Bogotá ATTRACTIONS See all

La Candelaria (Historic Old Town)

And even today it is the cultural heart of modern Bogota’s slapdash modern sprawl: the graceful and carefully planned Spanish colonial city center, known as the Candelaria. The oldest part of the city is now the province of young artists and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 82 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Eric M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guide, Emilio, and the driver, Juan David, were fantastic. The guide spoke excellent English and also spoke in Spanish, as we were trying to practice. He not only gave us a thorough explanation and interesting details on all of the sights, he engaged us in conversations about Colombian history, culture, food, etc. We had been to Bogota before, but the sights seemed new to us with all of the additional explanation and context. He offered us little experiences along the way, like finding us the best Ajiaco and Chicha along the way. Emilio was excellent at suggesting little breaks along the way to keep our legs fresh. It was a jam-packed day, but it was an excellent tour, and I would highly recommend it! The whole family loved it.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Veronica H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I really enjoyed the tour. I was lucky because it was a personalized tour, just for me!! No one else booked that day.
The tour guide was really kind to explain everything it was evident she enjoys what she does and knows her job very well. Her explanations were really clear and it was a fun time we shared together because she was also very friendly. I particularly loved Museo de Botero, so interesting and pretty.
Bogota is a beautiful city and of course there's more to see, I'll sure be coming back!

Doing what: Bogotá Small-Group Sightseeing Tour with Shopping at Zona Rosa

Adam T

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Tour guide was great however all the tours in Colombia are extremely expensive. It was good to see some areas of the City that you would have most likely walked straight past. Bogota is an awesome city but most can be seen on foot by yourself. In saying that though, you would not know much about the history of the city.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I was curious about Columbia and wanted to doing something enriching during a long layover in Bogota. This layover tour was perfect and was very invigorating. The guide was friendly, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic. He was very accommodating when we discussed what areas to visit. This tour is a great value for the money because you are given safe transportation and assistance through the city.

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

veronique_1998

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great experience! Definitely beats staying at the airport for long layovers. My guide Luis was very knowledgeable and passionate about showing me his city. We got a lot done in about 7 hours.

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

Chad P United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Even though it rained and I was feeling a bit unwell, my guide, Angela, made this an enjoyable and unforgettable introduction to Bogota and Colombia! She was friendly, energetic and extremely knowledgeable, tailoring our afternoon to suit my interests and mood. I would highly recommend this city tour with her.

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very nice way to see Bogota!

Doing what: Bogotá by Night City Tour

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very nice way to see Bogota with a very informative guide

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Meghan M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The pick up and drop off went smoothly. Also liked that we ended up changing the tour to suit our time. Skipping museums in favor of walking around. Guide was well informed and friendly. It was definitely pricey for a short tour but a great way to see some of Bogota on a layover.

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

James P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The tour seem so welcoming, I started to feel like I belong here.

Doing what: Bogotá Small-Group Sightseeing Tour with Shopping at Zona Rosa

nastas

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

Very unprepared tour guide.
Very bad in all aspects.
Visit had to be finish on the next day.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Andrew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great guide,knowledgable passionate about bogota,insightful and really interesting.one of the best tours I have ever done

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Anna M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. We were only in Bogota for a 10 hour lay over. It was worth doing.

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

Margaret L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Angela Suarez was an amazing guide. She is warm, engaging, very knowledgeable, professional and her command of the English language is superb. We had booked the 5 hour tour and Angela stayed with us for over 7 hours. I think we saw more of Bogota in one day than most people would see in 3 days. Angela also assisted us with purchasing bus tickets to Villa de Leyva and drove us to the airport on our final day. She is amazing and I would suggest asking for her to be your guide.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

William J A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent guide--great English and informative.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Jose Juan V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Not worth it at all, it was truly a disappointing experience. One day prior to our arrival they tried to change dates for the tour since they were having trouble accommodating us for the next day. However, since we were visiting Bogota just for the day, changing dates was not an option so they rescheduled us 2 hours after the original time, we had to wait two hours in the airport after a 6am flight to get picked up. The guide was nice but not very knowledgable so we learned very little about the city and its history, as well the tour was roughly 3 hours not 5 as announced and didn't include the cable car as announced. The only upside was having a car to take us around the city to places we wouldn't have been able to reach on our own. Book another tour, it was not a good experience.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Alice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Maria who picked me up from the airport and David my personal tour guide were both terrific. Maria was waiting for me as soon as I exited customs and took me straight to Monserrat where David took over. David was incredibly knowledgable and personable, telling me many stories about the city in a thoroughly entertaining way. He also tailored the tour to suit things I was particularly interested in, stopping for a tradititional Colombian lunch and coffee. We covered a lot of ground in 5 hours and was always entertained thanks so David. Maria then picked us up and drove me back to the airport in plenty of time for my next flight. If you have a long layover in Bogota I strongly suggest getting out of the airport and doing this tour.

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

Stephen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Exactly what we were looking for. A 5 hour whistle stop tour during a 24 hour airport stopover. Seamless pick up and return to the hotel. Julio was an extremely knowledgeable and friendly guide who had a great passion for the city. We got a quick tour of Bogota, it wasn't in depth, but as an introduction to the city, I can recommend this tour.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent one day tour of major Bogota highlights. Driver picked me up at hotel on time and transported to meeting area with guide. This was a personal tour and guide made it clear what the general itinerary would be, but made it clear that I could modify the time spent at each location visited on the tour, or even delete some areas that I was not interested in, and expand the time spent at areas that I had a greater interest in. For limited time that I had in Bogota this was an excellent way to see the highlights in a professional and safe manner.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

George T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I had a really great day out seeing lots of bogota. Having a personal guide was a great idea and i learnt a lot of the history of the city and it's people while also see a lot of great sights

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Nigel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour. Andres is a natural at this and he even changed the visit schedule to suit the weather, but we got to see everything and got the whole story at every place we saw. He also helped us identify the local crafts vs the Chinese imports and copies!! Would recommend 100

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Greg G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The bike tour was wonderful. My mistake was booking online. Next time I will book in person or directly through the tour people. I paid 85 when others paid 14 because they booked the tour in person. The tour gave me the opportunity to see all sorts of things around the downtown area of the city. I then took that information and expanded my tour the next day alone.

Doing what: Bike Tour of Bogotá

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message