Volcanoes not only created the amazing mountains, valleys and waterfalls of Hawaii, they also allowed magnificent tropical plants to flourish in the mineral-rich soil. On the Big Island of Hawaii, these fiery outcrops continue to work their magic: ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 345 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Outstanding way to see the volcano!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very worthwhile trip. Enjoyed our guide. Best part was seeing the volcano at night!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great experience but wish we had seen lava flow as dramatic as in the ad, but obviously that's up to nature not the tour. Great pilot, gave relevant into throughout.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Eric was friendly and informative. We appreciated the cold drinks and snacks. The black sand beach was unique and interesting. Dinner was fine. We enjoyed the Jaggar Museum, and the evening view of the volcano from the its overlook was impressive. The absence of lava flow was somewhat disappointing. I'd suggest the tour guide order a seat rotation for the various driving segments so the same people don't have to climb to the back of the van each time.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

During the morning that's quiet impossible the see Lava evrything is grey...
We were 4 passengers ,they put 2 people on the backand we were 3 in front so I was crush between the pilot and my husband. I was in front of the dashboard and realy I could't move my schoulder and hand so I could'nt take any photos.
Dissapointed!!!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My boyfriend and I took this tour on our recent trip to the Big Island and found it to be a great way to see some of the island. Our guide Dominik was so knowledgable of the history and environment, and we felt very well cared for the entire time. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Due to hurricane this tour had to be rebooked and work around road closures but the company were so helpful and upgraded me to the twilight tour for free. The driver was so informative and I definitely came away with a much better appreciation of volcanoes, Hawaiian plants and legends. Next time I would do it again and hopefully the crater road will be open.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful trip thru the local tour operator. Our guide Jesse was very knowledgeable about the island, the volcanic history and having grown up in Hawaii he had lots of great island stories. The dinner overlooking the volcano on a clear night was amazing. We saw the glow of the lava and my husband who is a photographer got great pictures. We saw steam coming out of the volcano besides the chemicals wafting out the volcano (which were drifting away from us). It was great!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great information. Great views. Biking was a great way to see the park.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was excellent. It was the best tour we have ever been on. Our tour guide, Katie, was amazing! You could tell she really loved her job which helped set this tour above all the rest! We learned everything we needed to know about the island.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 30th anniversary, doors off the helicopter so nothing to block view. It was amazing! The entire staff was great, especially the pilot.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great pilot! The ride was interesting and pilot did a great job getting in the right spots for great pictures.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The waterfall was a real let down after the excitement of flying over the volcano and seeing the flowing lava. The helicopter ride is cool and a real must!

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The company did a great job of catering to their customers with drinks and cool clothes. I feel that this tour could have started earlier to allow us the opportunity to visit all the attractions without being rushed. We were unable to visit the Jaggar Museum since we arrived at 7:25 and it closed at 7:30. For those people who do not have their own vehicle I would recommend this tour. More commentary on the attractions and sites would also be helpful. I had no idea what the significance of the painted church was. Sitting at the back of the van could also have something to do with my lack of information as I feel I may have missed some commentary. Good tour, could be better.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message