The Legend of El Dorado, the “Golden Man,” once inspired the Spanish conquistadors to historic acts of bravery, blunder, and bloodshed. Those stories of outrageous wealth and waste almost certainly started here, with the glittering pre-Columbian ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

This trip did not go well, we were unable to complete the trip to the Laguna, the road is pretty bad and you need a pretty sturdy car in average conditions to get to this location, the car provided for this trip in no way was up to the job along on a average day so with the rain we had that day we had to abandon the trip. The salt cathedral was lovely and worth seeing, the tour guide Claudia was great

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good.
Pls advice people about the altitude. I didnt get to go up but they were very kind and take me to now the village of Guatavita. Very nice!

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our day was great!'

Our host Luis was funny, witty, and very knowledgeable!

Our Colombian lunch was terrific!

I would recommend this trip to our friends and family!

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The lagoon of Guatavita is a must see attraction if you're in or around Bogota! If you decide to go, try to go with Viator Tours. The guide we had, David, was very knowledgable of not only that a e rich history behind the lake, but also familiar with a few tid bits on forraging. Don't miss this one!!!

Doing what: Laguna de Guatavita Half-Day Tour from Bogotá

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

was very excited to see this but unfortunately the young man who was my guide did not take me through the whole salt mine, did not explain enough or tell me enough information about it!! other guides were going into incredible details and i was trying to listen but my guide kept rushing me to continue.
At Lake Guatavita the same deal!! I was listening to another guide go into very detailed explanations about the history of the lake etc.
it was a real shame not to have had an experienced guide as the tour was boring without the commentary!

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very nice visit to both places. The guide (Luis) was well versed and the local tourist agency was very responsible. We went on a Monday and the Lagoon's main entrance was closed. The tourist agency offered another half day trip the next day at their own expense to make it up. Wonderful views of the lagoon and the surrounding landscape from the top of the hill. The Salt Cathedral is a unique experience.

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Truly Amazing! If you visit Bogota, you must visit Lake Guatavita and the Salt Cathedral, which is undoubtedly of one of the wonders of the world. Go during the week and ask for Claudia C and you'll not be disappointed. The drive through the quaint yet beautiful town Guatavita is gorgeous and the hike up the beautiful "patchwork of greenery" on hill side to view the Lake from above is picturesque! In my judgment the Salt Cathedral is truly majestic and indescribable even for those not devoutly Catholic. It is the same category as Machu Picchu as one of the wonders of the world. Going during the week there were fewer people making the experience seemingly private coupled with the intellectual yet personal explanation of every important detail of the tour by Claudia made this an unforgettable experience! A must see!!
Dr. A and family

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very nice, impressive experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Our guide was very knowledgeable on a wide range of topics from local Indian lore and culture to the history of the Salt Cathedral. Laguna de Guatavita was also worth doing although you have to be prepared for a chilly wind as you make your trek to the lake. For the price I would have expected better transporation and amenities - we had to settle for a compact car which was quite cramped for four people - family of 3 plus the tour guide/driver.

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Claudia was very knowledgeable and professional. Definitely helped us get to know more about specifics of the artifacts, monuments, and the city. She examined our schedules and needs, and customized the tour to better meet our time restraints and tour preferences. Thank you.

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message