Bogotá ATTRACTIONS See all

Zipaquira Salt Cathedral

Zipaquira’s attractive Spanish Colonial center, built with the wealth of the massive nearby salt mines, was founded in the 1760s some 50km (31mi) north of the Colombian capital. Today the “City of Salt,” replete with quaint cafes and souvenir ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 40 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wonderful tour with a very enthusiastic guide that made the day both educational and fun!

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

rosa c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A must see!! Our tour guide Fabian was friendly and knowledgeable !!

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

Kathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour. Very informative

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

sheila k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Two of us went on this trip with driver/guide Angela. She was a fund of information about the cathedral and a patient guide. We had plenty of time to absorb the atmosphere and take our pictures although the cathedral was incredibly busy the day we went. Its a long drive to Zipaquira and Angela used the time to tell us everything we wanted to know about Bogota and Colombia. Well worth going.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

Ryan e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Angela was a great guide, tons of great information and advice. Amazing views, incredible architecture and construction.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

David T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was excellent. Our guide picked us up and took us to the front of the cathedral. She spoke excellent English she spent time in the US. We learned a lot. This is one of the most important things to do while visiting the Bogota area. The tour saved us a lot of time because we did not have to do any leg work. It was a private two person tour which was nice because we were able to go at our own pace.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

Danilo V

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

It was an expensive tour so far we ever had but rewarding in the sense that it was unique and historical.
We Love It.

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

Jules

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

This trip did not go well, we were unable to complete the trip to the Laguna, the road is pretty bad and you need a pretty sturdy car in average conditions to get to this location, the car provided for this trip in no way was up to the job along on a average day so with the rain we had that day we had to abandon the trip. The salt cathedral was lovely and worth seeing, the tour guide Claudia was great

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

David N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Angela was a fantastic guide... very knowledgeable and personable. The Cathedral was awesome... rarely in life to you witness a historical site like this being built in our own generation. Plus, Angela really knows and is proud of her country. She made visiting this site not only interesting but inspiring.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

Maria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an absolute delight of a day. Our guide was not only pleasant and very knowledgeable but great company too. The salt Cathedral itself was stunning! Not to be missed when in Bogota.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

Liz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Again, same Tour Guide. David is excellent! so knowledgeable and so patient. This Salt Cathedral left me breathless and honestly I can say is one of the most beautiful site I have ever seen in my life.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

Alvin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was outstanding. She was very warm and personable. Angela was her name and the McKoy family from the United States was very pleased. She took the time to answer all questions using our native English language.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

adislenalima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good.
Pls advice people about the altitude. I didnt get to go up but they were very kind and take me to now the village of Guatavita. Very nice!

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

Jamiel A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great. Fun and very entertaining.

Doing what: Round-trip Independent Rail Tour to Zipaquirá from Bogotá on Scenic Steam Train

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our day was great!'

Our host Luis was funny, witty, and very knowledgeable!

Our Colombian lunch was terrific!

I would recommend this trip to our friends and family!

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

Jaime Santiago S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very knowledgeable and nice tour guide and driver

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

Nick R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This is definitely a must-see when visiting Columbia. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly with great English, but I did feel the tour was a little rushed. The bus picking us up was running late, so I feel this impacted on the tour somewhat.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

Ada G

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

This tour is advertised as a 4 hour tour, but believe me, it is more like 6 hours. My driver was half an hour late in picking me up. He was supposed to come at 8:00 AM, but didn't come until 8:30. It took 2-1/2 hours each way to get to and from the Zipaquira Salt Cathedral due to extremely heavy traffic congestion leading and out of Bogota. We didn't get to the Zipaquira Salt Cathedral until 11:00 AM and we were rushed through it, spending only an hour there because I made it very clear to my guide and driver that I had to get back to join my escorted group tour for lunch. I didn't get back to Bogota until 2:30 PM when my group was finished with lunch. The bottom line is that if you book the morning tour to the Zipaquira Salt Cathedral, do not schedule any other activities for later that afternoon because you might not get back in time for them.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

steven b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing, well beyond what was expected. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and provided many interesting facts about this beautiful country. The photographs taken were breathtaking but still don't capture the cathedral. Only suggestion is to have time in the town

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

sucianecia31

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

was very excited to see this but unfortunately the young man who was my guide did not take me through the whole salt mine, did not explain enough or tell me enough information about it!! other guides were going into incredible details and i was trying to listen but my guide kept rushing me to continue.
At Lake Guatavita the same deal!! I was listening to another guide go into very detailed explanations about the history of the lake etc.
it was a real shame not to have had an experienced guide as the tour was boring without the commentary!

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

Ingrid G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Luis was our guide and he was very entertaining and full of historical facts. We enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

NIGEL D United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A thoroughly enjoyable trip to a fascinating place. The tour guide Luis Eduardo was very knowledgeable and extremely friendly.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message