A lush and historic town with a funky, old-school type of charm, many of the tours from Hilo focus on the volcanic splendor of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Located only an hour drive from downtown Hilo (versus 2.5 hours from Kona), tours from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 296 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour had way more than I thought. Robert was extremely knowledgeable and kept us well entertained during the drive. I recommend this to anybody of all ages. Good job Robert !

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Rachel was a great pilot. I am usually afraid of heights, but I felt safe and secure with Rachel. She made every effort to see that we saw flowing lava and that both sides of the helicopter got a chance to photograph what we saw.

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great Tour the pilot made this trip a once-in-a-life-time adventure Not for the weak at heart. With the door off I could feel the heat from the lava as we flew over, awesome photo opportunity

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Zip lining was terrific and the staff were so well trainings and knowledgable, but also a lot of fun. Our volcano tour was ruined a little by poor weather, but our guide did her utmost to make sure we got to enjoy ourselves and see the most possible on a miserable afternoon.

Doing what: Big Island Zipline Tour and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park from Hilo or Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great trip, the driver was awesome with just the right amount of talking.

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We both really enjoyed this tour in Hilo. It was a long day but it was very interesting. Our bus driver was Sharon. She was very friendly and knowledgeable and heaps of fun. She even sang to us. Loved everything about this trip. We were not disappointed at all.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our hosts, Alexis and Pretty, had supportive and cheerful manners and all members of the group (10) were made to feel competent and welcome. Even a little precipitation didn't diminish the experience.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was amazing! The staff were friendly and helpful - even gave us great suggestions for local restaurants. The pilot was very informative and selected the BEST music for our fight. I'll recommend this to everyone!

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a great time, our guides, Damian and Kekoa did an excellent job. Very personal and knowledgeable about the area with a touch of humor thrown in. Excellent experience!

Doing what: Hilo Zipline over KoleKole Falls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome way to get as close as possible to the active volcano Po'o U'u. Our pilot Rhys was very engaging, narrating a lot of info about Hilo, the falls and the volcanoes. I just wish it were a longer tour! I actually thought that flying over the water was included but sadly, it wasn't. But it was awesome nonetheless! I'd totally do a tour with them again, but this time, the 2hr one :)

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our trip was excellent. We had to reschedule due to the weather but it was so well worth it. Would definately go again! I rate the tour with five stars.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The guide was awesome and cooperative.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The morning started with a short safety session hold at the office in Hilo airport, and review of proper gear and equipment. The team made sure we had warm clothes as we had chosen to do the Open Door Helicopter tour. We then headed to the heliport, where the helicopters were being readied for our trip. It was funny to see the doors removed and put aside! After we were safely secured in the helicopter, we smoothly took us and headed to the most recent lava fields, close to Pahoa. Some of these lava fields started June this year and went through forests and towards town and houses. Though there was no active lava coming through when we flew over, we still managed to see some red spots of lava, thanks to our pilot who was great at spotting these within the fields. The most amazing part of the tour was when we flew over Puʻu ʻŌʻō, the other active volcano within Volcano National Park. Lots of steam vents, giving an amazing contrast of white smoke against the dark black color of lava rocks. Our pilot was great to fly left and right to ensure all sides of the helicopter had equal good views. There again we were able to see some hot red lava spots! This was really an unbelievable view! We returned back to Hilo, checking a couple of waterfalls like the Rainbow Waterfall. I was glad we went for the Open Door experience, as this really gives you an unobscured view all around, and you get a feeling of total access to the scenery. One note though – make sure you are dress warmly – a good fleece, wind jacket, turtleneck and some light gloves really help make a difference! This is a once-in-a-life time experience, and the whole team, both on ground and the pilot, were true professional, very friendly and ensuring we had the best of tour possible. This is a must-do while in Big Island, and I really recommend this tour for a unique feel – how often will you fly with no door?

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The experience started with a short safety video and briefing at the Helico company's office inside the Hilo airport terminal. The staff made sure we wore warm clothes (doors off flight!), that all cameras had straps and that each passenger knew its sit number (I was on the righthand rear sit). After that it was off to the Helico tarmac! Shortly after take-off, the flight headed south of Hilo, towards the town of Pahoa which had been threaten by very recent lava flows. There, the pilot took us around lava fields, bordered with still burning forested areas. The pilot pointed at red dots and thin scarlet scars of hot lava. Impressive to see vast areas of the forest split by black streaks of harden rock. The highlight of the tour came right after Pahoa with the flight over the Puʻu ʻŌʻō volcano which was blasting out white and yellow smoke. The pilot did a few back and forth circles around and above the crater to allow all sides of the helicopter to get the good views. We stayed long enough and close enough to see some melted lava areas inside the crater (when the smoke allowed) and to appreciate the forces of nature in action as well as take a good number of video clips and photos. The rest of the flight included a couple of waterfalls north of Hilo. An awesome, highly recommended experience! Note on Doors Off: absolutely a must if you know you won't be scared, however, it got really cold up there specially with the wind chill-factor. I was glad to wear a good number of layers, windbreaker with hood and gloves!

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The morning started with a short safety session hold at the office in Hilo airport, and review of proper gear and equipment. The team made sure we had warm clothes as we had chosen to do the Open Door Helicopter tour. We then headed to the heliport, where the helicopters were being readied for our trip. It was funny to see the doors removed and put aside! After we were safely secured in the helicopter, we smoothly took us and headed to the most recent lava fields, close to Pahoa. Some of these lava fields started June of this year and went through forests and towards town and houses. Though there was no active lava coming through when we flew over, we still managed to see some red spots of lava, thanks to our pilot who was great at spotting these within the fields. The most amazing part of the tour was when we flew over Puʻu ʻŌʻō, the other active volcano within Volcano National Park. Lots of steam vents, giving an amazing contrast of white smoke against the dark black color of lava rocks. Our pilot was great to fly left and right to ensure all sides of the helicopter had equal good views. There again we were able to see some hot red lava spots! This was really an unbelievable view! We returned back to Hilo, checking a couple of waterfalls like the Rainbow Waterfall. I was glad we went for the Open Door experience, as this really gives you an unobscured view all around, and you get a feeling of total access to the scenery. One note though – make sure you are dress warmly – a good fleece, wind jacket, turtleneck and some light gloves really help make a difference! This is a once-in-a-life time experience, and the whole team, both on ground and the pilot, were true professional, very friendly and ensuring we had the best of tour possible. This is a must-do while in Big Island, and I really recommend this tour for a unique feel – how often will you fly with no door?

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was terrific. A perfect combination, exercise, information, natural beauty and fun!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My husband and I had a fantastic time on this tour! Our tour guides were funny, informative, and energetic. We learned so much about the Volcano National Park and had fun while we were at it! What a great way to see all this beautiful park has to offer!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was the best tour! The tour guides were wonderful! The food was great! I could not have asked for a better experience! They were very patience, educational, encouraging, and knowledgeable. The equipment was well kept and the bike ride was a great 14 mile work out for my family from age 14 to 53. We had a great time saw beautiful country! Thank you for this wonderful experience!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Driver was informative and friendly. Beautiful scenic ride to the volcano. Falls aren't as impressive as we expected. They are in town not in the mountains.

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I booked this for my husband, my father, and myself. We went doors off. It was an experience of a lifetime. Our tour guide was great and customer service very friendly. Out guide would bank the helicopter both ways so that both sides could get the view. Would go again in a heart beat.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was my first time ziplining and I couldn't have asked for better place to try it. The guides were great and very reassuring about what the whole process. I would certainly do it again.

Doing what: Hilo Zipline over KoleKole Falls

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message