A lush and historic town with a funky, old-school type of charm, many of the tours from Hilo focus on the volcanic splendor of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Located only an hour drive from downtown Hilo (versus 2.5 hours from Kona), tours from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 260 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Driver was informative and friendly. Beautiful scenic ride to the volcano. Falls aren't as impressive as we expected. They are in town not in the mountains.

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I booked this for my husband, my father, and myself. We went doors off. It was an experience of a lifetime. Our tour guide was great and customer service very friendly. Out guide would bank the helicopter both ways so that both sides could get the view. Would go again in a heart beat.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was my first time ziplining and I couldn't have asked for better place to try it. The guides were great and very reassuring about what the whole process. I would certainly do it again.

Doing what: Hilo Zipline over KoleKole Falls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely fantastic. Gabe and Ninoa were great guides and Brian made a ride there and back special. I know it probably wasn't as profitable for you but we loved the VIP treatment that came with being the only two on the excursion.

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Hamakua Coast Zipline over KoleKole Falls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a wonderful experience. I booked my husband and I on a "doorless" flight. Despite my fear of heights, once I opened my eyes I enjoyed every moment. It may seem warm on the ground but without doors it gets very cold. Viator was good enough to call the night before and remind us about the jacket, it was about 90 on the ground....we had no intention of doing this. The staff and pilot, Joyce, were great. Joyce sensed my reticence and inquired about my state of mind...which helped. As I said, go for it.

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Outstanding way to see the volcano!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 30th anniversary, doors off the helicopter so nothing to block view. It was amazing! The entire staff was great, especially the pilot.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great information. Great views. Biking was a great way to see the park.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was much better than expected. Our tour guide was perfect perhaps because he grew up and still lives there. That aside, his personality made us feel comfortable and informed. Everything was exactly as advertised. Would use your company again.

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wow! Do this - you will not regret it.

The helicopter has 2 seats in the back, both with window seats but by all acounts are very windy and cold! We sat in the front where there are 3 seats and is slightly more sheltered. Anywhere you sit, it is amazing. You don't need to worry about sitting next to your partner, as there are 2 seats in back and 2 in front. The company you fly with is local.

We booked the 11:30 flight from Hilo and drove over Saddle Road in the morning, setting off about 7:45 from the Fairmont Orchid. We went to the tsunami museum before this and then drove to the airport. Don't let it worry you if you are based on the Kona side and have to drive across. After the tour we drove to the Volcanoes national park and then drove back round the southern side of the island to Kona.

The tour itself is totally amazing. It rained a little, but that just added to the experience. The flight is so smooth. My wife had never flown in a helicopter before. She was nervous because she hates rollercoasters. She couldn't believe how smooth the flight is. The pilot is really good fun and professional. The views are difficult to explain, but just mind blowing. You see so much in a short space of time!

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Best tour ever! I was terrified of the zipline part but the guides were so fantastic and comforting that I overcame my fear of heights along with flying through the air! We saw the volcano at sunset which was beautiful. All the meals were very good.

Doing what: Big Island Zipline Tour and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park from Hilo or Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guides included a truck driver from one of the defunct sugar plantations, a competitive koa canoeist, and a recent geologist grad from Hilo University. These women knew their stuff, were fun, reassuring and provided us a great perspective on the volcano, flora, fauna, as well as history and culture of the area. They even brought out "the horse" for me to ride (nickname for the large frame bike frame that fit me well). Lunch was great. The ride is mostly downhill and a nice way to cover a lot of ground and learn a lot in a short time.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The zipline guides were FABULOUS! They kept us laughing and made the tour much more fun! The landscape was beautiful and I loved that the zipline stopped us automatically. This was my first time on the zipline and I'll do it again because of these wonderful guides!!!
The guide for the Volcanoe tour was wonderful too. She was very knowledgable and you can tell she loves this island. My husband asks lots of questions and she was very relaxed and didn't rush us at all. The weather was very foggy at the end but no one can control the weather! I would highly recommend both activities!!

Doing what: Big Island Zipline Tour and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park from Hilo or Kona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message