Volcanoes not only created the amazing mountains, valleys and waterfalls of Hawaii, they also allowed magnificent tropical plants to flourish in the mineral-rich soil. On the Big Island of Hawaii, these fiery outcrops continue to work their magic: ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 422 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great Tour the pilot made this trip a once-in-a-life-time adventure Not for the weak at heart. With the door off I could feel the heat from the lava as we flew over, awesome photo opportunity

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Kilauea put on quite a show for us. The tour was amazing!! Even though it was raining imagine that - - raining in the Rainforest, our guide, Mark, knew exactly what to do and where to go to make the best use of our time. Including when to go to the crater viewing area at night for spectacular views. A lot of ooohhs and aaaahhs were heard. Photos just can't show you what you will see in person. Mark also made two stops on the way that others may have missed. He knows a lot about the park, and the area on the way, including the flora and fauna....which was a nice plus. We were surprised to meet so many locals who had no idea what a seemingly common tree Ugly Fruit and animal Mongoose were. Mark knew those two, and many, many more. The Mercedes tour van was spotless, and comfortable. You do need to bring or wear long pants and bring a sweatshirt or jacket - it's cooler up there! In the park, we saw other tours where their members were drenched. I heard one guide say, well we TOLD them to bring rain coats. Rain jackets yes, waterproof were provided for us, as was a nice packed lunch and dinner complete with cookies, big brownies, water, hot tea, soft drinks, juice and hot chocolate. Just an amazing experience, and all the little extras were much appreciated. Mark took good very care of us, especially my mother.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was fantastic! Guide, Dominick, was excellent -- very knowledgeable and personable. We had a great time!

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Rachel was a great pilot. I am usually afraid of heights, but I felt safe and secure with Rachel. She made every effort to see that we saw flowing lava and that both sides of the helicopter got a chance to photograph what we saw.

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Mon mari et moi avons très apprécié ce tour. Nous le recommandons grandement.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very nice trip. Wished there was more lave flowing to see. All in all, quite an experience.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Overall a very good, interesting tour. The description was not quite accurate, for example, it promised dinner at a plantation, when instead we sat at picnic tables at a very windy park at the coast. Also, no hot cocoa, but instead our guide took us to Volcano House and told us we could buy our own drinks. On the positive side, guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. Got up close to the eruption site at the top of Kilauea and saw bubbling lava, great night views. Good overall tour of the park, great hike into an old lava field. We were staying in Waikoloa, which made for a long day, so be prepared.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

So, we only saw one little set of falls and basically no fire on this tour. I was under the impression we'd actually see the volcano -- what we saw was a minuscule amount of lava. The pilot of the helicopter was knowledgeable and friendly, very professional, and the only reason even rated this a two. Don't waste your money on this one!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was beyond expectations. Excellent guide! Knowledgeable and pleasant. See the Big Island highlights and amenities included. The best introduction to the Big Island.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The weather plays a big part in the outcome of a trip like this. On my day, it was overcast and rainy at times which obscured some of the scenery. Also, while it may have been erupting continuously for 30 years, Kilauea was not particularly active this day. Lots of steam and such but very little obvious lava. Still, having said all that, it was great fun made even better by our pilot, Reese. He is a great pilot, very knowledgeable about the area, very friendly and willing to chat. And also a darn fun pilot. This is a trip worth doing. Just know that you may not see fountains of lava. I hope you do, though.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The tour was ok, you don't get to see a live lava flow. You do get to walk out onto some different lava fields, and you see ALOT of craters (my fiancé called it the big hole tour). You do see a black sand beach early on, but if you know your way around the park, not worth the price of this tour.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Volcano portion was OK but waterfalls very disappointing. Pilot stayed so high and far away that the waterfalls looked a half inch tall or less. Flight was expensive and only so-so value for the money. From what others told us re their experiences, other companies offer better value for the money

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our trip was excellent. We had to reschedule due to the weather but it was so well worth it. Would definately go again! I rate the tour with five stars.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The weather was not cooperative but that didn't ruin the trip. Our guide was very informative, careful driver and looking out for us. We drove home in horrible fog for most of the way, but always felt safe. Great experience!

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

GREAT WAY TO SEE THE ISLAND. WONDERFUL PILOT AND LANDING IN THE VALLEY WAS BEAUTIFUL.. NOT TO BE MISSED

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely wonderful trip!!! Our guide, Justin was a pleasure to spend time with, he was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. Our tour bus was brand new and top of the line and the lunch and dinner were lovely. He took us to trails when they were quiet so that we weren't fighting the crowds and we got to see Kilauea steaming during the day and burning fiery hot at night. Highly recommend this!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome way to get as close as possible to the active volcano Po'o U'u. Our pilot Rhys was very engaging, narrating a lot of info about Hilo, the falls and the volcanoes. I just wish it were a longer tour! I actually thought that flying over the water was included but sadly, it wasn't. But it was awesome nonetheless! I'd totally do a tour with them again, but this time, the 2hr one :)

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Chris had a tremendous amount of knowledge the entire day. He kept us informed, safe, not rushed and away from crowds to enjoy every aspect of the tour!!!
I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful guide We learned so much.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our hosts, Alexis and Pretty, had supportive and cheerful manners and all members of the group (10) were made to feel competent and welcome. Even a little precipitation didn't diminish the experience.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was amazing! The staff were friendly and helpful - even gave us great suggestions for local restaurants. The pilot was very informative and selected the BEST music for our fight. I'll recommend this to everyone!

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It is a must for first timers to the island. Incredible experience

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Mark Rico was great...friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive to our needs.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message