• USD ($)
  • English
There’s little more iconic than the image of a sheer mountain cliff surrounded by sea, its verdant flora overtaking the whole of the mountainside, greenery everywhere save for a little gap in the vegetation from which spouts a mighty torrent of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 100 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It was a great helicopter and a great pilot with fantastic information on the Island and the Crater and the Lava flow.

I was hoping to see a high cliff area - yet this area did not have that - seemed relatively flat with a pushed up crater. And the Laval flow was very slow and gradual instead of really flowing.

So my expectations of what I would see was not the same as what I did see.

Excellent flight.

Thanks

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

You used a small helicopter and the front seat was cramped and hard to take pictures! Suggest when you take a group you might use a wider and bigger one ! I payed extra for a good seat !

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a fabulous package and a great company to book with. It's a bit costly but was worth treating my two daughters and sister to our first time on the wonderful Big Island. Rick was our esteemed pilot - an ex Marine, we felt totally safe during our flight. He was very informative and open to all our questions. The zipline was great! The young staff were all very professional and extremely efficient - this was all our first time and we all had a blast! I've recommended this company to everyone I've talked to about this vacation.
Thanks for a wonderful experience!

Doing what: Big Island Super Saver: Helicopter Tour plus Zipline Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Wonderful trip - well worth it! It's the only way to really see the volcano now with the lava flowing the direction it currently is. The pilot was great about letting all have a great view. The trip to the waterfalls not visible any other way was a special treat.

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

After several days of going back and forth and wondering if I wanted to spend the money for this tour, I signed up and reserved a space on the helicopter. Wow...it was so worth the money! I went on the first flight out in the morning (8:00am) and while I don't like to set the alarm while on vacation, I recommend going this early. The weather was perfect and we were lucky enough to see many volcano hot spots and several waterfalls. The pilot even spotted two whales so we were able to fly over them to get a good view of them playing! In summary, I totally recommend this tour. Definitely worth the money spent!!!!

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

My husband was really disappointed with this trip. All the pictures even the picture on this review site were brilliant. Needles to say the reality is nothing like. Very disappointed!!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

Our pilot's name was Koji and was extremely hard to for us all to understand. The 2 hour ride was only 1hour and 40 minutes. For the price, it was hardly fair! Additionally, my wife and I paid roughly $80 each to guarantee window seats when, in actuality, 5 of the 6 seats were window seats! That was a complete ripoff!

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Excellent tour giving a great overview of the immense scale of the volcano and the past activity. Not much live activity to see but that is in natures control. Staff were friendly and helpful and looked after us. We went in the four seat small helicopter which was tight in the back for a large person and the views were really only out one side of the helicopter. My wife who was on the other side in the back got a different view than I did in some areas. The pilot tried to show the main sights from both sides by turning the helicopter around and approaching from different angles. All up a very worthwhile and satisfying way to see the volcano.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Ride was great - but the volcano was disappointing not much flow or fire. I would not do it again. Not worth the price.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Far most the best experience on the island. Our helicopter pilot Danny was wonderful on showing us what all the Big Island has to offer . He made sure everyone had a great view no matter where you were sitting. Our zip lining guides Chris,Matt and Alex made it memorable!

Doing what: Big Island Super Saver: Helicopter Tour plus Zipline Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Must do on the Big Island! Danny was our helicopter pilot and was very knowledgeable about the island ! Zip lining was by far a wonderful experience with our great guides Alex,Chris, and Matt! If you don't do this tour you will truly miss an experience of a lifetime !

Doing what: Big Island Super Saver: Helicopter Tour plus Zipline Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was an amazing experience! Beautiful views, and the best way to see the glowing lava of the volcano, and several waterfalls. Our pilot Koji was fantastic.From the start, we felt that we were in expert hands! He gave us a smooth ride and was very informative. People have mentioned motion sickness: none of us felt the slightest, and a couple of our party of four easily do feel queasy otherwise. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone. It is pricey, but an experience of a lifetime!

Doing what: 2-Hour Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wow! This was an amazing trip from start to finish! The helicopter tour was phenomenal and the zipline was fun too. However, the best part was probably our pilot Dan who talked with us throughout the entire helicopter tour showing us so many wonderful things and explaining them so well (we had two children with us). He listened to our interests and focused the tour on those. It was a fabulous day - one none of us will ever forget. Well worth every penny!

Doing what: Big Island Super Saver: Helicopter Tour plus Zipline Adventure

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The people at Paradise Helicopters were very friendly and helpful. We had a good view of the volcano and the waterfalls. The volcano was pretty quiet when we were there but we did see some hot red lava and trees burning as the lava spread. The open door helicopter was not at all frightening and the trip was good fun.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message