• USD ($)
  • English

Bogotá ATTRACTIONS See all

Zipaquira Salt Cathedral

Zipaquira’s attractive Spanish Colonial center, built with the wealth of the massive nearby salt mines, was founded in the 1760s some 50km (31mi) north of the Colombian capital. Today the “City of Salt,” replete with quaint cafes and souvenir ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very nice, impressive experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was a wonderful outing, but because we were staying so near the station of Usaquen, we saw our 'guide' for five minutes at the beginning and end of the day. Also, he spoke no English which made communication difficult. You must have made a lot of money on our booking!

Doing what: Round-trip Independent Rail Tour to Zipaquirá from Bogotá on Scenic Steam Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A very good opportunity to see the Colombian countryside. Zipaquira was a very interesting city. It was also very interesting to see the Salt Cathedral as this is one of the most popular tourist sites in Colombia. However, be aware that although it is called a "tourist" train, most of the tourists are local people (not foreign tourists from other countries) and most of the people operating this speak only Spanish. I can converse in Spanish, but it might be harder for someone who doesn't.

Doing what: Round-trip Independent Rail Tour to Zipaquirá from Bogotá on Scenic Steam Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great Tour!!!1 The Guide was fantastic!!!!! The Salt Cathedral is unbelievable.....

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

The train ride seemed much, much longer than the 3 hours each way - partly due to the train never getting above about 40 MPH. The "delicious snacks" offered for purchase were standard snack machine-type things that were brought around by people working on the train. Probably what I could have really done without was the roaming musicians - however, there were a few people in my train car that really seemed to enjoy them, so it is just my taste. The Salt Cathedral was really little more than cross after cross after cross and then finally some actual sculpture - there was a nativity scene, a few angels, etc. and they were well done.

When we were taken into the little town for lunch with stopped right in front of a restaurant where an attempt was made to herd everyone in to this particular restaurant. I declined and just roamed around on my own and found a different place for lunch. The instructions on getting back to the train and the time of the departure were unclear. One guide told me we would leave in 2 hours, another told me three.

Upon return to Bogota the driver who was to have picked me up forgot about me and fortunately I found someone with a phone that could get reception in Bogota and they called your company and the driver did ultimately show up and get me back to my hotel.

Doing what: Round-trip Independent Rail Tour to Zipaquirá from Bogotá on Scenic Steam Train

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Beautiful trip. The guide, Julio was excellent! Knowledgable, well prepared and well versed in Colombian themes. Personally he was charming and wanting to please.

I recommend this your to everone.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Our guide was very knowledgeable on a wide range of topics from local Indian lore and culture to the history of the Salt Cathedral. Laguna de Guatavita was also worth doing although you have to be prepared for a chilly wind as you make your trek to the lake. For the price I would have expected better transporation and amenities - we had to settle for a compact car which was quite cramped for four people - family of 3 plus the tour guide/driver.

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

As a train enthusiast I was excited about going on a day trip aboard a vintage train pulled by a vintage Steam Locomotive. I was even more excited when I arrived at the quaint little station house. That excitement faded and a bit of disappointment set in as soon as I saw a Diesel Electric Locomotive pulling the train into the station. Although it was a vintage Diesel Electric the experience will never equal the excitement generated by a Steam Locomotive as it chugs and hisses and churns it's way into the station.
The trip itself is fun and well organized and I did enjoy the local music played by local musicians during the ride up and back and the stop for lunch and a look around in the town of Cajicá.

Doing what: Round-trip Independent Rail Tour to Zipaquirá from Bogotá on Scenic Steam Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Claudia was very knowledgeable and professional. Definitely helped us get to know more about specifics of the artifacts, monuments, and the city. She examined our schedules and needs, and customized the tour to better meet our time restraints and tour preferences. Thank you.

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We had a good day. There were some concerns, however. First, the company was nearly impossible to reach by phone to reconfirm the trip. We were unsure until the morning of the excursion if we would be picked up at all, and were making plans to take a taxi.

Furthermore, we were surprised that we were taken to Usaquen, because La Sabana is closer to the hotel. We must have spent 40 minutes each way in the car.

The train was comfortable and the scenery interesting. We had a good walk in Zipaquira with a guide. The next stop, for lunch, was disappointing. We had no guidance about where to eat - no restaurant names or map of the town - so we just got pizza. This could be improved.

Columbia is trying to build up its tourism; attention to details is one way to

Doing what: Round-trip Independent Rail Tour to Zipaquirá from Bogotá on Scenic Steam Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

My parents and I had a wonderful to to Zipaquira Salt Catheral in October, 2012. Our guide, Claudia Valencia Chaljub, was extremely knowledgeable, prompt in her pick up and return to the hotel, and professional in her tour. She spoke English very well which was helpful to my parents! Thank you!

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

There are only two salt cathedrals in the world - one in Wieliczka in Poland and one in Bogota. I had been to the one in Poland already so I didn't want to miss the one in Bogota. The tour was great and well worth the visit - it was done privately and with an excellent guide. This salt cathedral is a bit different as you walk down into the chapels and towards the altar (you have to take an elevator down in the one in Poland). The sheer size of the place is incredible and it's absolutely breathtaking. You can take your time strolling through the different chapels and small rooms before exploring the main area of the cathedral and the impressive altar. Well worth a visit!

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

One of the many beautiful sites close to Bogota. Fascinating and wondeful place!

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message