Bologna is often overlooked by tourists in favor of some of the nearby cities, such as Florence and Venice, but it’s a city that has a vast range of exciting activities to do. Bologna is Italy’s food capital, so there’s no chance of going hungry as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 74 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour is simply fantastic!!
Olga and Andreas were very responsive and professional with booking and logistics arrangement. We visited a parmasan cheese maker, the Nini family-owned proscuitto-di-Modena facility, and a family-owned balsamic business. We got to see the whole manufacuturing process of each product, and tasted them at the end of each visit. Everything was so delicious, especially the proscuitto! It's very interesting to be able to see the making of these products and the learning is just tremendous. For example, the balsamic vinegar can only be classified as "tradizionale" with a minimum 12 years of storage time, and it is actually a "cuvee" from all the years! After the visit, we ate lunch at a local restaurant. Very delicious food and wine. Throughout the whole day, Andreas not only told us many interesting food and history related stories, but also discussed with us passionately about the current political and economic situations in Italy. Interesting insights and perspectives.
Highly recommend this tour to foodies!

Doing what: Small-Group Food and Wine Tour from Bologna Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Exciting time! Not exactly what I expected but I was surprised and enjoyed this tour. We started by jumping right onto busy city streets. Though I have to say, for a person not use to bike riding in the city, the drivers and buses always yielded to us and did not get mad, this is not what I would expect riding in a city in the US. Our guide was very nice. She took us on a nice loop. We stopped at the train station, library, city center, church, monastery, university etc. We covered an amazing amount of ground in a short period of time. And then had a wonderful lesson in history and the current way of life in this very nice city. Our guide drew out our tour on the hotel map that I had. I have kept this and even took a picture of it to show my friends and family where we went. For a personalized, private, diverse, comprehensive tour, this is a great option. And after 30 days traveling and touring, it was nice to ride bikes and break up the monotony of the walking and tour buses. Our guide was lovely, I can't find her name... Nice job!

Doing what: Private Tour: Bologna Cycling Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Parmesan, prosciutto, and balsamico -what more could you want? The tours were very interesting and stuffed full of samples. At the end of the tour you get the most delicious lunch featuring the freshest ingredients Italy has to offer. Oh and all you drink Lambrusco doesn't hurt either.

Doing what: Small-Group Food and Wine Tour from Bologna Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a great day with a very knowledgable guide and a wonderful driver. The parmesan, balsamic vinegar and the ham 'factories' were all very interesting made all the better by the tasting of their magnificent products.
The day was punctuated by a wonderful 4 course meal in the hills at a family taverna where we all were made so welcome and the hosts were so generous with their lovely homemade food and hospitality. Because of the rain we had to eat inside but it certainly didn't spoil the day which was packed with marvelous memories .

Doing what: Small-Group Food and Wine Tour from Bologna Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The only thing that would have made it better would have been a stop at a winery

Doing what: Small-Group Food and Wine Tour from Bologna Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The only thing that would have made it better would have been a stop at a winery

Doing what: Small-Group Food and Wine Tour from Bologna Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic tour for italian food lovers! A whole day spent seeing how cheese is made, balsamic production, and prosciutto! Amazing. Plus a "light italian lunch" which was wonderful. At each place we were able to sample the food and taste a local wine. The day ended with a beautiful view of the city and the best gelator I have tasted. Don't miss this tour - it is fantastic!

Doing what: Small-Group Food and Wine Tour from Bologna Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour with Olga was amazing. There were only 5 of us on the tour and the size was perfect. Olga was really knowledgeable about the processes and the vendors themselves. There was no pressure to purchase anything throughout the day. The samples were ample sized and it was great to be able to ask direct questions to the artisans making incredible food. The leisurely lunch at a local trattoria was just icing on the cake, good food, wine and great conversation. It was one of the best tours we had during our travels. Thanks Olga!

Doing what: Small-Group Food and Wine Tour from Bologna Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Having just the two of us expertly guided around central Bologna was a terrific introduction to this fascinating city on our first morning in Italy ( a good way to walk off jetlag having flown direct from Australia!). Our guide was full of expert knowledge and anecdote, and the tour covered a good balance of history, architecture and gastronomy. Our tour finished off outside the San Stefano complex, where we gained an interesting insight into its medieval origins of tourism and whetted our appetite further to explore. A great tour to start our stay in Bologna. Well done.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour with Olga was amazing! While my husband was not initially interested in this tour, it turned out to be one of the best tours we have ever taken. There were only 5 of us on the tour and the size was perfect. Olga was very informative on our drive to our first stop, explaining what we would see throughout the day. The cheese factory was very interesting. We went through the entire process of cheese making, then we were treated to samples. We then moved on to the ham factory. The President of the company was available to answer any of our questions. We sampled the ham; it was so good. We then visited the balsamic vinegar factory and we were treated again to samples. While we had the opportunity to purchase cheese, ham and vinegar, we were never pressured to make any purchases. The lunch that was served was great, including the wine. This tour was the best tour we experienced during our travels. Thanks Olga for a wonderful day.!

Doing what: Small-Group Food and Wine Tour from Bologna Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an excellent and memorable day by Andrea and Amazing Italy. The visits were outstanding and up close, lunch at a family restaurant was great, and we learned about more things to do while in Bologna (do not miss the two mile portico walk to the church of Madonna di San Luca -- amazing. I highly recommmend

Doing what: Small-Group Food and Wine Tour from Bologna Including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Had a lovely tour with Luca--he did a terrific job and we would recommend! The university and the autopsy room were our interests and then he added in a tour of some of the oldest churches in the city and a great tip on the best food in town!! We recommend!

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Our guide, basically walked us back and forth across Piazza Maggiore trying to use up all of the 4 hours for the tour. It was not laid out very well. She had a strong accent that made it hard to understand her. Maybe because we did the Parmesan and prosciutto tour the day before she didn't have anything to show us. Once we were at the cafe to taste the mortadella, she looked at us and said, "bye, I am leaving now" and bounced out. There was nothing about pasta even remotely mentioned. This tour was about as expensive as the all day one which was great. We were truly disappointed in this one.

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Walking Tour of Bologna - Pasta, Mortadella and Chocolate

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour was exactly as described. Isabella was an excellent guide and very interesting to talk to as a person. It was great to see how some of our favourite foods were made and nice that there was no pressure to buy at any of the locations. Lunch was really wonderful - great local food and care was taken that we enjoyed by both Isabella, the guide, and the Trattoria that we had more than enough of everything in food and wine. A great day.

Doing what: Small-Group Food and Wine Tour from Bologna Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This fun packed day was amazing. Andrea our guide was friendly, funny and very knowledgeable. From start to finish this was a day full of very unique experiences which were linked by people passionate about producing great food. The food and food combinations that we had were amazing. I highly recommend this tour as a great way to experience the real food of Italy.

Doing what: Small-Group Food and Wine Tour from Bologna Including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message