Bologna ATTRACTIONS See all

Basilica di San Petronio

Named for Bologna’s patron saint, the city’s fifth-century bishop, the Basilica di San Petronio is the world’s fifth-largest church and a fabulous example of Gothic grandeur. Construction began in 1390, but plans to enlarge the basilica were ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

I was disappointed by this tour, and would likely tell someone to choose a different tour. This was the second time I went with this tour company and would not go with them again. The tour says it is an 11 hour day. Unfortunately, we only spent 2 hours in San Marino Republic and 1 hour in Bologna. The remaining time was spent travelling which ended up being 9 hours due to traffic so we didnt arrive in Florence until 9:30pm. Given the traffic was very busy being the last day of summer and everone returning home from their holidays. But our tour leader said the traffic is usually that bad normally as it is always busy on a Saturday. On a positive note, the tour leader was very good and informative.

Doing what: San Marino Republic and Bologna Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Exciting time! Not exactly what I expected but I was surprised and enjoyed this tour. We started by jumping right onto busy city streets. Though I have to say, for a person not use to bike riding in the city, the drivers and buses always yielded to us and did not get mad, this is not what I would expect riding in a city in the US. Our guide was very nice. She took us on a nice loop. We stopped at the train station, library, city center, church, monastery, university etc. We covered an amazing amount of ground in a short period of time. And then had a wonderful lesson in history and the current way of life in this very nice city. Our guide drew out our tour on the hotel map that I had. I have kept this and even took a picture of it to show my friends and family where we went. For a personalized, private, diverse, comprehensive tour, this is a great option. And after 30 days traveling and touring, it was nice to ride bikes and break up the monotony of the walking and tour buses. Our guide was lovely, I can't find her name... Nice job!

Doing what: Private Tour: Bologna Cycling Sightseeing Tour

Duc N D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very very good, especially local guide Luca done a excellent tour throughout and very helpful for the arrangement of another second tour to Cinque Terre afterward.

Doing what: San Marino Republic and Bologna Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Having just the two of us expertly guided around central Bologna was a terrific introduction to this fascinating city on our first morning in Italy ( a good way to walk off jetlag having flown direct from Australia!). Our guide was full of expert knowledge and anecdote, and the tour covered a good balance of history, architecture and gastronomy. Our tour finished off outside the San Stefano complex, where we gained an interesting insight into its medieval origins of tourism and whetted our appetite further to explore. A great tour to start our stay in Bologna. Well done.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Had a lovely tour with Luca--he did a terrific job and we would recommend! The university and the autopsy room were our interests and then he added in a tour of some of the oldest churches in the city and a great tip on the best food in town!! We recommend!

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Lucca our guide was very knowledgable and we thoroughly enjoyed our day. I would highly recommend people take this tour to get a comprehensive insight into this amazing city.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent start to our lovely holiday in Bologna ...tour conducted in a professional yet friendly manner. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We booked this tour in Bologna and thought it might be interesting. It would have to be our favourite Viator tour we have done yet and Camille our tour guide was very well informed, funny and made Bologna come alive with wonderful tales of love, betrayal, mystery and romance. We would recommend this tour highly.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bologna In Love Walking Tour

Sergey S
Russian Federation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour and very knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This was a wonderful, informative, entertaining tour, we highly recommend it. Our guide, Cecelia, was able to customize our very small group experience, and showed us not only the City highlight's but some very special places and stories of Bologna, from the Renaissance through the Italian Resistance during WW2. Even though it was our first trip to Bologna, we felt very oriented in the City and its history after just a few hours with Cecelia, and followed it up with the Gourmet Tour on our second day. Wonderful!!.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Balda (I hope I've spelled correctly!) was exceptionally knowledgeable about his city and the sights. We very much enjoyed the tour and him. A very good tour overall!

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Our guide was knowledgable and personable. We will return to Bologna, due, in part, to what we learned from him. We will recommend him to friends.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Very good personalized tour with experienced and knowledgeable Italian guide who spoke excellent English. Strongly recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a great tour for us. Our guide, Giacomo, was not only very knowledgeable but also made us feel very welcome. The day was full of history, stories, and great food. It gave us a better understanding of Bologna and we saw places that we would never have scene on our own. We have no hesitation in recommending this tour to others.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2013

Disappointing, the tour was more a historical and city walking tour, with lunch catered for at a trattoria after. There was no food tasting or guided tour on food aspects, it shld be rebranded as such. For food lovers looking for a food tour, better to look on tripadvisor for food dedicated tours...

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message