Volcanoes not only created the amazing mountains, valleys and waterfalls of Hawaii, they also allowed magnificent tropical plants to flourish in the mineral-rich soil. On the Big Island of Hawaii, these fiery outcrops continue to work their magic: ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 358 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide Katie was amazing!!! She made the tour a five star tour because of her knowledge and her enthusiasm.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was fantastic. Our tour guide Avia (Sp ???) was excellent. She was very informed about everything asked of her. Very knowledgeable about the Island. BUT, I thought my husband tipped her and he thought I did. This has been on my mind since we left and I need to know an address to send her something. Please make this possible for me. Karen Smith

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I booked this for my husband, my father, and myself. We went doors off. It was an experience of a lifetime. Our tour guide was great and customer service very friendly. Out guide would bank the helicopter both ways so that both sides could get the view. Would go again in a heart beat.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our Pilot Dan was awesome! There are views of the Island you can only see from plane or helicopter. It was beautiful! I highly recommend this tour, especially if you want to see the volcano action.

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour and the guide were amazing. We learnt heaps and the guide was more than willing to answer any question asked about the islands/USA. The volcanoe viewing after dinner was spectacular - we would have loved to have stayed longer. Just means we have to go back again someday....
Only negative was that the bus configuration meant that as the last people on board we had to climb over seats (and that's not an exaggeration) to get to the back seat all day. It was super hot/humid when we were there so this made it extra challenging. Rotating the seating around part way during the day would have been a solution (although childish and maybe not always possible depending on the agility of the participants). Would still use this company/tour again though.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The people were very friendly, and it was a neat short tour. You don't go too close to the volcanos, however we did see lava flow, and a few other neat displays of natural beauty. I would recommend this for anyone wanting a short ride, but for a longer more indepth tour I would explore your options, and spend a little more.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Loved the tour guide, Loren. Loved the stories he told and all the sites we saw. For the tour of the volcano itself, I thought we would see the active lava flows. Seeing the past lava flows and ghe steam vents wss intersting but if I ever get anither chance, I will take a night time tour instead. For me it was just a little anticlimatic.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was great. Our guide, Chris, was very knowledgeable and took us to some great places. Food provided was also very good. One of the highlights of our trip to the Big Island.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour was worth doing but we did come to see some amazing volcanic activity. This wasn't to be for us on this occasion and to no ones fault. It just wasn't happening. The driver was good, the visits were good but all a bit robotic and uneventful. To me a little ho hum w/out bigger volcano action.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

We drove to the area where lava flowed into the ocean and walked on the lava out to the latest flow. Flow stopped several months ago; so no lava to be seen. Then moved on to the summit of the volcano and walked the lava tube, then dinner in the lava hotel with views of the caldera and smoke; then viewing of the caldara glowing red at night. I think a bit overpriced for things easy to do on our own with a car. If you have a vehicle; i'd suggest doing it on your own, on your own schedule.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Outstanding way to see the volcano!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very worthwhile trip. Enjoyed our guide. Best part was seeing the volcano at night!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour. Everyone was lovely to deal with, our helicopter pilot Caption Redbeard (alias Scott) was brilliant. We loved every minute of the helicopter ride over the volcanos and his knowledge was invaluable. Then a wander around Hilo, some lunch and then up to the ziplines. What a buzz. The guys Matt, Chris and Gavin rocked the lines, everything was fun, safe and the views were AWESOME! Had a ball. Everything was on time, we were looked after from the minute we touched down in Hilo until the time we flew back to Oahu! Thanks to everyone for a brilliant day - one we will remember for ever.

Doing what: Big Island Super Saver: Helicopter Tour plus Zipline Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a wonderful experience. I booked my husband and I on a "doorless" flight. Despite my fear of heights, once I opened my eyes I enjoyed every moment. It may seem warm on the ground but without doors it gets very cold. Viator was good enough to call the night before and remind us about the jacket, it was about 90 on the ground....we had no intention of doing this. The staff and pilot, Joyce, were great. Joyce sensed my reticence and inquired about my state of mind...which helped. As I said, go for it.

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message