Volcanoes not only created the amazing mountains, valleys and waterfalls of Hawaii, they also allowed magnificent tropical plants to flourish in the mineral-rich soil. On the Big Island of Hawaii, these fiery outcrops continue to work their magic: ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 314 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guides included a truck driver from one of the defunct sugar plantations, a competitive koa canoeist, and a recent geologist grad from Hilo University. These women knew their stuff, were fun, reassuring and provided us a great perspective on the volcano, flora, fauna, as well as history and culture of the area. They even brought out "the horse" for me to ride (nickname for the large frame bike frame that fit me well). Lunch was great. The ride is mostly downhill and a nice way to cover a lot of ground and learn a lot in a short time.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was very friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the island and volcanoes.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We loved this tour. We were picked up from our hotel by a very knowledgeable guide who made our experience first class. The trip was nicely broken up to avoid any long travel spells. Highlights included: coffee farm, Lava tubes, steaming vents and the view of the active lava pond of Kilauea volcano.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had no idea when we booked this tour that we would be the only 2 on the tour. The other group of 4 cancelled at the last minute. Jordon was our guide and he made the tour so special. Everything was spectacular. The dinner was great and the view unbelievable. Because it was just the 3 of us, we bonded. Jordon told us about live on the island and gave us a special background about the island. I would recommend this tour to our friends and they would be lucky to get Jordon as a guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great all day trip. Our guide Katie was very knowledgeable. Wouldn't have been able to navigate through the park and had the experience we had without her.i

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Loved the tour! Our guide Aaron was fantastic. He is so knowledgable and personal. He made the tour great! Would do it again and again with him as a tour guide!!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The helicopter tour was amazing and our tour guide John was the BEST!! The zipline was SO much fun too! Everybody involved in the day of activity was simply amazing, from our drivers who picked us up to our tour guides down to support staff. Everybody was amazing, friendly and professional.

Doing what: Big Island Super Saver: Helicopter Tour plus Zipline Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Lot of fun, definitely worth it. Very knowledgeable tour guides and a great way to see the sights!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour is the best way to see the island. Koji (our pilot) and the ground staff were awesome. Loved the flight as well as the gorgeous landing site. Will definitely do this tour again when we are on on the Big Island since it was an unforgettable experience.

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was awesome and we went to some really unforgettable sites. It was a great experience and our guide Lauren was really knowledgable and great.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was absolutely amazing! The ladies in the greeting area, the ones who walked us to the helicopter, and the pilot were professional and timely. We highly recommend this flight.

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our pilot Danny provided instructions early in the morning for our trip. We had 6 people on the trip (3 in my party) tha had never flown in a helicopter. Danny has military background in piloting that showed when he flew us around the island. Danny flew us with precision and precise positioning to see the island of Hawaii including mountains (volcanos), gulleys, cliffs, beaches, lava flows, and landmarks. He keep the trip focused on areas that you cannot see by car so it was a more unique and valuable sightseeing experience. We spent about 90 minutes flying from Kona airport over the South Kona Forest Reserve to the Kilauea volcano. We flew over the Volcanoes National Park and hovered above flowing lava within the volcano. Danny flew us in several directions above the lava so both sides of the helicopter could view/take pictures of the lava. He changed directions many times on this trip to allow both sides to get gret views. We then flew up the coast from Hilo (rainforest) and over massive cliffs. He hovered over the ocean so we could view the cliffs and awsome views of the island. We flew up some gulleys on the north part of the island where we landed on top of a mountain. We walked to a house built in 1950s secluded in the forest (privately owned) that you cannot reach unless by helicopter. Nice hike and rest stop of about an hour. Then back to the tour of the western coast of Hawaii for about 30 minutes flying over Parker Ranch, Kohalo Coast, and beaches while viewing Mauna Kea. The entire trip you view the old lava flows throughout the island with brown, black and multicolored lava dried up for years flowing to the sea. I HIGHLY recommend this specific tour and tour company. Best views of the island that you can experience and worth every penny. I also recommend paying extra for a window seat for better photo ops and face forward seating if you get motion illness.

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was amazing! Our tour guide Mark was extremely informative and just seemed to know the answer to every question. The food was simple yet good. It does get cold so bring pants and a jacket. Don't expect to see the actual lava flow of course as that is too dangerous. You do see a volcano smoking

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Dominik was an amazing and knowledgeable tour guide for the coffee and volcano tour! My friends and I learned so much about the island. We would never have had this enriched experience if we had toured the island on our own.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message