Bogotá ATTRACTIONS See all

Museo del Oro (Gold Museum)

Among Bogota’s most popular and spectacular attractions, the Museo del Oro sparkles with more than 55,000 priceless archaeological and artistic treasures. Only a fraction can be displayed at any one time within the main edifice, itself a work of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 51 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! You see a lot of Bogota in a short time and the view from Mount Monserrate is beautiful.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

David D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I booked the full-day tour of Bogota because I had a limited amount of time in the city but wanted a thorough exposure as much as you can get in one day without feeling rushed. Fabian arrived on schedule at my hotel. He asked if I had any specific interests and said that he could be flexible based on what I wanted to do. I told him that I wanted to see Monserrate, the Quinta de Bolivar, the gold museum and La Candelaria. I also told him that I was interested in the author Gabriel Garcia Marquez who had spent time and worked in Bogota for the local paper for a period. Fabian was very personable and knowledgeable about a variety of subjects, including my interests, and we had a great day together discussing various topics. We started at Monserrate which was not crowded at that time in the morning which saved us having to wait in line for the funicular. He shared his knowledge and pointed out some very interesting things throughout the day that made this tour well worth it to me. We stopped at a local restaurant for lunch before leaving La Candelaria to head north and that was a great choice as well.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Jorinne J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fernando was an excellent guide - he gave us a great overview of Bogota with enough insight to really understand the history and culture of this great city!

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Andreea V

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We had a nice tour of the city. Pick-up from hotel was on time and Fernando was a good guide. Knowledgeable and with a perfect English . Really recommend this tour, as Bogota is a big city and cannot be covered otherwise .

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Eric M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guide, Emilio, and the driver, Juan David, were fantastic. The guide spoke excellent English and also spoke in Spanish, as we were trying to practice. He not only gave us a thorough explanation and interesting details on all of the sights, he engaged us in conversations about Colombian history, culture, food, etc. We had been to Bogota before, but the sights seemed new to us with all of the additional explanation and context. He offered us little experiences along the way, like finding us the best Ajiaco and Chicha along the way. Emilio was excellent at suggesting little breaks along the way to keep our legs fresh. It was a jam-packed day, but it was an excellent tour, and I would highly recommend it! The whole family loved it.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Adam T

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Tour guide was great however all the tours in Colombia are extremely expensive. It was good to see some areas of the City that you would have most likely walked straight past. Bogota is an awesome city but most can be seen on foot by yourself. In saying that though, you would not know much about the history of the city.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very nice way to see Bogota with a very informative guide

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

nastas

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

Very unprepared tour guide.
Very bad in all aspects.
Visit had to be finish on the next day.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Andrew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great guide,knowledgable passionate about bogota,insightful and really interesting.one of the best tours I have ever done

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Margaret L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Angela Suarez was an amazing guide. She is warm, engaging, very knowledgeable, professional and her command of the English language is superb. We had booked the 5 hour tour and Angela stayed with us for over 7 hours. I think we saw more of Bogota in one day than most people would see in 3 days. Angela also assisted us with purchasing bus tickets to Villa de Leyva and drove us to the airport on our final day. She is amazing and I would suggest asking for her to be your guide.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

William J A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent guide--great English and informative.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Jose Juan V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Not worth it at all, it was truly a disappointing experience. One day prior to our arrival they tried to change dates for the tour since they were having trouble accommodating us for the next day. However, since we were visiting Bogota just for the day, changing dates was not an option so they rescheduled us 2 hours after the original time, we had to wait two hours in the airport after a 6am flight to get picked up. The guide was nice but not very knowledgable so we learned very little about the city and its history, as well the tour was roughly 3 hours not 5 as announced and didn't include the cable car as announced. The only upside was having a car to take us around the city to places we wouldn't have been able to reach on our own. Book another tour, it was not a good experience.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Stephen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Exactly what we were looking for. A 5 hour whistle stop tour during a 24 hour airport stopover. Seamless pick up and return to the hotel. Julio was an extremely knowledgeable and friendly guide who had a great passion for the city. We got a quick tour of Bogota, it wasn't in depth, but as an introduction to the city, I can recommend this tour.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent one day tour of major Bogota highlights. Driver picked me up at hotel on time and transported to meeting area with guide. This was a personal tour and guide made it clear what the general itinerary would be, but made it clear that I could modify the time spent at each location visited on the tour, or even delete some areas that I was not interested in, and expand the time spent at areas that I had a greater interest in. For limited time that I had in Bogota this was an excellent way to see the highlights in a professional and safe manner.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

George T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I had a really great day out seeing lots of bogota. Having a personal guide was a great idea and i learnt a lot of the history of the city and it's people while also see a lot of great sights

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Nigel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour. Andres is a natural at this and he even changed the visit schedule to suit the weather, but we got to see everything and got the whole story at every place we saw. He also helped us identify the local crafts vs the Chinese imports and copies!! Would recommend 100

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Mary J B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Most enjoyable tour with Alejandro a very pleasant and knowledgable guide. Enjoyed the Botero Museum, walking about the Candelaria complete with reccommended delecious tastings at local street vendors. Unforuntately schduling with the office started off a little rocky--with the original guide having mechanical problems. Our tour started some 2 hours late after 5 phone calls. Aside from that we had a great time. and would reccommend this guide.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Marianne z

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

I had a tour without the lunch. My choice. The tour guide was knowledgeable, knew and took me to many interesting place where tourists usually don't go. Such as the Restrepo, a leather city, where you can find and buy leather goods of good quality and cheap prices. Don't be afraid to ask for a better price. Ate kibe and empanadas at a small vegetarian place where the owner made fresh right in front of us. We also visited the famous restaurant called Puerta Falsa, neighborhods called Monserrate, La Candelaria. I also visited alone the Museum of Gold, Botero paintings, and walked everywhere by myself. Bogota is safe and people are very polite and gentle. Andres was my tour guide and he can speak in English if needed. I speak Spanish therefore was able to practice during our trip.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Jules

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide Claudia was great we had a couple of small issues with the driver learning his way around bogota. However, would recommend this trip to get the flavor of bogota.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Maria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A very good tour. A knowledgeable, kind, and friendly guide expertly shared the secret of Bogota.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Liz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide David was excellent!!! The hike up Monserrate Hill was quite tough but David took us to a store and suggested we drink coca tea to give us energy. I highly recommend this tour!!!!

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was excellent! Our guide Luis very good. His knowledge along with fun personality made the tour a great way to experience the beautiful city of Bogota.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message