Bogotá ATTRACTIONS See all

La Candelaria (Historic Old Town)

And even today it is the cultural heart of modern Bogota’s slapdash modern sprawl: the graceful and carefully planned Spanish colonial city center, known as the Candelaria. The oldest part of the city is now the province of young artists and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 54 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour... get to see a side to Bogota which few probably do. The graffiti murals were awesome and Alejandro was a fantastic guide. Small tour group made it far more personal and personable. Definitely worth the time and the money.

Doing what: Bike Tour of Bogotá

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very personable tour, excellent time management. Got to visit highlights of Bogota at a limited time. I only had 36 hours in Bogota and requested that the tour operator picked me up at the airport and drop me off at my hotel so I could catch the final futbol game between Argentina and Chile... David showed us the La Candelaria area we stopped by for some Chica, Botero Museum, Monseratte, we stopped by for lunch note that lunch is not included, your own expense. I'd highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a great tour of Bogota. Luis was the best guide ever. I wasn't feeling so well, but he helped out and I felt much better after some time.

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A very good tour. A knowledgeable, kind, and friendly guide expertly shared the secret of Bogota.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide David was excellent!!! The hike up Monserrate Hill was quite tough but David took us to a store and suggested we drink coca tea to give us energy. I highly recommend this tour!!!!

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was excellent! Our guide Luis very good. His knowledge along with fun personality made the tour a great way to experience the beautiful city of Bogota.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good guide Nelson and driver Anselmo. Very nice lunch.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Somewhat disrupted due to Marathon race in the middle of Bogota.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our walking tour of Bogota was outstanding!

Our host Andres was knowledgeable and pleasant. His insights of Bogota were great! Our Colombian lunch was terrific.

It was a great day and we would recommend this tour to our friends and family!

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We decided to do this excursion and also went for mostly of the same places at the daily sightseeing which was louzy. This one was very pleasant and we went for the same places with a different perspective - The guide was a very pleasant gentlemen, friendly, and has made the whole difference. Since he knows almost everybody at Candelaria District, we have visited some hotels close to Teatro Colon in depth . The Candelaria district at night is calm, and we could walk with not any security issue. I recommend it .

Doing what: Bogotá by Night City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour lady( Yuri) was very knowledgeable and friendly. Our flight was delayed and the wait on the immigration line was 2 hours but she stood and waited until we finally got to her. Took us to all the places we needed to see to have an Idea of the history of this beautiful country

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

It was nice ! We were lucky we have done it just the two of us. No one else was in the group. The guide was nice - thats it ! The shopping was a joke, just left us at a tourist kind of shop that sells esmeralds and expensive local handicraft. We did not spend more than 10 minutes on it, and left to walk around the neighbourhood while the guides went to only God knows where ! and showed up 30 minutes later, when we are waiting for them at the trip van. If you have another option to do - go for it - The night city tour was really much better than this one.

Doing what: Bogotá Small-Group Sightseeing Tour with Shopping at Zona Rosa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I had the most amaxing experience. I went with a friend who has never been here before. The tour guide perfectly managed and english speaking tour. My friend felt extremely confortable, everything on time and well described.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour: our guide picked us on at airport on schedule, took us to interesting highlights/museums, detoured for our specific requests and returned us to airport. The guide, Angela, I think, was knowledgeable, friendly and safe. Another excellent Viator experience.

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

great tour if you have limited time in bogota. my guide johnny picked me up at my hotel and off we went to la candelaria. i was on this tour with one other tourist so we had a very personalized experience. we saw the gold museum and churches outside it. then we drove over to the botero museum and walked around the historical district. our guide was very knowledgeable and told us some interesting facts about the history of colombia and bogota. we ran into the president of colombia's three pet dogs during the tour outside of the presidential palace and we also met the next mayor of bogota during a feeding-pigeon-newspaper photo op on the plaza de bolivar. we ended the half-day tour with a coffee break- interesting fact: the only place in colombia that serves authentic colombian coffee is juan valdez.

Doing what: Bogotá Small-Group Sightseeing Tour with Shopping at Zona Rosa

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

You should include the San Francisco church after the Museo de Oro tour.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a great time. Our tour guide Luis Eduardo Suarez was awesome. We will definitely go back to Colombia and have him take us around. It was short but it was worth the price. Beautiful city and great food.

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My private tour was amazing. It was at my own pace and covered visits to Mt. Monserrate, Quinta de Bolivar, La Candelaria, Museo de Oro and Museo de Botero. My tour guide, David, is very knowledgeable about different related topics, speaks good English, and made me feel very comfortable discussing various topics.
Tour also included complimentary lunch. We had a lunch at a very popular place in Candelaria which offers typical Colombian cousin. The food and conversation were very enjoyable.
David helped me to buy a good Colombian coffee to bring back home as Christmas gifts. I would recommend this trip to my friends, I have only nice memories about it.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Tour guide was great! But didn't have too much time for shooping

Doing what: Bogotá Small-Group Sightseeing Tour with Shopping at Zona Rosa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very good tour. I was alone with the guide, so I could spend more or less time at the places like my interess.

Doing what: Bogotá Small-Group Sightseeing Tour with Shopping at Zona Rosa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed our tour of the historic district of Bogota and Montserrat very much.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

El tour Por Bogotá estuvo espectacular Luis Eduardo fue un buen guía nos mostró los mejores lugares de Bogotá . Estuvimos en el museo de oro y el de Botero. Nos llevo por la Candelaria . En general todo estuvo muy interesante.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message