Bologna is often overlooked by tourists in favor of some of the nearby cities, such as Florence and Venice, but it’s a city that has a vast range of exciting activities to do. Bologna is Italy’s food capital, so there’s no chance of going hungry as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 111 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Shelene Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide Giorgia was a wonderfully passionate and proud Parma local. We enjoyed her personal stories about Parma's history and families food culture. We were running a bit behind due to traffic but we still managed to have a relaxing tour. Both the Parma Ham and The Parmesan Reggiano shop were excellent to see. The continued practice of the age old traditions in producing such quality products is admirable and made us appreciate Parma foods all the more. We had a nice quick stop at a beautiful old castle in the countryside before heading to a local vineyard for touring, tastings and lunch. The lunch and tastings were both beyond adequate in portions and quality. Such a wonderful way to delve further into this specific regions history, culture and traditions.

Doing what: Private Emilia Romagna Food Tour from Parma or Bologna

Luisella M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very interesting

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Jacqueline D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Just ok to know bologna center

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Justin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My guide Camilla was wonderful, a truly delightful!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Anthony M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

6 stars should be possible! A wonderful insight into the food history of the city. Our guide showed us through the markets, explained why each selection was important, then took us to the only authentic osteria to sit and eat our collection. Everything included so no hassles. A great tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Walking Tour of Bologna - Pasta, Mortadella and Chocolate

Peter D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour
Very beautiful and interesting city
Guide was very good

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Michele F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Camilla was an amazing tour guide. She was very helpful and knowledgeable. She took the time to answer all of our questions and really made our first day in Bologna very special! She even recommended a nice restaurant for us to try and we did! Irt was spectacular! I would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Walking Tour of Bologna - Pasta, Mortadella and Chocolate

lamlam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very nice tour. Knowledge and friendly guide.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

alluisalvarez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everyone very pleasant and subject matter experts. This tout went very fast because the guide made it very pleasant.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Gavin A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was quite interesting and very informative. The guide was quite knowledgeable about all the sites visited. Gave some handy hints of things to see and do in the local area. The only down side was there was a non-English speaking family on the tour so everything had to be explained twice, which made the tour a bit 'clunky'. However it was great that the tour guide was multi lingual and able to include all of us in the tour.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Anne-Marie B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

The tour was very good and the guide excellent but it was very expensive for what it was. It is advertised as a 3 hour tour, ours lasted 2 hours and 10 minuets!!! Realistically you could have done it yourself with a good guide book for 8! Having the guides insight was great but not worth 72 each.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Drew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The guide was superb giving lots of interesting information. She was cheerful and enthusiastic. The headphones worked well and the comments could be heard clearly.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Kay A

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Guide was very knowledgable but explanations were far too long. Too much info to absorb and we spent far too long in one cathedral. Also there was only 1 Non English speaking couple on this tour so guide had to translate in both languishes which took a lot longer

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very well done Lots of good information History and LocalWith Local food tips Well worth doing

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Kristen P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

By far the worst walking tour I have ever done! This was the last tour we did in Italy after doing several in other cities and this one was bad bad bad. I see the other reviews are positive and maybe we just got unlucky but this tour was painful. Our group was close to 20 people and there were three Italians on the tour so consequently we had to have every explanation in both english and italian, had I known this would be a multi language tour I would have never booked it. We didn't even make it out of the main square in front of the tourism office for over an hour and didn't get to any of the interesting sites until the last 30 minutes nor did we see everything that was promised. The guide was Spanish doing a tour in English and Italian and the delivery was so dry and boring it was almost laughable. We only had one day in Bologna and I wanted to take a walking tour to learn a little bit about the city in our short time there and the fact that we wasted time on this tour just makes me mad.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Ido A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We took the half day private tour in our own car. The guide, Julia, was really good. Very knowledgeable and very passionate about the uniqueness of the area

Doing what: Private Emilia Romagna Food Tour from Parma or Bologna

Irene W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We all really enjoyed our Tour - Roberta was superb - very knowledgeable

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Lisa E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

I had thought that I booked an English-speaking tour but apparently that did not preclude other languages being spoken by the tour guide. The tour was conducted in English and Italian. I therefore lost out on at least 50 if not more, the guide was Italian of the tour plus all of the questions and answers that were in Italian and not English. Moreover, it was clear that while the guide's command of English was fine, he was getting very flustered. So he would start speaking in Italian, and end the sentence in English. He also forgot words because it is not easy switching back and forth between English and Italian. All in all, I felt that this was one of the worst Viatours that I have taken, entirely due to the language problem.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Eloísa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Tourguide Federico Angelini: Exceptional Tour given by professional tourguide. We completed the Classical Bologna Walking Tour visiting the World's First University Museum, the cathedral, and several museums. Along our walk we were shown all the historical sites and given the significance of each in an organized manner, providing us a timeline of the city. Our guide knew the painter/sculptor of each painting/sculpture we viewed, as well as it's significance in art history. He knew where to take us and modified our walk to our pace and taste. His English was outstanding and his mannerism was delightful. We would certainly choose to take this tour again and any others because of his professionalism. Thank you very much!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Sharon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was extremely pleasant and informative.

Doing what: Private Emilia Romagna Food Tour from Parma or Bologna

geoff.holmes3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent introduction to Bologna. Knowledgeable and clear guide.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Lorraine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Was a fun tour!
We were a little late getting started as we were staying in a town quite a ways from Parma - and got lost in the lovely countryside trying to find the first location. We had thought we were going to have a tour guide in the vehicle with us to show us where to go, but then another group booked with a driver and the guide was with them.
After that little hiccup, however, things went smoothly. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and easy going.
Initially, we had balked at the cost - but in the end were so glad we made the decision to do it!

Doing what: Private Emilia Romagna Food Tour from Parma or Bologna

Claire O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great because of very passionate tour guide!

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Melissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Highly recommend. Luca our tour guide was fantastic and shared his wonderful personal and widespread knowledge of both the areas history and food history which was very interesting. My only regret was we didnot do it first day in Bologna because once we had done it we knew where all the best food was. Thank you Luca it was great.

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Walking Tour of Bologna - Pasta, Mortadella and Chocolate

sfpicard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Elisabetta is a wonderful guide with an amazing head for facts and dates history of Bologna and the surrounding areas. We learned so much in such a fun way that we never would have learned without such a knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message