plays a big part in the outcome of a trip like this. On my day, it was overcast and rainy at times which obscured some of the scenery. Also, while it may have been erupting continuously for 30 years, Kilauea was not particularly active this day. Lots of steam and such but very little obvious lava. Still, having said all that, it was great fun made even better by our pilot, Reese. He is a great pilot, very knowledgeable about the area, very friendly and willing to chat. And also a darn fun pilot. This is a trip worth doing. Just know that you may not see fountains of lava. I hope you do, though.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our trip was excellent. We had to reschedule due to the weather but it was so well worth it. Would definately go again! I rate the tour with five stars.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide, Paul, was excellent. He was knowledgeable about Hawaiian history and folklore and made the tour fun and informative

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome way to get as close as possible to the active volcano Po'o U'u. Our pilot Rhys was very engaging, narrating a lot of info about Hilo, the falls and the volcanoes. I just wish it were a longer tour! I actually thought that flying over the water was included but sadly, it wasn't. But it was awesome nonetheless! I'd totally do a tour with them again, but this time, the 2hr one :)

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Sian was great in every way. The four of us had a great time and the photo stops were great.

Doing what: Private Tour: Big Island Photo Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My husband was a little hesitant about this, but the pilot and the staff was great and very informative. It was a beautiful day with very little cloud coverage. We fly close to the crator and were able to see the lave slowly flowing. We also fly along the coast and observed several whales, one with a baby. Also we saw a pod of dolphins and what the pilot said was a shark.

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

The tour was disappointing! You should be told ahead of time that there is very little to almost no lava flow that can be seen from the helicopter. The ride, itself, was great! Our pilot, Joel, was very friendly and informative!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

great ride, got to see lava and snow! which was crazy. plus we saw lots of whales while flying up the coast line. the only con was that you get a little bit sick because the helicopter is always dipping and turning.

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

i did pay extra and i hadthe worst seat back way all the way i did not like that at all going back way
the pilot explain something yu dont see at all or try to turn arround i had pain in the neck when i did finish
no never again i made a trip to Kone expecialy for that
the volcano lava was very small but view is nice

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an amazing experience!

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An incredibly great and very memorable experience! It is, of course, in many ways dependent on weather conditions.However, our pilot Dan always called ahead to get weather updates and was able to make modifications in the flight plan. His ground crew, the other two Dans, were also very helpful in the flight preparation, and in the post flight photo session! Thanks to Dan, Dan, and Dan of the helicopter operators. They did their duties...and they did them well!... :-)
Gerhard A. Fuerst, Kalamazoo, Michigan (G1st@aol.com)

We winged our way
to Hawaii…
by means of jet-powered flights,
to escape Michigan’s wintry cold,
seeking sun, sand, and surf,
wondrous warmth, balmy winds,
miraculous flora and fauna,
soothing sounds and sights,
the treasures of dreamily tropical delights…
exotic aromas, secretive smells,
pleasing, pleasant,
taunting, teasing, tempting
fine fragrances of myriad colorful blossoms…
We sailed and soared at incredible heights,
easily overcoming continental and oceanic differences in time…
leaping over enormous distances in space…
We landed at Kona…
to experience Hawaiian hospitality…
the joys, challenges, and memorable adventures
of a shared family vacation…
to sample tasty treats and liquid libations
of the local cuisine…
and to leave temporary footprints
in soft sands…on beautiful beaches…
until washed away once again
by blue waters with perpetually rolling
and rhythmically undulating waves…
of the vast Pacific Ocean…
resulting in dramatic effects
of crashing surf…
dashing and splashing
on massive volcanic rocks
along curvy coasts and shores.
Footprints in the sand
are symbolic of our human existence…
which is temporal at best…
with the passage of time
fast and fleeting…
So, in order to leave
a lasting impression
our daily deeds done
must be purposeful, positive,
principled, and passionately peaceful…
Come see these wondrous vistas in Paradise...
Gerhard A. Fuerst
12/14/2014
Kailua-Kona, Hawai'i

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I cannot say enough about this tour. Thank you Koji (pilot) and Michelle (guest coordinator) for an amazing experience. We saw the Big Island from a diffent view point. We saw molten lava, amazing waterfalls, whales and the most amazing views. Worth every cent.

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was great, loved the flight. Our pilot was great, she made sure that we all saw the Lava flow. She was friendly and the ground crew were great. They didn't have any of the videos available though. I would do it without the doors next time.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message