Volcanoes not only created the amazing mountains, valleys and waterfalls of Hawaii, they also allowed magnificent tropical plants to flourish in the mineral-rich soil. On the Big Island of Hawaii, these fiery outcrops continue to work their magic: ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 339 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My boyfriend and I took this tour on our recent trip to the Big Island and found it to be a great way to see some of the island. Our guide Dominik was so knowledgable of the history and environment, and we felt very well cared for the entire time. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Due to hurricane this tour had to be rebooked and work around road closures but the company were so helpful and upgraded me to the twilight tour for free. The driver was so informative and I definitely came away with a much better appreciation of volcanoes, Hawaiian plants and legends. Next time I would do it again and hopefully the crater road will be open.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful trip thru the local tour operator. Our guide Jesse was very knowledgeable about the island, the volcanic history and having grown up in Hawaii he had lots of great island stories. The dinner overlooking the volcano on a clear night was amazing. We saw the glow of the lava and my husband who is a photographer got great pictures. We saw steam coming out of the volcano besides the chemicals wafting out the volcano (which were drifting away from us). It was great!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great information. Great views. Biking was a great way to see the park.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was excellent. It was the best tour we have ever been on. Our tour guide, Katie, was amazing! You could tell she really loved her job which helped set this tour above all the rest! We learned everything we needed to know about the island.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 30th anniversary, doors off the helicopter so nothing to block view. It was amazing! The entire staff was great, especially the pilot.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great pilot! The ride was interesting and pilot did a great job getting in the right spots for great pictures.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The company did a great job of catering to their customers with drinks and cool clothes. I feel that this tour could have started earlier to allow us the opportunity to visit all the attractions without being rushed. We were unable to visit the Jaggar Museum since we arrived at 7:25 and it closed at 7:30. For those people who do not have their own vehicle I would recommend this tour. More commentary on the attractions and sites would also be helpful. I had no idea what the significance of the painted church was. Sitting at the back of the van could also have something to do with my lack of information as I feel I may have missed some commentary. Good tour, could be better.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

It was a fun ride on the helicopter--especially when the front passenger door opened and we had to reclose it in flight! Also, since they squeezed two passengers upfront with the pilot, the middle passenger (me) could not take pictures. We did see a little lava flow in the rain forest, and saw that the rain forest was burning where the lava is now flowing. I was disappointed that the flow no longer goes into the ocean as the promotion picture suggests. We saw one fall that was not all that impressive. I think the promotion should be more upfront and the cost should be less. So other than this being a first time experience which was fun, it was disappointing.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Terrible! It was a tour of Hilo not of Volcano Natl Park. Do not recommend unless you want to see all of Hilo.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

I'm giving this a one star because I would HIGHLY advise to not book this tour, or if you do be warned that it is not a "9 hour" tour, but 13 hours plus. Honestly the helicopter ride was amazing, the zip lining was ok..... But my biggest problem is that you fly across the whole island, you fly over Hilo, and then after the helicopter ride what do you do? You get in a van and drive all the way back to Hilo. 1) you have to go make additional stop on the way there and on the way back to multiple hotels to get people which is understandable, but after doing it, it really just takes that much longer to drive to and from all of the stops along the way. 2) Getting back in a van to drive all the way to Hilo for zip-lining and driving back is at least a 5 hour drive, so be ready to spend most of your day in a van or car if you drive yourself. Another issue is with the zip-lining. There are only 8 lines, and they are even tandem which is great. However, you don't go very fast on these lines, and it took a **very** long time to get through only 8 lines.... I would have to admit that one or two of the lines had great views, but the other six are really nothing special.

As my final thought on this trip. The worst part of being in a van for over 6 hours during the total trip was that at the end of the day we stopped at a hotel in Waikoloa which is where my wife and I wanted to be that evening for an event that was going on. However, since we were in a van and did not drive ourselves, and the fact that this was not "9 hours" as advertised we got back so late to Kona that we missed the event in Wikaloa that we really wanted to go to because we did not want to get back into a car and drive another 45 minutes back.

Doing what: Big Island Super Saver: Helicopter Tour plus Zipline Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guides included a truck driver from one of the defunct sugar plantations, a competitive koa canoeist, and a recent geologist grad from Hilo University. These women knew their stuff, were fun, reassuring and provided us a great perspective on the volcano, flora, fauna, as well as history and culture of the area. They even brought out "the horse" for me to ride (nickname for the large frame bike frame that fit me well). Lunch was great. The ride is mostly downhill and a nice way to cover a lot of ground and learn a lot in a short time.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message