The Big Island is beautiful, no doubt about it. All the natural wonders of Hawaii are encapsulated in its blue water boundaries. But Hawaii is no ordinary island chain. The beauty of this archipelago is that each island is distinct and unique in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 35 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The day trip to Oahu was well worth the time and money. The time at Pearl Harbor, including both the USS Arizona and USS Missouri, was a must-see for every American. The tour guide was very educational, funny, and flexible. He gave us many hints on how to make the most of our day. The trip was well organized. There were people on our tour from multiple islands, but we all got there about the same time and our departure flights were very close so there wasn't much wasted time. Our entire family enjoyed the day in Oahu.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Good tour, which showed us all the advertised sites.

Our guide/ driver could have been more informative, but not his fault. The traffic forced him to be a little vague. The tour would have been better with a separate courier who could concentrate on the tour party.

On the down side we had to change our originally chosen date, and the information about departure time was wrong. Even the joining instructions given on departure were not accurate, so our pickup for the return arrived earlier than needed.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Good tour, which showed us all the advertised sites.

Our guide/ driver could have been more informative, but not his fault. The traffic forced him to be a little vague. The tour would have been better with a separate courier who could concentrate on the tour party.

On the down side we had to change our originally chosen date, and the information about departure time was wrong. Even the joining instructions given on departure were not accurate, so our pickup for the return arrived earlier than needed.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Spectacular! Very well coordinated, no problems making connections from one island to another. Tour guide, Leo, was great and very informative and helpful, loved him! If you miss this tour you are missing a lot.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great guide made the whole trip so much more interesting and provided great insights! Well worth it!

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The tour was fine and the tour of Pearl Harbor was fantastic. Having all our tickets pre-purchased was a big plus. The bus driver should get a job as a comedian if, in fact, that's what he wants to do all day. It got to be a bit much for us all!

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

All seemed to be well organized. The tour guide was very knowledgeable of the whole area, events, tour locations and had quite a sense of humor. Highly recommend this tour. Thoroughly enjoyed myself.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This trip is expensive but glad we went. Pearl Harbour was amazing, enjoyed the Missouri visit. Great guide.
We did not get to see Diamond Back Crater which did disappoint me, but we were held up in traffic. Saw Honolulu and Waikiki Beach so commercialized, so glad we were staying on Big Island, laid back Hawaii.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

This was a poorly planned trip. We were contacted that the govt had shutdown the Arizona memorial and the trip would be modified. We traveled from the big island to Oahu and when met at the airport the agent told us our plane schedule was an hour earlier than her schedule. She told us how to get coffee in airport and to return in two hours. We then boarded a bus and the driver stated he was not sure why he was working today due to govt, bad attitude. We then drove to the Missouri and toured the ship. He then drove to the beach and dropped us off for three hours. However we had no swimsuit, so this was a bust. We spent the next couple of hours riding around the island in the bus in traffic. We were dropped at the airport and had to wait three hours for our return flight. Never were we given information we could cancel the trip. We spent $700 for a trip we could have watched on TV.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

we had a very good guide. he was helpful, informative, and made sure everyone understood the directions he was giving. great trip.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Main problem was the 1-1/2 hour wait at airport after arrival because tour bus was not available and then when arrived had to wait on 2 more arriving flights before tour departure. Could have spent that time at Pearl Harbor instead of waiting around.
Would like to commend "Ben" our tour guide, was very informative and considerate of all passengers and he was very entertaining. He was also very knowledgeable and shared his knowledge of the Island and its' people with us.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

We loved the tour, once we finally got there! The tour of USS Missouri and the Arizona Memorial was very emotional. However,I was not at all impressed with Polynesian Adventures! We were told on our booking confirmation to be at the Kona airport between 5:00 and 6:00 A.M. and somebody would be there to meet us. We were, and there wasn't. We asked one of the people at the gate if they had us on a flight to Honolulu, and she found us on an 08:30 flight.
We were also told that there would be someone at the Honolulu airport to meet us. There wasn't. After looking all over for over an hour, and asking every tour operator around the airport if they knew where the Polynesian Adventures tour would be, with no success, an employee from another tour company offered to call Polynesian Adventures on his cell. He was able to get through to them and I spoke with some one who told us the bus was on its way and would take us to the tour. When we got to the tour, the bus driver said that he had been told that we weren't coming!!
I had called Polynesian Adventures the night before and spoke to their answering service and specifically asked her to let them know that we would be there. This tour cost us almost $800 and to be left in a position like that is inexcusable! In the future, we will book our excursions from the resort

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

mirry
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent all round trip! Very well organised - everything ran very smoothly. An amazing and emotional day trip. Our driver/guide was very good, kept us on time and well informed all day.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

bring food and water. It's a long day. Also, fly GO airline. You leave Kona and Oahu an hour earlier than the Hawaiian flights. You have to get to the airport at the same time, and believe me, that extra hour means a lot by the end of the day.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message