The Big Island is beautiful, no doubt about it. All the natural wonders of Hawaii are encapsulated in its blue water boundaries. But Hawaii is no ordinary island chain. The beauty of this archipelago is that each island is distinct and unique in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mary L L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What an experience. Really heart felt. The ones who lost their lives are true hero's to all of America,
I am truly blessed to have been able to see this. Thank you!

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

Dennis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was great even though the wind kept us from viewing the Arizona. Ed was a great guide and made the day a memorable experience.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

karen y

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

We had booked this excursion in advance of our holiday and what a disappointment. Everything started well. We were met at Kona airport and checked us in and provided us with instructions on where to meet. We arrived before the rep at Honolulu which was a little unsettling as we were unsure if we were at the correct meeting point we were. They made everyone wear pink stickers so we all waited together. The guide was very friendly and welcoming and wasted no time informing us of the change to the plan. Apparently the operator yes Viator were aware of this and should have contacted us. If we had been advised of this change we would have picked a different day as Waikiki was the reason we booked this tour through this operator. Turns out Sunday 13th March 2016 Waikiki beach is closed due to a festival it happens every year so we would not be going. Instead we would sit on a bus and drive around some of the local roads, not exactly fun. The driver did his best to fill the void but you could see he was struggling at times, it even felt he was making facts up to make it vaguely fun.
So with this in mind we started the coach journey to Pearl Harbour, despite the plan changing and the operator padding out the time with a long bus journey we did not have enough time in Pearl Harbour. The entire day was rushed except when sitting on the bus doing nothing wasting time. Unfortunately the weather was not on our side either this day, due to high winds although it did not seem very windy the boats were not running across to the Arizona memorial but if they were we wouldn't have had the time to fit it in.
I understand there is a lot to fit in on this tour but there is just not enough time to do it. If I knew then what I know now I wouldn't book this tour. I would look for a 2 day tour option or book a pearl harbour tour only, as you really do need longer there than they book. I also think Viator need to review this tour and consider if this is something they should offer.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

Rhonda E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The Pearl Harbor part of this tour was the best part and the main reason for choosing this tour. We also liked going to Waikiki Beach and being able to have lunch there and walk around for a bit. The rest of the tour was just driving by a couple of places on the bus and didn't get to stop, but that was okay as most of our time was spent at Pearl Harbor and Waikiki Beach. We took this tour from Kona, so it was worth it.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

Glenda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was a great experience. We really enjoyed it. We were early to the airport and our guide was already there. He walked us through each step of the way until we boarded the plane. Our tour guide, Cody, was waiting for us when we arrived in Oahu. Our guide, Cody, was well prepared and was charming, and knew much of the history of our tour. He was patient and had a great sense of humor. The tour itself was interesting and informative. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

Lori F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

Our guide didn't show up at the airport. The trip was rushed and unorganized. Would not do this again

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

kimberly h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

From the person who greeted us at the airport to the tour guide everyone was super friendly and knowledgeable about their island. Had a great day and was the bestt part of the vacation for my son.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

Anne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour! Driver was very informative and fun. Everything went very smoothly, and on time. Had a wonderful day.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

rjohnson8405

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour and Leo our driver was fabulous and went with us everywhere. Leo was very knowledgeable and helpful. We were met at airport in Kona by a rep explaining the flight and got us checked in and again a rep when we landed in Honolulu who took us to the bus. Unfortunately we couldn't get to the Arizona that day since the tug hit the dock that very morning but who knew. Great experience!

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

Robert W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

My family and I recently did the tour. Our tour guide, Mike, was great. I felt that we didn't have enough time to see Pearl Harbor and spent too much time in Waikiki. We came to tour the historical sights, not go shopping! I would have preferred more time at Pearl Harbor.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

Lawrence S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The instructions given were less than bad. Told to go to the ticket counter at the airport no other instructions. The ticket agent did not know what the voucher was. No instructions on who or where to go when we landed. No one seemed to know what tour we were looking for. Then walking we discovered a person sitting off to the side who was asking people as they walked by if they were going on this tour. The tour of pearl Harbor was wonderful. However since the Punch Bowl was closed for the day I think something else should have been put in its place. I would not recommend this tour to anyone else.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

Danielle V USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The company this tour is through was very well organized and made sure we got to every activity with no stress on our part. Great tour and a great way to hit the highlights of Oahu while staying on another island.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

Bernice V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What a great day, the tour was great and so was our driver, Ben. We would definitely do it again!

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

Theresa H B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Pearl harbor and Waikiki was amazing. Tour guide Ernie was extremely rude the entire time. Never introduced himself, told us no bags allowed (itinerary said different) and rushed us the entire time. Very very displeased.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

Stephanie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The day trip to Oahu was well worth the time and money. The time at Pearl Harbor, including both the USS Arizona and USS Missouri, was a must-see for every American. The tour guide was very educational, funny, and flexible. He gave us many hints on how to make the most of our day. The trip was well organized. There were people on our tour from multiple islands, but we all got there about the same time and our departure flights were very close so there wasn't much wasted time. Our entire family enjoyed the day in Oahu.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

candjgreen

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Nice, the driver was ever informed about the city and was very nice.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

Roger D

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Good tour, which showed us all the advertised sites.

Our guide/ driver could have been more informative, but not his fault. The traffic forced him to be a little vague. The tour would have been better with a separate courier who could concentrate on the tour party.

On the down side we had to change our originally chosen date, and the information about departure time was wrong. Even the joining instructions given on departure were not accurate, so our pickup for the return arrived earlier than needed.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

Randy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Spectacular! Very well coordinated, no problems making connections from one island to another. Tour guide, Leo, was great and very informative and helpful, loved him! If you miss this tour you are missing a lot.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

Jacqueline W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great guide made the whole trip so much more interesting and provided great insights! Well worth it!

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

Samuel G

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The tour was fine and the tour of Pearl Harbor was fantastic. Having all our tickets pre-purchased was a big plus. The bus driver should get a job as a comedian if, in fact, that's what he wants to do all day. It got to be a bit much for us all!

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

Rupert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

All seemed to be well organized. The tour guide was very knowledgeable of the whole area, events, tour locations and had quite a sense of humor. Highly recommend this tour. Thoroughly enjoyed myself.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

k

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This trip is expensive but glad we went. Pearl Harbour was amazing, enjoyed the Missouri visit. Great guide.
We did not get to see Diamond Back Crater which did disappoint me, but we were held up in traffic. Saw Honolulu and Waikiki Beach so commercialized, so glad we were staying on Big Island, laid back Hawaii.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

Joseph R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

This was a poorly planned trip. We were contacted that the govt had shutdown the Arizona memorial and the trip would be modified. We traveled from the big island to Oahu and when met at the airport the agent told us our plane schedule was an hour earlier than her schedule. She told us how to get coffee in airport and to return in two hours. We then boarded a bus and the driver stated he was not sure why he was working today due to govt, bad attitude. We then drove to the Missouri and toured the ship. He then drove to the beach and dropped us off for three hours. However we had no swimsuit, so this was a bust. We spent the next couple of hours riding around the island in the bus in traffic. We were dropped at the airport and had to wait three hours for our return flight. Never were we given information we could cancel the trip. We spent $700 for a trip we could have watched on TV.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

Kathleen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

we had a very good guide. he was helpful, informative, and made sure everyone understood the directions he was giving. great trip.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message