Bologna is often overlooked by tourists in favor of some of the nearby cities, such as Florence and Venice, but it’s a city that has a vast range of exciting activities to do. Bologna is Italy’s food capital, so there’s no chance of going hungry as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 65 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

Bologna has not THAT much to offer, so if you want a primer, this tour is worth it. A few pitfalls - it's in both Italian and English, so you get half the information you could have gotten in 120 min, and the English language skills of our guide were not great. Overall Bologna is a bit depressing.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

a very informative and enjoyable trip. Learnt lots of facts regarding the history of Bologna, a very beautiful and interesting city.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and super nice!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide (Elsie?) was very friendly. Her knowledge of Bologna was extensive. The 3 hours went by very quickly.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Tamara was an excellent guide and we thoroughly enjoyed our tour on bikes. It was a bit expensive, and we would have preferred to be in a group. This tour required us to form our own group in order to get a lower price, rather than join a group tour. But the tour itself was excellent.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bologna Cycling Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Exciting time! Not exactly what I expected but I was surprised and enjoyed this tour. We started by jumping right onto busy city streets. Though I have to say, for a person not use to bike riding in the city, the drivers and buses always yielded to us and did not get mad, this is not what I would expect riding in a city in the US. Our guide was very nice. She took us on a nice loop. We stopped at the train station, library, city center, church, monastery, university etc. We covered an amazing amount of ground in a short period of time. And then had a wonderful lesson in history and the current way of life in this very nice city. Our guide drew out our tour on the hotel map that I had. I have kept this and even took a picture of it to show my friends and family where we went. For a personalized, private, diverse, comprehensive tour, this is a great option. And after 30 days traveling and touring, it was nice to ride bikes and break up the monotony of the walking and tour buses. Our guide was lovely, I can't find her name... Nice job!

Doing what: Private Tour: Bologna Cycling Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Having just the two of us expertly guided around central Bologna was a terrific introduction to this fascinating city on our first morning in Italy ( a good way to walk off jetlag having flown direct from Australia!). Our guide was full of expert knowledge and anecdote, and the tour covered a good balance of history, architecture and gastronomy. Our tour finished off outside the San Stefano complex, where we gained an interesting insight into its medieval origins of tourism and whetted our appetite further to explore. A great tour to start our stay in Bologna. Well done.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Had a lovely tour with Luca--he did a terrific job and we would recommend! The university and the autopsy room were our interests and then he added in a tour of some of the oldest churches in the city and a great tip on the best food in town!! We recommend!

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Our guide, basically walked us back and forth across Piazza Maggiore trying to use up all of the 4 hours for the tour. It was not laid out very well. She had a strong accent that made it hard to understand her. Maybe because we did the Parmesan and prosciutto tour the day before she didn't have anything to show us. Once we were at the cafe to taste the mortadella, she looked at us and said, "bye, I am leaving now" and bounced out. There was nothing about pasta even remotely mentioned. This tour was about as expensive as the all day one which was great. We were truly disappointed in this one.

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Walking Tour of Bologna - Pasta, Mortadella and Chocolate

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Lucca our guide was very knowledgable and we thoroughly enjoyed our day. I would highly recommend people take this tour to get a comprehensive insight into this amazing city.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent start to our lovely holiday in Bologna ...tour conducted in a professional yet friendly manner. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Sergey S
Russian Federation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour and very knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour. Very informative and friendly guide. Good value. If you are in Bologna don't miss it.

M/M J. Puorro, Boston USA

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Walking Tour of Bologna - Pasta, Mortadella and Chocolate

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Balda, our tour guide, was super! We could not have asked for a better tour. We had read many reviews that rated this tour highly, but complained that it was not quite the foodie tour they had expected. Well, for us it was a wonderful foodie tour - we saw all that we were promised, and tasted wonderful chocolate, cheese, meats, and wine. On top of this, we were also given a historical overview of the major sights in the Bologna city center.

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Walking Tour of Bologna - Pasta, Mortadella and Chocolate

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message