Situated just a short drive from the coast, and not far from the western border of Basque Country, Bilbao makes for a perfect starting point to go on some of northern Spain's most idyllic day trips. Grab a rental car or hop on a bus to visit these ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 25 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Seeing the wine making process in El Guardia was really interesting. The town of Vitoria was really interesting. The guide was marvellous, a minefield of knowledge, friendly and happy to cheerfully answer all questions.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

There were just 3 of us, and it almost felt like a private tour! Mariano knew his history well and had plenty of little interesting stories and funny antidotes that made it all real. In every town we went he got us maps and pamphlets. The winery and wine tasting was really special and then we had a wonderful lunch at a restaurant he recommended . On the way back he made an un scheduled stop at at the hotel and winery Marques de Riscal, which Frank Gehry designed, and we went into the hotel and had coffee there. We ended up with getting an extra hour of the tour. A wonderful guide and an extraordinary tour.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful day filled with beautiful scenery, winetasting and intersting information. Our guide Garaia gave us tons of interesting facts about the Basque country and people. He was very enthusiastic and funny!
Will definatly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent guide, interesting explanation, impressive day

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful trip! Our guide, Garay, was both personable and knowledgeable. Vitoria and Laguardia were so beautiful. The wine tasting was very well done. We learned so much about the history of the Basque people and present customs. The fine print mentioned that the tour could be cancelled if there were not enough people. We were the only couple, but the tour went on-just as a private tour (at no extra charge).

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Good overview of the city.

Doing what: San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

A hop on hop off with a schedule - the times are posted at the bus stops - and they are on time! San Sebastian is a bit too big to walk so this is perfect. Highly recommend

Doing what: San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

the tour was very good

Doing what: San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

We expected to visit several wineries, but only visited one, which turned out ok because the whole day was really enjoyable! Vitoria was a visual treat and John's sense of humor made everyone have a good time. The visit to the winery was one more fun thing in a whole day of fun.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Paul J M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Fantastic Trip, fantastic guide! Vitoria and Laguardia were beautiful, as was the drive through the Rioja region and with it's breathtaking scenery, and the staff at Fabulista wine cellar were also very informative and friendly. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

excellent tour with very helpful lady driver gave a good overview of the city

Doing what: San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

I really enjoyed my excursion to the basque wine country. Old town Vitoria was interesting and our guide gave us lots of great information. We had to take a detour from the fast route to the wine region due to a road closure but our guide was able to find an alternate route that was very scenic. Unfortunately it made us late for our wine tour. However our guide convinced the winery to give us a tour anyway although I felt it was a bit rushed. I would have liked if we could visit more than one winery.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Siobhan
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We had a lovely day in the Rioja region. The tour was informative and relaxed and the guide was very helpful, pleasant and enthusiastic.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

A good day trip to a scenic and historic area. The tour guide at the Fabiola Winery was great as was the history and wine itself. The tour guide for the day could have been a bit better at English and given more information, but the city of Laguardia is gorgeous and the valley of Rioja amazingly beautiful. I wish we could have had longer to explore the town. Overall, a good tour.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very informative tour and good value for money. It was raining all the time, which dampened the experience.

Doing what: San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

This was an enjoyable day out from Bilbao. We had a good time, and the guide was great. We feel it would have been better to have a guided tour of the Santa Maria Cathedral than a visit to the card museum.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Karen B
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

I love doing these tours when I first get to a place just to get my bearings and to get a general idea of where things are and what I need to go back and see. Although a short tour compared to others I have done, it was good to be taken over the river into Gros and see one of the less touristy areas. A pity they don't have the earphones with different languages so you don't have to listen to 3 languages.

Doing what: San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

San Sebastian is a wonderful place. Friendly people and beautiful. It us only small and the tour is good but nothing like the Paris or Barcelona tours. Still interesting though

Doing what: San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

Nice ride but need a better tour guide

Doing what: San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

The last two tours of the day were cancelled without warning so just as well we caught the one we did. Apart from that, everything was good and the bus stop was really easy to find.

Doing what: San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2011

San Sebastian is beautiful. We had difficulty finding the buses.

Doing what: San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Not very pleased with the tour. The schedule is completely off the real bus stops. The stops are not very well marked, you have to search for them. They do not announce the stops, so that you don't know it is a stop until you realize several stops after the fact. It had rained in the morning and they took off the cover on the top level and since they hit all of the trees along the tour, you were getting rained on all the time. I have ridden this bus tour in 9 other European cities and this was by far my least favorite. Other bus tours allow for 48 hr rides, which would allow for more time to visit the museums and other sites. Plus the bus only makes a stop once an hour, which limits the number of attractions you can visit in the scheduled time. The concept is good but it has a lot of rough edges that need to be polished.

Doing what: San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2010

Your receipt was honored in the bus, but the tour was just ok. Bus frequency needs lots of improvement to enjoy individual stops.

Doing what: San Sebastian Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2010

Very disappointing and not up to the Viator standards we are used to. The tour guide (Teresa) did not speak English well enough and she did not have a very good understanding of the region. We packed in a tiny van and Teresa would shout out some tid bits of information as we drove to the different stops but if you were sitting in the back of the van you could not understand anything. After a while you stopped trying to listen because she had nothing to say that was of any interest. For lunch we were on our own as Teresa did not know anything about where to eat. We later found out from some others on the tour a good place for lunch but by then it was too late, we were leaving. The tour was suppose to last until 6:00 pm but she was speeding back to Bilbao and had us at our hotel by 5:00 pm. Very disappointing and not worth the money. The best part of the day was the winery tour and that was conducted by a very interesting and informed person working at the winery. Find a different tour organizer for Bilabo.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message