There’s little more iconic than the image of a sheer mountain cliff surrounded by sea, its verdant flora overtaking the whole of the mountainside, greenery everywhere save for a little gap in the vegetation from which spouts a mighty torrent of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 118 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 30th anniversary, doors off the helicopter so nothing to block view. It was amazing! The entire staff was great, especially the pilot.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had an excellent flight with our pilot Koji! He rocks! I would suggest this company and tour to anyone who wants a beautiful, breathtaking view of the Big Island! We had a great view of the activity over the volcanos and also the waterfalls in the Valley! Thanks Paradise for our memories!

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great pilot! The ride was interesting and pilot did a great job getting in the right spots for great pictures.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The waterfall was a real let down after the excitement of flying over the volcano and seeing the flowing lava. The helicopter ride is cool and a real must!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

It was a fun ride on the helicopter--especially when the front passenger door opened and we had to reclose it in flight! Also, since they squeezed two passengers upfront with the pilot, the middle passenger (me) could not take pictures. We did see a little lava flow in the rain forest, and saw that the rain forest was burning where the lava is now flowing. I was disappointed that the flow no longer goes into the ocean as the promotion picture suggests. We saw one fall that was not all that impressive. I think the promotion should be more upfront and the cost should be less. So other than this being a first time experience which was fun, it was disappointing.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

I'm giving this a one star because I would HIGHLY advise to not book this tour, or if you do be warned that it is not a "9 hour" tour, but 13 hours plus. Honestly the helicopter ride was amazing, the zip lining was ok..... But my biggest problem is that you fly across the whole island, you fly over Hilo, and then after the helicopter ride what do you do? You get in a van and drive all the way back to Hilo. 1) you have to go make additional stop on the way there and on the way back to multiple hotels to get people which is understandable, but after doing it, it really just takes that much longer to drive to and from all of the stops along the way. 2) Getting back in a van to drive all the way to Hilo for zip-lining and driving back is at least a 5 hour drive, so be ready to spend most of your day in a van or car if you drive yourself. Another issue is with the zip-lining. There are only 8 lines, and they are even tandem which is great. However, you don't go very fast on these lines, and it took a **very** long time to get through only 8 lines.... I would have to admit that one or two of the lines had great views, but the other six are really nothing special.

As my final thought on this trip. The worst part of being in a van for over 6 hours during the total trip was that at the end of the day we stopped at a hotel in Waikoloa which is where my wife and I wanted to be that evening for an event that was going on. However, since we were in a van and did not drive ourselves, and the fact that this was not "9 hours" as advertised we got back so late to Kona that we missed the event in Wikaloa that we really wanted to go to because we did not want to get back into a car and drive another 45 minutes back.

Doing what: Big Island Super Saver: Helicopter Tour plus Zipline Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The helicopter tour was a perfect start to our trip and a great way to see the water falls! Our pilot was funny, knowledgeable and just made our experience that more special! If you never been to the Big Island, I would highly recommend seeing it from the sky!

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What an awesome way to discover the beauty of the Big Island! My wife and I drove around the island the day before to view the geological and biological differences that the island has to offer. Then took this tour the next day! What a perspective! Well worth your time! The pilot was informative and skilled in his craft!

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Falls part seemed a bit like an after thought but the volcano tour was the best...the pilot circled so all could see from all angles!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The helicopter tour was amazing and our tour guide John was the BEST!! The zipline was SO much fun too! Everybody involved in the day of activity was simply amazing, from our drivers who picked us up to our tour guides down to support staff. Everybody was amazing, friendly and professional.

Doing what: Big Island Super Saver: Helicopter Tour plus Zipline Adventure

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

I enjoyed it but would have liked to seen the lava flow into the water. I was impressed by the waterfalls but not with just flying over the top of the crater. No real activity, which you can't help. Seemed to be alot of money for the flight. Ialso would have liked to be in the smaller helicopter and not so crowed in the big one. I was stuck in the middle and didnt get the quality of pictures I wanted. Overall liked the people.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Don't let the advertised photos fool you...all the "lava" we saw was a few spirals of smoke and old lava flows. I had expected to see the caldera or at least where the lava flows into the sea...we were terribly disappointed. There were two seats beside the pilot and my niece and I were so cramped that neither of us could move or even turn to take pictures of the waterfalls we flew by. (She weighs 125 and I weigh 140--not very large women). We luckily had also rented a car for the day and were able to drive to the caldera and get some excellent photos. I cannot recommed this particular flight at all and it was a huge waste of money that we flew from Oahu to the Big Island for the day just to do.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I went on this tour with my mother-in-law and we choose preferred seating. It was a good option for me as I'm smaller and everyone else was large, I would have ended up in the middle of the seat. This is a truly wonderful way to see the island and the volcano. Our pilot was very informative and the ground crew were great too. The views are spectacular.

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message