Volcanoes not only created the amazing mountains, valleys and waterfalls of Hawaii, they also allowed magnificent tropical plants to flourish in the mineral-rich soil. On the Big Island of Hawaii, these fiery outcrops continue to work their magic: ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 490 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Leroy was the best guide with his knowledge and great story telling. We fitted alot in that day and felt safe doing it.Highlight was walking on the lava flow from 1979.You think it's another planet. Walking through the lava tunnel also. Lunch was a in the accommodation lodge with a view of the volcano which is smoking away. Again the weather up the mountain became misty and foggy and their was one view we didn't get to see.Again that's mother nature and no one can change that.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was the best experience I had in Hawaii. From the moment our driver, Jim picked us up, we knew we were in for a good time. He was full of energy and had excellent knowledge of the island, culture and island folktales.

A picnic lunch was provided half way to the volcano. Jim's attention to detail was impeccable. He brought place mats for the table and provided hot towels after serving some hot chocolate before heading home. On the way home, he noticed we were falling asleep, he played some soft Hawaiian music. When we reached the hotel, he sang a good-bye song.

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

loved it. tour guide steve obviously loves his job and the island. very informative. i had a birthday ill never equal or forget. i recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our pilot was Pete. We had our two 17 year old granddaughters with us. It was an informative and highly visible trip of the volcano area. I would recommend this open door trip if you want an experience of smelling and seeing an active volcano.

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Simply amazing, well worth it, you can feel the heat, yet it's cool and breezy. You are so close to the lava erupting, you can't see this any other way, so for us it was priceless. My 13 year old son was in awe.

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip even with a little rain! Friendly service, spectacular views, fun day!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Pretty and Mike did a great job! Loved this tour and would highly recommend. They provided great commentary on the history of the volcano. Enjoyed the combination of biking and stops at highlights along the route.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was absolutely amazing! Our pilot was great, very knowledgeable, and made our experience that much better. Thank you

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a very informative tour! Very cool to see the lava rocks and cave. Wish we could have gotten closer to the active volcano. Lunch and dinner provided!

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was excellent. We would never have seen all that we did had we tried to do this trip on our own. Zane was the best tour guide ever. He attended to our every need. He is very knowledgeable about the Island and we came away knowing about the Island's history and especially about mother volcano. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Katie is an exceptional and informative tour guide. The trip to the Thai restaurant was one of the best meals we ate on our trip. The only downside was that it rained that evening so we did not get a good view of the volcano

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

While the weather was not perfect, our tour guide Taj was fantastic and made the trip both fun and educational.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very well organised with pick up on time. Busy afternoon and evening with great views of the volcano and the lava glowing at night - as a keen photographer I would have preferred to arrive at twilight rather than dark in order to set up and to have had more time but not sure how the schedule could accommodate this. Be prepared for a late finish - was 11.45 pm back at the hotel. The guide was very informative and pleasant.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Had a great trip we did the 3 hour trip around the Big Island our pilot was professional and informed. Fortunately we had fairly good weather and the windward side we got to see great water falls and valleys.
The landing in the outback was a minor disappointment we were high on a ridge and had great views but it was a clear cut area and hunting/ work camp. We did hike to the camp cabin was nice but not great. I would recommend this.

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great tour. Our guide Justin was genuinely knowledgeable about the history and ecology of the island. This hasn't been true of some of the other Big Island tours I've been on. As a professor, I'd list 'informed guides' as one of the strengths of this company. As for the tour itself, it's a good way to see the major volcanic sites of the park in a single day. The hikes are basically 2-3 mile walks over rough ground -- no need for poles or hiking boots but wear proper walking shoes. Some reviewers complain about the length of time the tour spends on the bus, but if you're trying to see these sites in a day you'll be spending the same time amount of time in a car, without a guide. If you only have one day and you want to see the major volcanic sites in the park, this tour is a good use of your time and money.


I gather the other guides are also good, so I'd


This tour is a good use of your time and money if you only have one day for the park/

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Loved this trip! Lot's of information.

Would love to have had a full hour at the Kilauea Caldera, after dark! It's the highlight of the whole tour! 30 minutes left me hungry for more!

Thank you for a great day on the mountain!

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Everything could be done from yourself. Due to the fact the Kilauea is currently very calm, you can't see anything spectacular. The only interesting thing is the glowing steam in the darkness. But for this there is no need to book this tour. The guide was great, but I had expected more to see.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great trip run by a very professional tour group. Our guide Mark was brilliant, knowledgeable, passionate and spent the entire day engaged with everyone on the tour. Well worth a visit to Big Island.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Rachel, our pilot, was wonderful. Very informative and made sure everyone had a photo opportunity. Flying with the doors off is the only way to go! Up close and personal experience, a must adventure.

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an excellent tour, culminating in a night-time show of the glowing volcano beneath a clear sky with a crescent moon! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour!!! The tour guide was very knowledgable about the volcano and as a geologist I found that he was able to answer all of my questions! I highly recommend this tour to anyone who is looking for a fun filled day of volcano exploration!!!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Note from Viator: Aloha Susan, Thank you so much for your comments! We know that the personal experience is the future of tours and hospitality. I was challenged by your knowledge and encouraged to be at my best. We had a great day indeed! Mahalo Nui Loa!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were upgraded. To the 2 hour tour from Kona. We enjoyed the tour. We saw lava flowing and it was incredible

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

David Barnes
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Priddy and Mike had us for the day and it was totally awesome.The bikes fit well and we had lots of narative about the area that we wouldn't have known otherwise.It was a beautiful and very fun ride all day that ended on the rocks of the coast at the southern end of the park with food that we picked for ourselves earlier in the booking.It couldn't have been more fun and will not be forgotten!!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very cool tour and a really good and entertaining driver. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a fantastic day, made particularly great by our tour guide, Chris. Definitely would recommend this tour to anyone visiting the Big Island!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message