Bologna ATTRACTIONS See all

Basilica di San Petronio

Named for Bologna’s patron saint, the city’s fifth-century bishop, the Basilica di San Petronio is the world’s fifth-largest church and a fabulous example of Gothic grandeur. Construction began in 1390, but plans to enlarge the basilica were ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Justin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My guide Camilla was wonderful, a truly delightful!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Anne-Marie B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

The tour was very good and the guide excellent but it was very expensive for what it was. It is advertised as a 3 hour tour, ours lasted 2 hours and 10 minuets!!! Realistically you could have done it yourself with a good guide book for 8! Having the guides insight was great but not worth 72 each.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Eloísa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Tourguide Federico Angelini: Exceptional Tour given by professional tourguide. We completed the Classical Bologna Walking Tour visiting the World's First University Museum, the cathedral, and several museums. Along our walk we were shown all the historical sites and given the significance of each in an organized manner, providing us a timeline of the city. Our guide knew the painter/sculptor of each painting/sculpture we viewed, as well as it's significance in art history. He knew where to take us and modified our walk to our pace and taste. His English was outstanding and his mannerism was delightful. We would certainly choose to take this tour again and any others because of his professionalism. Thank you very much!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

sfpicard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Elisabetta is a wonderful guide with an amazing head for facts and dates history of Bologna and the surrounding areas. We learned so much in such a fun way that we never would have learned without such a knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

lil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Personal tour was great!

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Linda U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very good informative tour. We saw areas that we wouldn't have seen if we had not had a tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Ismo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I made a booking for guided cycling tour in Bologna. Unfortunately it was raining very hard, so our guide made a creative decision: a walking tour around city. The Bologna porticoes totally 40 km are unique and also... we stayed dry :

Our guide was very excited about the city and told very interesting stories about Italian and city history.

I strongly recommend, real professional tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Bologna Cycling Sightseeing Tour

Vivien Baker B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

a very informative and enjoyable trip. Learnt lots of facts regarding the history of Bologna, a very beautiful and interesting city.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Gregory K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and super nice!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Gina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide (Elsie?) was very friendly. Her knowledge of Bologna was extensive. The 3 hours went by very quickly.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Carla B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Tamara was an excellent guide and we thoroughly enjoyed our tour on bikes. It was a bit expensive, and we would have preferred to be in a group. This tour required us to form our own group in order to get a lower price, rather than join a group tour. But the tour itself was excellent.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bologna Cycling Sightseeing Tour

Jon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Exciting time! Not exactly what I expected but I was surprised and enjoyed this tour. We started by jumping right onto busy city streets. Though I have to say, for a person not use to bike riding in the city, the drivers and buses always yielded to us and did not get mad, this is not what I would expect riding in a city in the US. Our guide was very nice. She took us on a nice loop. We stopped at the train station, library, city center, church, monastery, university etc. We covered an amazing amount of ground in a short period of time. And then had a wonderful lesson in history and the current way of life in this very nice city. Our guide drew out our tour on the hotel map that I had. I have kept this and even took a picture of it to show my friends and family where we went. For a personalized, private, diverse, comprehensive tour, this is a great option. And after 30 days traveling and touring, it was nice to ride bikes and break up the monotony of the walking and tour buses. Our guide was lovely, I can't find her name... Nice job!

Doing what: Private Tour: Bologna Cycling Sightseeing Tour

David G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Having just the two of us expertly guided around central Bologna was a terrific introduction to this fascinating city on our first morning in Italy ( a good way to walk off jetlag having flown direct from Australia!). Our guide was full of expert knowledge and anecdote, and the tour covered a good balance of history, architecture and gastronomy. Our tour finished off outside the San Stefano complex, where we gained an interesting insight into its medieval origins of tourism and whetted our appetite further to explore. A great tour to start our stay in Bologna. Well done.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Greyson S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Had a lovely tour with Luca--he did a terrific job and we would recommend! The university and the autopsy room were our interests and then he added in a tour of some of the oldest churches in the city and a great tip on the best food in town!! We recommend!

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

David K

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Lucca our guide was very knowledgable and we thoroughly enjoyed our day. I would highly recommend people take this tour to get a comprehensive insight into this amazing city.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Merisi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent start to our lovely holiday in Bologna ...tour conducted in a professional yet friendly manner. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Michelle J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We booked this tour in Bologna and thought it might be interesting. It would have to be our favourite Viator tour we have done yet and Camille our tour guide was very well informed, funny and made Bologna come alive with wonderful tales of love, betrayal, mystery and romance. We would recommend this tour highly.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bologna In Love Walking Tour

Sergey S Russian Federation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour and very knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Carolyn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This was a wonderful, informative, entertaining tour, we highly recommend it. Our guide, Cecelia, was able to customize our very small group experience, and showed us not only the City highlight's but some very special places and stories of Bologna, from the Renaissance through the Italian Resistance during WW2. Even though it was our first trip to Bologna, we felt very oriented in the City and its history after just a few hours with Cecelia, and followed it up with the Gourmet Tour on our second day. Wonderful!!.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Gregg M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Balda (I hope I've spelled correctly!) was exceptionally knowledgeable about his city and the sights. We very much enjoyed the tour and him. A very good tour overall!

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Eric L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Our guide was knowledgable and personable. We will return to Bologna, due, in part, to what we learned from him. We will recommend him to friends.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

TIMOTHY H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Very good personalized tour with experienced and knowledgeable Italian guide who spoke excellent English. Strongly recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

dhsmith123

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a great tour for us. Our guide, Giacomo, was not only very knowledgeable but also made us feel very welcome. The day was full of history, stories, and great food. It gave us a better understanding of Bologna and we saw places that we would never have scene on our own. We have no hesitation in recommending this tour to others.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Li-Hur S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2013

Disappointing, the tour was more a historical and city walking tour, with lunch catered for at a trattoria after. There was no food tasting or guided tour on food aspects, it shld be rebranded as such. For food lovers looking for a food tour, better to look on tripadvisor for food dedicated tours...

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message