A lush and historic town with a funky, old-school type of charm, many of the tours from Hilo focus on the volcanic splendor of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Located only an hour drive from downtown Hilo (versus 2.5 hours from Kona), tours from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 389 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Teresa c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really exciting excursion you could actually feel the heat of the lava the pilot got so close. Loved the accompanying music as well!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

katey_did

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was awesome! Our tour guide was great and made it pleasurable! He was extremely knowledgable which made the trip great. Thank you!

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

Gail W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fantastic trip. Our guide knew so much about both the volcano and the towns we drove through. We were lucky enough to have visible lava when we were there. Even without that spectacular sight it would have been one of the best trips ever. We flew from Oahu to Hilo just for this trip and it was worth every penny.

Doing what: Evening Volcano Explorer From Hilo

carolrburton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Once in a lifetime experience. Everyone involved was very professional and had our safety utmost in mind. Our pilot gave everyone a chance to see the views from all angles. I would definitely recommend a medium heavy jacket. I only had a very light one on and got a little chilly. I also wore long jeans and shoes and socks. I saw several in line waiting who had only sandals and shorts on and felt a little sorry for them. The views were absolutely amazing and I would highly recommend this tour to anyone! The doors off made it really wonderful. If you are debating between doors off or not, do it!!!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Yin-Ju Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was probably one of my favorite moments during the 8 days in Hawaii! As far as I know, the tour group is typically quite small. The agenda was very well planned and not rushed at all. Our guide Jesse was absolutely fantastic, very personable and knowledgeable about Hawaii. Most importantly, he was very passionate about what he does. Beverages and snacks were provided on the van. The dinner at the winery was actually very delicious, on contrary to what you'd expect on an included meal during a tour. Very glad we chose to do the evening tour, which allowed us to see the glow at the crater!

Doing what: Evening Volcano Explorer From Hilo

Renae T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very exciting. feel the heat and smell the sulfur. Truly amazing!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Lana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great family activity. Our two teens loved it. Great way to see the the volcano area. Guide and driver most helpful. Felt safe and had a fun adventure

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Greg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Quit an adventure without the doors. I highly recommend this to those who have taken closed door helicopter tours. This is a different experience.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Sandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely amazing, cannot recommend this highly enough, definitely an experience of a lifetime!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lots of picture taking opportunities and driver Tito added lots to the experience.

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

Rebecca H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a great tour for people of all ages. Pretty and Mike were excellent tour guides and my boys and I had a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

TJ Tyler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing experience. The tour is something any level rider can do. We had people of all ages and fitness levels. Only 2 moderate inclines, and the rest was downhill. So much fun seeing the lava tube, rainforest, and volcano. our guide Mike was fantastic!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Joanne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome Ron the pilot was great 10 stars a must do

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Elizabeth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a highlight of our trip! The ride was mostly easy, with only a couple of hills. However, if you are not able to ride at least 10 miles, then you shouldn't do this tour. This is a great way to experience Volcano National Park!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Joel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We scheduled a 45 minute door less helicopter trip over the active volcano. Wow! This was clearly the highlight of our vaction! The entire staff was great. These people really know their stuff. A call the day before helped us know what to wear, bring, and not bring. We received a warm welcome, followed by an intelligent briefing, and then out to the copter. Our pilot Brian was awesome, constantly making sure we all could see, were comfortable, and felt okay. The pilot did a great job finding great stuff for us to see including a fairly large eruption with red hot lava spewing out. The pilot was really knowledgeable about the volcano and the lava flows so we learned a lot as well. All through the flight, the pilot kept turning the copter so everything could be seen from both sides. As we opted for the doors off trip, there was nothing between us and the volcano or lava flows so our visibility was spectacular. My photographs are unbelievable making this the best trip ever.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Andrew L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is a wonderful way to have the Hawaii volcano experience! Our guides, Rich and Jenna, were generous with their knowledge and showed us a wonderful time. We might do this tour again someday!

Doing what: Evening Volcano Explorer From Hilo

Margaret Jean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very exciting way to view the Big Island..Staff was prompt and courteous. Pilot JORK was cheerful and made you feel that he was part of your group...very informative...Only one thing, I wish that we would have flown over some water since we were required to wear water life vests.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Lisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is absolutely the best way to see the island. We booked thru viator because we got a great deal. Great tour and great staff!!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Chelsea W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My husband and I loved this tour!! Now, we had some people tell us just to go through volcano national park on our own and skip the cost of a tour, but the tour guides are what made this tour so awesome! For starters, everything was as described: We were picked up on time, were given sufficient instruction and yummy snacks and a delicious lunch. Second, our driver/ tour guide, Pretty, was awesome! Born and raised in Hilo, Hawai'i she shared so much about the local history and especially the cultural significance of many things we saw. We would never have learned a fraction of what we did had we gone and hiked the park on our own. Mike, our bike tour leader and tour guide was awesome as well! Learned so much from him again about the local history, folk tales/religious significance of many plants and sights we saw. On the way down to lunch by the ocean, Mike showed us several slides in the car about local wildlife, about the volcanoes and lava. It was really cool. This is one of my favorite things we did while on the big island. Highly recommend for a fun trip! Also, if we were not leaving town that night, Mike recommended some great spots to see the lava glow after the sun went down and also a great hiking trail down into the crater which looked really cool. Pretty also recommended going up to the observatory at the top of Mouna Loa at night to look at the stars and see the incredible view. We will definitely do these things next time we go. So much to do and see on the big island-we loved it and we loved this tour!!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Craig W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fantastic! Kuma and Kelton were great guides. I analyzed everything as safety was a concern and I felt extremely comfortable with the equipment and lines. It really was thrilling and the scenery was spectacular.

Doing what: Hilo Zipline over KoleKole Falls

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A bit expensive but the view was unbeatable.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message