Volcanoes not only created the amazing mountains, valleys and waterfalls of Hawaii, they also allowed magnificent tropical plants to flourish in the mineral-rich soil. On the Big Island of Hawaii, these fiery outcrops continue to work their magic: ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 472 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joanne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome Ron the pilot was great 10 stars a must do

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Rebecca H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a great tour for people of all ages. Pretty and Mike were excellent tour guides and my boys and I had a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

TJ Tyler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing experience. The tour is something any level rider can do. We had people of all ages and fitness levels. Only 2 moderate inclines, and the rest was downhill. So much fun seeing the lava tube, rainforest, and volcano. our guide Mike was fantastic!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Sandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely amazing, cannot recommend this highly enough, definitely an experience of a lifetime!

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Ashanta Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Nate was amazing. Incredible encyclopedic knowledge of the Big Island.
He also took the time to show us off the beaten path spots.
This tour was through Hawaii Forest and Trail tour. Very very good.

Highly recommended.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

juice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

First time to Hawaii....a wonderful tour and highlight of our trip...intimate experience with only 5 people plus Katie, the awesome tour guide...all day event in which you honestly see most of the Big Island. Kona Coffee Farm, Macadamia Nut Farm, Black Sand Beach, Volcanoes National Park and a quick stop at 6000 feet to stargaze. Katie was absolutely awesome, being fully prepared for the adventure snacks, drinks, raincoats, iPads, flashlights, a ukulele!. Very skillful as a musician and photographer as well as very knowledgable. Absolutely would recommend to anyone headed to the Big Island.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Samantha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Friendly staff, smooth ride, and gorgeous views. What more could we ask?

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

Greg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Quit an adventure without the doors. I highly recommend this to those who have taken closed door helicopter tours. This is a different experience.

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

JOHN P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We saw far much than I expected, it was excellent value and I highly recommend this company

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Leanne R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Loved it. Helicopter was incredible. Zipline was lovely contrast. Saw other side of the island.

Doing what: Big Island Super Saver: Helicopter Tour plus Zipline Adventure

bthead

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. There was problems getting organized, though. The tour started with 3 hours of picking people up and various hotels. The van was very crowded and a lot of time was spent getting in and out of the van at the multiple stops. The food was tasty but meager.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Greg

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Too much wasted time. We don't need to stop at every restroom. A 20 minute stop to load up on drinks and snacks for the day is ridiculous. People should plan ahead and bring there own. I felt like we spent a lot of the day killing time to make it a full day tour. We only spent 4 of the 11 hours at the Volcano. Didn't see anything I couldn't see by car.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Lisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is absolutely the best way to see the island. We booked thru viator because we got a great deal. Great tour and great staff!!

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Margaret Jean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very exciting way to view the Big Island..Staff was prompt and courteous. Pilot JORK was cheerful and made you feel that he was part of your group...very informative...Only one thing, I wish that we would have flown over some water since we were required to wear water life vests.

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Joel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We scheduled a 45 minute door less helicopter trip over the active volcano. Wow! This was clearly the highlight of our vaction! The entire staff was great. These people really know their stuff. A call the day before helped us know what to wear, bring, and not bring. We received a warm welcome, followed by an intelligent briefing, and then out to the copter. Our pilot Brian was awesome, constantly making sure we all could see, were comfortable, and felt okay. The pilot did a great job finding great stuff for us to see including a fairly large eruption with red hot lava spewing out. The pilot was really knowledgeable about the volcano and the lava flows so we learned a lot as well. All through the flight, the pilot kept turning the copter so everything could be seen from both sides. As we opted for the doors off trip, there was nothing between us and the volcano or lava flows so our visibility was spectacular. My photographs are unbelievable making this the best trip ever.

Doing what: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

rfgrabish

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This as a fantastic excursion. Our guide, Steve, was extremely knowledgable adaptive to our needs and had a great sense of humor. The highlight of the trip was back up the volcano after dark. The light, steam Ans explosions of magma were phenomenal. We would highly recommend this trip.. You might think you could do it on your own, but you would miss so much.

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Gale J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour. Chris went out of his way to make our trip memorable. Meals were fantastic and we hit all the sights without the crowds

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Elizabeth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a highlight of our trip! The ride was mostly easy, with only a couple of hills. However, if you are not able to ride at least 10 miles, then you shouldn't do this tour. This is a great way to experience Volcano National Park!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

patterson.mom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Time on Big Island was very limited so this all round tour fit the bill!

Doing what: Best Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

kathimurphy60

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

We thought the helicopter tour was good. Issues: it is very noisy and I was in the middle up front and found it quite tight and the lines in the helicopter window blocked some of the view. The pilot was very good

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Mary M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

We were extremely disappointed in this trip. We were under the impression we would be on a catamaran and not a refurbished Navy Tender. Very little history was given and when it was we could not hear it. Definitely not worth the money

Doing what: Ultimate Hawaii Waterfalls combo Dolphin Boat Tour

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A bit expensive but the view was unbeatable.

Doing what: Fire and Falls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Chelsea W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My husband and I loved this tour!! Now, we had some people tell us just to go through volcano national park on our own and skip the cost of a tour, but the tour guides are what made this tour so awesome! For starters, everything was as described: We were picked up on time, were given sufficient instruction and yummy snacks and a delicious lunch. Second, our driver/ tour guide, Pretty, was awesome! Born and raised in Hilo, Hawai'i she shared so much about the local history and especially the cultural significance of many things we saw. We would never have learned a fraction of what we did had we gone and hiked the park on our own. Mike, our bike tour leader and tour guide was awesome as well! Learned so much from him again about the local history, folk tales/religious significance of many plants and sights we saw. On the way down to lunch by the ocean, Mike showed us several slides in the car about local wildlife, about the volcanoes and lava. It was really cool. This is one of my favorite things we did while on the big island. Highly recommend for a fun trip! Also, if we were not leaving town that night, Mike recommended some great spots to see the lava glow after the sun went down and also a great hiking trail down into the crater which looked really cool. Pretty also recommended going up to the observatory at the top of Mouna Loa at night to look at the stars and see the incredible view. We will definitely do these things next time we go. So much to do and see on the big island-we loved it and we loved this tour!!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message