Situated just a short drive from the coast, and not far from the western border of Basque Country, Bilbao makes for a perfect starting point to go on some of northern Spain's most idyllic day trips. Grab a rental car or hop on a bus to visit these ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful trip! Our guide, Garay, was both personable and knowledgeable. Vitoria and Laguardia were so beautiful. The wine tasting was very well done. We learned so much about the history of the Basque people and present customs. The fine print mentioned that the tour could be cancelled if there were not enough people. We were the only couple, but the tour went on-just as a private tour (at no extra charge).

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Good overview of the city.

Doing what: San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

A hop on hop off with a schedule - the times are posted at the bus stops - and they are on time! San Sebastian is a bit too big to walk so this is perfect. Highly recommend

Doing what: San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

A really interesting tour of the countryside that ended up at a local wine cellar (not a vineyard, the vines and grapes are a few miles away) with a wine tasting and opportunity to buy wine direct from the producers. Our tour guide was very friendly, knowledgeable and spoke good English. We stopped for both coffee and lunch at excellent locations that our guide recommended. If you are staying in Bilbao then this is a trip worth making.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

the tour was very good

Doing what: San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

We expected to visit several wineries, but only visited one, which turned out ok because the whole day was really enjoyable! Vitoria was a visual treat and John's sense of humor made everyone have a good time. The visit to the winery was one more fun thing in a whole day of fun.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Paul J M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Fantastic Trip, fantastic guide! Vitoria and Laguardia were beautiful, as was the drive through the Rioja region and with it's breathtaking scenery, and the staff at Fabulista wine cellar were also very informative and friendly. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

excellent tour with very helpful lady driver gave a good overview of the city

Doing what: San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

I really enjoyed my excursion to the basque wine country. Old town Vitoria was interesting and our guide gave us lots of great information. We had to take a detour from the fast route to the wine region due to a road closure but our guide was able to find an alternate route that was very scenic. Unfortunately it made us late for our wine tour. However our guide convinced the winery to give us a tour anyway although I felt it was a bit rushed. I would have liked if we could visit more than one winery.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Siobhan
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We had a lovely day in the Rioja region. The tour was informative and relaxed and the guide was very helpful, pleasant and enthusiastic.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

A good day trip to a scenic and historic area. The tour guide at the Fabiola Winery was great as was the history and wine itself. The tour guide for the day could have been a bit better at English and given more information, but the city of Laguardia is gorgeous and the valley of Rioja amazingly beautiful. I wish we could have had longer to explore the town. Overall, a good tour.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very informative tour and good value for money. It was raining all the time, which dampened the experience.

Doing what: San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

This was an enjoyable day out from Bilbao. We had a good time, and the guide was great. We feel it would have been better to have a guided tour of the Santa Maria Cathedral than a visit to the card museum.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Karen B
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

I love doing these tours when I first get to a place just to get my bearings and to get a general idea of where things are and what I need to go back and see. Although a short tour compared to others I have done, it was good to be taken over the river into Gros and see one of the less touristy areas. A pity they don't have the earphones with different languages so you don't have to listen to 3 languages.

Doing what: San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message