Situated just a short drive from the coast, and not far from the western border of Basque Country, Bilbao makes for a perfect starting point to go on some of northern Spain's most idyllic day trips. Grab a rental car or hop on a bus to visit these ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

sylviane b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

tHe only negative was that the guide spoke in Spanish 70 percent and English only 30 percent.We felt like second class citizens.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Paul P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A very passionate and talkative guide! Great scenery. Vitoria was very interesting. The English speaking wine tour and sampling lasted an hour, and the winery guide was great.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

François S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I enthusiastically give a top rating to Viatour, and to the Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region tour.
Everything started on the right foot. Viatour notified me a few days ahead that of the pickup time. Pedro showed up precise as clockwork.
The Vitoria leg was superb: gorgeous city. But Guardia was the real treat. A splendid village in a region of breathtaking beauty. Viatour had arranged a visit to a traditional winery, a very interesting tour. We then had lunch in an excellent restaurant.
And Pedro, our guide, is a pure gem. Knowledgeable, relaxed we are, after all, on vacation, and capable of discussing openly and honestly potentially delicate aspects of Basque politics and sociology. Plus ladies, take notice he is very handsome.
So there you have it: great scenery, great organization, great guide. I could never have arranged such a visit by myself. Next time the occasion shows up to take a Viatour excursion, I wont hesitate.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Peter C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent trip as an introduction to the Basque Country. Pedro, our guide was very good, informative and helpful.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

sulava50

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide, Pedro, was excellent, very knowledgeable of the region and history. The tour of the winery was interesting and unique! We had a great time!

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

vvt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Perfect trip that you should not miss.Pedro is very knowledgeable and very nice. Very well organized.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

jeanette b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

very good. thoroughly enjoyed. Pedro the guide was incredible

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Taru

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

June 2015
We had a wonderful time at this tour. Pedro, our guide, is very knowledgeable of the area and very attentive to his customers. Thank you so much!

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Nancy J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Good overview of the city.

Doing what: Best San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Patricia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Seeing the wine making process in El Guardia was really interesting. The town of Vitoria was really interesting. The guide was marvellous, a minefield of knowledge, friendly and happy to cheerfully answer all questions.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Debra M H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

There were just 3 of us, and it almost felt like a private tour! Mariano knew his history well and had plenty of little interesting stories and funny antidotes that made it all real. In every town we went he got us maps and pamphlets. The winery and wine tasting was really special and then we had a wonderful lunch at a restaurant he recommended . On the way back he made an un scheduled stop at at the hotel and winery Marques de Riscal, which Frank Gehry designed, and we went into the hotel and had coffee there. We ended up with getting an extra hour of the tour. A wonderful guide and an extraordinary tour.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Erik G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful day filled with beautiful scenery, winetasting and intersting information. Our guide Garaia gave us tons of interesting facts about the Basque country and people. He was very enthusiastic and funny!
Will definatly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

joannes v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent guide, interesting explanation, impressive day

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

yvonne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful trip! Our guide, Garay, was both personable and knowledgeable. Vitoria and Laguardia were so beautiful. The wine tasting was very well done. We learned so much about the history of the Basque people and present customs. The fine print mentioned that the tour could be cancelled if there were not enough people. We were the only couple, but the tour went on-just as a private tour (at no extra charge).

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Michelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Good overview of the city.

Doing what: Best San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Heidi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

A hop on hop off with a schedule - the times are posted at the bus stops - and they are on time! San Sebastian is a bit too big to walk so this is perfect. Highly recommend

Doing what: Best San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

louis s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

the tour was very good

Doing what: Best San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Leslie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

We expected to visit several wineries, but only visited one, which turned out ok because the whole day was really enjoyable! Vitoria was a visual treat and John's sense of humor made everyone have a good time. The visit to the winery was one more fun thing in a whole day of fun.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Paul J M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Fantastic Trip, fantastic guide! Vitoria and Laguardia were beautiful, as was the drive through the Rioja region and with it's breathtaking scenery, and the staff at Fabulista wine cellar were also very informative and friendly. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Peter H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was great!!
The tour was interesting but not much different than similar tours in other countries.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Robert Y United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

A very interesting tour. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

trevor w

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

excellent tour with very helpful lady driver gave a good overview of the city

Doing what: Best San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Phil Z

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

I really enjoyed my excursion to the basque wine country. Old town Vitoria was interesting and our guide gave us lots of great information. We had to take a detour from the fast route to the wine region due to a road closure but our guide was able to find an alternate route that was very scenic. Unfortunately it made us late for our wine tour. However our guide convinced the winery to give us a tour anyway although I felt it was a bit rushed. I would have liked if we could visit more than one winery.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Siobhan United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We had a lovely day in the Rioja region. The tour was informative and relaxed and the guide was very helpful, pleasant and enthusiastic.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message