Volcanoes not only created the amazing mountains, valleys and waterfalls of Hawaii, they also allowed magnificent tropical plants to flourish in the mineral-rich soil. On the Big Island of Hawaii, these fiery outcrops continue to work their magic: ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 414 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very nice trip. Wished there was more lave flowing to see. All in all, quite an experience.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was beyond expectations. Excellent guide! Knowledgeable and pleasant. See the Big Island highlights and amenities included. The best introduction to the Big Island.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The weather plays a big part in the outcome of a trip like this. On my day, it was overcast and rainy at times which obscured some of the scenery. Also, while it may have been erupting continuously for 30 years, Kilauea was not particularly active this day. Lots of steam and such but very little obvious lava. Still, having said all that, it was great fun made even better by our pilot, Reese. He is a great pilot, very knowledgeable about the area, very friendly and willing to chat. And also a darn fun pilot. This is a trip worth doing. Just know that you may not see fountains of lava. I hope you do, though.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The tour was ok, you don't get to see a live lava flow. You do get to walk out onto some different lava fields, and you see ALOT of craters (my fiancé called it the big hole tour). You do see a black sand beach early on, but if you know your way around the park, not worth the price of this tour.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Volcano portion was OK but waterfalls very disappointing. Pilot stayed so high and far away that the waterfalls looked a half inch tall or less. Flight was expensive and only so-so value for the money. From what others told us re their experiences, other companies offer better value for the money

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our trip was excellent. We had to reschedule due to the weather but it was so well worth it. Would definately go again! I rate the tour with five stars.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The weather was not cooperative but that didn't ruin the trip. Our guide was very informative, careful driver and looking out for us. We drove home in horrible fog for most of the way, but always felt safe. Great experience!

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

GREAT WAY TO SEE THE ISLAND. WONDERFUL PILOT AND LANDING IN THE VALLEY WAS BEAUTIFUL.. NOT TO BE MISSED

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely wonderful trip!!! Our guide, Justin was a pleasure to spend time with, he was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. Our tour bus was brand new and top of the line and the lunch and dinner were lovely. He took us to trails when they were quiet so that we weren't fighting the crowds and we got to see Kilauea steaming during the day and burning fiery hot at night. Highly recommend this!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome way to get as close as possible to the active volcano Po'o U'u. Our pilot Rhys was very engaging, narrating a lot of info about Hilo, the falls and the volcanoes. I just wish it were a longer tour! I actually thought that flying over the water was included but sadly, it wasn't. But it was awesome nonetheless! I'd totally do a tour with them again, but this time, the 2hr one :)

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Chris had a tremendous amount of knowledge the entire day. He kept us informed, safe, not rushed and away from crowds to enjoy every aspect of the tour!!!
I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful guide We learned so much.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our hosts, Alexis and Pretty, had supportive and cheerful manners and all members of the group (10) were made to feel competent and welcome. Even a little precipitation didn't diminish the experience.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was amazing! The staff were friendly and helpful - even gave us great suggestions for local restaurants. The pilot was very informative and selected the BEST music for our fight. I'll recommend this to everyone!

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message