Volcanoes not only created the amazing mountains, valleys and waterfalls of Hawaii, they also allowed magnificent tropical plants to flourish in the mineral-rich soil. On the Big Island of Hawaii, these fiery outcrops continue to work their magic: ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 332 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A bit expensive but the view was unbeatable.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Diane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great trip. Knowledgeable guide Katy. Good meals and excellent visits to Kona Coffee Farm and Volcanoes National Park.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

speedjacque

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent! We were picked up on time. Tour was as described. Tour guide was fantastic. Driver was also top notch. Lunch was delicious. Weather was perfect. Views and history were beautiful and so interesting. Worth doing.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Madhav M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an excellent trip. The pace was just right - not too rushed and not too slow. Our guide Jim Carey did a great job of informing us about the history as well as telling us stories from the native Hawaiians' folklore. We hit all the scenic highlights including a view of the volcanic glow at night. We took the tour instead of driving ourselves so we can avoid driving the saddle road at night. The included dinner at the Kilauea Lodge Restaurant turned out to be excellent. Normally we don't expect included meals to be anything special but this was different.

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Latoya W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Loved this tour - was a great way to see the island and I cannot even describe the amazing volcano experience!!

Our tour guide was FANTASTIC!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Marie L Pucel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great time, was able to see some lava. Water falls were nice too

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Clara V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very interesting and fun!

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Karen E

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We both had a good time. Our guide was knowledgeable and courteous. We saw some beautiful sights and learned some neat history of the islands. I only wish that we had skipped the stops in town so that more time could have been spent at the volcanoes since that is what the tour is meant to be about. We especially could have done without the stop at the convenience store to get snacks for the day. It would be better that they advise you get those ahead of time and then more time could be spent enjoying the sights. We felt too rushed at some of them. Overall, it was a good day and I'd definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Myron R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

It was fantastic! Everyone that worked there was friendly and helpful. We did the doors off tour, the best way to go. Our pilot, Joyce, was amazing. Very knowledgeable and a great pilot. It was one of the highlights of our trip.
Myron Ruth

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Diane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent Tour, informative, great opportunities for picture taking! Great lunch and awesome dinner!!!!! Highly recommend for families or large groups!!!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Jason B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My family and I had a wonderful time on this bike tour. My husband and I live in Oahu and we traveled to the Big Island with his parents who were visiting from out of state it was great for both those who live here and those visiting. Our guides, Nainoa and Pretty did a fantastic job!! The bike ride was paced well with excellent stops and snack/water breaks along the way, kept fun and informative by our guides, and got to see some wonderful sites of the volcano. It ended on a wonderful note, eating our lunches on previously formed lava patches overlooking the ocean.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Tiffani A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was amazing, the staff was wonderful and very accommodating, we had to fly in two separate helicopters and they made sure we got a group picture with one. The flight was great would do it again if had the chance!!

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

jplion

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was incredible! i was really nervous as I'm really afraid of heights and I was upgraded to a door-off flight! But the folks at Paradise Helicopters were really assuring and I felt really safe throughout the entire ride. Saw some lava rivers and a lava lake. Totally awesome! Would highly recommend this for anyone who comes to the Big Island. Shout out to Jie and our pilot Ryan!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

cooper c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

beautiful, amazing, and well thought out.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Brenna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Awesome tour! Our small-group turned out to just be my daughter and myself, so it was really a private tour. Our guide, Katie, was the best. She was very personable and by the end of the day felt like a friend. Because it was just the two of us we were able to see and do some extra things that a larger group would have missed out on. If you just plan one activity for your stay, then this is the one.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Katarina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

great tour guide!!!

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Joseph K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was one of the highlights of our trip! The guides were great and it was a wonderful way to see the park.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Bill P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What an outstanding tour! Dominik the tour guide did a great job and is very knowledgeable about volcanoes and all things Hawaiian. This was my favorite tour during my week in Hawaii and I would recommend it to everyone!

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fun ride. We were able to go right over an active volcano at treetop level. Winds were favorable for a few minutes. Quite a tour.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Rosalie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

DO THIS TOUR FIRST when visiting Big Island. Dominik is great, he's so knowledgeable about Big Island-- history, nature, wildlife, local places to eat and took extra time for my touristy needs. My husband and I found it so cool to apply everything we learned on this tour to when we went about the island on our own thereafter. I'm not big on hiking but the hike was great even though it rained for a bit, you get amazing views and awesome photo opportunities. The Kona coffee farm was fun, you get to learn about what makes Kona coffee special and you get unlimited samples. Trust me, you will buy coffee from this farm You are also well fed throughout the tour--lunch, desserts, snacks and dinner. DO THIS TOUR, YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Michael J A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

SPECTACULAR!! AMAZING!! SUPERB!! Add about 30 more adjectives and you will get an idea of how fun this was. Our pilot, CHRIS, was a Marine helicopter pilot for a couple of decades, and took us up close and personal into the narrowest of canyons, with 4 waterfalls each a few hundred feet high flowing heavily, and we were right next to them. He landed us in the remote valley where King Kamehameha was hidden when he was a child from the rulers who were trying to kill him before he could claim the throne. We spent an hour having a picnic and hiking around. We made alot of memories on this flight, and cannot thank Chris and Paradise Helicopters enough. I would absolutely recommend everyone do this. There is a point where you are looking at the cost and going Thats a helluva lotta money for three hours but trust me, just do it. The money will come and go but the memories from this ride will last forever.

A note of caution, this is a weather dependent thing - the island has almost daily rain on one side, and I would really recommend getting a clear understanding how it will work if you need to reschedule. We drew very lucky, huge rains the day before and after our ride, but spectacular clear skies were what we got. Sometimes you just get lucky, as I said. Also, my wife experienced nausea because she got the seat facing backwards in the copter. If anyone in your party is prone to sea/air sickness or motion sickness, let them know so they can do their best to minimize anything in that regard.

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

Dennis L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was such a memorable tour!!! Our tour guide JIM is very knowledgeable of the hawaiian history eventhough he is not a native there.. He is very patient telling us stories about the places we visited...I highly recommended this trip! Its worth your money... Looking forward to go back to Big Island again... Was such a lovely place! We really enjoyed it!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Vicki M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Aunty Sharon treated us like Ohana, friendly, kind.
A wealth of knowledge.
Especially great at the hula...

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Ken U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great experience! One of our trips highlights.

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message