Many of the tours from Kona, as visitors to Hawaii’s Big Island might expect, focus on activities found along the Kona coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. That being said, one of the largest visitor draws on the island—Hawaii Volcanoes National Park—is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 626 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I went on this tour as a "ride along", meaning I didn't get in the water. I listened in on all of the briefing that everyone recieved before getting in the water and learned a great deal about manta rays. As everyone else got in the water I went up to the upper deck and starting taking pictures. I could actually see the manta rays as they approached the snorkelers and got some great pictures. Much to my surprise one of the manta rays swam to the back of the boat and began jumping out of the water giving me the opportunity for some of the best photos I could have possibly hoped for. This excursion was definitely worth the time and money.

Doing what: Manta Ray Night Snorkel from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Manta Ray Night Snorkel was so fun! The fee included a wet suit, snorkel and mask. The captain and the crew were very helpful. We were "schooled" in how to hold on and what to do when the manta rays got close. What a life time experience. The captain new exactly where to take us as we saw a number of manta rays up close. It was an added benefit that a professional photographer was in the water taking photos. I would do this again!!!

Doing what: Manta Ray Night Snorkel from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My boyfriend and I took this tour on our recent trip to the Big Island and found it to be a great way to see some of the island. Our guide Dominik was so knowledgable of the history and environment, and we felt very well cared for the entire time. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing experience - hadn't expected we would get so close to the rays. If you do not have transport - take the trolley ($2) to the Sheraton and take a taxi back ($25 approx to Kona)

Doing what: Manta Ray Night Snorkel from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Due to hurricane this tour had to be rebooked and work around road closures but the company were so helpful and upgraded me to the twilight tour for free. The driver was so informative and I definitely came away with a much better appreciation of volcanoes, Hawaiian plants and legends. Next time I would do it again and hopefully the crater road will be open.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Organised locally by Hawaii Forest and trail. Good variation of sights from underground caves to the Kilauea Caldera. Everything provided including meals, drinks, snacks, walking sticks, torches, sling packs, rain gear etc. Very knowledgeable guide. Long day for kids but our 9 and 7 year old grandkids enjoyed every minute.

Doing what: Hawaii Birdwatching Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Organised locally by the tour operator. Good variety of sights from underground caves to the Kilauea Caldera at sunset. Everything provided including meals, snacks, drinks, walking sticks, torches, slingpacks, raingear etc. A long day for kids but our grandchildren ( 9 and 7 ) seemed to enjoy every minute.

Doing what: Hawaii Birdwatching Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Intended for serious birders but not necessarilly "twitchers". Everything is provided - meals, snacks, drinks, walking sticks, raingear (which we definitely needed in the rainforest !) and even binoculars if you don't have your own. Guide was very knowledgeable and knew where to find specific birds. Fair amount of hiking including quite a trek over a lava trail to the rainforest. Organised locally by Hawaii Forest and Trail.

Doing what: Hawaii Birdwatching Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was an awesome trip. We saw Mars, Jupiter and Saturn. We saw another entire galaxy.
The view was amazing.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was one of the highlights of our trip. A must due very friendly staff and nice boat.

Doing what: Manta Ray Night Snorkel from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Definitely worth it. We had fantastic guides who took great care of us. I was contemplating making the drive up Mauna Kea myself, but it is a really tough drive and you WILL void your rental car agreement. Why worry? Particularly when you throw the altitude issue in the mix. Worth it.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the absolute highlight of our vacation! Everything from the ride, to the breathtaking underwater sights, and the lively crew was spectacular! This is a MUST DO for every visit! I, as well as my entire party of 7, was blown away with this beautiful experience; I just cannot rave enough about it. It was worth every dollar!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a very long but fascinating tour. The sights and driver were very interesting and entertaining. I'd say this is more of an adult tour, as young children and teens may quickly lose interest. The amount of time spent at each stop was definitely adequate, and I felt it was worth the money. We definitely gained a lot of insight into the island and gained a deeper understanding of earth science. I'd try to sit on the right side of the bus (the passenger side), if given the chance to redo one thing because that side had better oceanic views.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a very informative tour guide and the day was very interesting

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message