A lush and historic town with a funky, old-school type of charm, many of the tours from Hilo focus on the volcanic splendor of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Located only an hour drive from downtown Hilo (versus 2.5 hours from Kona), tours from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 235 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guides included a truck driver from one of the defunct sugar plantations, a competitive koa canoeist, and a recent geologist grad from Hilo University. These women knew their stuff, were fun, reassuring and provided us a great perspective on the volcano, flora, fauna, as well as history and culture of the area. They even brought out "the horse" for me to ride (nickname for the large frame bike frame that fit me well). Lunch was great. The ride is mostly downhill and a nice way to cover a lot of ground and learn a lot in a short time.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The zipline guides were FABULOUS! They kept us laughing and made the tour much more fun! The landscape was beautiful and I loved that the zipline stopped us automatically. This was my first time on the zipline and I'll do it again because of these wonderful guides!!!
The guide for the Volcanoe tour was wonderful too. She was very knowledgable and you can tell she loves this island. My husband asks lots of questions and she was very relaxed and didn't rush us at all. The weather was very foggy at the end but no one can control the weather! I would highly recommend both activities!!

Doing what: Big Island Zipline Tour and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park from Hilo or Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed this trip due to the lovely lady tour guide who made it a pleasurable and enjoyable trip.

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was absolutely amazing! The ladies in the greeting area, the ones who walked us to the helicopter, and the pilot were professional and timely. We highly recommend this flight.

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The crew was about safety. You really get to focus on ziplining and the site that you travel over. You can take pictures and videos and not worry about anything else. The crew here is very entertaining and makes the time fun. I would highly recommend this adventure.

Doing what: Big Island Zipline Tour and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park from Hilo or Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Lot of fun, definitely worth it. Very knowledgeable tour guides and a great way to see the sights!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our driver/tour guide Dennis was the best. He kept us on schedule but didn't make it seem that we were on a schedule. He was knowledgeable and witty and kept track of everyone. . he was amazing! I've taken many tours around the world but I rate the Volcano Adventure trip on Hawaii the best!

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was an amazing tour. We got to stop at the most relevant spots to get an understanding of the volcano and landscape. Bicycling through the lava fields and tropical woods was spectacular. My favorite part was the downhill on Chain of Craters road. The guide was very knowledgable and compassionate. The driver shared some local legends along the drive. One of our party had not been on a bicycle in many years and was treated with gentleness and patience. We also had a member with a food allergy and they were very accommodating.
We would highly recommend this tour for anyone with a sense of curiosity and adventure.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was an awesome trip! The open air ride was breathtaking.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent. The tour guide was fantastic. Great knowledge of the area, what we were seeing and answered all questions thrown his way. Brilliant. I would recommend this.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Definitely a must-do for active people, as the ride is around fifteen miles (with breaks, water and snacks provided). I learned a lot more about the park than I ever had before. Our guide Megan was very well-versed in the area, its history and topography.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

While we were in Hawaii volcano activity was mostly in inaccessible regions, and the flight was the only way we could see a recent lava flow. The open door heli certainly added to the excitement of the trip, and made photo opportunities better. We would certainly recommend this trip

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour......especially the 2 tour guides,Megan and Pretty,....they were knowledgeable,pleasant and engaged whichade all of us enthralled

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message