A lush and historic town with a funky, old-school type of charm, many of the tours from Hilo focus on the volcanic splendor of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Located only an hour drive from downtown Hilo (versus 2.5 hours from Kona), tours from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 257 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

speedjacque

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent! We were picked up on time. Tour was as described. Tour guide was fantastic. Driver was also top notch. Lunch was delicious. Weather was perfect. Views and history were beautiful and so interesting. Worth doing.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Clara V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very interesting and fun!

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Marie L Pucel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great time, was able to see some lava. Water falls were nice too

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Ken U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great experience! One of our trips highlights.

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Vicki M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Aunty Sharon treated us like Ohana, friendly, kind.
A wealth of knowledge.
Especially great at the hula...

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Tiffani A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was amazing, the staff was wonderful and very accommodating, we had to fly in two separate helicopters and they made sure we got a group picture with one. The flight was great would do it again if had the chance!!

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fun ride. We were able to go right over an active volcano at treetop level. Winds were favorable for a few minutes. Quite a tour.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Jason B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My family and I had a wonderful time on this bike tour. My husband and I live in Oahu and we traveled to the Big Island with his parents who were visiting from out of state it was great for both those who live here and those visiting. Our guides, Nainoa and Pretty did a fantastic job!! The bike ride was paced well with excellent stops and snack/water breaks along the way, kept fun and informative by our guides, and got to see some wonderful sites of the volcano. It ended on a wonderful note, eating our lunches on previously formed lava patches overlooking the ocean.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Joseph K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was one of the highlights of our trip! The guides were great and it was a wonderful way to see the park.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Katarina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

great tour guide!!!

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

jplion

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was incredible! i was really nervous as I'm really afraid of heights and I was upgraded to a door-off flight! But the folks at Paradise Helicopters were really assuring and I felt really safe throughout the entire ride. Saw some lava rivers and a lava lake. Totally awesome! Would highly recommend this for anyone who comes to the Big Island. Shout out to Jie and our pilot Ryan!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

jplion

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It ended up being a personalised tour for me and Jessie, my guide, was awesome. He's a wealth of local information and stories. Definitely recommending this for anyone who's thinking of doing an evening out with the volcano.

Doing what: Evening Volcano Explorer From Hilo

Andrew I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent Flight. The only way to see flowing lava on the Island at the moment. Ground crew and Pilot were courteous, friendly and knowledgeable. If you want the full volcano experience this is a must do!!

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Vicki D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Small group. Very close to the action. Could feel the heat from the volcano! Pilot was very informative.

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Marie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Would highly recommend this trip activity to see the big island - if you do nothing else DO THIS! . We had Pretti and Michael as our hosts and learnt so much amazing stuff about the island that we wouldn't have known just exploring on our own. The bike ride was so well organised, with water and snacks for us on the journey down, then a cracking lunch at the bottom. There is one steep ish hill which was challenge in the heat we had - but not one batted an eye when I started walking!!! Cant thank Bike Volcano team enough!!!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

ROBERT P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Trip was fabulous. I highly recommend Viator for booking any excursions. Excellent to work with and extremely accommodating. Very professional.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Anne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Leroy was the best guide with his knowledge and great story telling. We fitted alot in that day and felt safe doing it.Highlight was walking on the lava flow from 1979.You think it's another planet. Walking through the lava tunnel also. Lunch was a in the accommodation lodge with a view of the volcano which is smoking away. Again the weather up the mountain became misty and foggy and their was one view we didn't get to see.Again that's mother nature and no one can change that.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was absolutely amazing! Our pilot was great, very knowledgeable, and made our experience that much better. Thank you

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

deegibbsnh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Pretty and Mike did a great job! Loved this tour and would highly recommend. They provided great commentary on the history of the volcano. Enjoyed the combination of biking and stops at highlights along the route.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Lisa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip even with a little rain! Friendly service, spectacular views, fun day!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Elizabeth F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our pilot was Pete. We had our two 17 year old granddaughters with us. It was an informative and highly visible trip of the volcano area. I would recommend this open door trip if you want an experience of smelling and seeing an active volcano.

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Sylvain L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Simply amazing, well worth it, you can feel the heat, yet it's cool and breezy. You are so close to the lava erupting, you can't see this any other way, so for us it was priceless. My 13 year old son was in awe.

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Tami

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

So much fun! The best way to explore the beautiful volcanos. The guides, Andrea and Pretty were amazing, informative and fun.. The Highlight of our Hawaii family vacation

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Andre G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very cool tour and a really good and entertaining driver. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message