Bogotá ATTRACTIONS See all

Zipaquira Salt Cathedral

Zipaquira’s attractive Spanish Colonial center, built with the wealth of the massive nearby salt mines, was founded in the 1760s some 50km (31mi) north of the Colombian capital. Today the “City of Salt,” replete with quaint cafes and souvenir ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing, well beyond what was expected. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and provided many interesting facts about this beautiful country. The photographs taken were breathtaking but still don't capture the cathedral. Only suggestion is to have time in the town

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

was very excited to see this but unfortunately the young man who was my guide did not take me through the whole salt mine, did not explain enough or tell me enough information about it!! other guides were going into incredible details and i was trying to listen but my guide kept rushing me to continue.
At Lake Guatavita the same deal!! I was listening to another guide go into very detailed explanations about the history of the lake etc.
it was a real shame not to have had an experienced guide as the tour was boring without the commentary!

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Luis was our guide and he was very entertaining and full of historical facts. We enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

NIGEL D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A thoroughly enjoyable trip to a fascinating place. The tour guide Luis Eduardo was very knowledgeable and extremely friendly.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very nice visit to both places. The guide (Luis) was well versed and the local tourist agency was very responsible. We went on a Monday and the Lagoon's main entrance was closed. The tourist agency offered another half day trip the next day at their own expense to make it up. Wonderful views of the lagoon and the surrounding landscape from the top of the hill. The Salt Cathedral is a unique experience.

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Truly Amazing! If you visit Bogota, you must visit Lake Guatavita and the Salt Cathedral, which is undoubtedly of one of the wonders of the world. Go during the week and ask for Claudia C and you'll not be disappointed. The drive through the quaint yet beautiful town Guatavita is gorgeous and the hike up the beautiful "patchwork of greenery" on hill side to view the Lake from above is picturesque! In my judgment the Salt Cathedral is truly majestic and indescribable even for those not devoutly Catholic. It is the same category as Machu Picchu as one of the wonders of the world. Going during the week there were fewer people making the experience seemingly private coupled with the intellectual yet personal explanation of every important detail of the tour by Claudia made this an unforgettable experience! A must see!!
Dr. A and family

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very nice, impressive experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was a wonderful outing, but because we were staying so near the station of Usaquen, we saw our 'guide' for five minutes at the beginning and end of the day. Also, he spoke no English which made communication difficult. You must have made a lot of money on our booking!

Doing what: Round-trip Independent Rail Tour to Zipaquirá from Bogotá on Scenic Steam Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A very good opportunity to see the Colombian countryside. Zipaquira was a very interesting city. It was also very interesting to see the Salt Cathedral as this is one of the most popular tourist sites in Colombia. However, be aware that although it is called a "tourist" train, most of the tourists are local people (not foreign tourists from other countries) and most of the people operating this speak only Spanish. I can converse in Spanish, but it might be harder for someone who doesn't.

Doing what: Round-trip Independent Rail Tour to Zipaquirá from Bogotá on Scenic Steam Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great Tour!!!1 The Guide was fantastic!!!!! The Salt Cathedral is unbelievable.....

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

The train ride seemed much, much longer than the 3 hours each way - partly due to the train never getting above about 40 MPH. The "delicious snacks" offered for purchase were standard snack machine-type things that were brought around by people working on the train. Probably what I could have really done without was the roaming musicians - however, there were a few people in my train car that really seemed to enjoy them, so it is just my taste. The Salt Cathedral was really little more than cross after cross after cross and then finally some actual sculpture - there was a nativity scene, a few angels, etc. and they were well done.

When we were taken into the little town for lunch with stopped right in front of a restaurant where an attempt was made to herd everyone in to this particular restaurant. I declined and just roamed around on my own and found a different place for lunch. The instructions on getting back to the train and the time of the departure were unclear. One guide told me we would leave in 2 hours, another told me three.

Upon return to Bogota the driver who was to have picked me up forgot about me and fortunately I found someone with a phone that could get reception in Bogota and they called your company and the driver did ultimately show up and get me back to my hotel.

Doing what: Round-trip Independent Rail Tour to Zipaquirá from Bogotá on Scenic Steam Train

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Beautiful trip. The guide, Julio was excellent! Knowledgable, well prepared and well versed in Colombian themes. Personally he was charming and wanting to please.

I recommend this your to everone.

Doing what: Half-Day Trip to Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral from Bogotá

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Our guide was very knowledgeable on a wide range of topics from local Indian lore and culture to the history of the Salt Cathedral. Laguna de Guatavita was also worth doing although you have to be prepared for a chilly wind as you make your trek to the lake. For the price I would have expected better transporation and amenities - we had to settle for a compact car which was quite cramped for four people - family of 3 plus the tour guide/driver.

Doing what: Zipaquirá Salt Cathedral and Laguna de Guatavita Day Trip from Bogotá

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

As a train enthusiast I was excited about going on a day trip aboard a vintage train pulled by a vintage Steam Locomotive. I was even more excited when I arrived at the quaint little station house. That excitement faded and a bit of disappointment set in as soon as I saw a Diesel Electric Locomotive pulling the train into the station. Although it was a vintage Diesel Electric the experience will never equal the excitement generated by a Steam Locomotive as it chugs and hisses and churns it's way into the station.
The trip itself is fun and well organized and I did enjoy the local music played by local musicians during the ride up and back and the stop for lunch and a look around in the town of Cajicá.

Doing what: Round-trip Independent Rail Tour to Zipaquirá from Bogotá on Scenic Steam Train

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message