Bologna is often overlooked by tourists in favor of some of the nearby cities, such as Florence and Venice, but it’s a city that has a vast range of exciting activities to do. Bologna is Italy’s food capital, so there’s no chance of going hungry as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 89 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The Emilia-Romagna region is known for it's delicious food and what better way to get to know all this yummy-ness than with a food tour that takes you from place to place to see how it is all made AND of course to sample all the good things it has to offer.... look no further, this tour will deliver!

Andrea, the guide, picked me up in morning at my hotel and from the moment I sat down he started to tell me about the region and the places we were going to visit and the things we were going to taste that I couldn't wait to get started.
Our first stop was at the cheese factory where he showed me how the cheese is made and I really mean from the cows who provide the milk all the way to the storage room where they keep all the cheese waiting to be shipped out to some lucky customers around the globe. After that we drove, not too far, to the prosciutto factory where Andrea explained how they cure and dry the meat to get from a simple ham to the delicious prosciutto I got to taste at the end of the tour. Next stop was for me as a balsamic vinegar fan, the most exciting one, we stopped at a, 4th generation family run acetaie where I was explained in detail how we go from a Trebbiano grape to the "black gold" that can age well over a 100 years and how the taste changes during that ageing process with plenty of samples and combinations with meat, cheese and my favorite... vanilla ice cream.
To conclude this fantastic day we had an awesome dinner at a typical Italian restaurant where I had some, typical for the region, tagliatelle al ragu and a superdelicious dessert.

tl;dr - Top experience and I would recommend it to everyone!

PS I had the privilege to experience this tour as an unforeseen "private tour" because there were no other participants for that day. (December is still a great time to visit Bologna people, go get some Bologna!)

Doing what: Small-Group Food and Wine Tour from Bologna Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

ONE OF THE BEST TOURS I'VE EVER BEEN ON!!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Food and Wine Tour from Bologna Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I am very glad I chose this tour! Andrea Blasi was fenomenal! He and the driver picked me up from my hotel promptly and on time! From the get go, Andrea was extremely attentive and very knowledgable of all the places we were going to visit. He explained to me, in detailed, everything I needed to know and answered all my curiosities! This is a tour you must do! Grazie Andrea and Olga for an amazing experience!

Doing what: Small-Group Food and Wine Tour from Bologna Including Lunch

Cathy F
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I attended this by myself as my husband was working. I do not speak Italian, the translator walked from the small bus to my hotel, spoke beautiful English and was very welcoming. The group included another couple and five girls from London traveling together. He introduced us all to each other and encouraged interaction which was fun. We saw the cheese being made, the proscuitto process and learned how the balsamic is made and why some is called gold. We tasted an abundance of everything and were offered the opportunity to buys products. The guide kindly told me that I was not allowed to bring back the proscuitto to the US. Then we went to an amazing lunch. It was four courses of all of the foods of Bologna and their local wine. During lunch I mentioned that I was having trouble finding reservations for dinner as there was a big show in town. Our guide, Antonia, called a friend that owned a great restaurant near our hotel where we were treated like royalty. The owner was standing there waiting for us and brought some tastes of things while he opened our wine. We could not have been happier. This tour will make you feel like you have a family member bringing you to his local farms and factories to share his heritage. At no point did I feel alone, the tour was fun. I would highly recommend this tour whether you are with a group or on your own.

Doing what: Small-Group Food and Wine Tour from Bologna Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A wonderful tour - definitely a highlight. There was a glitch with the booking date of the tour but Olga at Amazing Italy rearranged our train bookings and other tour to ensure we didn't miss anything. Definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ferrari Museums and Italian Food Tour from Bologna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

a very informative and enjoyable trip. Learnt lots of facts regarding the history of Bologna, a very beautiful and interesting city.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and super nice!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was one of the best parts of our trip. Isabella was so informative and an excellent guide. You must make time for this excursion. Everyone at all of the. Places we visited were so friendly and welcoming. Two thumbs up!

Doing what: Small-Group Food and Wine Tour from Bologna Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide (Elsie?) was very friendly. Her knowledge of Bologna was extensive. The 3 hours went by very quickly.

Doing what: Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour guide, Fredrica, and the driver, Micheli were professional, helpful and very informative about all the places we visited. We couldnt fault their service. Fantastic. We were a bit rushed at the enzo museum, but that was because of traffic delays getting there. Overall very good. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ferrari Museums and Italian Food Tour from Bologna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour! In a small amount of time we were able to see the cheese making process, the prosciutto factory and learn about balsamic vinegar. Each with wonderful tastings. Completed by a wonderful meal. Our tour guide, Olga was very knowledgeable and pleasant with a good sense of humor!!

Doing what: Small-Group Food and Wine Tour from Bologna Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was a great experience... not only because you had the occasion to taste some of the well-known traditional Italian food and you finished the tour with a delicious lets say lunch even it was much more than that, but mostly because you had the opportunity to find lot of very interesting information and to see with your own eyes the process of making these things. A special mention for the enthusiastic Andrea, the guide, who did everything possible to make you feel excellent.

Doing what: Small-Group Food and Wine Tour from Bologna Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was one of the best days we had in Italy. Our tour guide and driver we wonderful. Everywhere we went, prosciutto, cheese, and balsamic vinegar tours were outstanding. It was comfortable , informative, and delicious. Then we went for lunch and it was superb. Food and wine were excellent.

Doing what: Small-Group Food and Wine Tour from Bologna Including Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Tamara was an excellent guide and we thoroughly enjoyed our tour on bikes. It was a bit expensive, and we would have preferred to be in a group. This tour required us to form our own group in order to get a lower price, rather than join a group tour. But the tour itself was excellent.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bologna Cycling Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message