Bologna is often overlooked by tourists in favor of some of the nearby cities, such as Florence and Venice, but it’s a city that has a vast range of exciting activities to do. Bologna is Italy’s food capital, so there’s no chance of going hungry as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 93 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Eloísa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Tourguide Federico Angelini: Exceptional Tour given by professional tourguide. We completed the Classical Bologna Walking Tour visiting the World's First University Museum, the cathedral, and several museums. Along our walk we were shown all the historical sites and given the significance of each in an organized manner, providing us a timeline of the city. Our guide knew the painter/sculptor of each painting/sculpture we viewed, as well as it's significance in art history. He knew where to take us and modified our walk to our pace and taste. His English was outstanding and his mannerism was delightful. We would certainly choose to take this tour again and any others because of his professionalism. Thank you very much!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Sharon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was extremely pleasant and informative.

Doing what: Private Emilia Romagna Food Tour from Parma or Bologna

geoff.holmes3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent introduction to Bologna. Knowledgeable and clear guide.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Lorraine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Was a fun tour!
We were a little late getting started as we were staying in a town quite a ways from Parma - and got lost in the lovely countryside trying to find the first location. We had thought we were going to have a tour guide in the vehicle with us to show us where to go, but then another group booked with a driver and the guide was with them.
After that little hiccup, however, things went smoothly. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and easy going.
Initially, we had balked at the cost - but in the end were so glad we made the decision to do it!

Doing what: Private Emilia Romagna Food Tour from Parma or Bologna

Claire O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great because of very passionate tour guide!

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Melissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Highly recommend. Luca our tour guide was fantastic and shared his wonderful personal and widespread knowledge of both the areas history and food history which was very interesting. My only regret was we didnot do it first day in Bologna because once we had done it we knew where all the best food was. Thank you Luca it was great.

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Walking Tour of Bologna - Pasta, Mortadella and Chocolate

sfpicard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Elisabetta is a wonderful guide with an amazing head for facts and dates history of Bologna and the surrounding areas. We learned so much in such a fun way that we never would have learned without such a knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

lil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Personal tour was great!

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We were met by Catia, a knowledgeable and friendly guide. Such delicious tastes and smells - highlights were the chocolate shop and the meat and cheese and wine snack at Tamburini. We still remember this tour and recall it fondly. I am so glad we did it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Walking Tour of Bologna - Pasta, Mortadella and Chocolate

SAMUEL A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We arranged the tour to begin from our Bologna hotel for six of us and were picked up at 7:30 AM by driver Andre with his very comfortable six passenger Mercedes tourist van. Traveled to a meeting point where we picked up our guide Amanda. Introduction's were made and she followed with her own private car to our first stop Reggiano Parmigiano chees producer. At the plant we were asked to wear plastic covers over our clothes, shoes and heads while walking about the facility. Amanda was well prepared and explained the entire process with complete freedom to move about out of the way of the workers and overlooking the process. We followed the entire process of a days production to the final placing of the cheese into molds. In transit to our next stop, Dolce Culatta Prosciutto producer, we stopped for a picture taking opportunity of the Torrechiara Castle and continued traveling along beautiful countryside. Arriving at the Culatta plant we followed the same procedure as the cheese producer and covered our clothing etc. The activities were at a minimum however Amanda filled us in as to what stages the processing was going through. We did see one process where the hams are covered with lard and then hung for additional curing. Impressive facility! On to a local winery as the grapes were being harvested, brought in and crushed. Typical winery however we were served a delicious multi course meal with wine and super dessert. Amanda bid her farewell to our group as the next stop to a balsamic vinegar producer was not escorted as the owner and family member did an excellent job of telling us about the entire very long aging process. Medici Ermete Aceto Balsamco very tasty. There was also a very nice museum attached to their facility. Our trip was over as the day approached late afternoon and Andre chauffeured us expertly back to our Bologna hotel.

Doing what: Private Emilia Romagna Food Tour from Parma or Bologna

Linda U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very good informative tour. We saw areas that we wouldn't have seen if we had not had a tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

Helen N

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Guide was animated, knowledgable and it was fantastic. We learnt so much about Bolognas history.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Ann F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was fantastic and we learned so much about the history of Bologna. Of course, the highlight was the food tasting at the end. Delicious!

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Walking Tour of Bologna - Pasta, Mortadella and Chocolate

PJ V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An excellent and interesting tour which will give you more information about the places you have seen/will see more of in Bologna. Particularly interesting was the tour of San Petronio church where the guide pointed out the old sundial and also the Modena fresco which features Mohammed in hell and I later saw the painting Modena based this on, or vice-versa, on the 1st floor of Bologna art gallery. Needless to say, the usual mad and devout morons from the religion of peace' have tried to attack this church and destroy this fresco - hence the heavy and constant police/army presence outside. The guide was great and she admitted to us at the end that this was her first tour in English - but apart from some mispronunciations, the English was adequate for everyone to understand. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Mary Beth O

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The cheese making process was great to watch. I wish we would have known that the ham operation runs Monday to Friday only. We got a tour of the facility which was nice. Lunch was fine, but really enjoyed meeting with and talking to the balsamic vintner.

Doing what: Private Emilia Romagna Food Tour from Parma or Bologna

Ces D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

This tour can be better my tour guide catia is a nice person but this tour needs to be updated. not against her but this is against the tour companyThe tour agency promise me for a lunch and they didn't. this is a very expenisve tour and we only went to 1 balsamico factory and a 1 wine area if i should have know i should have taken a group tour and went to have food tasting also. you only paid for the car. don't get fooled by this not interesting at all.

Doing what: Private Tour: Wine Tasting in Bologna

Kathycappelli

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Awesome tour - guide was fabulous. Met our guide near Parma without a problem and was taken to a cheese factory then prosciutto factory. Very interesting even to our 15 year old! Ended the tour at a winery where lunch and wine were great. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Emilia Romagna Food Tour from Parma or Bologna

jose r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We loved the Bologna tour. Frederico was a very informative guide. The tour is very interesting, we got to know the history of the city and the best sightseeings.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Pauline J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide was friendly, informative and extremely knowledgeable. The 2 hours was a pleasant stroll around Bologna covering the highlights of the city. I would thoroughly recommend this walking tour.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Ian W United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A superb overall guide to the history and of course the food of Bologna. Giacomo, our guide was extremely knowledgable and interesting, and even going to places we had been on our own the day before we learnt so much more. There was probably less about food than we were expecting, but that was fine, and tasting of gelato, chocolate and a superb antipasto lunch with wine rounded it off perfectly, recommended!

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Walking Tour of Bologna - Pasta, Mortadella and Chocolate

Bennett B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Bologna's history is not as self-evident as in some other tourist-destination cities in Italy, so having a good guide is especially important here. Gioco did a great job. Personable and considerate as well as deeply well-informed, he gave us a solid historical tour at the same time as we got to sample some wonderful food.

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Walking Tour of Bologna - Pasta, Mortadella and Chocolate

Judith W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide, Claudia, was excellent. So informative, intelligent and a lovely person. Learning the process of making parmigiano and prosciutto was very interesting and the lunch was quite good.

Doing what: Private Emilia Romagna Food Tour from Parma or Bologna

Terri S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The walking tour was very enjoyable and well paced.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Lorraine A

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very well organised. Guide was well informed, pleasant and very polite. I use Viator walking tours whenever possible and will do so again.

Doing what: Bologna City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message