Most of the Blue Mountains incredible views are accessible only on foot, making this national park one of Australia’s premier destinations for hikers, trekkers and backpackers. Difficult mountain passes lead to some of the best views, but that ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wow! What a wonderful way to see the Blue Mountains! I will say it was challenging - hiking for hours and finishing up by climbing 1000 stairs to the top of the valley again. However, it was so worth it! We spotted wild birds and a lizard, and the rain forest was so beautiful! We saw other people only at the start near the railway and we saw 1 small group at the Ruined Castle rock formation. Otherwise - we did not run across another person the entire time while hiking! It was the perfect day!

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was Amazing tour ... small group and our Guide was very actgive ad knowledgeable... Gynes was his name. I loved it... and would recommend this to anyone who loves nature hike. and ask for Gynes.
Nitin

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

One of the best hike I have ever been on. It is definitely for those who seek adventure.

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I know the price is a bit high for this tour. But it totally worth it.

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Ruined Castle and Scenic Railway tour makes an excellent day hike. Most of the walking is on an easy trail with one 500 m rougher section and most of it is in the forest which provides lots of shade on a hot day. The forest is rich in bird life and varied vegetation, but beware of leeches. Our guide, Noel, was informative and personable, and helped make the walk much more memorable than if we had done it on our own. We also appreciated the hotel pick-up and drop-off in Sydney.

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Really enjoy the walk, weather was fabulous and the guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our guides, Daniel and Wanda, were great and made this hike a fantastic experience. Would recommend this for anyone who wants to see more than the usual tourist part of the blue mountains. There are many stairs and rocks to climb, which made this a challenging hike but was certainly worth it.

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I did the valley of the waterfalls hike and it was more than I could've hoped for! My guide (Tru- spelling?) was so knowledgable and easy going. He made sure the pace was appropriate for everyone in the group. I learned so much and saw amazing views on the way. Highly recommend this!!

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was amazing! It was personalised and the tour guide was so helpful and knowledgeable. Would definitely do it again in the future!

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Enjoyable day, views were superb and the hike leader was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. There was just the two of us on the hike which made it more personal, plenty of time for questions and photographs. I chose the ruin castle hike which is the harder option and the stairs at the end was a killer!

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

Suhaila M
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We enjoyed out hike at the Blue Mountain. Since we didn't stay in CBD area, our guide, Nisha picked us at the Central Station. She was really friendly and knowledgeable. The hike wasn't difficult at all.

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This hike was amazing! Our tour guide not only took us to all of the best viewing spots, but we had lunch on the side of a cliff with breath-taking views, and he pointed out a lot of different plants and animals unique to the area. I would definitely highly recommend this hike - super fun and absolutely beautiful!

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was an awesome trip and thoroughly recommended for the energetic .. Scenery and blue skies were amazing.. Organizing all went smoothly and company was magic. Mark as guide did a superb job and we all had alot of fun.. Will definitely book with these guys again on the next trip to Australia :-)

Doing what: Blue Mountains Small-Group Day Hike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We did the valley of the waterfalls hike and it was absolutely amazing and definitely worth it!! The guides, Dan and Gines, were absolutely BRILLIANT!!!!!! They were the best guides I have ever had for a tour!
Our group was quite fit so the guys gave us the option of going on an extra trail down to the bottom of Wentworth falls. This involved almost vertical ladders and very steep climbs and was extremely hard work. However, was definitely worth it so very glad they gave us the option! Just wish I had some bathers so could of gone in the water more (even though it was ice cold). The sandwiches and cakes supplied for lunch were also very nice and freshly prepared. And the guides also took a billy and made fresh tea and coffee half way through the hike. This hike was extremely enjoyable and very well organised. Highly highly recommend this hike to anyone visiting the mountains!!
Definitely make sure you have good hiking shoes and a supportive backpack - our backpack got very heavy and had sore muscles afterwards. And even if its a hot day, take a light jacket as it is quite cold in the shade of the rainforest.

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Was a great hike, we had a great tour guide (Drew) who knew plenty about the plants, wildlife and history of the blue mountains. Have already recommended this tour to friends as it was one of the highlights of our trip.

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Had a great hike in the Blue Mountains. Happy to have such a small group of only 4 hikers, along with 2 guides. Both guides were extremely friendly, knowledgable, and passionate about the outdoors. We were picked up and delivered back to our hotel near Sydney Harbor. Everything was on time, with no unexpected problems. The hike itself was pretty strenuous, which was exactly what we wanted, to weed out those who weren't serious about hiking, and those who were out of shape. Overall, I would rate this as an excellent activity while in the Sydney area.

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Brilliant day. Drew (the guide) was excellent, he knew the area, the mountains and knew how to show us the best bits. There was only 4 guests in the 4x4, which made the trip memorable as we went off road, and were not stuck in a mini bus all day. The day was disrupted due to maintenance on the planned hike route, so Drew took us to another location, which was a real bonus as the sights and the hike we had was far more interesting than we expected. He even carried a brew kit and made us all a cup of tea at the lunch stop. Nice touch. Absolutely recommended in every aspect, and ask for Drew as a guide.

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our tour guide Lisa was amazing. She was extremely nice and very accommodating. The weather was bad that day (my fault for booking a date in the fall) but the waterfalls were still a breathtaking sight. Lisa took us up close to them, even had lunch by one. She was very knowledgeable about plants and wildlife in the park. She took time to explain all the interesting things we pass. When the hike was over Lisa generously drove us to a look-out point overlooking the Blue Mountain Three Sisters, which was not part of the itinerary. I can't praise the service enough. They definitely gave us our money's worth.

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent - small group - knowledgable guide (Dean) and a reasonably challenging walk in beuatiful scenery.

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We had a wonderful day hiking in the Blue Mountains. Our guide was excellent. She was very knowledgable about the local area and pointed out many interesting things along the path. We have plenty of time to linger for photo opportunties and enjoy lunch at the waterfalls.

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Really enjoyable day, great views and lovely guide, will be back to do it again.

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Awesome! Something to remember and tell obout!

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

This is the best way to see the Blue Mountains if you want a more unique experience. The group is very small (no big motorcoach) and made up of active travelers. The hiking can be hard in some spots (be sure to have good shoes) but was very thrilling. We had a nice hike out, then a great lunch on the top of Ruined Castle – which is a huge outcrop of boulders with incredible 360 degree views of the area. Our guide was great, pointing out things along the way – and pausing for spotting the wildlife, etc. Everything was taken care of from the hotel pick-up to the tram tickets to a great lunch. If you want a great Blue Mountain hike to a unique destination without the crowds – this is the tour to take!

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great hike and a lovely waterfall. On the way back we were able to stop and view several lovely lookout points in the Blue Mountains.

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Booking was very good. Guide Joel was just ok. When hiking, he was often too far ahead of the group. Blue Mts were beautiful. Recommend the tour, hope you get a better guide.

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message